15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v5, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

TakoC
post Mar 28 2014, 12:57 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Kinggnik87 @ Mar 28 2014, 12:26 PM)
I just sold my PGSF trust. It's growth just isn't fast enough. Hmmm
So what are you planning or have planned to replace with?
TakoC
post Mar 28 2014, 01:05 PM

2,081 posts

Was just looking at the graph of all the major indexes. It's scary to see.. Market will crash, and I just hope that my bond fund will be able to cushion some of the shocks..

No one here is selling to anticipate the crash I suppose..
TakoC
post Mar 28 2014, 02:51 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 28 2014, 01:10 PM)
there were a few fellows in 2011 & 2012.. heheh

well, they'll be laughing when it happens - only issue is WHEN will it happen and if it's like another 3 to 5 years down the road, the "opportunity loss" VS loss in future may be another ouch tongue.gif.

i'm one of those with no crystal balls - thus asset allocation lor  laugh.gif
Same situation like the most of us.. Opportunity cost lost, not topping up as market valuation is too overvalued. Lots of spare cash hanging around ie: just putting it in FD. Well, at least still can earn a humble 3%.
TakoC
post Mar 28 2014, 03:10 PM

2,081 posts

True in some sense. But a sky high index in fact shows a high PE too. Not all people like high PE "stocks".

Are you still topping up your portfolio at the current market level, uncle Looi? smile.gif
TakoC
post Mar 29 2014, 08:08 AM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 28 2014, 05:00 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif Not much spare ammo for UT eq funds. now about 85% in EQ. can do switching only to do diversification.
85%!!!

That's a bit high based on your age risk adverse. Just saying.. Uncle don't angry smile.gif
TakoC
post Mar 29 2014, 08:11 AM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Mar 28 2014, 11:21 PM)
US got some good and mixed economic data...but everytime Obama starts opening his mouth and keep warning/threatening russia, us market suddenly goes red red...he should learn to not talk so much.... biggrin.gif
Market really need some BIG news now for a trigger.. I know a lot of foreign fund managers just waiting for opportunity to expand their portfolio.
TakoC
post Mar 29 2014, 08:20 AM

2,081 posts

Eh Pink, your RHB GEYF lately get hit hard? I forgotten how much it dropped but I don't remember it being this low.
TakoC
post Mar 29 2014, 12:07 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 29 2014, 11:34 AM)
IRR dropped from 15%+/- to 10%+/-. It's about time hmm.gif
Likewise..

Wait, it's time means what? U selling or u found a better fund?
TakoC
post Mar 29 2014, 01:54 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 29 2014, 12:13 PM)
Top up lar tongue.gif
Yeah.. That's the other way to look at it..

1. Gain got cut.. Top up.. Market drop.
2. Index dropped to historical month low.. Top up..
TakoC
post Mar 29 2014, 05:35 PM

2,081 posts

KKK, when did you started?
TakoC
post Mar 30 2014, 05:01 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 30 2014, 04:56 PM)
yes very satisfying, after seeing it recover from -5/6 earlier on..  laugh.gif
Happy for you. Keep it up! Top up when market is down..
TakoC
post Mar 31 2014, 08:44 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Mar 31 2014, 08:40 PM)
May I suggest that this point be replaced by a far bigger problem, which is the misunderstanding (or mis-representation?) of what UT distributions actually mean?

Hidden charges are not a problem because you only see what returns you get after fees have been deducted with UT. Hidden charges happens when returns are advertised before fees are deducted.
True that. A lot of fresh UT investors have the wrong understanding about "dividend" distributions.
TakoC
post Apr 2 2014, 08:35 AM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Okina @ Apr 2 2014, 01:01 AM)
I just cancel the purchase order and place a new one.

The old method is still available but I find the FPX to be more convenient. Just select the bank that you want to use to pay (Maybank in my case), and a window will pop up, asking you to log into your bank a/c. Follow the steps and after completing your transaction, log out.
Yup. That and you no longer require to send the payment transaction receipt to them. Just log in, pay, and log out.
TakoC
post Apr 2 2014, 08:39 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 2 2014, 07:43 PM)
Blame it on IRR because of not yet 1 year. I DCA from Dec'13 to Feb'14 and then lump sum in late Feb'14 causing the IRR to spike. My actual ROI is just 3%  rclxub.gif  Same thing with KAF, DCA and then lump sum in late Feb as well  whistling.gif Sorry guys. Should just report those with >1 year.
No worries. Just feel free to report everything.

We have a member here who think it's only the right way to report returns using IRR *ahem* Pink. He's not wrong, each to their own.

Personally I like to keep track using ROI. And 2nd year I'll just take the cumulative ROI - 1st year ROI. But more than not, IRR will just be a few percentage points higher. In my case...
TakoC
post Apr 3 2014, 09:55 AM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 2 2014, 09:45 PM)
grumble.gif

Off-topic... sleep.gif
Okay okay. Next time don't quote.. Haha!

Wah.. Your file got 29 downloads. People expecting something interesting...
TakoC
post Apr 3 2014, 04:29 PM

2,081 posts

Huge jump from March closing result until today.. A mere 1-2 days...
TakoC
post Apr 3 2014, 08:16 PM

2,081 posts

Uncle Looi, I'm not afraid.. Want fall go ahead. I need to top up.. But not 30% la.. 20% can ah.. tongue.gif

Haven't really experience this kind of major fall myself. So apart from the usual portfolio rebalancing (which I can currently 55% on bonds), any tips from the sifus?

I'm planning to top up my RHB GEYF, but when my equity portfolio hits 65-70%, I'll have to top up bonds portion again. So far only thought of increasing US+Europe exposure. Maybe follow like taikor Pink, top up 2 times PGSF follow by once on GEYF..

This post has been edited by TakoC: Apr 3 2014, 08:22 PM
TakoC
post Apr 4 2014, 10:10 AM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 4 2014, 09:54 AM)
diverting my excess funds to stocks tongue.gif

plus, don't see opportunity to buy on dips
Second that bro!

Moved my funds to stocks and to-date around 40%+
TakoC
post Apr 4 2014, 05:10 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Apr 4 2014, 10:52 AM)
ah i see..
will follow your footstep unker. smile.gif very good piece of advice here.
im just started working about 5 months ago, still fresh and know nothing much. good thing i lurk into finance/business sub forum and found this thread.
Call him unker want him keel you ah tongue.gif

But don't follow his footstep la. U obviously didn't read the past old posts, he lost a lot of money in the past. Follow his new investment strategy.
TakoC
post Apr 4 2014, 05:28 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 4 2014, 05:21 PM)
Oi, why u destroy my new idol status tongue.gif

UTs - I lost money due to freaking out during major crash doh.gif
Stocks - I lost money due to thinking I can be stock trader win (most) trades like how I win at Baccarat table doh.gif

But overall now I've already recovered all the losses flex.gif
Ooi so U quit gambling already? Long time didn't see u lurk at GCC.

15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Top

0.0553sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:41 AM