Working in Singapore V15

deodorant
post Mar 22 2014, 09:38 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Mar 22 2014, 07:42 PM)
Trying to apply PR, have all documents ready.  Log in to eAppointment and walao all i see is grey boxes. I cant even book anything. How u guys get appointment?

the slots open up 6 mths in advance. seems that nowadays for whatever reason within the day also all taken up liao. so I guess try login in the morning and book the newly opened up 6 months later appointment lo
studyboy
post Mar 22 2014, 10:08 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Mar 22 2014, 01:04 PM)
hmm.gif
Yeah, Singapore is so packed with different companies, many of them might operate like they do in Malaysia - small staff count and not a lot of HR or admin, and so a grad scheme is too much unnecessary hassle.

But in certain industries even if they are only hiring one or two grads the whole year, it is done through a grad scheme. For big multinationals it can also be done via overseas hiring. It's really easy to miss... and with these things you never know.

Normal direct hires (in similar or related industries) would only pop up if there is a real and very urgent business need. Otherwise it's so competitive there's no need to advertise, they can fill it at the snap of the fingers.
Very true! I suppose the only thing that one can do is to keep their eyes peeled for any opportunity that arises!
tailtwist
post Mar 22 2014, 10:52 PM

1,564 posts

Trying to apply PR, have all documents ready.  Log in to eAppointment and walao all i see is grey boxes. I cant even book anything. How u guys get appointment?
its 2-3 months...u need to look further down the year 2014...maybe mid 2014...LOL

6months? Oh MY!!

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Mar 22 2014, 10:53 PM
LiangZhuge
post Mar 23 2014, 01:51 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Mar 22 2014, 01:13 PM)
Ya already screen shot, print out and pass to my MP during meet the MP session. Now writing in Stomp and EDMW to demand answer. They took our jobsss vmad.gif
Didn't know Malaysian can vote in Singapore blink.gif , or you have already converted you citizenship ?
Tigerr
post Mar 23 2014, 08:37 AM

3,033 posts

Ya already screen shot, print out and pass to my MP during meet the MP session. Now writing in Stomp and EDMW to demand answer. They took our jobsss vmad.gif
Nobody is able to take away your job if u r good...unless..:hmm
Tigerr
post Mar 23 2014, 08:39 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(saihoe @ Mar 22 2014, 12:33 PM)
where is the 2.61  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif
Still got 2.61 if u r buying sgd...
Sammyking
post Mar 23 2014, 09:05 AM

73 posts

Hey all, looking for some advice. I've just started working a few months in my company but one of my clients casually asked me to consider "jump ship" to his company. Firstly, I don't know what the offer is like but I assume that it should be a better one, otherwise how can you attract people to jump over to your ship, right? Secondly, I don't know why of all people he ask me..maybe I'm still young and fresh so easier to train? Thirdly, I'm not very sure if this is an ethical thing to do and it worries me that their work ethics are as such. He was very persuasive and kept promoting how good is company is...I'm afraid there might be something fishy going on that I don't know about..
razo2
post Mar 23 2014, 10:55 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Mar 21 2014, 09:05 PM)
thanks for your reply

yeah i noticed there are a few MT type things like Malaysia but not a lot

in this economy just cannot afford to miss any opportunity, however unlikely

have a couple interviews set up from outside Singapore that hopefully i don't screw up
Good luck. Just be confident. They dont really expect much from a fresh graduate.

But try to score in your interview. It is crucial you get as much as they expect such as company background, current project (if possible, even if you missed out they know you are interested in working for the company), good communication skills in both written and verbal, the ability to learn fast (very crucial) and working as a team.
razo2
post Mar 23 2014, 10:59 AM

534 posts

http://knowyourmeme.com/photos/633939-they-took-our-jobs
LightningFist
post Mar 23 2014, 11:14 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Mar 23 2014, 10:55 AM)
Good luck. Just be confident. They dont really expect much from a fresh graduate.

But try to score in your interview. It is crucial you get as much as they expect such as company background, current project (if possible, even if you missed out they know you are interested in working for the company), good communication skills in both written and verbal, the ability to learn fast (very crucial) and working as a team.
thanks mate

a little more confidence now since i have gotten a handful of interviews, attended a couple so far and even passed one, and got a few phone calls

right now i'm about to interview with 2 companies that are in the top 6 of their industry... hope it goes well
razo2
post Mar 23 2014, 11:19 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Mar 23 2014, 11:14 AM)
thanks mate

a little more confidence now since i have gotten a handful of interviews, attended a couple so far and even passed one, and got a few phone calls

right now i'm about to interview with 2 companies that are in the top 6 of their industry... hope it goes well
Dont worry, just be confident. Good luck. Just land your foot here. Working here is good in many ways as a fresh graduate.

This post has been edited by razo2: Mar 23 2014, 11:20 AM
Mackiddo
post Mar 23 2014, 12:08 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Mar 23 2014, 11:14 AM)

Oil and Gas ? smile.gif
LightningFist
post Mar 23 2014, 12:15 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Mar 23 2014, 12:08 PM)
Oil and Gas ? smile.gif
nope smile.gif

it's a services industry
Fiona Chin
post Mar 23 2014, 12:48 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Mar 23 2014, 01:51 AM)
Didn't know Malaysian can vote in Singapore  blink.gif , or you have already converted you citizenship ?
No la still singing Negaraku. Just saying what an angry local would do if he/she finds out MOM cheated them.

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 23 2014, 08:37 AM)
Nobody is able to take away your job if u r good...unless..:hmm
Old, fat, married, pregnant, have kids etc etc. Lose out to young mei mei. cry.gif

QUOTE(razo2 @ Mar 23 2014, 10:59 AM)
Ya lol from South Park, teach you a lot of good stuff. Go watch that episode, you will know what to do when you lose your job. thumbup.gif
SUSrobertchoo
post Mar 23 2014, 01:47 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Mar 23 2014, 10:59 AM)
If you're not singaporean by citizenship you better not bring up all these kinds of things (even if you're a PR).
The last thing you need is for them (singaporeans) to tell you to balik malaysia.
And it is you who took their jobs.
nubJeff
post Mar 23 2014, 06:32 PM

Work for $, NOT for loyalty.
2,383 posts

Arghh...why so difficult get into bank industry in Singapore?! Is it much more higher chance if I walk in to Singapore for interview instead of sending resume through online?They reject me like without considering, night send..next day morning rejected.
LightningFist
post Mar 23 2014, 07:58 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Guys, does a Malaysian Jobstreet account work for SG applications? I'm asking because it allows me to apply, but I can never check status unlike Malaysian ones, so it looks like they didn't even read it.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 23 2014, 08:50 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(OrCaGaL @ Mar 22 2014, 09:47 AM)
oh that means i got EP but EP has many grades? hehe
yea... 3 grades... flex.gif

fuiyoh!!! stomper.. kk, must take note.. i wonder why all bankers like to be stomper... hmm.gif

by making applying lor...
St. Petersburg
post Mar 23 2014, 09:04 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(nubJeff @ Mar 23 2014, 10:32 AM)
Arghh...why so difficult get into bank industry in Singapore?! Is it much more higher chance if I walk in to Singapore for interview instead of sending resume through online?They reject me like without considering, night send..next day morning rejected.
most probably they just want local or singapore pr ?
deodorant
post Mar 23 2014, 09:05 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(nubJeff @ Mar 23 2014, 06:32 PM)
Arghh...why so difficult get into bank industry in Singapore?They reject me like without considering, night send..next day morning rejected.

that means your resume simply isn't good enough. either you lack the skills and experience that a SG bank wants but can't easily get within the existing SC/PR pool, or you have the skills n experience but your resume itself sucks.

125 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0370sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:20 AM