125 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V15

JohnJon82
post Feb 22 2014, 10:06 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(doogiedog @ Feb 22 2014, 09:35 AM)
My friend is working with a contractor and was given a car to drive. Malaysia License driving a singapore registered company car.

It is not really the problem with driving licence that i see here rather, the issue of having a proper insurance while driving. Accident in Singapore can cost you lot of money if the insurance company reject your claim.

Like this case where the driver claim he 'lightly' kissed a taxi but kena claim $9k from the passanger.

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2693169-ca...ssager-instead/

Just for your info.
Better check with tp.

Godevil
post Feb 22 2014, 10:18 AM

Engineer
1,226 posts

Hey guys.. Need some education on Singapore PR and work permit.

Currently I have made appointment for PR application coming April.

But the thing is my current E pass will be expired on June.

I heard the application period will be about 6 months...

Can I still apply PR on April since my work permit will expire during the period.. unsure.gif

Hope someone have same experience and can share with me.. I tried search online but Cannot find any information on this... Thanks in advance notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Godevil: Feb 22 2014, 10:19 AM
deodorant
post Feb 22 2014, 10:21 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(doogiedog @ Feb 22 2014, 09:57 AM)
Though I did hear my other friends say their SG licence got validity period. Anyone can confirm?

non PR/SC 5 years validity
doogiedog
post Feb 22 2014, 10:30 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 21 2014, 03:18 PM)
Just because your friends didn't get caught, doesn't make it "not a problem." The fact is that according to law once you've worked here for a year, you are not allowed to drive in SG using a Malaysian license. Yes, the chances of getting caught and fined are very low, but anyone reading this forum should know the law and make his/her own decision whether to risk getting caught.

This link is clearer I think, directly from SPF. http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser...nformation.html
So the "each time they leave and enter Singapore you get a new 12 months" applies to people on Social Pass, LTVP, etc, and not for WP/SPass/EP holders.
Well, my apologies if what I said made everyone think that it is okay to drive with a Malaysia driving licence in Singapore after you have been working here for more than 1 year. I would just like to make it clear that if you are planning to be in Singapore for long term, it is best you get your licence converted.

I think the link given by deodorant is very clear on the legal requirement of driving in Singapore. Let's not debate further on this matter.

doogiedog
post Feb 22 2014, 10:37 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 22 2014, 10:21 AM)
non PR/SC 5 years validity
No wonder. That just took the icing off the cake. You will need to pay $50 also for the processing fee. ie: the cost will be $10 per year!

doogiedog
post Feb 22 2014, 10:45 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(Godevil @ Feb 22 2014, 10:18 AM)
Hey guys.. Need some education on Singapore PR and work permit.

Currently I have made appointment for PR application coming April.

But the thing is my current E pass will be expired on June.

I heard the application period will be about 6 months...

Can I still apply PR on April since my work permit will expire during the period.. unsure.gif

Hope someone have same experience and can share with me.. I tried search online but Cannot find any information on this... Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
I believe you will need to renew your EP if you have yet to receive your PR. Call up ICA to ask if in doubt.

ICA 24-hour Call Centre*# For general enquiries or further clarifications on our products or services, please contact us at 6391 6100
Fax Number 6298 0837/ 6298 0843

* This is a 24-hour automated answering service for information of our services and procedures requirements. Our Customer Service Officers are available during office hours only.

Godevil
post Feb 22 2014, 12:06 PM

Engineer
1,226 posts

QUOTE(doogiedog @ Feb 22 2014, 10:45 AM)
I believe you will need to renew your EP if you have yet to receive your PR. Call up ICA to ask if in doubt.
No no.. I not yet applied. The appointment is on April.

Just want to know I should:

1. Wait until renewed work permit only make appointment to apply.
2. Can still apply on April even my work permit expire soon.

Thanks for the number, I'll call to ask on Monday. At the meanwhile I appreciate if anyone can enlighten me. nod.gif
Mackiddo
post Feb 22 2014, 01:42 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(doogiedog @ Feb 22 2014, 09:35 AM)
My friend is working with a contractor and was given a car to drive. Malaysia License driving a singapore registered company car.

It is not really the problem with driving licence that i see here rather, the issue of having a proper insurance while driving. Accident in Singapore can cost you lot of money if the insurance company reject your claim.

Like this case where the driver claim he 'lightly' kissed a taxi but kena claim $9k from the passanger.

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2693169-ca...ssager-instead/

Just for your info.
It's already stated one must convert to Sg license if need to drive Sg register car after > 12 months. period. You own personal opinion is irrelevant on this
Fiona Chin
post Feb 22 2014, 03:12 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Godevil @ Feb 22 2014, 12:06 PM)
No no.. I not yet applied. The appointment is on April.

Just want to know I should:

1. Wait until renewed work permit only make appointment to apply.
2. Can still apply on April even my work permit expire soon.

Thanks for the number, I'll call to ask on Monday. At the meanwhile I appreciate if anyone can enlighten me. nod.gif
Just go ahead and apply unless they specifically write in the form the work permit must have more than x months validity or something. Don't worry so much.
studyboy
post Feb 22 2014, 11:08 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Feb 16 2014, 11:02 PM)
prepaid is a good option too..
Apparently using mobile data on a prepaid plan is extremely expensive! sad.gif
studyboy
post Feb 22 2014, 11:10 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(Sammyking @ Feb 17 2014, 09:45 PM)
Oh they don't? I was thinking of signing up with a postpaid data plan, the one that comes together with smartphone. I need it so that I have an approved residential address statement to show to the bank as I'm planning to open one. Not too sure how it works but banks here want me to show my phone bill as prove of my residential address.
Apparently they use to but has stopped doing so since. sad.gif Actually, I am quite surprised that your bank requested a proof of address from you!
studyboy
post Feb 22 2014, 11:13 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 18 2014, 08:57 PM)
they do actually but 1st time must be 2 years. After 1 year into the 2 years contract, you can sign on extended 1 year contract and buy a new phone but with roughy $150 top up.
If you got Mio Home you can sign on 1 year contract on your primary line and change phone every year without incurring penalty smile.gif
Ah I see! Well, I have since discovered the CIS and will be going for that instead! Despite it being a two year contract, I am more than happy with the discount offered. smile.gif
studyboy
post Feb 22 2014, 11:25 PM

522 posts

Hey people, this might sound very silly but here goes! I bought a few things in Malaysia (clothes and toiletries) and will be bringing it to Singapore. Will I be taxed for GST? I have since removed the price tag and packaging if it makes any difference.

Things were fine at the immigration when I set foot into SG last week with my massive luggage. However, I wasn't aware that goods bought for own consumption is subjected to GST!

What do you guys think? Am I being overly cautious here? What is a "good"? Items to be brought into SG with their original packaging and price tag in tact? If the law is to be accounted for, wouldn't that mean personal belongings are taxable too since they were all bought at some point in time? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by studyboy: Feb 22 2014, 11:27 PM
mules
post Feb 23 2014, 08:39 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(studyboy @ Feb 23 2014, 12:25 AM)
Hey people, this might sound very silly but here goes! I bought a few things in Malaysia (clothes and toiletries) and will be bringing it to Singapore. Will I be taxed for GST? I have since removed the price tag and packaging if it makes any difference.

Things were fine at the immigration when I set foot into SG last week with my massive luggage. However, I wasn't aware that goods bought for own consumption is subjected to GST!

What do you guys think? Am I being overly cautious here? What is a "good"? Items to be brought into SG with their original packaging and price tag in tact? If the law is to be accounted for, wouldn't that mean personal belongings are taxable too since they were all bought at some point in time?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
No problem one. they will only stop you if u apparently pass the gate with a trolley with boxes of same items.
I move in Singapore with a taxi fully stuffed with new and old things. They take a look asked me moving in? I said yes, smiled to me and said welcome.
immigration officers more concerns about cigarettes and alcohol. Unless you look like a drug smuggler they might touch you up a bit.

Just to be safe in case meeting new officers, just take the price tag off
madspeed02
post Feb 23 2014, 12:49 PM

1,170 posts

desktop support/helpdesk support that low kah less than 2500 even for 2 years exp?clerical work much more higher 2500.
class_sick
post Feb 23 2014, 01:40 PM

84 posts

Hi guys,

In singapore, in what field/service did you all working?
Anyone here working in engineering field?
mennmenn
post Feb 23 2014, 04:46 PM

262 posts

anyone here looking for a room?
monsterseeker90
post Feb 23 2014, 07:15 PM

23 posts

Hi guy, just wondering ... any lubang here to enter semiconductor field in sg?
studyboy
post Feb 23 2014, 10:29 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Feb 23 2014, 08:39 AM)
No problem one.  they will only stop you if u apparently pass the gate with a trolley with boxes of same items. 
I move in Singapore with a taxi fully stuffed with new and old things.  They take a look asked me moving in? I said yes, smiled to me and said welcome.
immigration  officers more concerns about cigarettes and alcohol.  Unless you look like a drug smuggler they might touch you up a bit.

Just to be safe in case meeting new officers, just take the price tag off
Thanks for the advice! You telling me your experience allayed my fears quite a bit! biggrin.gif
tailtwist
post Feb 23 2014, 10:43 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(studyboy @ Feb 23 2014, 10:29 PM)
Thanks for the advice! You telling me your experience allayed my fears quite a bit!  biggrin.gif
As long as its for personal use its fine....its not like u gonna bring them in n then sell them...if that's the case then by law need to pay sales tax.

125 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:46 AM