Mechanical Keyboard Thread V17
SUSHuman10
Nov 20 2013, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(Kuntau @ Nov 20 2013, 08:51 PM) The left ALT ke just not functioning, nothing happen if you press that key.. I tried 3 machine (laptop, workstation, and home pc).. 3 OSes (Linux, Windows 7, and OSX 10.9). I come back from COD with this sohai straight plug in my workstation and found it not functioning. He gave me alot excuses but I think he already know this from the start. But his price nice what?  JK. I will say, if you no plan to claim any official warranty on it, then you can try to open up the board and inspect the real cause of the problem. For a individual key to be completely not registering, I highly suspect it is due to improper solder on the key switch. I guess a simple resolder should fix the problem, don't even need to swap the switch.
SUSHuman10
Nov 20 2013, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(Kuntau @ Nov 20 2013, 09:02 PM) ya sure I fell for the price and this extra price I got really worth it  LOL. DIY I think is out of question since haven't do soldering for years and I don't have any equipment for that. He said still got 6 month warranty but the receipt is not with him » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Then give this Thread Starter a PM, he is located at Sunway and he offering repairing service.
SUSHuman10
Nov 20 2013, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(Kuntau @ Nov 20 2013, 09:16 PM) Really?? Brand new is RM260 in garage sale. BTW I many seller sell at price and I got razer tournament offer for 150. I just deal with him because the he is nearer QFR > Razer TE
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(milky @ Nov 21 2013, 12:37 AM) is every ikbc f-104's keycaps DS PBT? Erm, all the stock black keycaps are DS PBT. The free RGB modifiers are unprinted PBT. The white free keycaps are DS PBT.
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(milky @ Nov 21 2013, 12:17 PM) The keyboard + bundles free gifts(RGB and keypuller) + white ds pbt set?
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(milky @ Nov 21 2013, 12:45 PM) i can choose any white ds pbt set? 1 set only right  i translated out like got 2 FOC set xD 1 set only. You can inform the seller you want, but whether they deliver it right is different story.
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(milky @ Nov 21 2013, 12:55 PM) WTF is randomly? normally market requires Blue or Orange or Green or Red on White caps? i mean higher demands  Some seller don't bother much on option for free gifts, they simply give out randomly. Some better seller will do what you asked as long as no extra cost incurred. It is the art of taobao. I think is blue and red, both high demand but also high supply (in this thread, so far all taobao free keycaps are red, while all massdrop bulk buy is blue) This post has been edited by Human10: Nov 21 2013, 01:12 PM
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(belfong @ Nov 21 2013, 02:23 PM) I wonder too. Maybe I put it on the least used key. I have one key I hardly use: | and \ key, just beside the + key. I am on a Mac so I hardly ever need backslash. Isn't the brobot a 1x sized key?
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(belfong @ Nov 21 2013, 02:34 PM) I think I am crazy to spend RM180 on ONE key cap. I didn't want to but I can't resist a steel made key cap. That looks really awesome. Yeah. I am done. I have R4 and R5 caps on the way and waiting for Penumbra invoice. Done done done!! Fear not, it is easily an investment. I am pretty sure it's price will double/triple in future.
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(midnight2903 @ Nov 21 2013, 03:57 PM) Anyone know of any good PCB mounted mech keyboards, preferably with reds or browns? The only remaining maker of PCB mounted mech keyboards are Plum and Cherry, where both of them are in the stage of migrating to steel plate also... So if you want it, better act fast. Alternatively, some ergo keyboards are PCB mounted IINM. Models recommended: Plum 96 wireless version, Kinesis advantage, cherry 3000/34xx series, poker 1? Alternatively, there are Neo Zelia 87, but I not too sure if it is a good choice. http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=14126998195This post has been edited by Human10: Nov 21 2013, 04:15 PM
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(midnight2903 @ Nov 21 2013, 04:31 PM) Are most Vortex boards PCB mounted? I know the poker is, but I would prefer to have the arrow keys and stuff. (TKL but with Ins, Del, Home etc) Hmm, you are right, I missed some products of Vortex range. But apart from the Race and pure, their other products are plate mounted IINM. Also, since previous line of race/pure EOLed, we not sure if they will do like what KBC did (they are sister companies with same manufacturer), adding steel plate like what happened to poker 1 to 2.
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 21 2013, 06:03 PM) do u intend to put LED as well? if u do, forget about ez swapping unless u get those LED pins for easy swapping...which reminds me, anyone know where to get? >.< https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...entry64599141Keyword, 18B20座子 So far taobaoed and only find 1 store, may be need more specific/suitable keywords.
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(qaa7705d @ Nov 21 2013, 08:42 PM) owhh..i think i know now..the differences is the size of keycaps between ctrl and alt right?..the size of ctrl and alt of non-standard is bigger than in the middle of ctrl and alt..and the standard one the keycaps same in size..i hope this right..ahahaha In short, we call those with consistent size for modifier (Ctrl, Alt, Win and Menu) keys standard layout. Each key is 1.25x in size. Since the total of a row of keys are 15x unit, that will result in 6.25x for the size of spacebar. That is called standard spacebar size. Though for spacebar, more complicated stories and theories kicked in, where each OEM/manufacturers may had their own stem spacing, resulting non-standard spacebar. Here we adopt the spacing of Ducky/Filco/Rosewill RK9000 as the standard spacebar stem spacing.
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(midnight2903 @ Nov 21 2013, 09:34 PM) Would prefer the usual 87 key layout... I don't really like the arrow keys there Neo Zelia 87 then. Though it isn't among the top list of keyboards to get due to it's fragile design and casing.
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(qaa7705d @ Nov 21 2013, 09:52 PM) waaa..so detail..thanks..hehehehe  ..btw which mech kb suit best for newbie like me?..my friend diabolique suggested me cm qfr or keycool..but qfr got rubber coat and i kinda hate it a bit...  hmmmm Keycool it is then.
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(qaa7705d @ Nov 21 2013, 10:02 PM) but i think ducky shine 3 a bit too much for my budget..my bad..ahahaha..how about keycool?..i heard they from china and might get chance to have minor problems with the switch..is't serious?.... Probably some failed QC with the switches. If the board itself is good and functional, you can always fix or swap out the faulty switches.
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 10:10 PM
qaa7705d
But taobao service to sarawak really banyak mahal, making all chinaboard not worth the price dy.
I would suggest you better try those cheap 2nd hand board in garage sale first.
Till just now, there are still a Rosewill Blue switch in GS at only RM150.
This post has been edited by Human10: Nov 21 2013, 10:10 PM
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 21 2013, 10:11 PM) that's the keyword in taobao? Yup, with that I can (and only) found one store that sell it. http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=16460311585Just refined the keyword, and now got 3 stores. http://s.taobao.com/search?q=%BE%A7%D5%F1+...=shopz_20131121I think should use only "座“ instead of 座子 This post has been edited by Human10: Nov 21 2013, 10:14 PM
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(qaa7705d @ Nov 21 2013, 10:14 PM) sure too much poison here..heheheheh  ..yeahhh..i saw it too..but i prefer TKL..well maybe i have to be patient and see what coming in the garage sales..not rushing though... If you already clearly know what you looking for, then it still make some sense to spend the ridiculous shipping cost to get thing from taobao. Cause 80% of tkl you will/can find in garage sale is either: Razer CM Amargeddon With the remaining 15% comprised of Ducky Shine2 and 5% comprised of Filco TKL.
SUSHuman10
Nov 21 2013, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 21 2013, 10:18 PM) isn't that...some pins u'll usually find in components store? It is some pins, but since ppl had tried modding with the exact thing, better stick to the exact same thing.