Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Nov 1 2013, 09:34 PM)
holy foochok....that is friggin' expensive
milky
post Nov 1 2013, 10:31 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

guys ducky zero all the keycaps can change right?
SoulRex
post Nov 1 2013, 10:33 PM

258 posts

can any sifu explain what is doubleshot and subdye for pbt???
calkh
post Nov 1 2013, 10:35 PM

102 posts

Brothers here - anyone dare play this?

http://store.steampowered.com/app/246580/?snr=1_4_4__104
tWice
post Nov 1 2013, 10:37 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(calkh @ Nov 1 2013, 01:32 AM)
It's a lot closer to 1 kg, not sure where rumours started about it being light.....The TK has a steel plate and the weight, plus rubber feet means it hasn't moved around accidentally in all the time that I use it.

As for why I bought TK:
1. backlit
2. numpad
3. TKL size

Unless you enter into custom keyboard league - those combinations above are unbeatable.

Major negatives:
1. one of the LEDs broke - wouldn't light up anymore
2. non-standard layout.....you do get jealous looking at all the guys here with their keycaps.
3. ABS keycaps. My spacebar is shining dy. Have to ignore forever - coz of no (2)

Neutral:
The key legends..some people love it....some would rather die than be seen with it. I fall into the don't care camp - I don't look at the keys when I type. The backlight only helps when I need to hunt for keys during gaming.
From what you have said. Ive change my mind. I should go for cm storm tk first since im first timer. I donno where to buy keycaps and modded it yet. Since i also eager for LED. And TK is also 1kg. I think TK is not bad. Am I right?????

calkh
post Nov 1 2013, 10:40 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(SoulRex @ Nov 1 2013, 10:33 PM)
ABS/PBT/POM are all types of plastic used for keycaps. 1st page got brief definition of each. Super simple explanation is PBT/POM >>> ABS (although there are exceptions for some ABS suppliers)

Pad-Printed, Laser-etch, Dye-Sub, Doubleshot are all methods to print the legends on the keycaps themselves. Generally, Double-shot > Dye-Sub > Laser > Pad-Print (but double-shot is only available on ABS IINM)

Very good explanation available here: http://www.overclock.net/t/491752/mechanic...de#post_6009683
justnits
post Nov 1 2013, 10:40 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Nov 1 2013, 10:31 PM)
guys ducky zero all the keycaps can change right?
ducky zero is standard layout, means if u buy after market standard layout keycaps, u can change all of them.
but almost all ducky keyboards are 108 keys....and most after market keycaps set are 104 keys...so u have to find 4 extra keycaps if u want to change all of them

http://www.overclock.net/t/491752/mechanic...de#post_6018011

read this and feel the poisonknowledge flowing in you!
SUSHuman10
post Nov 1 2013, 10:42 PM

6,774 posts

Printing methods.

Like you always see on your keyboard, those are normally either Pad Printed (akind to a sticker stick onto keycaps) or lasered.

The durability of them are pretty short.

Dye-sub or doubleshot on the other hand are some older and more unique ways of printing, which is much much more durable but costly, hence you won't normally find it in modern keyboards (those old keyboards like IBM, hp and bla bla bla are mostly dye-sub or doubleshot).
milky

- King -
4,743 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 1 2013, 10:40 PM)
ducky zero is standard layout, means if u buy after market standard layout keycaps, u can change all of them.
but almost all ducky keyboards are 108 keys....and most after market keycaps set are 104 keys...so u have to find 4 extra keycaps if u want to change all of them
http://www.overclock.net/t/491752/mechanic...de#post_6018011

read this and feel the poisonknowledge flowing in you!
thanks for explaining.. cause got a fren keep asking me...=D
ainuddin

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Nov 1 2013, 09:34 PM)
ini kaiserreich suka.
milky
post Nov 1 2013, 10:43 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

btw anybody can translate for me keycaps in chinese?cause i wan to search somethjing on taobao.. thjanks
lowyatguy
post Nov 1 2013, 10:44 PM

=Certified Counter-Striker=
3,144 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Nov 1 2013, 10:42 PM)
ini kaiserreich suka.
ya dia ada suka, tapi beli dari Jepun murah banyak
SoulRex
post Nov 1 2013, 10:45 PM

258 posts

thx to all sifu =)
justnits

2,968 posts

QUOTE(calkh @ Nov 1 2013, 10:40 PM)
ABS/PBT/POM are all types of plastic used for keycaps. 1st page got brief definition of each. Super simple explanation is PBT/POM >>> ABS (although there are exceptions for some ABS suppliers)

Pad-Printed, Laser-etch, Dye-Sub, Doubleshot are all methods to print the legends on the keycaps themselves. Generally, Double-shot > Dye-Sub > Laser > Pad-Print (but double-shot is only available on ABS IINM)

Very good explanation available here: http://www.overclock.net/t/491752/mechanic...de#post_6009683
that used to be true until ikbc make the infamous "ugly fonts" vortex doubleshot pbt keycaps on f104! tongue.gif
calkh

102 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Nov 1 2013, 10:37 PM)
From what you have said. Ive change my mind. I should go for cm storm tk first since im first timer. I donno where to buy keycaps and modded it yet. Since i also eager for LED. And TK is also 1kg. I think TK is not bad. Am I right?????
Wow...you're too late dy - justnits was letting go of his KeyCool just few days ago.

Now - it's your money, so final decision is always your. QF TK is backlit - if backlit is a MUST, it is not a bad buy. I'm probably just unlucky with QC issue for my unit. Now - if you're buying this keyboard as a one time deal and you're not going to get into MKB hobby at all - by all means, QF TK is fine. I heard the keycaps are also slightly higher quality than QFR, but I cannot confirm this (don't have QFR). It's definitely far better than any Razer BW out there.....Slightly better keycaps also means it should last slightly longer than QFR.

The super big advantage of QFR though - is that it is standard layout. If you enjoy the rush of mechanical keyboards, by all means QFR (or Stealth) is the better buy.
SUSHuman10
post Nov 1 2013, 10:46 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Nov 1 2013, 10:43 PM)
btw anybody can translate for me keycaps in chinese?cause i wan to search somethjing on taobao.. thjanks
键帽
justnits
post Nov 1 2013, 10:46 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Nov 1 2013, 10:44 PM)
ya dia ada suka, tapi beli dari Jepun murah banyak
siapa mau beli dari nippon, sila announce kat sini utk penumpang-penumpang sekalian, arigatou
calkh
post Nov 1 2013, 10:47 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 1 2013, 10:45 PM)
that used to be true until ikbc make the infamous "ugly fonts" vortex doubleshot pbt keycaps on f104! tongue.gif
wut?? the f104 actually has double-shot PBT? I definitely have much to learn

126 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:29 AM