Has Soundbars Improved to Usable Levels?

TongCN
post Oct 8 2020, 09:37 AM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,622 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 8 2020, 09:26 AM)
“I can't seem to get any sound through ARC HDMI.
Sound only comes out if I literally switch off the main power plug for all my devices and on it back again.
But once I turn off the TV, whenever I on it back again the sound disappears again unless I repeat the procedure of switching of the power plug of all the devices and switching it back on”
Ouch, that's even worse sweat.gif

Right now looking for any good media device

1) Xbox series S/X
2) Nvidia Shield Tube/Pro
3) Google Chromecast with Google TV a.k.a Sabrina <--- but the Atmos are tru DD+ though

Anymore more suggestion ?
Need to wait till next month see how Xbox gonna goes also.
TongCN
post Oct 8 2020, 10:19 AM

6,622 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 8 2020, 10:16 AM)
if u only watch netflix those streaming, atmos is only DD+ only whether is shield tube/pro or not. TrueHD atmos is for watching bluray mkv or disc.
Yea, but using Xbox Series can play the Bluray UHD disc, right? haha
That's another plus from it cause i also got collect certain Blu-ray disc biggrin.gif

Too bad Series S limit to 1440p >.<

TongCN
post Oct 8 2020, 10:28 AM

6,622 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 8 2020, 10:22 AM)
Yup, series s is digital only right biggrin.gif so for bluray disc is series x.
Lol .. dang ya hor! I forgot S = DiscleSS

ROAR !!
TongCN
post Oct 8 2020, 10:29 AM

6,622 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 8 2020, 10:27 AM)
Oh damn, this morning the sound doesn’t work again. Back to square one... might have to call a Samsung technician to come...
How a samsung technician will help actually eh?

Not sure how sarawak here will work hmm.gif
TongCN
post Oct 8 2020, 02:29 PM

6,622 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 8 2020, 02:13 PM)
I think I finally isolated and fixed my problem. Similar to this guy -> https://eu.community.samsung.com/t5/tv/q60r...ue/td-p/1444075

Turns out the Astro ultra box is interfering the compatability btw the TV and soundbar. Once I removed the Astro box connection to the TV, everything is working perfectly. If I connect back the Astro box I think the TV is considering the Astro box as another sound system and mutes the sound from the soundbar.
In the end I hooked the Astro directly to the soundbar HDMI-in instead.
That means my dad doesn’t have any HDMI port left to output trueHD but only DD+ through the TV HDMI ports... (that is until Sony updates X9000H with eARC sweat.gif)
So even u direct plug into ARC from soundbar to TV, that Astro box still takes the priority for "soundbar" detection ?
TongCN
post Oct 8 2020, 03:12 PM

6,622 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 8 2020, 02:57 PM)
That's what i'm guessing, which is weird since only the ARC port is bidirectional while other HDMI ports is unidirectional. Not sure how the TV is interpreting the Astro box but it clearly messing up the sound connection somehow...

Do you have other devices plugged directly into your TV? Maybe try maintaining just 1 connection - TV HDMI ARC -> Soundbar HDMI ARC to see if you are still having pairing problems.
Nope all the while my TV only connect ARC with soundbar (previously Sony HT-NT5) and treat sound bar as a hub.

But right now only the wireless issue.
Last night performed another factory reset and havent really tested it due to tired from work sweat.gif

Tonight gonna check again see.
TongCN
post Oct 16 2020, 12:16 PM

6,622 posts

Just realised there is new update for Q950T

Hope mine don't auto update cause my Sub is disconnected right now at home >.<

https://www.samsung.com/my/support/model/HW-Q950T/XM/
TongCN
post May 23 2024, 01:35 PM

6,622 posts

After so many years of using Q950T (2020), the sub-woofer random disconnection issue still there but the happening times has decreased.

Samsung macam no more release firmware update for this model
[Last update: Apr 12. 2023 ]

TongCN
post Jun 5 2024, 11:42 AM

6,622 posts

Still using my Sammy Q950T since 2020 till now.

Now seeing the Q990D has finally equipped with HDMI loop through system which brings 4K/120Hz (i see review also mentioning VRR support), tempted to grab.

Any user with Q990D here ? lol ..
TongCN
post Jun 5 2024, 01:43 PM

6,622 posts

QUOTE(hengng @ Jun 5 2024, 12:03 PM)
Wait for tonight midnight from 12:00am to 12:30am on Shopee or lazada for 0606 promotion sales.  The promotion discount may surprises you...
Shipping maybe unavailable also cause big item if from Shopee Mall - Samsung Authorised unable to ship to East Malaysia sweat.gif
TongCN
post Jun 10 2024, 09:11 AM

6,622 posts

QUOTE(Rammygn @ Jun 8 2024, 11:11 PM)
I didn’t need the pass through hdmi2.1. Picked up the C instead for the room. 3k. D was 4K after discount.
Xbox Series X might need cause the Dolby Atmos delay issue ,lol ..

However, wait till i have time only check again sad.gif

Pocket burnt a hole right now.
TongCN
post Jun 10 2024, 10:19 AM

6,622 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 10 2024, 09:58 AM)
hdmi2.1 is only necessary for 4k120fps ... audio shouldnt need that much bandwidth
Ya, however if you google Xbox Series X Dolby Atmos delay issue, there are tons of complaint.

Currently my setup is Xbox Series X, LG CX and Samsung Soundbar Q950T:

1) Connecting Xbox direct to LG CX and eArc from TV to Q950T will have the audio delay [this setup will have 4k120 HDR/Dolby Vision & VRR]

2) If direct connect Xbox to Q950T, the Dolby Atmos delay will eliminated but then it also disable 4K120hz & VRR.

Previously Dolby vision also cannot work but after firmware update, it has now.
Last time Samsung even advertise this is the first HDMI2.1 enabled model in their page which later took down :\

False advertise, meh..
TongCN
post Jun 11 2024, 08:48 AM

6,622 posts

QUOTE(Rammygn @ Jun 10 2024, 09:09 PM)
Yeah nice to have for sure. High refresh rate gaming isn’t really top of my req list, and I often find myself being sensitive to trusting anything other than a proper avr to handle pass through. I don’t really game competitively. Ps5-990c-c9, living room has the c3.
Certain PS5 game has this 4k 40fps mode which needs to utilise the 120hz option which is good if has the passthrough - 4k120 + VRR

Tight budget now so now just bear with my old Q950T first sweat.gif

TongCN
post Jun 12 2024, 02:55 PM

6,622 posts

QUOTE(kunimi @ Jun 12 2024, 02:20 PM)
bro could you share more on this?

I was initially thinking to get Q990D because of the HDMI2.1

I have a PS5, do you mean that if i were to connect PS5> Q990D > X90J . I resolve the sound delay issue but now my display no longer showing 4k120hz & VRR?

I was a little confuse on this.

In short i wanted my PS5 display at 4k 120hz & VRR but at the same time pass throught Q990D and achieve the same sound quality.

To add on SInce Q990D has two HDMI 2.1 port + eArc.

Does that mean the in order to achieve 4k120hz + no sound delay. There would be two cables coming from sound bar to TV? (1 eArc , and 1 HDMI) another HDMI was meant to connect between PS5 and the soundbar
I assume you haven't bought the device, right ?

In my case, it is the xbox audio issue which specifically - Dolby Atmos as well as my Samsung Q950T model

Samsung Q950T has limitation on the HDMI port that will not passthrough 4k120 and VRR
Samsung Q990D has remove this limitation and both HDMI 2.1 ports inputs supporting 4K120Hz and VRR, pass through HDR10+ and Dolby Vision HDR formats.

Xbox Series S/X on the other hand has Dolby Atmos delay if connect into TV (4k120 capable and eArc) and then eArc to Samsung Q950T or most of the audio receiver (can find issue in reddit or microsoft forum)
Note: if using DTS in Xbox, there is no delay. ONLY Dolby Atmos right now.
Note 2: Due to limitation of Q950T, if I don't wan DA lag, then i will need to sacrifice 4k120 and VRR once i plug XBOX into Soundbar and eArc back to TV.

Conclusion:
For PS5 you have no worry, there is zero lag if you use Dolby Atmos.
You can :
1) PS5 > TV < soundbar
2) PS5 > Soundbar > TV
TongCN
post Jun 12 2024, 06:00 PM

6,622 posts

QUOTE(kunimi @ Jun 12 2024, 04:58 PM)
I did purchase but returned due to my woofer is dented upon receiving . Didn't managed to try it out though.
Ouch sweat.gif

So now waiting a new one come back ?
TongCN
post May 28 2025, 04:22 PM

6,622 posts

QUOTE(soyusa @ May 26 2025, 05:33 PM)
I'm okay with no rear.
Should I or Shouldn't I? rclxub.gif  doh.gif
Else kena sound by spouse about my expenses on soundbar.  laugh.gif
Still using Samsung Q950T since 2020 and it's been doing great still smile.gif

Must get Rear devil.gif