[discuss]anyone faces MSN messenger SPAM ?, a serious problem

TSgstoh
post Jun 13 2006, 09:14 PM, updated 20y ago

INTJ
1,282 posts

anyone facing this problem ?
i am the victim of this new spam! cry.gif cry.gif
this spam is sure 100% will receive .. no other way to escape..
u have no choice to cancle msn request to add u
so.. it means u difinitely will get the spam.. after getting spam, u can 90% to delete it by block it or delete from ur contactlist..
but there is still the trace of msn bot in ur msn privacy there...

so.. anyone know the way to get off this msn messenger SPM by 100% ?

This post has been edited by gstoh: Jun 13 2006, 09:56 PM
kokfun
post Jun 13 2006, 09:33 PM

222 posts

dont accept new msn msg from the person not from ur contact list n also dont add unknown person to ur contact list lo
TSgstoh
post Jun 13 2006, 09:54 PM

INTJ
1,282 posts

QUOTE(kokfun @ Jun 13 2006, 09:33 PM)
dont accept new msn msg from the person not from ur contact list n also dont add unknown person to ur contact list lo
haiyo.. if tht so easy.. i will not kena d..
they add me, then i could not comfirm tht is my fren or not...so. the best way is accept and then ask..who knows? after accept, a spam msg to u d
don't tell me to not accept all the requests from other ppl...
and me, very seldom to add people. most of the time is people add me.

This post has been edited by gstoh: Jun 13 2006, 09:54 PM
SUSMike3300
post Jun 13 2006, 10:01 PM

6,866 posts

Just now, got some user with unknown nick like xxxxxxxxxx@hotmail.com send IM and wanna add me...

I block it... or else doh.gif
goliath
post Jun 13 2006, 10:04 PM

5,532 posts

How do they get the e-mail address in the first place? Normally, my friends will tell me that they are going to add me to their contact list. Nevertheless, they have to ask authorization before adding me in. If the e-maill address is unknown, I'll just send a message asking what is his/her name first. smile.gif
TSgstoh
post Jun 13 2006, 10:05 PM

INTJ
1,282 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 13 2006, 10:01 PM)
Just now, got some user with unknown nick like xxxxxxxxxx@hotmail.com send IM and wanna add me...

I block it... or else doh.gif
you blocked it, but that user contact still exist in your privacy at option there right ?

Joshua_0718
post Jun 14 2006, 02:19 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

How to actually block spam from those UNKNOWN ppl? We should actually solving this then everything will be solve rite?
dragna
post Jun 14 2006, 06:26 AM

5,252 posts

I also got PM a few times by these people.
reign226
post Jun 14 2006, 08:40 AM

804 posts

Hm, maybe I am lucky but I never been messaged out of the blue before. Isn't there an option to allow you to accept messages only from people in your contact list?
soul_project
post Jun 14 2006, 10:36 AM

Stars for sell. Pls PM !
4,358 posts

there is such options i remember
Joshua_0718
post Jun 14 2006, 11:46 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Jun 14 2006, 08:40 AM)
Hm, maybe I am lucky but I never been messaged out of the blue before. Isn't there an option to allow you to accept messages only from people in your contact list?
QUOTE(soul_project @ Jun 14 2006, 10:36 AM)
there is such options i remember
Mind to show us a print screen of that option? Need guide over here.
TSgstoh
post Jun 14 2006, 02:44 PM

INTJ
1,282 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Jun 14 2006, 11:46 AM)
Mind to show us a print screen of that option? Need guide over here.
the reply from MSN technical support after i send my issue to them

Thank you for contacting Windows Live Messenger Technical Support. My name is Gideon, and I'll be glad to assist you with your concern.

I have read your e-mail and I understand that you receive a large amount of unwanted messages. You are requesting for a better way of how to delete or block a contact permanently to avoid getting these messages. I can see that this has caused you much concern. I my self would be annoyed if I receive a large amount of unwanted messages.

We currently do not have a better way to block unwanted messages form unwanted contacts. We still suggest that you delete or block a contact for the meantime.  What I can do is to forward your concern to our Product Team so that we could evaluate of creating such a better feature for such concern.

We would like to thank you for bringing this up to us. This will help us on improving our services to you our valued customers.

If you need further assistance, you may contact us at http://support.live.com. For additional information and self-help instructions, visit http://ideas.live.com/programpage.aspx?ver...60-c6313f7ebb73.

Thank you for contacting Windows Live Messenger Technical Support. Have a great day.

Sincerely,

Gideon
Windows Live Messenger Technical Support

actually u can delet and block it like how we delete other ppl, but the contact still exist under privacy in option. this mean we did not fully remove the unknown users and anoyying bots from our msn, their "trace" still remain in our privacy

This post has been edited by gstoh: Jun 14 2006, 02:47 PM
hiroshi
post Jun 15 2006, 08:57 AM

1,424 posts

I also added a few unknown ppl. I delete their contact when they don't reply my message.

0.0140sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:10 AM