Working in Singapore V15

almeizer
post Nov 4 2013, 10:29 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(be_happy @ Nov 4 2013, 01:36 AM)
Previously, I was in bank industry for 1year and 9months. My salary was RM3000 excluded commission.

I got an offer of SGD $2400 now, do u all think is not worth to downgrade? (bt i got EP Q1 and I tot only salary above $3k can get EP)

What do you all think?  hmm.gif
Separately, I am looking for room nearby Aljunied or Potong Pasir.

Currently I am staying with my bro at Clementi, sleep in living room and need to pay $300.

Is expensive and far from my work place. (although is in the same MRT line)
Depends on your spending habit and how much is your rental.

My salary about your range and after 2 years working in SG, I managed to clear my PTPTN entirely (RM30k+ after discount). If I still work in Msia, don't think I can pay off so fast cause I'm saving RM 500-800 per month only.

However, I'm lucky to rent a room for S$600 only (all included) as it was HDB of my wife's relative.

With S$2,400, I believe you can save more than RM 2,000 per month. Compare to RM3k in Msia, maybe can save less than RM1k (exclude EPF).

This post has been edited by almeizer: Nov 4 2013, 10:30 PM
almeizer
post Dec 7 2013, 12:06 PM

941 posts

This might be old news but I think there are still some of us that do not know about it. Register your number for DNC to prevent tele-marketing.

http://www.pdpc.gov.sg/individuals/do-not-call-registry-you

On top of that, anyone have contact or know where I can rent car (with driver) to go from Aljunied to Gelang Patah (2 days before CNY)? What is the price range?
almeizer
post Dec 7 2013, 12:25 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 7 2013, 12:24 PM)
there's international license in sg?  hmm.gif
why not take a cab?
Cab in SG will/can go outside SG?
almeizer
post Dec 7 2013, 11:04 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Mike Arthus @ Dec 7 2013, 10:11 PM)
Guys, is a Malaysian working in Singapore subjected to Malaysia tax? (income tax i mean)
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
You will be taxed in Singapore and do not need to be taxed in Malaysia.
almeizer
post Dec 8 2013, 10:01 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(life4 @ Dec 8 2013, 01:40 AM)
I am thinking of finding a job in Singpore and since you are in IT field, so do you think a java J2Ee programme asking for SGD4k is too high?? With around 2 years working experience.

4k is on high side for employer. Unless you perform very well during interview or impressed the interviewer, but the risk is they will not short list you when saw you asking for 4k. You may try with 3.5k because assuming fresh grad is 2.5k and 2 years later with 1k increment is very high (about 20% every year).

QUOTE(Mike Arthus @ Dec 8 2013, 03:14 AM)
Guys, is SGD 2400/month a reasonable salary. (I have a RM2800 offer in Malaysia)
Experience : Fresh graduate
Field : Civil and Construction
Title : Structure Design Engineer
5 working days / week
The ratio is 1:0.85. If you find RM 2.8k in Malaysia is reasonable then SGD 2.4k is also reasonable.
almeizer
post Dec 10 2013, 09:31 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(life4 @ Dec 9 2013, 11:01 PM)
Thanks for the reply and that is also my concern if putting too high.
If can get around 3.5k , I am satisfied already =)
By the way, how do u think about the IT in Singapore? Lots of competition? And are there lots of India and china people with better experience but asking for lower pay ruining the market??

There are demands for java developer in Singapore. Even though there are lots of Indian (from India) and Chinese (from China) are competing but Malaysian is still preferred by Singapore. You just need time to look for correct employer. Malaysian is easier to get work permit (EP, S-Pass, etc) compare to other neighbour country. Anyway, don't worry about that. Just prepare your resume nicely, search for suitable company and be prepared for interview.
almeizer
post Dec 13 2013, 12:01 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(cacha1986 @ Dec 13 2013, 11:46 AM)
Hi senior forumers,

I have a question im being offered a job in sg and now in the midst of applying for a E pass... i lost my degree graduation certificate the english version... But i still have the malay version... This is what information i read on MOM SG's website

"supporting documents which are not in English should be submitted together with an official English translation. Both documents must be scanned and uploaded as one file."

this is the link : http://www.mom.gov.sg/foreign-manpower/pas...es/default.aspx

Can it be applied to my degree graduation cert? I have called my university and the procedures are :

1) Lodge police report
2) Goes to university portal and pay RM100
3) Wait for max 1 month to get the cert

:'(....
Your degree cert is one of the supporting document. Some MOM officer might close one eye to accept Malay version of cert but don't take the risk.

It's faster if you get it translated than getting a new one from your University. But you still need to get the new one.

This post has been edited by almeizer: Dec 13 2013, 12:02 PM
almeizer
post Apr 7 2014, 10:50 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Apr 7 2014, 10:21 PM)
Hi, do people usually attach testimonials from their employer together with their PR applications? Not sure how much it'll help.. Feels a bit paiseh, especially if they ask you to draft one on your own  sweat.gif
I did attached. The company wrote 2 liner for me, better than nothing biggrin.gif

Just sharing based on my observation since my department got 5 people (out of 14) all get PR in 3 months time last year. Malaysian with Degree (maybe recognized by SG) that working for 2 years in Singapore. The probability of getting PR is high (maybe 99%). For my case, after 1 year working then applied and got rejected. Later applied again after another 1 year and approved.

Oh yea, my department mostly Malaysian >"<
almeizer
post Apr 9 2014, 10:51 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(adolph @ Apr 9 2014, 06:33 AM)
Ask a GENERAL question >

how much AVERAGE income in SGD you can SAVE after deduct LIABILITIES ,

Assuming NO CAR and PROPERTY in SNGAPORE >
QUOTE(adolph @ Apr 9 2014, 10:38 AM)
IF you are SINGLE >

and no LIABILITIES, how MUCH AVERAGE
QUOTE(adolph @ Apr 9 2014, 10:42 AM)
just provide me the NUMBER >

i did SAY ' AVERAGE'. not ASKING other BONUS MARKS

i ONLY need NUMBER, you are not reply MY QUESTION yet >
Don't take it for granted that people must answer your question. I saw rudeness in your post.

In addition, your question does not really can get direct answer. "Average" just not enough and you did not provide the range of nett income. E.g. one people earn SGD10k could save SGD5k and another people earn SGD 3k could save SGD800. So your average is among this 2 people as example? Haven't add in the factor renting HDB room, whole flat or condominium, the rental is far different.

almeizer
post Apr 9 2014, 10:53 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Apr 9 2014, 10:47 AM)
you sure suck in courtesy especially when u are trying to ask for help
what kind of average are u expecting?
everyone lives a different lifestyle and their means are diff
there is a rough calculation on the first post anyway on expenditures...so do your own calculations base on your own lifestyle or did you fail maths too on top of moral.
agreed, he expect accurate answer but the fact no one can provide the exact answer but only estimation based on his input. But he didn't even provide input yet expect output from people in such a bad manner.
almeizer
post Apr 9 2014, 01:53 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 9 2014, 01:41 PM)
where can buy a nice tasty popcorn in Singapore? Luv the show here.
If you don't mind expensive one then can go for Garrett popcorn. If normal one, then don't know smile.gif

0.0379sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:04 AM