Working in Singapore V15

skycrew
post Nov 21 2013, 05:03 PM

-sKy-
928 posts

QUOTE(hot-choc @ Nov 21 2013, 05:01 PM)
It's illegal to work with a social visit pass. The company must get a work pass for you.
i thought they can give some sort of letter ?
JohnJon82
post Nov 21 2013, 05:29 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(skycrew @ Nov 21 2013, 05:03 PM)
i thought they can give some sort of letter ?
Visit pass cannot work. Company letter signed by BOD CEO CFO COO also no use. Only letter from Commissioner of ICA/MOM is ok. SVP max 90 days. Probation 3 months?
skycrew
post Nov 21 2013, 05:36 PM

-sKy-
928 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Nov 21 2013, 05:29 PM)
Visit pass cannot work. Company letter signed by BOD CEO CFO COO also no use. Only letter from Commissioner of ICA/MOM is ok. SVP max 90 days. Probation 3 months?
i see, my company need to get the letter from MOM first right ?

1 month probation.
Mackiddo
post Nov 21 2013, 08:03 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(NoiZy @ Nov 21 2013, 08:57 AM)
I wonder whats the average age of you guys. Seems like most of you are earning >$3.5k
that's hardly the truth. s$1750 also have.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 21 2013, 08:07 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 21 2013, 09:06 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(skycrew @ Nov 21 2013, 03:07 PM)
Company ask to go through probation first before hire for full-time and apply permit. is it possible? I cant use social visa right ?
they have this pass for interns... they mgiht use that
deodorant
post Nov 21 2013, 09:10 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(skycrew @ Nov 21 2013, 03:07 PM)
Company ask to go through probation first before hire for full-time and apply permit. is it possible? I cant use social visa right

Cannot, this one working illegally liao. The company must apply for a work pass or training pass and get the IPA (in principle approval) before you can start work legally.
skycrew
post Nov 21 2013, 09:16 PM

-sKy-
928 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 21 2013, 09:06 PM)
they have this pass for interns... they mgiht use that
QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 21 2013, 09:10 PM)
Cannot, this one working illegally liao. The company must apply for a work pass or training pass and get the IPA (in principle approval) before you can start work legally.
So they should go through work pass application first right because my friend only using 1 letter first and get a card a month later.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 21 2013, 09:17 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(skycrew @ Nov 21 2013, 09:16 PM)
So they should go through work pass application first right because my friend only using 1 letter first and get a card a month later.
ohh.. if the letter is the in principle approval means his pass is already granted, just awaiting the card..
razo2
post Nov 21 2013, 09:31 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(NoiZy @ Nov 21 2013, 08:57 AM)
I wonder whats the average age of you guys. Seems like most of you are earning >$3.5k
it depends on the nature of the job and position as well. I dont really think age is the factor. most employers never ask my age.
razo2
post Nov 21 2013, 09:58 PM

534 posts

btw, just curious for EP visa holders. the tax is 15%,right?

also, is there EPF included as well?
Mackiddo
post Nov 21 2013, 10:36 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 21 2013, 09:58 PM)

15% tax ? your income bracket > s$120k per annum ? The only one I know with that kinda income bracket is Deodorant
There's no cpf for work pass.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 21 2013, 10:38 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 21 2013, 10:54 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

Here are the 10 highest paying jobs in Singapore

Are you getting enough?

Singapore – Want to know what you’re worth in today’s job market?

JobStreet.com has published a list of the top 10 highest paying jobs in Singapore to help candidates and hiring managers benchmark their salaries against the market.

This list has been determined through the average salary of all specialisations per position level, based on salaries posted by employers on the JobStreet website this year.

Fresh Graduates

1. Doctor - $3,095

2. Biotechnology - $3,082

3. Process design & control - $3,055

4. Corporate finance - $2,959

5. Financial sales services - $2,857

6. Legal services - $2,825

7. Environmental engineering - $2,781

8. Journalist - $2,781

9. Banking & finance - $2,758

10. IT – software - $2,718

Junior Executives

1. Doctor - $3,722

2. Actuarial science - $3,649

3. IT software - $3,334

4. Legal services - $3,279

5. Corporate finance - $3,248

6. Audit - $3,214

7. Industrial engineering - $3,198

8. Banking & finance - $3,187

9. Database administrator - $3,170

10. Process design & control - $3,144

Senior Executives

1. Financial sales - $4,718

2. Actuarial science - $4,670

3. Banking & finance - $4,635

4 IT software - $4,617

5. Legal services - $4,616

6. Corporate finance - $4,545

7. Laboratory scientist - $4,375

8. Biotechnology - $4,329

9. Chemical engineering - $4,277

10. Audit - $4,246

Managers

1. Chemist - $9,096

2. Corporate finance - $7,305

3. Legal services - $6,950

4. Laboratory scientist - $6,882

5. IT software - $6,642

6. Electrical engineering - $6,619

7. Logistics - $6,561

8. Audit - $6,187

9. Chemical engineering - $6,102

10. Top management - $5,943

Senior Managers

1. Legal services - $14,466

2. Top management - $11,887

3. Audit - $10,343

4. Doctor - $10,153

5. Laboratory scientists - $10,121

6. Sales – IT and engineering - $9,718

7. Marketing - $9,263

8. Electronics engineering - $9,073

9. Biotechnology - $8,949

10. Pharmacy - $8,949

- See more at: http://sbr.com.sg/source/humanresources-ma...h.oyUHiCXP.dpuf
tailtwist
post Nov 21 2013, 10:55 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 21 2013, 09:58 PM)

foreigners are taxed depending on 2 types...resident or non-resident...residing in Singapore for either more than 183 days in a year or less than 183 days in a year

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page.aspx?id=230
http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page.aspx?id=232
skycrew
post Nov 21 2013, 11:15 PM

-sKy-
928 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 21 2013, 09:17 PM)
ohh.. if the letter is the in principle approval means his pass is already granted, just awaiting the card..
Ok understood. No matter what, they should go through ep application.

hihihehe
post Nov 22 2013, 02:08 AM

13,786 posts

my gf just got the work pass 1 day after submitted the application. that is fast. now looking for accommodation that not far from little india station
GottliebDaimler
post Nov 22 2013, 11:06 AM

66 posts

Hi guys, I read the first page and I still have things to clarify.

I got a job offer to go to SG, but I have never travelled there before, hence I do now know the living cost like.

But based on the 1st page, 600 for accomodation, 500 for food is my first step in calculating my expected salary.

I want to know, how much should I expect from my current MY salary to SG salary? Worse, this is a 12 month contract position. Basically everything is covered in base salary.

Please shed some lights.

I asked the person that called, what is the market rate like for someone like me. Basically I have around 4k~ MYR. The person said it would be around 4k~ SGD.

Hence, what I can brain is, I should include accomodation + living expenses into the salary that could be 5k~ SGD? And with the job being a contract position, I should increase it even further?
jitshiong
post Nov 22 2013, 11:13 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(GottliebDaimler @ Nov 22 2013, 11:06 AM)
Hi guys, I read the first page and I still have things to clarify.

I got a job offer to go to SG, but I have never travelled there before, hence I do now know the living cost like.

But based on the 1st page, 600 for accomodation, 500 for food is my first step in calculating my expected salary.

I want to know, how much should I expect from my current MY salary to SG salary? Worse, this is a 12 month contract position. Basically everything is covered in base salary.

Please shed some lights.

I asked the person that called, what is the market rate like for someone like me. Basically I have around 4k~ MYR. The person said it would be around 4k~ SGD.

Hence, what I can brain is, I should include accomodation + living expenses into the salary that could be 5k~ SGD? And with the job being a contract position, I should increase it even further?
Definitely u should increase it further!
Provided you are worth that much.
GottliebDaimler
post Nov 22 2013, 11:23 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Nov 22 2013, 11:13 AM)
Definitely u should increase it further!
Provided you are worth that much.
Because I have never gone out, I don't have the formula to calculate. Worry later the employer thinks I'm boasting or demand too high. If I demand that little, I worry I'm not getting paid the average.
jitshiong
post Nov 22 2013, 11:43 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(GottliebDaimler @ Nov 22 2013, 11:23 AM)
Because I have never gone out, I don't have the formula to calculate. Worry later the employer thinks I'm boasting or demand too high. If I demand that little, I worry I'm not getting paid the average.
if u r getting 4k in Malaysia, at least try to get the same in Singapore lo.
in that case, not short changed de ma
then ask urself, with that salary r u satisfied?
enough to make ends meet?
JohnJon82
post Nov 22 2013, 11:46 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(GottliebDaimler @ Nov 22 2013, 11:06 AM)
If you want to earn more then ask for more. If your employer think your job only worth 4k plus then they will find another 4k plus candidate to fill it. If they already underpaid you and you are worth more, they will increase it if you are good.

125 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:35 AM