[SEEK HELP] bass from music, newbie playing a bit of ICE

TSgeforce88
post Oct 28 2013, 09:15 PM, updated 13y ago

2,841 posts

Hi all ICE sifu and audio sifu, good evening. smile.gif

Alright so after going through the great input, helpful comments and suggestions from u guys, i have finally changed my HU, and also added a sub and amp. but due to budget constrain, all stuff are basically cheap ones. sweat.gif

2 questions here:

1) currently the bass from the music are coming from all speakers and sub. How do i direct the bass to the sub and prevent any bass coming out from speakers?
Problem solved. Previously have no knowledge about HPF. The HPF settings on HU was off. Now it is set to ON.

2) the HU comes with built-in subwoofer On/Off control, but why it does not make any difference when i select it?
Problem solved. It was actually caused by loosen cable connecting amp to sub. My own mistake for didnt check properly.

setup:
-Pioneer MVH-155UI
-stock ori speakers of Proton Gen2 (front and rear)
-Caliber 1000w 2-channel
-Sierra 12" sub

seriously need help here, feels very miserable because totally noob with audio things.

thank you very much! notworthy.gif

UPDATE: 22 / 11 / 2013

ok, so now the problem consider solved, but still, due to my own curiosity, i try to digest what did u all audio sifu out there told me last time, especially forumer 6UE5T, and i also have been google-ing for quite some time regarding the settings of HPF, LPF, Gain, Bass Boost etc etc. maybe due to all these, i still have some doubts in my mind now.

Here is the amp setting which i NEVER touch / modify / change since the day of installation:

GAIN:
as far as i know, gain cannot be too low or too high? too low means not enough power for the amp? and too high means can over-powering the sub and damage the sub? for now i leave it at the center mark, dare not touch. hmm.gif

BASS BOOST:
from my reading through google, majority of audiophiles and audio sifu never recommend to use bass boost, many will say better to leave it zero because bass boost will "pull" lots of energy from the amp, dangerous and will cause overheating, and also make the music sounds artificial. and yet some will argue that bass boost is fine to use as long dont use it too high level. so again, i leave this at center. sweat.gif

LPF:
ok, this is probably the most confusing for me. the LPF marking on the amp only stated 50Hz and 250Hz, so i assume that setting the knob to exactly center means 150Hz? rclxub.gif
if it really means 150Hz, how about the LPF on HU? i set it to 80Hz, output level +3 and slope level -12. so which is the real LPF? 150Hz on amp or 80Hz on HU? or i will end up getting something in between 150 and 80? unsure.gif
and is my output level and slope level set correctly? i dont quite understand what is slope level even after fiddle with it. blink.gif

HPF:
since this amp is for sub, and the Mode already set to LPF, so the HPF don't need to bother right? its alright to just leave it like that?

my current HU settings:
HPF set to 125Hz, slope level -12. i came to know it is better if LPF and HPF value are able to be as close as possible, but due to the super noob quality of stock Gen2 speakers, i have no choice but to set 125Hz, or else the front doors will start to have weird noise. so now assume that my LPF is 80, and HPF is 125, so anything between 80 to 125 is not fully covered? this condition is consider OK?
Bass Boost = 0 (because unnecessary?)
Loudness = Max (because Off, Low and Mid sounded weird)
EQ = Vocal (still prefer Vocal more than the rest)

i know i am being very fussy here, but if there is still any sifu or audio pro willing to answer my miserable questions, please feel free to do that. million thanks in advance! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by geforce88: Nov 22 2013, 11:28 PM
howiechoo
post Oct 28 2013, 09:41 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

ur speaker should produce quite some amount of bass / mid bass. it's not appropriate to filter the front speaker to produce no bass while all bass at the sub...you wont get a good imaging with that.

ur amp input most probably connected to the other output from the hu or there's some setting inside that does not turn to the correct output...
TSgeforce88
post Oct 28 2013, 09:52 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Oct 28 2013, 09:41 PM)
ur speaker should produce quite some amount of bass / mid bass. it's not appropriate to filter the front speaker to produce no bass while all bass at the sub...you wont get a good imaging with that.

ur amp input most probably connected to the other output from the hu or there's some setting inside that does not turn to the correct output...
thanks for the input.

the reason of preventing bass coming out from speakers is that the front speakers make the front door vibrate and producing very annoying sound, and rear speakers bass is making rear glass "dancing", typical Proton quality sweat.gif

if really the connection between amp and hu is wrong, means i have to take out everything and reconnect? sad.gif

omg......
6UE5T
post Oct 28 2013, 11:10 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Oct 28 2013, 09:52 PM)
thanks for the input.

the reason of preventing bass coming out from speakers is that the front speakers make the front door vibrate and producing very annoying sound, and rear speakers bass is making rear glass "dancing", typical Proton quality  sweat.gif

if really the connection between amp and hu is wrong, means i have to take out everything and reconnect?  sad.gif

omg......
You should filter the bass to the speakers only for mid bass frequencies (like >80hz or even >60hz, depending on the size and low frequency capability of your speakers). Your sub also should not play mid-high bass frequencies because they're bigger hence may not be able to response fast enough to produce those mid-high bass frequencies accurately. The subs are only designed to produce the low end bass.
KKfai
post Oct 28 2013, 11:14 PM

thanks for the input.

the reason of preventing bass coming out from speakers is that the front speakers make the front door vibrate and producing very annoying sound, and rear speakers bass is making rear glass "dancing", typical Proton quality  sweat.gif

if really the connection between amp and hu is wrong, means i have to take out everything and reconnect?  sad.gif

omg......
Hi,I m not so sure what type of bass u a looking for. a lot of boomy bass in your car ? or kind of correct dynamic punch from toms or reality type from kick drum .Should have tell the installor or listen to the demo,see wherether is the kind of bass your looking for then only let the guy install. Why i mentioned above cause i saw yu invest yr money for bass. the things yu mention above ;front door vibrating & produce annoying is because yu have not filter out subbass sound from yr door midranges.Try to get the installor who is proven know how or the demo car has the type of sound yu want;then seek for help.you may buy ten diffrent brands expensive or fair price yu still will not get the type of bass you want,trusts me cause i been through these before.
Quazacolt
post Oct 29 2013, 12:49 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

you know, when all the veterans/pros are PREACHING for soundproofing, there is a reason for that right?
TSgeforce88
post Oct 29 2013, 11:47 AM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 28 2013, 11:10 PM)
You should filter the bass to the speakers only for mid bass frequencies (like >80hz or even >60hz, depending on the size and low frequency capability of your speakers). Your sub also should not play mid-high bass frequencies because they're bigger hence may not be able to response fast enough to produce those mid-high bass frequencies accurately. The subs are only designed to produce the low end bass.
QUOTE(KKfai @ Oct 28 2013, 11:14 PM)
Hi,I m not so sure what type of bass u a looking for. a lot of boomy bass in your car ? or kind of correct dynamic punch from toms  or reality type from kick drum .Should have tell  the installor or listen to the demo,see wherether is the kind of bass your looking for then only let the guy install. Why i mentioned above cause i saw yu invest yr money for bass. the things yu mention above ;front door vibrating & produce annoying is because yu have not filter out subbass sound from yr door midranges.Try to get the installor who is proven know how or the demo car has the type of sound yu want;then seek for help.you may buy ten diffrent brands expensive or fair price yu still will not get the type of bass you want,trusts me cause i been through these before.
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 29 2013, 12:49 AM)
you know, when all the veterans/pros are PREACHING for soundproofing, there is a reason for that right?
to be honest, i myself also dont know what kind of bass i am looking for...... sweat.gif

i listen to a lot of trance and new age music, how to describe the bass i really got no idea, sorry.

what i looking is just "filter" out the boom boom sound from my door speakers and rear speakers, i tried to set FLAT on the HU EQ, its goes flat, but then the sub also going flat as well doh.gif

as for sound proof, i personally dont think its worth it to install on a 8 years old car? unsure.gif
and furthermore my setup is just very basic and cheap, not high end stuff or what yawn.gif

anyway, thanks to all Sifu once again for the great input, really appreciate all the comments thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by geforce88: Oct 29 2013, 11:47 AM
Quazacolt
post Oct 29 2013, 11:55 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Oct 29 2013, 11:47 AM)
as for sound proof, i personally dont think its worth it to install on a 8 years old car?  unsure.gif
and furthermore my setup is just very basic and cheap, not high end stuff or what  yawn.gif
my car is a 14 years old proton iswara and it has all the basic sound proofing. so it's up to your own mindset.
i'm also on basic setup.
KKfai
post Oct 29 2013, 01:00 PM

to be honest, i myself also dont know what kind of bass i am looking for......  sweat.gif

i listen to a lot of trance and new age music, how to describe the bass i really got no idea, sorry.

what i looking is just "filter" out the boom boom sound from my door speakers and rear speakers, i tried to set FLAT on the HU EQ, its goes flat, but then the sub also going flat as well  doh.gif

as for sound proof, i personally dont think its worth it to install on a 8 years old car?  unsure.gif
and furthermore my setup is just very basic and cheap, not high end stuff or what  yawn.gif

anyway, thanks to all Sifu once again for the great input, really appreciate all the comments  thumbup.gif
Yes, trance music has a lot of really low and powerfull bass(around 35 hz),since you got passion on music ,for a economy side just do yr front doors soundproof,and get the good installor to look for rattle sheet panel in your car and just to apply soundproof on that particular rattle sheet matel. (use sweap tone to find out).this way you could save soundproof money.And dont simply turn your head unit's bass to max this is not the correct way to get
good sounding bass in yr car(most of the time you get loudsybass) let those pro do it for yu.
To answer your second question.let say you are going to use this car for another 3 years.Yu spend around a thousand bugs for good music which yu could enjoy everyday for 3 years to me this is not expendsive.Things you use everyday is very worthwhile. Things yu use once a month is considered expensive.that's all.
6UE5T
post Oct 29 2013, 06:57 PM

1,704 posts

to be honest, i myself also dont know what kind of bass i am looking for......  sweat.gif

what i looking is just "filter" out the boom boom sound from my door speakers and rear speakers, i tried to set FLAT on the HU EQ, its goes flat, but then the sub also going flat as well  doh.gif

anyway, thanks to all Sifu once again for the great input, really appreciate all the comments  thumbup.gif
Ok not sure what 'boom boom' sound means to you but let me ask you these:

1. I checked that your HU does have high & low pass filters for speakers & sub. Normally those should be set as active for your setup. So can the filter frequencies be adjusted like I mentioned before? If can, then play around with those until you get the best sound for you. Usually in the mean time I'd suggest the EQ to be flat and loudness off first. If the HU does not have filter frequencies adjustments then you're already a bit limited with what you can set. So then question no.2 below.

2. Can your amp low pass frequency filter for the sub be adjusted for different frequencies? If your HU don't have such control then you need to play with this setting in the amp until you find the best sound to you while the low pass filter in your HU is bypass/deactivated and the high pass on the HU though should remain active. This way, you still rely on your HU to filter out excessive low bass from your speakers but rely on the sub amp to filter out excess mid/high bass from your subs. You can also play around with the gain on your sub amp until you find the loudest sound without distortion. If the amp has loudness or bass boost settings, then I suggest to turn it off first as better rely on the EQ/loudness settings in the HU later. If the amp has low pass filter but also does not have frequency adjustment, then you need to play around between using the HU low pass filter vs the amp low pass filter, which one is the better sounding for you.

3. Once the above done, then you can come back to try play around with the EQ & loudness to fine tune until you get what you like best.

These activities may take an hour or more, and I suggest to use your best music material for this. If you still don't understand how to do it, then ask a friend who could help or last resort is bring it to an installer for them to help fine tune your sound (you may need to pay them though).

Hope this helps a bit.
TSgeforce88
post Oct 29 2013, 08:12 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 29 2013, 06:57 PM)
Ok not sure what 'boom boom' sound means to you but let me ask you these:

1. I checked that your HU does have high & low pass filters for speakers & sub. Normally those should be set as active for your setup. So can the filter frequencies be adjusted like I mentioned before? If can, then play around with those until you get the best sound for you. Usually in the mean time I'd suggest the EQ to be flat and loudness off first. If the HU does not have filter frequencies adjustments then you're already a bit limited with what you can set. So then question no.2 below.

2. Can your amp low pass frequency filter for the sub be adjusted for different frequencies? If your HU don't have such control then you need to play with this setting in the amp until you find the best sound to you while the low pass filter in your HU is bypass/deactivated and the high pass on the HU though should remain active. This way, you still rely on your HU to filter out excessive low bass from your speakers but rely on the sub amp to filter out excess mid/high bass from your subs. You can also play around with the gain on your sub amp until you find the loudest sound without distortion. If the amp has loudness or bass boost settings, then I suggest to turn it off first as better rely on the EQ/loudness settings in the HU later. If the amp has low pass filter but also does not have frequency adjustment, then you need to play around between using the HU low pass filter vs the amp low pass filter, which one is the better sounding for you.

3. Once the above done, then you can come back to try play around with the EQ & loudness to fine tune until you get what you like best.

These activities may take an hour or more, and I suggest to use your best music material for this. If you still don't understand how to do it, then ask a friend who could help or last resort is bring it to an installer for them to help fine tune your sound (you may need to pay them though).

Hope this helps a bit.
wow! i will definitely jot down this on a paper, very very detailed explanation shocking.gif thumbup.gif

will try to fiddle with all those settings that u mentioned this weekend when i am completely free biggrin.gif
TSgeforce88
post Oct 29 2013, 08:14 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 29 2013, 11:55 AM)
my car is a 14 years old proton iswara and it has all the basic sound proofing. so it's up to your own mindset.
i'm also on basic setup.
QUOTE(KKfai @ Oct 29 2013, 01:00 PM)
Yes, trance music has a lot of really low and powerfull bass(around 35 hz),since you got passion on music ,for a economy side just do yr front doors soundproof,and get the good installor to look for rattle sheet panel in your car and just to apply soundproof on that particular rattle sheet matel. (use sweap tone to find out).this way you could save soundproof money.And dont simply turn your head unit's bass to max this is not the correct way to get
good sounding bass in yr car(most of the time you get loudsybass) let  those pro do it for yu.
To answer your second question.let say you are going to use this car for another 3 years.Yu spend around a thousand bugs for good music which yu could enjoy everyday for 3 years to me this is not expendsive.Things you use everyday is very worthwhile. Things yu use once a month is considered expensive.that's all.
ok, thanks once again for the suggestions + recommendations regarding the sound proof issue, i will take note on important points notworthy.gif

6UE5T
post Oct 29 2013, 09:49 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Oct 29 2013, 08:12 PM)
wow! i will definitely jot down this on a paper, very very detailed explanation  shocking.gif  thumbup.gif

will try to fiddle with all those settings that u mentioned this weekend when i am completely free  biggrin.gif
That's the spirit, have fun then. smile.gif
TSgeforce88
post Nov 22 2013, 11:31 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 29 2013, 09:49 PM)
That's the spirit, have fun then. smile.gif
have read more and more articles and how to set AMP / HU through google, and the more i read, the more i curious and confuse laugh.gif sweat.gif

anyway, previous problems have solved, and i also updated my first post with few more questions sweat.gif
6UE5T
post Nov 23 2013, 11:03 PM

1,704 posts

My comments in bold, hope it helps.

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Oct 28 2013, 09:15 PM)
UPDATE: 22 / 11 / 2013

ok, so now the problem consider solved, but still, due to my own curiosity, i try to digest what did u all audio sifu out there told me last time, especially forumer 6UE5T, and i also have been google-ing for quite some time regarding the settings of HPF, LPF, Gain, Bass Boost etc etc. maybe due to all these, i still have some doubts in my mind now.

Here is the amp setting which i NEVER touch / modify / change since the day of installation:

GAIN:
as far as i know, gain cannot be too low or too high? too low means not enough power for the amp? and too high means can over-powering the sub and damage the sub? for now i leave it at the center mark, dare not touch.  hmm.gif

Gain is actually setting to match the volume of your HU. Usually you'd need an installer with voltage measurement to do gain matching between your HU & power amp. However the easy way to DIY even though not accurate is to first turn it to minimum gain. Then turn your HU volume to about 75%, then while paying music start turning the gain on the amp slowly until you can get the loudest sound BUT still clean/without noticeable distortions, then stop it there. Do this while all bass/treble/EQ/loudness settings are flat.

BASS BOOST:
from my reading through google, majority of audiophiles and audio sifu never recommend to use bass boost, many will say better to leave it zero because bass boost will "pull" lots of energy from the amp, dangerous and will cause overheating, and also make the music sounds artificial. and yet some will argue that bass boost is fine to use as long dont use it too high level. so again, i leave this at center.  sweat.gif

For me, it's all up to your ears, set it to the level that you like the most,  coz in the end it's you who listen to it, not other people. smile.gif But since this is at the amp whereby you cannot adjust it easily (unless the amp has a remote bass boost controller), then better not set it at max, usually medium. This way you can till have room to to adjust using your HU bass controller.

LPF:
ok, this is probably the most confusing for me. the LPF marking on the amp only stated 50Hz and 250Hz, so i assume that setting the knob to exactly center means 150Hz?  rclxub.gif
if it really means 150Hz, how about the LPF on HU? i set it to 80Hz, output level +3 and slope level -12. so which is the real LPF? 150Hz on amp or 80Hz on HU?  or i will end up getting something in between 150 and 80? unsure.gif
and is my output level and slope level set correctly? i dont quite understand what is slope level even after fiddle with it.   blink.gif

If your HU LPF is at 80hz and your amp is at 150hz, then the one that will take effect is the one from your HU as it's lower frequency. For me usually I'd set the LPF on the amp to completely off meaning no LPF if the HU already has LPF, so that I can completely control the LPF just from the HU which is easier to adjust. If the amp cannot completely deactivate the LPF, then I'd turn off the LPF on the HU, so the one that will be active is on the amp and I'll adjust the amp LPF until I got the bass I like. The aim is to try make just one of the setting to be the LPF control. If both cannot be turn off completely, then Id make the amp LPF to the highest frequency (in your case at 250hz), so that the HU has more margin to adjust LPF below 250hz. In your amp above, I'd set it at full meaning all LPF & HPF are off. As for the slope and level, again it's up to your ears to determine until you get the bass you like. I usually would set the slope as steep as possible so the cut off is cleaner.

HPF:
since this amp is for sub, and the Mode already set to LPF, so the HPF don't need to bother right? its alright to just leave it like that?

Yes, if you only connect the sub to the amp and no satellite speakers then the HPF on the amp doesn't matter. You can turn it off by selecting FULL.

my current HU settings:
HPF set to 125Hz, slope level -12. i came to know it is better if LPF and HPF value are able to be as close as possible, but due to the super noob quality of stock Gen2 speakers, i have no choice but to set 125Hz, or else the front doors will start to have weird noise. so now assume that my LPF is 80, and HPF is 125, so anything between 80 to 125 is not fully covered? this condition is consider OK?
Bass Boost = 0 (because unnecessary?)
Loudness = Max (because Off, Low and Mid sounded weird)
EQ = Vocal (still prefer Vocal more than the rest)

Yes, in your settings above, it means between 80-125hz is not fully covered. It doesn't mean those frequencies are completely gone as they can still come thru but at a much more lower/muted level. Ideally it should not be like that as you want the full frequency spectrum to be able to go thru equally. I'd guess that the bass guitar and drum toms sound will be more dry/not enough humming. One way to alleviate this a bit is by making the LPF & HPF slopes less steep, hence they would overlap more. Again this is up to your ears, which one will sound the best for your with the equipment you have now. Same with bass boost, loudness, and EQ, which ever sound the best for your ears. smile.gif I personally often would also turn off loudness and rely fully on the EQ.

i know i am being very fussy here, but if there is still any sifu or audio pro willing to answer my miserable questions, please feel free to do that. million thanks in advance!  notworthy.gif
This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Nov 23 2013, 11:05 PM
TSgeforce88
post Nov 27 2013, 03:13 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 23 2013, 11:03 PM)
My comments in bold, hope it helps.
thanks once again, for the very kind help of yours notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

now finally no more misery for me laugh.gif

i made screenshots of all useful tips here, and then print out hardcopy, keep in my car tongue.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by geforce88: Nov 27 2013, 03:19 PM
6UE5T
post Nov 27 2013, 08:34 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Nov 27 2013, 03:13 PM)
thanks once again, for the very kind help of yours  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

now finally no more misery for me  laugh.gif

i made screenshots of all useful tips here, and then print out hardcopy, keep in my car  tongue.gif  sweat.gif
You're welcome, you can thank me properly by letting me test drive your Lamborghini if you really have one! biggrin.gif
TSgeforce88
post Nov 27 2013, 10:36 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 27 2013, 08:34 PM)
You're welcome, you can thank me properly by letting me test drive your Lamborghini if you really have one! biggrin.gif
well, need to strike lottery for that sweat.gif
KKfai
post Nov 28 2013, 12:30 AM

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Nov 27 2013, 03:13 PM)
thanks once again, for the very kind help of yours  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

now finally no more misery for me  laugh.gif

i made screenshots of all useful tips here, and then print out hardcopy, keep in my car  tongue.gif  sweat.gif
If u still not satisfy with result .u may drop by my shop.i teach u how to tune yr bass.ok?f.o.c.cause
Sound are hard to describe in writing .
TSgeforce88
post Nov 28 2013, 10:19 AM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(KKfai @ Nov 28 2013, 12:30 AM)
If u still not satisfy with result .u may drop by my shop.i teach u how to tune yr bass.ok?f.o.c.cause
Sound are hard to describe in writing .
bro, thank you very much for the offer, but i am from Penang sweat.gif

0.0250sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:56 AM