wongmunkeong
post Jan 11 2014, 03:27 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 11 2014, 02:35 PM)
oh.. is it? Why today as today is a Saturday?
er.. today Penang mar FSM's event right?,
coming Sat 18th Subang Jaya, nearly next to me door steps tongue.gif

Pink Spider - not going ar? After that go Mentari lots of char kuat & ah mois in pubs to hug hug neh tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jan 11 2014, 03:31 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 11 2014, 03:14 PM)
Wong sifu... u still topping up this fund regularly?
Sifu of zzz ada lar laugh.gif
Was topping up yearly those days.
Nowadays waaaaaaaay too heavy in MY (like 17%!! er.. inclusive of EPF & EPF-approved funds).

Moving out to other countries, mostly SG (direct REITs), BRICs (RHB GS BRIC +direct ETF CIMBC25) & Developed Mkts (CIMB Principal Global Titans).

U leh?
pinksapphire
post Jan 11 2014, 03:34 PM

1,264 posts

Hmmm....any funds in particular that we can consider to buy during FSM fair? 0.5% is seems really low...can experiment with some funds if the sales charge is reasonable. I'm looking at some Eastsprings funds cuz they seem to yield good returns. Others, not so sure. AmPacific is going down, but I heard it can recover later. Do you think I should go for this too?

This post has been edited by pinksapphire: Jan 11 2014, 03:43 PM
Kaka23
post Jan 11 2014, 03:56 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 11 2014, 04:27 PM)
er.. today Penang mar FSM's event right?,
coming Sat 18th Subang Jaya, nearly next to me door steps tongue.gif

Pink Spider - not going ar? After that go Mentari lots of char kuat & ah mois in pubs to hug hug neh tongue.gif
oh.. didnt came across me that today is penang investment fair. then it make sense..

Kaka23
post Jan 11 2014, 04:06 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 11 2014, 04:31 PM)
Sifu of zzz ada lar  laugh.gif
Was topping up yearly those days.
Nowadays waaaaaaaay too heavy in MY (like 17%!! er.. inclusive of EPF & EPF-approved funds).

Moving out to other countries, mostly SG (direct REITs), BRICs (RHB GS BRIC +direct ETF CIMBC25) & Developed Mkts (CIMB Principal Global Titans).

U leh?
This yr will be targeting Develop market via Aberdeen, north asia via Cimb-P Greater China and asia ex Japan which I got 3 funds (2 from hwang and 1 from cimb)
birdman13200
post Jan 11 2014, 04:40 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 11 2014, 02:23 PM)
No need to attend as I have spoken to a CIS.

As long as you place an order by today, you'll get the promotional SC on eligible funds.
David, any time limit for the today that u mention? which mean I place order tonight also can??
kokhoe8
post Jan 11 2014, 05:20 PM

156 posts

i am looking for a very stable bond fund, are there any recommendations?

previously i bought CIMB Islamic Sukuk as its almost 90 % bonds (the rest are mostly a mixture of higher percentage in equities. This is not something i am looking for as i think equity carries risk) , and it offers about 5% returns annually.

any other recommendations here for stable (rain or shine continue to give same returns) type of funds?

thanks in advance
SUSyklooi
post Jan 11 2014, 06:39 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Jan 11 2014, 04:40 PM)
David, any time limit for the today that u mention? which mean I place order tonight also can??
0.5% SC for fund houses that participated in the seminar. see here.
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=4208

only applicable on fund that has purchase order placed on 11 and on 18 Jan.
purchase on 11...monies MUST reach FSM by 17 jan 3pm. (Cash, Cheques, internet payment or EPF form)
purchase on 18 ...monies Must reach FSM by 24 Jan 3pm.
inter fund switch is OK. (switch between fund houses can get also 0.5%)
intra fund switch is NOT.

just switched 20% of my portfolio of HSbal to Cimb Principal Global Titans

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 11 2014, 06:41 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 11 2014, 06:50 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kokhoe8 @ Jan 11 2014, 05:20 PM)
i am looking for a very stable bond fund, are there any recommendations?

previously i bought CIMB Islamic Sukuk as its almost 90 % bonds (the rest are mostly a mixture of higher percentage in equities. This is not something i am looking for as i think equity carries risk) , and it offers about 5% returns annually.

any other recommendations here for stable (rain or shine continue to give same returns) type of funds?

thanks in advance
hmm.gif same return rain or shine?
try EPF...I think there is a govt. mandate to give minimum 2.5%pa....so far it pays more than that....(except 1952 to 1959....at min 2.5%..see attached for history)
http://1-million-dollar-blog.com/dividends...rovident-funds/
birdman13200
post Jan 11 2014, 08:14 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 11 2014, 06:39 PM)
0.5%  SC for fund houses that participated in the seminar. see here.

purchase on 11...monies MUST reach FSM by 17 jan 3pm. (Cash, Cheques, internet payment or EPF form)

ok, thanks, hv make some minor top up around 5pm just now, pay by RHB FPX, quite slow, dun know why, previously only use Public Bank FPX.

For next weekend, may plan to buy a new fund, but will look at my whole portfolio first.
Kaka23
post Jan 11 2014, 08:28 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 11 2014, 07:39 PM)

For EPF, the forms need to reach them by 17-Jan in order to get the 0.5%sc. Or if EPF released the fund by 17-Jan just can get the 0.5%sc?
Kaka23
post Jan 11 2014, 08:30 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 11 2014, 07:39 PM)

why you switch out Hwang S. Balance? Seeing developed market better potential?
SUSyklooi
post Jan 11 2014, 08:32 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 11 2014, 08:28 PM)
For EPF, the forms need to reach them by 17-Jan in order to get the 0.5%sc. Or if EPF released the fund by 17-Jan just can get the 0.5%sc?
I guess reach them ok liao...
just like the cheques...reach them does not means can clear in time.
to confirm check with FSM lor
SUSyklooi
post Jan 11 2014, 08:35 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 11 2014, 08:30 PM)
why you switch out Hwang S. Balance? Seeing developed market better potential?
still have about 8% in Hsel bal and 8% in kidsave....
just need to rebalance my portfolio...currently very little in develop mkts...
Kaka23
post Jan 12 2014, 12:49 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 11 2014, 09:35 PM)
still have about 8% in Hsel bal and 8% in kidsave....
just need to rebalance my portfolio...currently very little in develop mkts...
what is ur target equity and fix income ratio?

techie.opinion
post Jan 12 2014, 02:15 AM

661 posts

Just placed the order... Still get 0.5%.
Kaka23
post Jan 12 2014, 08:27 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Jan 12 2014, 03:15 AM)
Just placed the order... Still get 0.5%.
topup or new funds?

SUSyklooi
post Jan 12 2014, 08:35 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 12 2014, 12:49 AM)
what is ur target equity and fix income ratio?
did not hv bond fund...FD have 30%.
hv 16% of balance funds so it can be considered about 5~10% in FI
heavy in eq for I for seen the next 2 years FI won't be good...
will rebalance when the time come.

next to go when the opportunity comes is kidsave....to EIGEM.....cos Kidsave is heavier in M'sia than HSBal. and I am still heavy in M'sia. >35% I think.
hmm.gif But M'sia EPF alone keep investing 300 millions (or 3billion a year) in M'sia mkts....exclude, PM, Tabung Haji, KWAP & etc......Malaysia can only go flat, up and not down?

doh.gif having said that......

Are Bonds Still Suitable For Investment In View Of Monetary Tightening? .........January 10, 2014
This week, we explain why why bond investment is something you should definitely consider. .......Author : Fundsupermart.com
Here are some of the key reasons to invest in bonds:

1. Capital Preservation
Bonds have a defined lifespan period, from its issuance till its maturity. During the life of a bond, its price may fluctuate while it is traded on the secondary market. However, if bondholders hold a bond until maturity, they are guaranteed to receive the principal of the bond, barring the risk of default. Investing in bonds can help preserve investors' capital, while receiving coupon payments periodically.

2. Steady Income
Bonds provide investors with "fixed" income. On a set schedule, bond issuers pay bondholders a predetermined amount of interest payment (also known as "coupon"), which is a steady and predictable cash flow to investors.

3. Diversification
Bonds offer diversification benefits to an investor's portfolio; bonds have low correlation with other asset classes (such as equities) and hence can provide investors with better risk-adjusted returns than a portfolio with just one asset class.

4. Portfolio Stabiliser
Bonds can play a role as a portfolio stabiliser particularly during the market downturns. During the past stock market crashes, bonds were able to deliver excellent resilience, thanks to its steady and predictable cash flows which help soften the fluctuations of bond prices. Therefore, including bonds can help enhance the resilience of your portfolio.

http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...?articleNo=7565

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 12 2014, 09:55 AM
techie.opinion
post Jan 12 2014, 09:28 AM

661 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 12 2014, 08:27 AM)
topup or new funds?
top-up.
nightzstar
post Jan 12 2014, 03:42 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

hi wanna seek advise from you guys, is it wise for me to switch from hwang select bond fund or maintain at the moment? because my financial advised me to switch rhb-osk bond which invest in china market. am skeptical over china market.

129 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:19 PM