26 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v5, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

SUSPink Spider
post Feb 25 2014, 05:41 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(Kinggnik87 @ Feb 25 2014, 05:12 PM)
Hello gurus,

I have a question, how much total profit in FSM UT can be considered average?

I'm having around 9% profit for 1 year investment, is that consider good?
Because I kinna have high expectation on UT thus I ask this Q.

Thanks for the reply.
My benchmark is EPF. My multiyear annualised return is only 5.4% currently, but I messed up on some investment decisions before lar...

I think aim 10%+/- would be realistic.
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 26 2014, 11:04 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Feb 25 2014, 10:04 PM)
Hand itching to buy in EI GEM fund. Issh..

Money has to go somewhere...
Shanghai index quite low, should be good to go in now
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 26 2014, 11:38 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Feb 26 2014, 11:30 AM)
EI GEM fund has 21.80% in China/HK. Any idea how much in Shanghai, how much in HSI?

South Korea doing well so far?

Pink gor macam give me confident to go in. U still holding EI GEM fund?

What's the main difference between EI small capital and EI GEM anyway?
Holding.

My equity funds 60/40 FI funds

Inside the 60, 33.8% in EIGEM.

So, effectively 20.28% of my FSM portfolio. tongue.gif

Quite large holding in China stocks.

Harlow...EI small cap is Malaysia fund lar!

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 26 2014, 11:38 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 26 2014, 11:39 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Kinggnik87 @ Feb 26 2014, 11:38 AM)
I see, thanks Spider.
Even though now it seems like my profit is around 9%, but I think only when we sold it  or transfer it then only can be considered as earn a profit. Hmmm... Now it's either for me to hold, sell, or transfer, right?
Don't over-do UT transactions.

U can either hold...or sell the outperformers and top up on the "losers"

A lot to consider
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 26 2014, 11:56 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Feb 26 2014, 11:50 AM)
I never read about EI funds. Haha! Paiseh.

My initial intention was to increase US and Europe exposure. Currently only 22%, HK (from HSAO, HSAO, GEYF and PGSF- all I believe is from HK, no China) only 18%.

If I include EI GEM fund in my portfolio, I will be very heavy in China/HK and I have to take a longer period to increase my US+Europe.
My topping up pattern...e.g. RM100 into RHB-OSK GEYS AND RM100 into EIGEM

Over (some) time...my portfolio would be roughly 40% developed 60% GEM wink.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 26 2014, 12:04 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Feb 26 2014, 12:02 PM)
I headache to think that if I include EI GEM fund in my portfolio, how to segregate the geographical exposure for the pie chart.

Pink, share how you segregate yours?

Mine is - Malaysia, Singapore, Indo, Pholippines, China/HK, Taiwan, Japan, Thai, Aussie, Korea, USA and Europe. EI GEM fund got those Russia, Mexico, South Afrika, Hungary, Turkey, Poland.. Czech.. How lar..
See my pie:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=3841391
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 26 2014, 12:09 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Feb 26 2014, 12:08 PM)
Mind sharing what's inside your SEA- others and BRI (what's BRI) & other EMs?
SEA is Southeast Asia other than M'sia and Singapore
BRI & Other EMs - Brazil, Russia, India and other Emerging Markets, basically all European countries that EIGEM invest in I consider as EM

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 26 2014, 12:09 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 26 2014, 12:42 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Feb 26 2014, 12:23 PM)
My guess is your Developed Europe is mostly from your RHB-OSK GEYF? Why split Japan from SEA-others?
I follow Fullerton Global Equities' allocation, cos Japan is considered FULLY developed market.
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 26 2014, 03:10 PM

16,872 posts

Topped up RHB-OSK GEYF today icon_idea.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 26 2014, 04:54 PM

16,872 posts

Gold and General? Those who bough on Initial Offer are still cursing it laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 26 2014, 05:05 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 26 2014, 05:03 PM)
have to see international economy news, worldwide capital flows and trend bro...IPO dont matter....even Eastspring Indonesia Equity fund and RHBOSK Indo Fund was the worst perfomer in some category few months back...look where they end up now in FSM top 5 charts?  drool.gif (more than 15% return in 2 months time isnt anywhere shabby)
Those familiar with UTs should know, UT companies like to launch sector-specific funds when that sector is red-hot...which means...BUBBLE! laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 27 2014, 11:34 AM

16,872 posts

oi u GUYS, off topic dah! laugh.gif

Kaka is a guy tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 27 2014, 11:57 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Feb 27 2014, 11:44 AM)
Aiseh.. pecah tembelang!!!

Anyway... topped up Kenanga and EI small cap and Hwang AIIMAN PRS
Semua Bolehland jaguh kampong funds hmm.gif

Why, phobia of imported stuff? tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 27 2014, 01:14 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 27 2014, 01:07 PM)
Let's just hope its just provocative war tension... US is at its weakest time right now as they are saddles with huge gomen debt.... A war at this point of time will bankrupt US gomen in 2 to 3 years time...
Russia is only peacekeeping...who say invasion? rolleyes.gif

US mind your own biznes better la
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 27 2014, 08:33 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Feb 27 2014, 07:44 PM)
RHB OSK Global Equities Yield has
Mal, S'pore, HK, Korea, Taiwan  doh.gif
About 20% only
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 27 2014, 09:25 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Feb 27 2014, 09:12 PM)
+ kenaga & EI....a lot lioa...very heavy Asia X Jpn  thumbup.gif
Heavy MALAYSIA only...both Kenanga Growth and EI smallcap is 100% Bolehland
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 28 2014, 09:47 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 28 2014, 09:19 AM)
hmm can someone mind explaining how does the 10% per annum ROI works by compounded? if i buy unit trust for rm1000 on january, and buy 100 per month till december, how much ROI i will get at the end of that year?

also im looking to buy savings insurance. or do u guys recommend me to buy it from rhb retirement series growth fund? arent they the same thing?
Bro u need to understand what is unit trust...

There is no guaranteed ROI!

U invest, i.e. give RM1,000 to unit trust fund manager
He use the money to invest in shares, bonds, money market instruments...
THERE IS NO GUARANTEED PROFITABILITY IN INVESTING!

If u meant ROI calculation of u invest RM1,000 now and RM100 every month for the next 11 months...this is how I do it, spreading the capital outlay over the period:

Gain/(Loss) / (Capital at beginning of period + (capital invested during the year)/2)

E.g.
U total invested RM2,100 (RM1,000 now, RM100 for next 11 months)
After 12 months your fund value is RM2,420
Profit: RM320

ROI
= RM320 / (RM1,000 + (RM1,100/2))
= 20.64%

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 28 2014, 09:48 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 28 2014, 10:19 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 28 2014, 10:14 AM)
Ok got it, meaning to say if i put in rm100 per month, the interest will start compounding that month? the rm320 figure coming from where, isit just your example? cuz the part where im confused is the value of my rm100 everymonth for that month itself, and for the entire year.
like if i pay rm1000 initially, and then pay the next rm1100 a month before the fiscal year, does the profit still the same?
Don't call it "interest", interest is something like guaranteed, profit from UT investing is not guaranteed; in fact, it is volatile.

RM320 I quoted is just an example to illustrate my calculation.

The ROI calculation I shown just now is not that systematic, if u wanna go anal and be more accurate, this is how I do it:

RM320 / (RM1,000 + (RM1,100 x 0.5/12))

The blue part is based on assumption that the RM1,100 u deployed on month 12 (let's assume u invest in mid-Dec) has only half a month to do its "work" to generate return for u.

I don't really like ROI, I prefer IRR calculation; IRR takes care of different timing of your investments made.

Go bottom Post #1 for the worksheet for IRR calculation.

And go Google meaning of IRR. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 28 2014, 10:20 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 28 2014, 10:22 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 28 2014, 10:14 AM)
urm sorry for being really noob.. i meant savings plan. i am looking to go for the 20 years payment policy plan, then at the end of 20th year, i can withdraw the lump sum.
just want to diversify my investment, besides unit trust and savings, i will also buy PRS from RHB growth. what do you think?
Don't bother with savings plans with ANY banks/insurance companies.

U can generate better returns yourself if u put in some reasonable level of effort from UT investing and/or stock investments.

If u want insurance protection, go buy a standalone insurance policy. Don't bother with savings plans.
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 28 2014, 10:33 AM

16,872 posts

BUY TERM, INVEST THE REST rclxms.gif

26 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.2933sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:17 PM