Working in Singapore V15

nubJeff
post Mar 16 2014, 08:46 PM

Work for $, NOT for loyalty.
2,383 posts

Hi guys, recently I'm working in UOB bank. But I'm actually now trying apply to Singapore (Not internally transfer), it's seem difficult for me get into banking industry there. Anyone here can give some comments to me, I got rejected from many applications sad.gif.

I wondering is it I'm not a PR, that why they don't hire me?
nubJeff
post Mar 16 2014, 09:54 PM

2,383 posts

QUOTE(monsteru @ Mar 16 2014, 08:57 PM)
Hi Mate, i'm applying for banks there cos i got background frm bank also. Apparently it is VERY hard to get into SG banks unless you're PR holder or looking for sales position. I'm currently stuck in airline call centre while still pinning hard for a bank here tho.
Sales position? Such as? I'm applying sales position as well, but not personal banker or mortgage from bank only.. Is it investment holding company also difficult to enter?
nubJeff
post Mar 16 2014, 10:47 PM

2,383 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Mar 16 2014, 10:36 PM)
Let this junior banking officer answer your question. No its not about PR or non-PR issue. Its about your CV and stuff, and probably your little advertisement there. The HR probably googled you and saw that. You are not allowed to do so right IIRC to the act.
I see, about my CV meaning to said that my CV is not attractive enough?Lol sweat.gif , please guide me how to create a chance for the HR view me and shortlisted me cry.gif . I wish to go SG work by this year, and you are a banker in SG? Any ways to help me get into bank? I don't mind sending you my resume biggrin.gif
nubJeff
post Mar 17 2014, 12:22 AM

2,383 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Mar 16 2014, 11:48 PM)
Mortgage banker no good meh?
I always see them sitting in showroom waiting for durian to drop.
Lol, I wish to learn more instead of getting salary for nothing..Haha..
nubJeff
post Mar 17 2014, 09:50 AM

2,383 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 17 2014, 02:28 AM)
I thought you fresh grad with that sgd2.8k offer. Degree holder 4 year exp why are you bothering with an sgd2.8k job? That is like entry level salary. If you say it's ok I put one foot in the door first then build my career up from there ... SG is more competitive than MY. Are you very very sure that you'll be able to compete, considering the fact that you're unable to get a job offer commensurate with your qualifications/experience?
Grass isn't as green liao, for banks in particular and 'SG hiring foreigners' as a whole. With the whole sinkie noise level agains foreigners "stealing their jobs" rising, and banks cutting jobs left right and centre or moving them to cheaper places like India and KL ... well, it's not impossible but definitely harder to get yourself in here without any lubang or any special skillset that isn't readily available among 1. the local SG people 2. the indians who are masters at selling themselves and 3. the other SEA countries willing to work for much less than any of us.
Hi, I heard of this also.

That why I'm trying to look some lobang to get into bank jobs, do you think if I internal transfer from Malaysia to Singapore would be easier?
nubJeff
post Mar 17 2014, 11:12 AM

2,383 posts

QUOTE(be_happy @ Mar 17 2014, 10:07 AM)
Agree. You are in Teledirect now?
Yes, internal transfer would be easier else you can ask your friend who work in bank refer you. I was a mortgage sales before. I try to apply banking industry here but is quite difficult. However, i dont put it top priority because it is very stressful.

I was once a collection officer in bank and served SG customers. I bet you will...  rclxub.gif
Anyway, keep on sending and dont give up.
Yeah, I keep on sending the application now. Actually, internal transfer I doubt that will alert Malaysia HR that knowing I'm moving over to Singapore. Haha, that why I trying to avoid internal transfer first.

However, I'm start looking at investment company / bank right now. In google, it appears too much of foreign bank (I mean not Singapore investment).
nubJeff
post Mar 17 2014, 11:17 AM

2,383 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Mar 17 2014, 11:15 AM)
Can't help you... Ask the other big boss here he more connected and say.
No problem, I'll wait to see any big boss here can helps me out or not. Haha, save me from Malaysia tongue.gif
nubJeff
post Mar 23 2014, 06:32 PM

2,383 posts

Arghh...why so difficult get into bank industry in Singapore?! Is it much more higher chance if I walk in to Singapore for interview instead of sending resume through online?They reject me like without considering, night send..next day morning rejected.
nubJeff
post Mar 23 2014, 10:20 PM

2,383 posts

QUOTE(St. Petersburg @ Mar 23 2014, 09:04 PM)
most probably they just want local or singapore pr ?
I also thinking of that, but when I walk into the branch in Singapore more likely from overseas.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 23 2014, 09:05 PM)
that means your resume simply isn't good enough. either you lack the skills and experience that a SG bank wants but can't easily get within the existing SC/PR pool, or you have the skills n experience but your resume itself sucks.
Lol, resume suck? Actually, I'm also worry about this. Erm, is there any website that can improve my resume? Hehe..

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Mar 23 2014, 09:48 PM)
Sure la. You are competing with the herds of indians just off the plane knocking on doors for a banking job. These ppl have the experience and qualification(although the uni nvr heard before) and willing to work hard for a pittance and most importantly can talk and sell themselves. What do you have above and beyond them?
Lol, I can talk very well also. Haha, but don't have any chances to get shortlisted and walk into interview. cry.gif

This post has been edited by nubJeff: Mar 23 2014, 10:20 PM
nubJeff
post Mar 23 2014, 10:56 PM

2,383 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Mar 23 2014, 10:28 PM)
Not forgeting they only hire their own kind.
Once the banks hire 1 indian in the dept esp a det head, soon the entire dept will be staffed by indians.
They will somehow think of a way to hire their own kind and push the rest out.

Just look at the banks in SG. Citi, Stand Chart, ANZ, HSBC, etc. When you go to some departments you don't even realise you're in SG. You could well be forgiven to think you're in India.
Lol bro, you sounds familiar with SG bank culture. I guess you also working in bank industry, got lobang help me in?Lol. brows.gif

0.0490sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:08 PM