> Panasonic concedes plasma TV defeat, ends production

TSrobertngo
post Nov 2 2013, 12:36 AM, updated 13y ago

4,027 posts

http://www.theverge.com/2013/10/31/5050038...-production-end

After the heartbreak of losing Pioneer's excellent Kuro line, Panasonic's plasma displays were the last bastion of hope for plasma TV enthusiasts, but now even they are going extinct. Panasonic today confirmed a Reuters report from earlier this month that it is exiting the plasma TV market with almost immediate effect — production of new units will end in December and all related operations will be wrapped by March next year. Two of Panasonic's three factories have already stopped building new units and the third will join them in about a month's time. The Verge reported this past April that the company had ceased all future plasma display development.

Panasonic made a strong effort to push its plasma TVs this year — coming to CES in January with a fully refreshed home theater lineup — however the economics of plasma display production just haven't worked out for the company. Though consumer demand is apparently still firm, Panasonic says that "due to rapid, drastic changes in the business environment" and price pressure from more affordable LCD TVs, the unhappy decision had to be made. That leaves HD enthusiasts with a few months to save up the money to buy a ZT60, the last in a proud line of beautiful TVs.

As for the future, a Panasonic Display vice president told The Verge in April that plasma research and development efforts would likely be diverted to OLED. The company sees televisions using the technology as "one of the key future products," and it is working to insure that it can make affordable OLED TVs that still leave room for profit before putting any up for sale. If and when that day comes, sticklers for the picture quality offered by plasmas should be more than happy with OLEDs.
TSrobertngo
post Nov 2 2013, 12:38 AM

4,027 posts

Panasonic ZT60 - the last of the mohicans for plasma tv
faezfahmi618
post Nov 2 2013, 01:01 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Nov 2 2013, 12:38 AM)

Panasonic ZT60 - the last of the mohicans for plasma tv
looks nice
how much is the price in malaysia?
herojack41
post Nov 2 2013, 01:05 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

actually watching blu-ray in plasma i feel is kinda bazir

you lose all the sharpness...

in my mind plasma tv picture is still kinda like cinema look and grainy
faezfahmi618
post Nov 2 2013, 01:19 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Nov 2 2013, 01:05 AM)

bluray disk or bluray movie u download from internet like BRRIP?? laugh.gif
Zephyr_Mage
post Nov 2 2013, 01:40 AM

Validating
5,444 posts

RIP Plasma.

Over-saturated and unrealistic colours are here to stay.
herojack41
post Nov 2 2013, 09:24 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(faezfahmi618 @ Nov 2 2013, 01:19 AM)
bluray disk or bluray movie u download from internet like BRRIP??  laugh.gif
Download?? Do i need to download.....just a waste for my 7.1 Ht setup

Smart ass
jinggothegreat
post Nov 2 2013, 09:37 AM

333 posts

dafuq. where can get that model? ayam wanna grab one
DarkNite
post Nov 2 2013, 09:46 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Nov 2 2013, 09:24 AM)
Download?? Do i need to download.....just a waste for my 7.1 Ht setup

Smart ass
thumbup.gif
ray148
post Nov 2 2013, 09:58 AM

451 posts

Sigh...and panasonic makes the best plasma too.
idunnolol
post Nov 2 2013, 10:21 AM

1,044 posts

Plasma better than LCD?
deodorant
post Nov 2 2013, 10:37 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

I thought LCD/LCD-with-LED tech was better than Plasma deswai everyone shifted to it?
ray148
post Nov 2 2013, 10:40 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Nov 2 2013, 10:21 AM)
Plasma better than LCD?
yes...except for gaming/web browsing etc, prone to get ghosting.
TheEvilMan
post Nov 2 2013, 10:40 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

Plasma is better than LCD/LED if their spec is the same, given that Plasma projecting light directly to your eye balls and give a way better colors and contrast while LCD/LED projecting light horizontally, however the downfall of it is that the projection will slowly die over time with broken pixels and also image burn if u didn't take care of it. Plasma is also famous for sucking up a lot of energy and not eco friendly compare to LCD/LED.

That's what I learned, correct me if i'm wrong.

Speaking of which, when I bought my LED 3 days ago, I was standing infront of a panasonic Plasma and another LCD next to it, both projecting the same video, but plasma color is indeed giving better vibrant and depth to the footage, could be my hallucination tho sweat.gif

This post has been edited by TheEvilMan: Nov 2 2013, 10:45 AM
TSrobertngo
post Nov 2 2013, 11:38 AM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Nov 2 2013, 10:21 AM)
Plasma better than LCD?
in many way

better black, better colour, wide viewing angle

but plasma is hotter and the glass is reflective.

This post has been edited by robertngo: Nov 2 2013, 11:40 AM
FrancescoTop8
post Nov 2 2013, 12:35 PM

147 posts

enjoy the naturality provided by plasma.

ALeUNe
post Nov 2 2013, 12:37 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

LG & Samsung enjoice!!!!
Boldnut
post Nov 2 2013, 12:40 PM

2,209 posts

GO blame Plasma burn in issue and glossy display.

I ultra hate glossy display.
ar188
post Nov 2 2013, 12:46 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Nov 2 2013, 10:40 AM)
Plasma is better than LCD/LED if their spec is the same, given that Plasma projecting light directly to your eye balls and give a way better colors and contrast while LCD/LED projecting light horizontally, however the downfall of it is that the projection will slowly die over time with broken pixels and also image burn if u didn't take care of it.  Plasma is also famous for sucking up a lot of energy and not eco friendly compare to LCD/LED.

That's what I learned, correct me if i'm wrong.

Speaking of which, when I bought my LED 3 days ago, I was standing infront of a panasonic Plasma and another LCD next to it, both projecting the same video, but plasma color is indeed giving better vibrant and depth to the footage, could be my hallucination tho  sweat.gif
indeed it's better.. viewing big screen 70-80 LCD viewing 1080p always give me low quality images but on plasma looks damn good.
herojack41
post Nov 2 2013, 12:55 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Nov 2 2013, 12:37 PM)
LG & Samsung enjoice!!!!
brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

matter of time all IPS display drool.gif

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Nov 2 2013, 12:40 PM)
GO blame Plasma burn in issue and glossy display.

I ultra hate glossy display.
dealWithIt.jpg
TheEvilMan
post Nov 2 2013, 12:56 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 2 2013, 12:46 PM)
indeed it's better.. viewing big screen 70-80 LCD viewing 1080p always give me low quality images but on plasma looks damn good.
ayam poor fag now only buy 46", 4k cannot afford cry.gif
ar188
post Nov 2 2013, 01:06 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Nov 2 2013, 12:56 PM)
ayam poor fag now only buy 46", 4k cannot afford  cry.gif
46 no need 4k yet lor.. just sit further away.. biggrin.gif just like how apple justifies retina is 326ppi for iphone and 220ppi for laptop.. biggrin.gif u sit further back so get same effect.
TheEvilMan
post Nov 2 2013, 01:06 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 2 2013, 01:06 PM)
46 no need 4k yet lor.. just sit further away.. biggrin.gif  just like how apple justifies retina is 326ppi for iphone and 220ppi for laptop.. biggrin.gif  u sit further back so get same effect.
i wan 100" in my room (inb4 it probably will mount the whole wall lol)
ar188
post Nov 2 2013, 01:08 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Nov 2 2013, 01:06 PM)
then u need projector, easier to obtain the results without going broke.
ycs
post Nov 2 2013, 01:09 PM

4,232 posts

does it mean plasma become collector item=value appreciate brows.gif

inb4 become dinosaur
Boldnut
post Nov 2 2013, 01:12 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Nov 2 2013, 12:55 PM)
dealWithIt.jpg

thats why I dealwith it with my money on LCD, Plasma maker can go bungkus/gtfo.

herojack41
post Nov 2 2013, 01:15 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Nov 2 2013, 01:06 PM)
buy projector la bai....if wan 100"

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Nov 2 2013, 01:12 PM)
thats why I dealwith it with my money on LCD, Plasma maker can go bungkus/gtfo.
whos want a plasma display TV laugh.gif

unker maybe la whistling.gif
kumanosuke
post Nov 2 2013, 01:18 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Nov 2 2013, 01:15 PM)

is there a clear cut winner between LED / LCD and plasma in terms of image quality ?
TSrobertngo
post Nov 2 2013, 01:20 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Nov 2 2013, 01:18 PM)
is there a clear cut winner between LED / LCD and plasma in terms of image quality ?
Plasma
TheEvilMan
post Nov 2 2013, 01:22 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 2 2013, 01:08 PM)
then u need projector, easier to obtain the results without going broke.
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Nov 2 2013, 01:15 PM)

projector sound cheaper, but dun forget about the maintenance and also the lens that normally die every 5 years sweat.gif
it will end up more costly
ar188
post Nov 2 2013, 01:24 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Nov 2 2013, 01:22 PM)
projector sound cheaper, but dun forget about the maintenance and also the lens that normally die every 5 years  sweat.gif
what maintenence? i didnt do any for my 2 HD projectors. bulb changed once for 720p which came free with the panasonic.
TheEvilMan
post Nov 2 2013, 01:27 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 2 2013, 01:24 PM)
what maintenence? i didnt do any for my 2 HD projectors. bulb changed once for 720p which came free with the panasonic.
i'm not very sure abt it, but the dude told my brother (who has a projector hall) that the lens will have to change every now and then when it start to "die", no idea cos i'm never into projector, i prefer sharp and very crystal clear color/contrast/vibrant laugh.gif
tuo850
post Nov 2 2013, 01:32 PM

756 posts

can these plasma thinggy be scrap and built into a plasma gun?
WhatMan
post Nov 2 2013, 01:32 PM

1,623 posts

Plasma I can see the pattern, quite annoying. LCD FTW.
TheEvilMan
post Nov 2 2013, 01:36 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(tuo850 @ Nov 2 2013, 01:32 PM)
can these plasma thinggy be scrap and built into a plasma gun?
and shoot photon beam like war machine and iron man in MVC? brows.gif
TSrobertngo
post Nov 2 2013, 01:36 PM

4,027 posts

projector sound cheaper, but dun forget about the maintenance and also the lens that normally die every 5 years  sweat.gif
Lens not dead lah

It is the bulb that will become less bright

But now use led or laser
hirano
post Nov 2 2013, 01:41 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

Semua salah Samseng! mad.gif
herojack41
post Nov 2 2013, 01:42 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

no need worry....about maintainance cause the colourboard going to spoil first biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by herojack41: Nov 2 2013, 01:42 PM
ticke
post Nov 2 2013, 01:55 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Nov 2 2013, 01:27 PM)
i'm not very sure abt it, but the dude told my brother (who has a projector hall) that the lens will have to change every now and then when it start to "die", no idea cos i'm never into projector, i prefer sharp and very crystal clear color/contrast/vibrant  laugh.gif
yes that the bulb...they degrade over time. depends on quality n built. overtime it will show yellowish color on the screen...
TSrobertngo
post Nov 2 2013, 01:59 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(ticke @ Nov 2 2013, 01:55 PM)
yes that the bulb...they degrade over time. depends on quality n built. overtime it will show yellowish color on the screen...
dont they now use LED bulb
ticke
post Nov 2 2013, 02:01 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Nov 2 2013, 01:59 PM)
dont they now use LED bulb
most still use the old ver.
TSrobertngo
post Nov 2 2013, 08:33 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(ticke @ Nov 2 2013, 02:01 PM)
most still use the old ver.
Can replace with led right?
ticke
post Nov 2 2013, 08:39 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Nov 2 2013, 08:33 PM)
Can replace with led right?
not sure, but there will be some spec issues that need to be resolve. am no expert.
idoblu
post Nov 2 2013, 08:42 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Nov 2 2013, 01:05 AM)

thats the whole idea. the director shoots in film and thats what he wants you to see - a film like picture
if he wanted you to see a digital video, he could have shot it using a digital cam, then you will get a "soap opera" effect

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 2 2013, 08:47 PM
zerorating
post Nov 2 2013, 08:53 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

lives goes on,sad day for me, i'm a fan of display which using phosphor gas,
hopefully oled could be cheap in 5 year, and hope my plasma tv can last 5 more year sad.gif
faezfahmi618
post Nov 2 2013, 08:56 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Nov 2 2013, 08:53 PM)
hopefully oled could be cheap in 5 year, and hope my plasma tv can last 5 more year sad.gif
oled picture quality is same like plasma ka? hmm.gif
zerorating
post Nov 2 2013, 08:59 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(faezfahmi618 @ Nov 2 2013, 08:56 PM)
oled picture quality is same like plasma ka?  hmm.gif
should be better and oled pixel produced its own light(not like lcd) and lighter, but the worry goes on the lifespan and price is damn expensive now.
however, panasonic are focusing on oled development now.

plasma panel are over-saturated as oled, but the plasma tv able to show SRGB source as natural as possible

This post has been edited by zerorating: Nov 2 2013, 09:01 PM
TSrobertngo
post Nov 2 2013, 09:01 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Nov 2 2013, 08:53 PM)
Oled going mainstream starting next year
zerorating
post Nov 2 2013, 09:03 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Nov 2 2013, 09:01 PM)
Oled going mainstream starting next year
and for the first year mainstream, you need to pay really much, and only 55inch model is introduced.
i will only buy if manufacturer managed to produce 40inch oled tv if the price less than 7k
TSrobertngo
post Nov 2 2013, 09:07 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Nov 2 2013, 09:03 PM)
and for the first year mainstream, you need to pay really much, and only 55inch model is introduced.
i will only buy if manufacturer managed to produce 40inch oled tv if the price less than 7k
They just got massive price cut last month

LG going to push oled so it is now less than 10k usd for 55"

I think two year it will replaces led tv with the a few k rm

The got 77" version already also oled tv are curved

This post has been edited by robertngo: Nov 2 2013, 09:08 PM
faezfahmi618
post Nov 2 2013, 09:14 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Nov 2 2013, 08:59 PM)
should be better and oled pixel produced its own light(not like lcd) and lighter, but the worry goes on the lifespan and price is damn expensive now.
however, panasonic are focusing on oled development now.

plasma panel are over-saturated as oled, but the plasma tv able to show SRGB source as natural as possible
does it has deep black levels same like plasma?
i dont like watching a movies on lcd coz the black colour is not black it's gray colour actually sweat.gif
TSrobertngo
post Nov 2 2013, 09:16 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(faezfahmi618 @ Nov 2 2013, 09:14 PM)
i dont like watching a movies on lcd coz the black colour is not black it's gray colour actually  sweat.gif
It is very good black since pixel are lighted individually
SUScarbike
post Nov 2 2013, 09:21 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(faezfahmi618 @ Nov 2 2013, 09:14 PM)
i dont like watching a movies on lcd coz the black colour is not black it's gray colour actually  sweat.gif
Checkout any recent samseng smartphone with amoled display
idoblu
post Nov 2 2013, 09:29 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

OLED will still have some years to go before it becomes affordable.
http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-33199_7-57598...ed-televisions/

A decent 65in Pana Plasma can be had now for less than 8k.

Next "big thing" here will be 4k LCD/LED. I think Sony's 65in 4k TV going for Rm24k retail .....maybe in 3 years the price will come down to 15k

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 2 2013, 09:50 PM
TSrobertngo
post Nov 2 2013, 09:52 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 2 2013, 09:29 PM)
OLED will still have some years to go before it becomes affordable.
http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-33199_7-57598...ed-televisions/

A decent 65in Pana Plasma can be had now for less than 8k.

Next "big thing" here will be 4k LCD/LED. I think Sony's 65in 4k TV going for Rm24k retail .....maybe in 3 years the price will come down to 15k
i think by the time of world cup next year already that price.
GetMePhones
post Nov 2 2013, 09:57 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Nov 2 2013, 12:36 AM)
http://www.theverge.com/2013/10/31/5050038...-production-end

After the heartbreak of losing Pioneer's excellent Kuro line, Panasonic's plasma displays were the last bastion of hope for plasma TV enthusiasts, but now even they are going extinct. Panasonic today confirmed a Reuters report from earlier this month that it is exiting the plasma TV market with almost immediate effect — production of new units will end in December and all related operations will be wrapped by March next year. Two of Panasonic's three factories have already stopped building new units and the third will join them in about a month's time. The Verge reported this past April that the company had ceased all future plasma display development.

Panasonic made a strong effort to push its plasma TVs this year — coming to CES in January with a fully refreshed home theater lineup — however the economics of plasma display production just haven't worked out for the company. Though consumer demand is apparently still firm, Panasonic says that "due to rapid, drastic changes in the business environment" and price pressure from more affordable LCD TVs, the unhappy decision had to be made. That leaves HD enthusiasts with a few months to save up the money to buy a ZT60, the last in a proud line of beautiful TVs.

As for the future, a Panasonic Display vice president told The Verge in April that plasma research and development efforts would likely be diverted to OLED. The company sees televisions using the technology as "one of the key future products," and it is working to insure that it can make affordable OLED TVs that still leave room for profit before putting any up for sale. If and when that day comes, sticklers for the picture quality offered by plasmas should be more than happy with OLEDs.
Though saddening but the old technology will inevitably be replaced with the new
Good thing I already bought one, frame rate good enough to play ps3 games...
will upgrade in another 10 yrs or so in relation to OLED biggrin.gif
jimbet1337
post Nov 2 2013, 11:32 PM

meh
2,671 posts

P65ST60K is around RM7xxx. Go get yours now before it's too late.

0.0276sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:52 AM