Working in Singapore V15

Argiope
post Oct 27 2013, 02:04 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(tengah @ Oct 27 2013, 01:23 AM)
The minimum income required to apply for a credit card in Singapore is $30,000 per annum.
I think it depends which bank and whether you are Singaporean/PR or working pass holder.
Argiope
post Oct 27 2013, 04:41 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Oct 27 2013, 09:49 AM)
eh why is hsbc the best? lol
Because HSBC feeds her every month. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Oct 27 2013, 12:53 PM)
is there like a certain minimum months of payslip i need to show before i apply, eg 3 months?
Hmm, apasal don't bother check the bank website leh? whistling.gif

https://www.hsbc.com.sg/1/2/miscellaneous/i...upport-document
Argiope
post Oct 28 2013, 07:11 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(be_happy @ Oct 28 2013, 06:52 PM)
okok... but do my company need the medical report result also?
Or I just send to MOM?
Pass your medical report to your company. They will do the rest.
Argiope
post Nov 5 2013, 10:26 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Nov 5 2013, 09:34 PM)
taking taxi in sg is not bad. readily available, no need to pay for coe petrol erp etc etc. i am enjoying my time taking taxis -.-
Don't need to pay ERP? hmm.gif
Argiope
post Nov 6 2013, 06:28 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Nov 5 2013, 10:45 PM)
ERP Charges are included into your total fare!!!
That's why i was raising my eyebrows.

And what's with the !!!, relax lah. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Argiope: Nov 6 2013, 06:29 AM
Argiope
post Nov 6 2013, 06:15 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 6 2013, 09:41 AM)
i curse the taxi driving style...macam having foot cramps causing the foot to step and release the accelerator repeatedly instead of maintaining the speed constantly
I once kena a taxi that drives that way and i almost puked in his taxi. After i reached home and got my change, i told the driver, the way you drive really cannot make it. You are lucky the distance is short else i'm gonna puke in your taxi. Then slammed his door and walked off.

I didn't sound him throughout the journey cos i scared he say lu tak suka lu turun. tongue.gif
Argiope
post Nov 17 2013, 11:33 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 17 2013, 11:04 PM)
Hi all, I'm looking for a room, not sure if anyone can advice what is the best place to search for direct room posting from landloard? I same across sites like SGrooms, flatsdb, sg-house, propertyguru, but most of these are dominated by agent postings.
I find Easy Roommate and Craigslist give better chance to get a room without agent.
Argiope
post Nov 20 2013, 06:59 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(skycrew @ Nov 20 2013, 06:01 PM)
is possible to get room less than $500 ?
Since location is not mentioned so i did a random search from roomsdb. They made it so user friendly also you never use. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Argiope: Nov 20 2013, 07:03 PM
Argiope
post Nov 21 2013, 02:52 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(skycrew @ Nov 20 2013, 07:29 PM)
Thanks bro.  Office located at paya ubi. Ubi avenue to be exact
Well, i used to stay along the same stretch as Paya Ubi Ind Park. It's quite unlikely you can get a room for less than $500 in that area as it's considered as "central" East. 3 years back i was already paying $600 for an air-conditioned common room.

Unless you don't mind sharing room with strangers, you might need to raise your budget to $600-700 for more choices. Best if it's along Ubi Ave 1 - you can walk to work or take bus 63. Allocate your transportation allowance saved (since you walk) to rental lor.
Argiope
post Nov 22 2013, 12:16 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(GottliebDaimler @ Nov 22 2013, 12:10 PM)
I checked the first page on the tax information but the link is broken. I only managed to find their local tax but not expats.
http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Gen-Info/C...es/ContriRa.htm

What would 4-5k SGD be paying? Is it taxed in SG and MY?
CPF is not the tax, that's Malaysia's version of EPF. You should look at IRAS for tax. You need not pay tax in MY anymore as you are already paying in SG.

Assuming you are here for 12 months and getting 48k per annum, you would be paying the government $1.1k (yet to factor in any form of relief/rebate).

For your reference: http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=282

This post has been edited by Argiope: Nov 22 2013, 12:21 PM
Argiope
post Nov 23 2013, 11:25 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 23 2013, 05:25 PM)
I read somewhere that none PR gets a 15% tax.
Then that "somewhere" provided wrong info or you interpreted wrongly. Check IRAS.
Argiope
post Dec 2 2013, 05:57 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Dec 2 2013, 05:55 PM)
Hi, NoiZy

This may be a silly question, but I keep seeing this AWS (Average Working Schedule?) abbreviation and I'm wondering why they call it as that because it seems to me like it's just a month's bonus. Is it some American term or it's actually not the same as contractual bonus?

Thanks!
It's known as "Annual Wage Supplement".
Argiope
post Dec 7 2013, 12:37 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ Dec 6 2013, 07:39 PM)
Greats! So actually there is no "extra burden" for my employer right? (apart from paying my salary)
Uhm, don't know why are you so paranoid. People have been answering, employers need not pay levy for EP holders. If the "extra burden" that you are referring to is the levy, then yes, you are right.
Argiope
post Dec 8 2013, 04:34 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ Dec 8 2013, 02:47 PM)
Isnt quota/ levy what makss companies hesistant in hiring foreigners for jobs that singaporens would want too?
And what can you do about that?
Argiope
post Dec 15 2013, 12:50 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(studyboy @ Dec 14 2013, 08:59 PM)
Hello everyone! I was wondering how does one find accommodation in Sg? I might be starting a job in the country soon (if the bureaucracy matters go well) and thought it best if I start looking for a place to stay now!  blush.gif
It's even better if you study the first page before asking. blush.gif
Argiope
post Dec 18 2013, 07:32 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(saihoe @ Dec 18 2013, 05:34 PM)
have anyone actually bring their personal computer desktop to Singapore before ? how do you ship over? I dare not to check in this baby lol..
Me.. But i drove into SG. The customs officer did ask about my desktop i just said it's a used desktop and they didn't bother much.

QUOTE(skycrew @ Dec 18 2013, 07:13 PM)
I will stay at my auntie house.

so finding job its not a good excuse?
You feel bad about not telling the truth? Staying at auntie's house = will see your auntie = visiting mah. Anyway, if i were you, i will avoid all the unnecessary hassle. People already limiting influx of foreigners yet you still wanna tell people yes, i'm one of them hunting for jobs in your country. doh.gif
Argiope
post Jan 3 2014, 03:40 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Jan 3 2014, 02:49 PM)
Hi, can anyone please let me know how do I get back my withholding tax? I have a 15% reduction from my salary for 6 months.
http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=8960

That's if you fulfil the "resident" criteria.
Argiope
post Jan 4 2014, 02:52 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Jan 3 2014, 06:03 PM)
Let's say if I want to stop working here in Singapore and therefore my permit
will be canceled. And how do I get it back?
Nope, you won't be able to get your 15% back. The rule is very clear. If you have physical presence in SG (working/visiting etc.) for more than 183 days in a calendar year, you get to claim your 15% back as a resident. 1 day lesser, Singapore says thank you for your contribution.

Good luck.
Argiope
post Jan 4 2014, 08:55 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Jan 4 2014, 04:25 PM)
Sorry if I didn't add this, yes, I'll work more than 183 days for sure and if I leave Singapore I can claim it back right?
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 4 2014, 07:47 PM)
not the full 15%. Minus off the tax deduction based on your income bracket.
Oh ya, that as well.

See here for resident tax rates.

This post has been edited by Argiope: Jan 4 2014, 08:58 PM
Argiope
post Feb 27 2014, 09:49 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Night Fury @ Feb 27 2014, 04:13 PM)
My method is a little bit hardcore. I basically printed out a few hard copies of resume, and walked into a few target companies and passed my resume to the guard. However, for this company, the guard asked me to pass to the receptionist.. then the receptionist straight away asked me want to try walk-in interview or not. without any doubts, i said yes. The deputy director of operations interviewed me, and he kinda liked the way I sent my resumes one by one to target companies. After 2nd interview with the director, I got the job smile.gif

P/S : Sending resumes personally to companies one by one wasn't an easy task... I bruised my feet and got much darker after that... but it's totally worth it !  icon_rolleyes.gif
Fuh~ Nice one. /salute

Welcome to Singapore. smile.gif

0.0211sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:24 AM