Maybank2u insurance, Worth to sign up?

TSmooze
post Oct 25 2013, 09:06 AM, updated 12y ago

Just A Normal Person With 2 Kids
1,406 posts

Hi all, as per title suggest, is it worth to sign up any of the insurance through Maybank2u on my own even though my company already given me AIA Corporate Medical Card and AIA Care Card? I am on high stakes Your suggestions are much welcomed. blush.gif

For your info, I am a bachelor(plan to tie the knot next year), eldest of siblings, supporting my single mum (divorced), have car loan balance RM30K, credit card usage, ASB loan, outstation travel (land and air). Anything else to state? smile.gif

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../eINS-Insurance

http://www.aia.com.my/en/

Thank you for your time! icon_rolleyes.gif
s32106
post Oct 25 2013, 09:21 AM

76 posts

Better sign wif insurance company.. Their offer is very competitive.. U may do comparison... Get an investment plan which you can include the riders such as 36 critical illness, medical card n etc...
Just my perception...
conqu3ror
post Oct 25 2013, 11:48 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(mooze @ Oct 25 2013, 09:06 AM)
Hi all, as per title suggest, is it worth to sign up any of the insurance through Maybank2u on my own even though my company already given me AIA Corporate Medical Card and AIA Care Card? I am on high stakes Your suggestions are much welcomed.  blush.gif

For your info, I am a bachelor(plan to tie the knot next year), eldest of siblings, supporting my single mum (divorced), have car loan balance RM30K, credit card usage, ASB loan, outstation travel (land and air). Anything else to state?  smile.gif

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../eINS-Insurance

http://www.aia.com.my/en/

Thank you for your time!  icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(s32106 @ Oct 25 2013, 09:21 AM)
Better sign wif insurance company.. Their offer is very competitive.. U may do comparison... Get an investment plan which you can include the riders such as 36 critical illness, medical card n etc...
Just my perception...
Company medical card are group insurance. You will lose the insurance once you left or retire from the company. No one can guarantee we still eligible to get medical insurance when we left the company.

Better get a medical card while we still strong and healthy. It can be as low as RM5-10 per day with saving.

Regards
seiluen
post Oct 25 2013, 02:14 PM

550 posts

Its better for u to get from insurance company

My opinion
hey_there
post Oct 25 2013, 02:36 PM

1,600 posts

yea, agree with all the comments above. u need ur own insurance on top of what ur company offers. get ur agent to do a quotation for u. ignore what u have from the company.

dont waste ur time with bank's insurance. u wont get any agent servicing u. u have to service ur own policy. true story, my friend has a policy with a bank. he has colon cancer and can barely walk or talk after discharge from hospital. he has to go all the way to the bank in that condition to submit documents for claims.

lastly, get a trusted agent. u can ask ur friends to recommend u one.

my 2 cents... cheers

This post has been edited by hey_there: Oct 25 2013, 02:37 PM
TSmooze
post Oct 25 2013, 02:47 PM

1,406 posts

Thank you all for your feedback above, much appreciate. Alright, I will try to inquire agents that I could trust, hopefully people that I already know. Certainly would not want to have missing service due to agent not attend incident.
kwikpiks
post Oct 25 2013, 03:02 PM

24 posts

its not that cheap either
TSmooze
post Oct 25 2013, 03:32 PM

1,406 posts

True it isn't just few ringgit to spend on monthly premium but I feel it is better to sacrifice the money than our body. I have friends that encountered their own experience claiming insurance for their unexpected incidents result high medical bills (one of them even amount to over RM30,000 or else be dead by now if not for an emergency surgery). I shall research further on available insurance plans suite for me. smile.gif
Azurika
post Oct 25 2013, 04:24 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

Banks just make it convinient for you, go for an insurance company, period !
WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 25 2013, 04:28 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Oct 25 2013, 11:48 AM)
Company medical card are group insurance. You will lose the insurance once you left or retire from the company. No one can guarantee we still eligible to get medical insurance when we left the company.

Better get a medical card while we still strong and healthy. It can be as low as RM5-10 per day with saving.

Regards
Medical card always burnt no matter u use it or not.

And the fee will be recalculated every 5 years iinm, so why waste money now to get another medical card on your own?
Unless u are really expecting to get hit by illness that soon.

no?
conqu3ror
post Oct 27 2013, 07:32 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Oct 25 2013, 04:28 PM)
Medical card always burnt no matter u use it or not.

And the fee will be recalculated every 5 years iinm, so why waste money now to get another medical card on your own?
Unless u are really expecting to get hit by illness that soon.

no?
No one can 100% confirm we are free from sickness, disease or accident till the day we left the world.

Company buy employee insurance as benefit & expect contribution from employee. But when he/she fall sick and unable to work for a year, do you think company will continue to pay his/her salary and the insurance benefit after 6 months or 1 year? (If yes, let me know I will like to work for them also)

By the time we expecting to get hit by illness, we should also expect insurance may reject our policy application. (Unless a person can foresee and tell what happen tomorrow)

Insurance company very bad, always reject people who had pre-existing sickness or illness.

Life is full of unpredictable, risk or tomorrow which come first?

Tell me if I'm wrong sweat.gif
TSmooze
post Nov 7 2013, 09:51 AM

1,406 posts

That sounds scary and yet there is truth to that. I will have to plan smarter for this long-term protection plan. Thanks all for your advice so far! icon_rolleyes.gif
Azurika
post Nov 7 2013, 11:09 AM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

I know I will get shot by Insurance Agents, but still my opinion.

If your company already provide a decent Medical Card and Insurance benefits, there is not a need to purchase 1 extra using your own fundings. Is true we never know when we are struck with something, but in my personal opinion, what are the odds ? Maybe im willing to take the risk as I know I can afford my medical expenses if needed.

I however do purchase traveling insurance, they do come in handy for me to exploit biggrin.gif
billytattertons
post Nov 7 2013, 11:56 AM

167 posts

But some company insurance plan will not cover you anymore after you retires, imagine the medical cost at that time. Better get one when you can afford one and cheaper as you don't have many medical conditions while you are young.
john_jay2
post Nov 7 2013, 03:56 PM

Your Trusted Friend
4,496 posts

yes ~ better get a plan young when all condition are tip top ~
TSmooze
post Nov 11 2013, 07:28 AM

1,406 posts

The travel insurance you mention, is it paid per trip or just like normal insurance coverage? (active as long premium paid)
Colaboy
post Nov 11 2013, 09:24 AM

670 posts

QUOTE(mooze @ Nov 11 2013, 07:28 AM)

The travel insurance you mention, is it paid per trip or just like normal insurance coverage? (active as long premium paid)
have both . . . per trip like you mention or yearly renewal (for people who travel frequent) thumbup.gif
TSmooze
post Jan 6 2014, 11:08 AM

1,406 posts

I signed up for a personal Maybank's Takaful Hero 15 insurace, cost RM31/monthly. It sounds like a basic plan, from what I read of its brochure, but this is better than I depend fully on current company's coverage alone.

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/eINS_T...lHero15_bch.pdf

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...an/eINS02.04-PA

I do appreciate if there is better plan in near future as I am planning to tie the knot by end of year. With the current commitment of supporting my family and later build my own new family and extra work at hand involve myself outstations, it does seem I would be much at financial burden if anything should happen to my health.
conqu3ror
post Jan 6 2014, 02:26 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(mooze @ Jan 6 2014, 11:08 AM)
I signed up for a personal Maybank's Takaful Hero 15 insurace, cost RM31/monthly. It sounds like a basic plan, from what I read of its brochure, but this is better than I depend fully on current company's coverage alone.

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/eINS_T...lHero15_bch.pdf

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...an/eINS02.04-PA

I do appreciate if there is better plan in near future as I am planning to tie the knot by end of year. With the current commitment of supporting my family and later build my own new family and extra work at hand involve myself outstations, it does seem I would be much at financial burden if anything should happen to my health.
Yes, that is just a basic life/TPD insurance without any illness and disease protection. Only claimable upon death/TPD.

As part of the precaution and the high commitment, probably you should consider more what if accident/illness and worst if unable to work for few months. Certainly we wouldn't want our family to be burden or in debt due to the high medical cost.

Anyway is a good start to have own life/TPD insurance, but it is more important to have a medical card.

Regards
0hmyg0d
post Jan 6 2014, 03:39 PM

219 posts

Hi, for me, getting insurance is always about getting the sales services, instead of the product alone.

The biggest drawback from getting it from bank is, one day if anything happens, are you going to walk in to the bank? and who you will look for?
TSmooze
post Mar 17 2014, 01:03 PM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(0hmyg0d @ Jan 6 2014, 03:39 PM)
Hi, for me, getting insurance is always about getting the sales services, instead of the product alone.

The biggest drawback from getting it from bank is, one day if anything happens, are you going to walk in to the bank? and who you will look for?
That is also my worry. If anything happen to me, the persons that I nominated to receive payment would not know of this information. Hopefully I figure out better way to deal with this soon. Disaster happens when we least expect it.

0.0212sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:25 AM