Tyre Price List and Discussion [V5]

zeng
post May 13 2022, 06:12 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ May 12 2022, 06:53 PM)
Yes definitely under 160 KM/H but I have my concern more on the fact that car will be subjected to higher than usual corner loads which I wonder if it is okay or not.
In terms of cornering loads, that is the least of concern.
The only caveat is air leaks (that's Unknown to driver) >> under pressure >> tyre flex during drive >> rise in rubber temperature >> carcass failure.
At various stages before tyre bursts, there will be various symptoms or warnings of impending 'trouble'.
Christinechan9339 P
post May 19 2022, 10:02 AM

Probation

Hi newbie here. Need help. Possible for any sifu to recommend tyres for 175/65/r14 bezza? And if possible the shop to change in pj. Thanks in advance
ck2chan
post May 22 2022, 12:31 AM

2,144 posts

QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ Mar 24 2022, 08:34 AM)
Purchased XM2 plus for myvi at Tyre Plus Glenmarie 185 55 R15 at rm240 a piece. Include balancing and alignment. Very comfy tyre.
Good choice. Raining time also good.
GuyM
post May 22 2022, 08:42 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(Christinechan9339 @ May 19 2022, 10:02 AM)
Hi newbie here. Need help. Possible for any sifu to recommend tyres for 175/65/r14 bezza? And if possible the shop to change in pj. Thanks in advance
There's few LzD which you safely buy at much cheaper than going to the shop directly. You may consider XM2 Plus if it's within your budget. Been buying my tyres from LzD cos it's cheaper
andrekua2
post May 28 2022, 12:40 PM

13,469 posts

Anyone heard of shop clearing PS4 stock cheaply?
cutepic
post Jun 4 2022, 05:12 PM

I have updated my price table -->here so that you guys can easily compared the prices of the most common brands.

Hopefully this helps when you are looking for price points.
MGM
post Jun 7 2022, 03:17 PM

18,402 posts

QUOTE(cutepic @ Jun 4 2022, 05:12 PM)
I have updated my price table -->here so that you guys can easily compared the prices of the most common brands.

Hopefully this helps when you are looking for price points.
Great job, thanks. thumbsup.gif
RiriRuruRara
post Jun 13 2022, 03:18 PM

1,010 posts

Hi guys, anyone know what's the reason for the huge price increase on tyres??? 4-5 years ago when I change my tyre +rims total was rm1300. When I went to ask recently now the price is rm2300 for tyres + rims???
andrekua2
post Jun 14 2022, 11:04 AM

13,469 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jun 13 2022, 03:18 PM)
Hi guys, anyone know what's the reason for the huge price increase on tyres??? 4-5 years ago when I change my tyre +rims total was rm1300. When I went to ask recently now the price is rm2300 for tyres + rims???
Steel price also up bro.. not only tyres...
Patrick761 P
post Jun 15 2022, 10:12 PM

Probation

Hi another newbie here. Trying to change my Honda City ori tyre as its been more than 50k mileage.

I'm using it more on driving back and forth hometown from KL to JB, and looking for a comfortable but cheap options(around RM200 per tyre maximum)

I did some searching and here's are my list at the moment:

Dunlop SP Sport J6 - saw it has quite good review on Myvi and axia but not on City
TOYO PROXES TR1 - overall good tyre and cheap
Michelin XM2 + - good but expensive compare with others
Goodyear Assurance TripleMax 2 - good and cheaper compare with xm2+

I was thinking of CC6 as well because I saw its good in terms of noise but give up because of its bad performance in wet grip, which might not be good for me who often driving on the highway.

Also I'm think to stick with the ori size 175/65R15 at the moment but do enlighten me if there's better option

epjx31
post Jun 18 2022, 02:30 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Patrick761 @ Jun 15 2022, 10:12 PM)
Hi another newbie here. Trying to change my Honda City ori tyre as its been more than 50k mileage.

I'm using it more on driving back and forth hometown from KL to JB, and looking for a comfortable but cheap options(around RM200 per tyre maximum)

I did some searching and here's are my list at the moment:

Dunlop SP Sport J6 - saw it has quite good review on Myvi and axia but not on City
TOYO PROXES TR1 - overall good tyre and cheap
Michelin XM2 + - good but expensive compare with others
Goodyear Assurance TripleMax 2 - good and cheaper compare with xm2+

I was thinking of CC6 as well because I saw its good in terms of noise but give up because of its bad performance in wet grip, which might not be good for me who often driving on the highway.

Also I'm think to stick with the ori size 175/65R15 at the moment but do enlighten me if there's better option
Hey there.

I am very happy that you are doing some in depth detail when it comes to buying a tire. Keep it up.

I had a quick look at my price table and found the following options

Viking CityTech CT6 175/65R15 172
Dunlop SP Sport J6 175/65R15 184
Goodyear GT3 175/65R15 207
Continental ComfortContact 6 CC6 175/65R15 228
Michelin Energy XM2+ 175/65R15 260

Curious to know about having Goodyear's Triple Max 2 in the size 175/65R15, as I have searched around they only offer this GT3 which I never heard off . I think its likely an OE tire.

Coming back to your selection its going to be tough. If there is no budget involved, the selection is quite clear with XM2+ being the best wet braking tire in this segment. I made a comparison of XM2+ vs CC6 here.

With the budget constraints, your best option would be Dunlop SP Sport J6 being a quality segment tire. You can check out is UTQG tread wear rating before buying it just to get a feeling how much is the difference against CC6(380) as both of them are developed by Continental.

Thanks!

zeng
post Jun 18 2022, 05:12 PM

1,810 posts

Several pairs of XM2 for my Avanza has been doing 110-120K km on both front and rear axles with a residual tread depth of 2-2.5 mm.

Current set of front tyres (RM 225 per pc) at 90K km usage appears to suggest 130K km or more at mandatory tyre replacement upon reaching 1.6 mm residual tread depth is likely possible.

Let's wait and see.

This post has been edited by zeng: Jun 18 2022, 05:16 PM
Patrick761 P
post Jun 22 2022, 09:38 PM

Probation

Thanks a lot for the feedback.

I'll probably stick with J6 and see how it goes.

Goodyear GT3 is the stock tyre that they gave to my Honda City 2018. I have no complain on it so far as its my first car and I dont know how to benchmark it. But I do realize its selling for around RM 200 each atm.
YS3nsatiOn
post Jun 27 2022, 01:32 AM

The epic forumer
809 posts

Hi guys, now Michelin Primacy 4 (225/50 R17) around how much yeah? Where’s the cheapest I can get currently? I keep seeing only Primacy 4ST around here in the forum and it’s so much different in terms of pricing compared to Primacy 4 previously. Is the normal Primacy 4 no longer on sale or what?

Appreciate the input from you all as I’ll be changing tyres soon.

Thanks!!

This post has been edited by YS3nsatiOn: Jun 27 2022, 01:33 AM
cawan
post Jun 27 2022, 02:08 PM

404 posts

just done; sedan , 4 tyre , 18' inch .. Setapak Area

wheel balancing Rm50
wheel allingment Rm40

how the price?

skystrike
post Jun 29 2022, 05:24 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

any new updated price for 195/60/15? currently using goodyear atm2 & it rear tyre already botak need to change to new one....atm2 doenst last long enough for me...
epjx31
post Jul 2 2022, 10:05 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jun 13 2022, 03:18 PM)
Good question ! I made a post about tire price increase here.
epjx31
post Jul 2 2022, 10:10 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Jun 29 2022, 05:24 PM)
any new updated price for 195/60/15? currently using goodyear atm2 & it rear  tyre already botak need to change to new one....atm2 doenst last long enough for me...
Here you go !

Viking CityTech CT6 195/60R15 173
Toyo Nano Energy NE03 195/60R15 196
Dunlop SP Sport J6 195/60R15 199
Goodyear Assurance TripleMax 2 195/60R15 227
Continental ComfortContact 6 CC6 195/60R15 235
Michelin Energy XM2+ 195/60R15 305
Michelin Primacy 4st 195/60R15 320

You can check out my price table here for your reference.

If you are not happy with mileage from Triple Max 2 than CC6 or XM2+ could be the next option but they do cost more.

XM2+ gives you the best compromise between wet vs wear performances. Primacy 4st is only when you want to go crazy on wet handling smile.gif
epjx31
post Jul 2 2022, 10:16 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(YS3nsatiOn @ Jun 27 2022, 01:32 AM)
Hi guys, now Michelin Primacy 4 (225/50 R17) around how much yeah? Where’s the cheapest I can get currently? I keep seeing only Primacy 4ST around here in the forum and it’s so much different in terms of pricing compared to Primacy 4 previously. Is the normal Primacy 4 no longer on sale or what?

Appreciate the input from you all as I’ll be changing tyres soon.

Thanks!!
Seems like you confused between Primacy 4 vs Primacy 4st. Primacy 4 is used mostly in Europe while Primacy 4st is used in APAC.

There could be some OE Primacy 4 around but in the replacement market Primacy 4st is the one to go for in Malaysia. They are probably using different tread compound but pattern stays the same.

Current price list from my table shows as below:

Kumho Ecsta PS31 225/50R17 345
Goodyear EfficientGrip 225/50R17 420
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 225/50R17 425
Continental UC6 225/50R17 450
Continental Max Contact 6 225/50R17 458
Michelin Primacy 4st 225/50R17 568
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 225/50R17 (NEW PS5) 630

If price is not an issue I would definitely recommend Primacy 4st. If not MC6 is a close finisher at second place. I made an article about MC6 vs 4st here. I hope this helps you decide.

YS3nsatiOn
post Jul 3 2022, 06:34 PM

The epic forumer
809 posts

QUOTE(epjx31 @ Jul 2 2022, 10:16 PM)
Seems like you confused between Primacy 4 vs Primacy 4st. Primacy 4 is used mostly in Europe while Primacy 4st is used in APAC.

There could be some OE Primacy 4 around but in the replacement market Primacy 4st is the one to go for in Malaysia. They are probably using different tread compound but pattern stays the same.

Current price list from my table shows as below:

Kumho Ecsta PS31 225/50R17 345
Goodyear EfficientGrip 225/50R17 420
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 225/50R17 425
Continental UC6 225/50R17 450
Continental Max Contact 6 225/50R17 458
Michelin Primacy 4st 225/50R17 568
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 225/50R17 (NEW PS5) 630

If price is not an issue I would definitely recommend Primacy 4st. If not MC6 is a close finisher at second place. I made an article about MC6 vs 4st here. I hope this helps you decide.

Thanks a lot! I'll definitely take the Primacy 4 tyres

168 Pages « < 152 153 154 155 156 > » Top

0.0408sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:47 AM