Working in Singapore V15

The Net Surfer
post Mar 15 2014, 06:56 PM

332 posts

Is there any room for share in Jurong East? Preferably near to International Business Park. TQ
The Net Surfer
post Mar 16 2014, 12:37 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 16 2014, 11:24 AM)
It is possible to find shared room. The hairdresser I was talking to the other day was 3 girls sharing one master bedroom in some hdb somewhere. Unfortunately other than going to mrt station public notice boards I don't know how one would find such rooms.

Having said that ... I really don't understand why you would bother coming to SG if you can only afford a bangala lifestyle.
I have got a job offer from a Sg Public listed company, Basic Sgd2.8k, + overseas allowance, + OT.
Simply asked a question in this thread, and I realize it's actually better to go back to easyroommate.com.sg, at least I have got a few replies which has offer the a common room for share from ranges SGD 280 to SGD500.
The ultimate goal to work in Sg is not to live in a bangala lifestyle, it is to find way to optimize the monthly saving, as well as better job scope and learning perspect.
Here let me share with you what is the saving with SGD 2800
F&B : 500
Rental: 500 (maximum for share room)
Transport: 100
Daily goods: 200
Tax: I think it does not apply to annual income SGD33600
Minimum entertainment and social: 150
Saving : SGD 1350

One benefits of room share is that, it usually didn't bond you in contract of minimum 6 months of tenant period.
While your belief (b4 survey) is that there is no working professional willing for a room share, I actually already have got two contacts on hands.
The Net Surfer
post Mar 16 2014, 02:58 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Mar 16 2014, 02:32 PM)
Cheers for this, good info sharing.

Can I ask, did you study in Singapore/Overseas, and is your job a fresh grad position?

Congrats.
Grad in Malaysia, been working in KL for 4 years. smile.gif
The Net Surfer
post Mar 16 2014, 07:45 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Mar 16 2014, 04:29 PM)
wow 4 years is a lot of experience. 2800 SGD looks like ~ starting pay in my industry - and it happens to be 2800 MYR in Malaysia too. unless ur overseas allowance is very high.
What's your position in the insurance industry? If you get hired in Sg, would the pay same amount to the M'sia current pay? E.g. MYR3800 = SGD 3800?
The Net Surfer
post Mar 16 2014, 08:19 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Mar 16 2014, 08:00 PM)
hmm i should say i'm still a student but it's an industry i would consider entering if i were able to find a job in it - it's an industry i'm "trained" for

i'm looking at entry level positions and based on my observations, the starting pay is roughly the same number in MYR or SGD. between 2500-3000, increasing with the level of qualification.
icic, good luck to u thumbup.gif

0.0421sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:24 PM