Working in Singapore V15

fastreader
post Dec 6 2013, 04:01 PM

4,554 posts

hey...sifu and gurus...need some advice icon_question.gif icon_question.gif notworthy.gif

i got a job offer for SGD3000....

there is no CPF offered as I'm foreigner cry.gif cry.gif ...

is this offer ok?..as in isit enough to survive in singapore as the accomodation alone will be SGD1000 dy...

please help to advise me on it... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif notworthy.gif nod.gif

background infor: I'm a malaysian currently working in malaysian and is planning to move there. This will include set up cost and all. smile.gif
fastreader
post Dec 6 2013, 06:50 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Dec 6 2013, 04:47 PM)
Why not enough? 1k is my monthly expenditure for room, transport and meals to live and work.
alrite..sounds good..at least got a good picture of if..

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 6 2013, 05:40 PM)
rent utility room or share room lor, then accomodation will be half or even less of that.
sgd1k seems too steep for a room? hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Dec 6 2013, 06:08 PM)
Living in a Condo? $1,000 is a lot for accommodation.
at an apartment at chinatown nia...not even condo... cry.gif cry.gif shakehead.gif worth it to pay this price?

fastreader
post Dec 6 2013, 06:55 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(sinner @ Dec 6 2013, 05:11 PM)
Hi, if you wants us to evaluate is this offer ok.. you need to provide us info like years of experience, what job level, what company/industry ..

3K might be low for a MNC's manager, but might be ok for a local company's Clerk..

Thanks!
QUOTE(ik3da @ Dec 6 2013, 06:14 PM)
As what sinner mentioned, you need to share more on your qualifications/experiences first - if you are a fresh grad, SGD3k is a decent/good deal. If you are experienced and already earning around RM4k+ in Malaysia, then I would rather look out a bit more first. FYI I just jumped job and I am still being mobbed with a lot of job offers... I think the market is quite good for IT BA/consultants so far.

*Surviving in SG on SGD3k is definitely do-able if that is what you wondering though. I started off at SGD3500 and I still managed to saved quite a bit during the time (stayed in HDB, one room to myself and I did not have to starve myself at all).
fair enough...sorry that i din provide enuf infor.... my bad.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

years of experience: 3yrs plus..
qualification: certified accountant
field & experience: Internal auditor fr Big 4 accounting/auditing firm

is the salary offered ok?..the company does not give CPF... cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by fastreader: Dec 6 2013, 06:56 PM
fastreader
post Dec 6 2013, 06:58 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Dec 6 2013, 06:14 PM)

*Surviving in SG on SGD3k is definitely do-able if that is what you wondering though. I started off at SGD3500 and I still managed to saved quite a bit during the time (stayed in HDB, one room to myself and I did not have to starve myself at all).
yeap..thats what i was wondering...i mean, would i be able to live comfortably and then have savings also (since they dun wan give CPF to me sad.gif ).....

but its rather reasurring to hear from you tat sgd3k is liveable in singapore... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif guess i juz gotta control my spending... smile.gif

i tink i shud not take up the accomodation costing sgd1k...its taking up too huge percentage of my pay... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
fastreader
post Dec 6 2013, 06:59 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(be_happy @ Dec 6 2013, 05:35 PM)
Not bad lor... i only hav SGD2400...
2.4k??? can apply for EP meh?
fastreader
post Jan 9 2014, 08:48 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(mennmenn @ Jan 8 2014, 02:15 PM)
Near ro mrt, food center and shop. prefer without landlord. Some landlord is very fussy. They will have some strange regulation. depend on ur luck. So I prefer without owner. More freedom. If u keen we can rent whole unit. Maybe a 3 rooms unit. N we find 1 more tenant.
whereabout?..PM me...
fastreader
post Jan 10 2014, 01:00 AM

4,554 posts

minimum pay for E-pass is SGD3k or 2.8k or 3.3k?.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

0.0390sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:46 AM