post Nov 5 2013, 03:09 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

er.. anyone checked their FSM's holding, via:
My Investments >> View Holdings >> By Asset Allocation
At the bottom - GRAND TOTAL, the Profits $ and %

Scared the living kaka outa me - i saw mine as $xxx,xxx and yyy.yy%!!
I wish it was true heheh tongue.gif
Bug report? or is am i the only one seeing this?
wongmunkeong
post Nov 18 2013, 01:48 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Nov 17 2013, 07:22 PM)
I have a question regarding sales charge. I've read the FSM information, but knowing me, I might get the wrong idea, lol.

Do help me to understand here. It says now that there are no more sales charge, but there's platform fees.
Let's say I buy 1 fund with RM10k investment. How much do I get deducted from FSM? Is it according to whatever platform fee that is tied to that particular fund as shown in the site?
If yes, anything else on top of that that will be deducted from me?

So, if the price increases by 5%...so my profit = 5%-platform fees?

What is the difference between this and buying from the bank in terms of charges? I see that most bank charges about 4-5%. So meaning my price has to increase more than 4-5% before I can make a profit, yes?

Thanks!
Just to clarify, FSM.MY platform fees are only charged for certain bond / fixed income funds, not all funds.
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/faq.svdo?id=8467

Using your eg. assuming it's a bond fund that is charged (not all bond funds are charged platform fees):
1. U buy $10K of NAV$1
U get 10,000 units
No deduction outright
Only deducted per quarter from CMF, "best performing fixed income fund", etc
AND if U sold before the quarter - the fees will be deducted from your sales

2. Yes, if (1) went up 10% and the yearly fees is 0.2% then:
NAV $1 *110% *0.2% is chargeable per unit for the year
(er.. i'm simplifying to 0.2% per year yar, the actual is calculated & charged per quarter)

Stand to be corrected - just my understanding from the link notworthy.gif

wongmunkeong
post Nov 20 2013, 08:18 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Nov 19 2013, 11:28 PM)
I got a semi flexi housing loan with 4.2% interest rate. I'm thinking of adding more money to my account to reduce the interest, but I'm also wondering is there any better UT out there that provides more than 4.2% ?
Similar situation - mine's 4.4%pa sad.gif
Currently haven't found any worthwhile areas of opportunity to buy in (other than quarterly programmatic value investing - think DCA die die will do wan, no IFs no Buts). Not worthwhile to pickup bonds too since the spread of 4.4%pa (cash in flexi mortgage) vs long term CAGR of bonds 5%-6%pa is not worth the risk to me.

Personally if i was FORCED to buy (eg. hit my Asset Allocation trigger to reallocate cash/bonds to equities), i'd buy into:
1. China via ETF
2. Indonesia via ETF
3. or if chicken, BRIC combo via RHB GS BRIC

Just a thought notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Nov 20 2013, 08:18 AM
wongmunkeong
post Nov 20 2013, 11:52 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Nov 20 2013, 11:50 AM)
Wanna ask for Hwang UT holders... did you all get notice of takeover by Affin in 2014?  hmm.gif
Yup <raises hand>
wongmunkeong
post Nov 20 2013, 12:03 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 20 2013, 11:56 AM)
Ppl who invest thru FSM is nominee structure, wait FSM to despatch/send to us

Ppl who invest direct to HwangIM should get it faster...wongmunkeong u invest direct?
If they change, they dumb shakehead.gif
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
my bad - when i dug for the email to screenshot & share here...
er.. RHB - OSK thing.. mixed up with the next email there from Affin (i've a stock account with Affin tongue.gif)

A thousand apologies notworthy.gif <getting old & nyanuk - like Mr. Nobody, everything mishmashed>
wongmunkeong
post Dec 2 2013, 10:32 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Dec 2 2013, 10:16 PM)
Why I go to url www.fundsupermart.com.my it link to Singapore FSM page ?

The login page now change to have login through NRIC/Passport No.

I don't remember seeing these ?

I check on the SSL cert, seems legit.
er.. it' 10:31pm on my PC & all's the same with FSM.MY ar, even log-in.
U've been hacked or your routing gone nuts?
wongmunkeong
post Dec 4 2013, 05:47 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 4 2013, 05:01 PM)
hmm.gif 
NAV Price is high....not relevant
NAV Price is low...not relevant
give Dividend...not relevant
no give Dividend...not relevant.

come to think of it..what is relevant then?  rclxub.gif
Personally..
a. Asset Allocation + subAsset Allocation to finance your goal(s)

b. then fit above average funds or stocks into (a.) - see track record &/or with combination of world's markets situation
eg. when China was lelong 1900-2000 load up part by part China funds which have shown better than average performance VS other China funds

c. then investing methodology (entry/hold/exit execution rules) for (b.)

Gark shifu notworthy.gif + Pinky anyfistisgoodfistaslongaswin tongue.gif additional inputs/thoughts?
wongmunkeong
post Dec 5 2013, 08:21 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 4 2013, 10:25 PM)
I just read the first page as pointed out by pink spider. That seems rather academic, not much value in practice.

To me , what's important is the practical aspects.

I say the price is important. Dividend too.

Because end of the day, when we cash out, it is the dividend collected and the proceeds that we get that counts.

For the same UT, say Pink Spider bought at RM0.55 and i bought it at RM0.45, i say yes i got it cheaper! Pink spider is pissed off with this "cheaper" remark.

Why is price important?? Becos at RM0.55 for RM100k, PS only got 181,818 units, whereas at the cheaper price of RM0.45 i got  222,222 units.

End of the day when you redeem it is the number of units that you have and again the PRICE that you sell plus the dividend that you have got, that add up to your proceed.
Dividends / "distributions"
er.. may i suggest to U to digest the "distribution" (not dividends) portion again on page 1.
From your writings above, it shows that the concept of distribution and its impact (pros/cons) on a mutual fund has not been grasped fully yet.

As for NAV or price:
U do know the underlying assets of a mutual fund makes up its NAV right?
with that concept, then further it as:
a. Fund A vs Fund B
b. both funds have different stocks and if share similarly held stocks, different amount or %
c. given (b.) how is one to compare NAV /price by itself and say one is cheaper than the other?

I've been where U are before - there are more things to absorb and use as we do & ponder.
Some things which was thought to be too theoretical / un-actionable earlier, will dawn on us why and how later tongue.gif
Just a thought notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Dec 5 2013, 08:23 AM
wongmunkeong
post Dec 19 2013, 05:20 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 19 2013, 05:09 PM)
Unker Looi, want join me? brows.gif
gf = singular, not properly asset allocated nor diversified sub-asset wise.
gfs, from 2 Asian Emerging + 2 Asian Developed + 2 Non-Asian Emerging + 2 Non-Asian Developed Markets
now that is better tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jan 7 2014, 09:42 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Just to share:
Eastspring Small-Caps, i've held since 2005 (called Pru Smallcaps those days).
This binatang has hit 25%+pa before 2008's kaboom.
Currently, showing 15%+pa in my own tracking.
Looks to be a good "long-termer", especially via FSM. Paid 6%+ service charge for mine those yester-years and still nice %pa long term smile.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 7 2014, 09:43 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jan 7 2014, 10:00 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 7 2014, 09:50 PM)
thanks for sharing.
hmm.gif
displayed as....
Eastspring Investments Small-Cap Fund Malaysia - Small to Medium Companies ....64.0% returns
but your tracking is only 15%+pa for year 2013 only?
rclxub.gif  sad.gif  anyone got any idea why varies so much? different method of calculation? or must have some * factors?
er.. mine's %pa since 2005 leh, since i bought & held, inclusive of losing the 6%+ on service charges
Vs
FSM's 2013 only (eg i suspect they calculated 1st Jan 2013 till 31st Dec 2013, excluding or including service charges unsure tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 7 2014, 10:01 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jan 7 2014, 10:19 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 7 2014, 10:13 PM)
64% is definitely 2013 full year return (1st January to 31 December)

@wongmunkeong, you should have your cumulative ROI right?
er.. ya gua, if U mean cumulative ROI = Excel's XIRR (cash out & date out VS value held now & date now) sweat.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jan 11 2014, 03:27 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 11 2014, 02:35 PM)
oh.. is it? Why today as today is a Saturday?
er.. today Penang mar FSM's event right?,
coming Sat 18th Subang Jaya, nearly next to me door steps tongue.gif

Pink Spider - not going ar? After that go Mentari lots of char kuat & ah mois in pubs to hug hug neh tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jan 11 2014, 03:31 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 11 2014, 03:14 PM)
Wong sifu... u still topping up this fund regularly?
Sifu of zzz ada lar laugh.gif
Was topping up yearly those days.
Nowadays waaaaaaaay too heavy in MY (like 17%!! er.. inclusive of EPF & EPF-approved funds).

Moving out to other countries, mostly SG (direct REITs), BRICs (RHB GS BRIC +direct ETF CIMBC25) & Developed Mkts (CIMB Principal Global Titans).

U leh?
wongmunkeong
post Jan 17 2014, 10:32 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Zdes @ Jan 17 2014, 10:07 AM)
why cant buy aberdeen world fund....the buy button is no available
coz maybe they aren't part of the fund houses that are participating in the 0.5% promo?
wongmunkeong
post Jan 18 2014, 10:44 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Crazy man.. i went out to tah pau and stuff, thus early there - before 9am.
Even then, bloody crazy queue for registration and like pasar malam tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jan 18 2014, 12:43 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jan 18 2014, 12:36 PM)
May I know this 0.5% promo fund to all FSM user? No restriction?
Yup for all transactions captured today for SPECIFIC 142 unit trusts
Things like Manulife no play sad.gif
CIMB Principal Global Tit Fund, RHB-OSK GS BRIC Fund, the infamous HSAQ, etc ok
wongmunkeong
post Jan 20 2014, 10:09 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 20 2014, 10:07 PM)
hmm.gif but I think you got 0.5%SC. am I right? or hwang funds no 0.5% on those 2 days?
yup, HAQF was at 0.5%
wongmunkeong
post Jan 22 2014, 11:48 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 22 2014, 11:35 PM)
Folks,

I am in a dilemma.

I am a user of Markowitz's modern portfolio theory. Lately, many fund manager/analyst are recommending overseas stock/funds. When I do the computation (based on historical risk-adjusted performance measurement), the numbers does not justify for me to step out of Bolehland. Simply either our local asset management company are Jaguh Kampung or the cost are not attractive enough.

Nonetheless I do still go a little by little into overseas fund (usually feeder type) and dare not go headlong into them as recommended by analyst or fund manager.

My question to ask fellow forumers, should I stick to my guns and follow strictly the numbers? Am I missing opportunities by being overly cautious and being too academic?

Feedback? Discussion?

Xuzen
How about using low cost entry and low annual mgt fees ETFs that covers a swath of area, like Developed Mkts (1) and Emerging Markets(2)?
OR even region specific ETFs, where U can map back to your Efficient Frontier model asset & sub-asset allocations?
wongmunkeong
post Jan 23 2014, 07:02 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 22 2014, 11:50 PM)
Apa nama produk nih, bang?

Beli kot mano?

Sapa jual?

Xuzen
Stock Exchange lar dik tongue.gif
eg. from US Exchanges
DIA SPDR DJ Industrial Average ETF Trust
EEM iShares MSCI Emerging Markets
EFA iShares MSCI EAFE
EWJ IShares MSCI Japan
EWW iShares MSCI Mexico Capped
EWZ iShares MSCI Brazil Capped
FXI iShares China Large Cap
IWM iShares Russell 2000
QQQ PowerShares QQQ Trust Series 1
SPX S&P 500 Index
SPY SPDR S&P 500

eg. from KLSE
CIMBC25 China 25 largest caps
CIMB40 ASEAN 40 large caps - well, not ALL of ASEAN, mostly SG, MY, INDONESIA, TH

KLSE U tau kan cam mano beli?
Tuk ETF US - senang tapi lebih mahal inital commission = sign-up for online trading/investment via HLeB, CIMB, etc.

a bit more susah setup - signup with OptionsXpress SG, all via email and scans.
Less than HALF the commissions each buy/sell.
Tapi, to move $ in / out of account susah-er a bit and costlier - transfer using wire (even online MBB to their US HQ a/c).

0.0512sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:24 AM