post Oct 29 2013, 04:01 PM

1,749 posts

the last post on V2:

QUOTE(paraben @ Oct 17 2013, 01:25 AM)
Just a question to ponder,

Car loan 65k with annum interest rate 1.68% repayment periods 7 years
which made up of rm864 monthly instalment,

Is it advisable to change it to 5 years repayment just for the sake of avoiding interest? or continue with 7 years as the interest is so slow and invest the extra money into FD which guarantee at least 3% per annum?

Stucked at this question :/
TSzenwell
post Nov 14 2013, 01:57 PM

1,749 posts

can we get this thread pinned up for the benefit of everyone?
TSzenwell
post Feb 14 2014, 06:07 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Feb 14 2014, 09:19 AM)
A good article on personal financial management

How to retire early — 35 years early How to retire early — 35 years early
http://www.marketwatch.com/story/how-to-re...17?pagenumber=1
I've read his story before. How much do you think is sufficient for a family of 3 to retire comfortably in Malaysia? hmm.gif
TSzenwell
post Jul 11 2014, 04:54 PM

1,749 posts

i think it is better that you guys seeking for personal loan or promoting personal loan to go to the personal loan thread. This thread is more to discussing personal financial/money management and ways to improve it.
TSzenwell
post Jul 12 2014, 01:43 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 11 2014, 10:58 PM)
U know a country's going to hell when most of their population thinks more loans = solution to $ problems  doh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Wong sifu, any comments on the recent opr hike?
TSzenwell
post Sep 11 2014, 11:58 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(navink @ Sep 11 2014, 11:46 AM)
First of all, I would like to say THANK YOU to all the comments. You guys really take time to explain in details / not in details the cons of having the CC debt. I've decided to settle the CC debt by this week.  rclxms.gif

Thank you..  notworthy.gif
remember to cut up your card! or stash them far far away.
TSzenwell
post Sep 12 2014, 10:33 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(iamloco @ Sep 12 2014, 08:05 PM)
1) the amount is more than the minimum payment. the reason i save more is for contingency purposes, i really feel somethings wrong if i dont save cash savings
2) yea the 400 is food. i opt for comfort in terms of lodging

3) why not opt for max tenure?
Cut back on lodging, use the extra to clear off the cc debt then start saving more to buy house so that you can achieve it faster.

Want comfort lodging but also want downpayment money? earn extra income, don't say "no time", "not my cup of tea" kind of thing when opportunity comes knocking. there's no free lunch.
TSzenwell
post Sep 26 2014, 03:24 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Illusion20 @ Sep 17 2014, 06:04 PM)
basic 5k, after deduct everything nett is around 4290, i got this amount for 2 payslip already.
ptptn- stop paying for now.
cc from 4 cards, rm800 p.m, so basically i'm paying cc + easy rhb 1200 = rm2k p.m.
unifi is shared with housemate. however he will move out coz he got married last month. so i need to get another housemate..and i might pay lower rental and internet fee too.. and since i still have another one year contract left..if break contract still need to pay. and not sure how to remove those internet, as i work with computers and internet..

if i were to sell the car, i need to top up at least 10k to cover the loan balance.resale value vary bad for proton. not quite sure how this is gonna work. but nowadays i rarely use car. only bike..of course before this i was thkinking to sell the car, but since the resale value very bad, i keep using it lah..

ya..gym membership if can transfer is a good thing too..but still, one year left.

misc like top up/shampoo/deodorant etc other utilities... around 200.

so normally, after i paid all those things, i'm left with rm650 for daily expenses ...i already doing this for many months now..

i'm evaluating my options now. because i'm only left with 1k savings..deswai thinking so hard how to settle this, if i have 10k in my hand, i don't really mind living like this for a few years until all paid up..
maybe i could sell some of my stuff to raise some money as savings.
i was hoping on two things for next year.
salary increment this january(i;m paid lower than market btw).. it's a promised from my director...he knows i'm having a problem, so he said he will try to push the management for higher salary, so far, i got increment every 6 months, and this year alone, an increment 1k from 4k.
bonus end of march. normally 2months.

or change job. Last may i went for interview got 8k offer. but that time quite f***ed up because of family problem. so i declined.
but i love my job here..i've been here for almost 4 years and i don't think i will change job anytime soon..my carreer here is booming... director keep pushing me coz he wanted to promote me to senior position..but i'm still not ready leh..
dunno how long im gonna take to pay all these debts.. and i still need to get married..not yet lah..maybe in a few years time..
Sell your gym membership here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/817206
already in deep big shit trouble you still don't take the effort to look for ways for reduce your expenses then no one can help you. don't know why a lot of ppl need to select expensive classy gym etc. mine is just less than rm80 per month and it took me 6 mths of consideration before signing up (yes I'm stingy, but i try to treat myself well from time to time).

btw, can teach how you go from 2k to 5k in just 4 years? this is my 10th working year already and i'm only making slightly more than you. and i work like a crazy bee too.
TSzenwell
post Oct 13 2014, 05:20 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 13 2014, 04:21 PM)
What type of "bargaining power" that the joker said? You can buy a subsale house that original price was rm300k but just a flip and selling for rm600k and yet you still can get 100%?
Credit rating no need to be recorded by credit card. By your bank account, EPF account also can tell how good you are. I already 2 years never take loan and yet I still can get it approved within few days.
2 years never take loan already means previously you took loan before. OUr friend above is fresh and i assume that he have never have any sort of loan with any banks at all thus zero credit record. bank cannot assess this person's reliability in repaying outstanding amount. That's why the guru adviced our friend here to get a cc to have a credit rating. afaik, get the cc but never use it also fine. still show credit rating. This one i don't know why though. any guru can enlighten me?
TSzenwell
post Apr 29 2015, 12:47 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Musikl @ Apr 28 2015, 05:27 PM)
Hey everyone,
Need some opinions.
Heres my status,

Main Income
Net income: RM 3900 (just started work, 1 year in june)

Expenses
Personal Loan: RM 1136/m (100k, 10 years)
ASB Loan: RM568/m (100k,30years)
Commuting: RM 540/month (trains/fuel/parking)
Car maintenance/service: RM 100/month (using gramma's unsused car)
Maxis: RM 100/month
Food: RM 800/month (inc. parents dinner)
Brother's insurance: RM 200/month (self insurance under company)
Gym: RM175/month (this is abit high but i do enjoy the luxury)
Enterntainment: RM 50/month

Side Income
Bussiness A: min. RM 2000/month
Business B: min. RM 300/m
Investment A: RM 550/month (was RM1400, but then they had to restructure thier program and I lost some confidence, so i took out 60% of capital)
Investment B (ASB): Expected about RM 8500 for this year.

I am planning to buy an appartment in 1-2 years time for own stay. Am I on the right track? From my calculation, if everything run smooth. I should be getting all my capital in 2 years, and should have enough deposit for a 500k apartment.
Just started work got 3900 nett? Doctor? or O&G offshore?
you took a personal loan of 100k?
TSzenwell
post Apr 30 2015, 03:54 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 30 2015, 03:37 PM)
My company are giving PL for 1% a year, with reducing rate whistling.gif
wow! any maximum amount?
TSzenwell
post Apr 12 2016, 12:57 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(MARVIN333 @ Apr 11 2016, 04:38 PM)
I was thinking to reduce the outstanding amount of other cc too.

also, if I take personal loan RM50,000 for 5 or 7  years, how much should I pay monthly to pay back the loan? would it be below 3k?

Like for those 3 cc in a month I will spend almost 3k (1000 each card but as for citibank it does not reduce the amount because I have monthly deduction of 1000 each month like insurance, astro, internet)  hmm.gif  rclxub.gif
Are you planning to cut down your expenses and get rid of debt-ridden life for good? based on what you have written above it doesn't look like you want to. But anyway, clear of one of the CC entirely so that no interest will be charged. Cut off the card if you think you can't control yourself. better if you cut off all cards. so that no additional amount can be swiped anymore.
TSzenwell
post Feb 18 2018, 05:19 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 16 2018, 11:02 PM)
1. Always spend less than what you earn.
2. Save min 50% of your pay and then only start spending.
3. Do not let life style inflation get to your head
4. Do not let peer pressure get to you.
5. Maximise tax relief so you pay less tax
-every tax you don't pay is a RM you get to keep.
6. Use proper cash back credit cards. Don't get conned by bank ads.

Read this guy blog. He may be writing in terms of Singapore context but it's still applicable to us Malaysian. He have lots of articles for those starting out (you can see his must read articles on your right side)
ASSI
I read his blogs as I invest in SG.

Regarding putting money into EPF,  ask yourself
1) can you earn 6% risk free money on your own?
- the only risk we have is devaluation of our RM and financial health of our Malaysian govt
2) Do you prefer govt to work for you or you work alone?

For me personally, I won't put more than RM6k/year (max amount for income tax). RM6k is including those compulsory deductions. Should the amount does not exceed RM6k, I will topup to make it RM6k
you mention that you won't put more than 6k/year in epf. Can we opt not to contribute epf after the amount reach 6k in a year?
TSzenwell
post May 8 2019, 01:17 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ May 5 2019, 04:23 PM)
Personally I like using spreadsheet to help me manage my finance. Because I felt much in control than using financial app.

[attachmentid=10239223]

Heres how I manage my finance:
*obviously the data isn't real.
After looking at this spreadsheet, I will put aside the overall balance to my investment portfolio. If I felt like I want to save more, I will put away Self Reward and some from Groceries to my investment portfolio.

Normally, I can save more than overall balance. But when theres a time I need to send my car for service, renew my license/passport, I will add the amount to Others.

Addition refers to Additional Income (Teaching, Grab, and simply web dev for example).

And as you can see, theres a months sheet. I update all of it .

I will look at this spreadsheet twice (and up to 10 times) a week. To make sure I follow the plan.
noticed that you have stashaway at the bottom of your page. How is it like using stashaway?
TSzenwell
post May 19 2019, 12:20 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ May 10 2019, 12:05 AM)
Recently found a quite good app for tracking expenses and budgeting. [URL=Money Manager : Budget&Expense by Realbyte Inc. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/money-manag...d560481810?mt=8]Money Manager iOS[/URL]
Been using HomeBudget for past few years and found this is more detailed and more customizable compare to HM.
Thanks for the recommendation. Will try it out. Currently using SpendLog after trying out countless of money management app.
TSzenwell
post Apr 21 2020, 09:45 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(freechuan @ Apr 16 2020, 08:54 PM)
I'm aged 29 currently and working in office.

Nett salary RM 4,400/ (just found new job, start April 2020)
Side income - possible making RM600-RM800 per month coz just get grab license planning to drive grab clear off my credit card debt

Monthly expenses (Food + Grocery - RM900)
Parent RM 200
Rental RM 0 (stay with family till end of year 2020)
Car loan RM 525 (left 6 years more to settle) (9 years loan)
Car Petrol - RM350 per month
Renew road tax + Car Insurance = RM125/month
Car Maintenance average RM200 per month
Insurance RM62.50 per month
Phone RM 80
Internet RM 104.94
PTPTN Loan RM316.25
Entertainment RM300
Total Expenses Exclude Credit Card and Personal Loan Debt = RM3,200/per month

Mininum Credit Card Payment Per Month = average RM700 per month
Gross Salary - (Total Expenses +Minimum Credit Card Payment) = Balance RM500

Credit Card A debt  = RM1,000
Credit Card B debt  = RM3,000
Credit Card C debt  = RM2,500
Personal Loan Debt = RM2,080 balance left 8 months to pay/monthly repayment RM260
Total Debt = RM8,580

Currently my status still single, no gf, no house

Its my fault previously I have overspend and expecting got bonus from the company but after 7 years working I only get one year bonus. 2 months ago I went to get a PSV license to drive grab plan to clear off my credit card debt ASAP. I not sure my new job will be stable or not. I not surely have extra time to work grab to make extra RM600-RM800 per month. I cant think off any other side income other than work as grab driver. I am just hoping to clear off my debt ASAP and get some savings for my future planning. I hope you guys can gv any recommendation to me since Im in this kind of situation. Do you guys recommend me to do balance conversion plan for my credit card B & C.
Apply for AEOn credit card, then procced to apply for their 0% 6 months balance transfer. Transfer all your card debt there. 6500 over 6 months is about 1083 a month. bite the bullet and cough up this money for 6 months after that you are done.

then perhaps after this you can continue the habit of coughing up 1k but put it into savings.
TSzenwell
post May 10 2020, 01:12 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ May 2 2020, 04:54 PM)
Going through this thread, I can't help but feel there are so many ppl humblebragging here. Those earning >10k have no business sharing or pretend to ask for advice here, you are only bragging and trolling trying to make ppl here feel bad.

Earning > 10k, you are totally not in a pinch needing help managing money, you only need to not fuck up your business and income source, and don't waste money on lambo or mont kiara condo.
10k is not a lot. If you are a salaryman, after deductions, take home pay is about 8k only. Even those household with 10k take home income, There is nothing to brag. Because you are still not driving BMWs, stay in semi-d or bungalow. If you do some calculations you will know.

I know a lot of ppl who are not there yet will think when they reach there, everything will be fine. But it's not. End of the day is the habit that matters. savings and investment habits. Doesn't matter how much you make, if you don't know how to handle the money, it will be gone too.
TSzenwell
post May 17 2020, 02:24 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Mr. WongSF @ May 11 2020, 02:43 AM)
Oh, Hepi Birfdei!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  icon_idea.gif
Thank you biggrin.gif
TSzenwell
post Jun 1 2020, 12:28 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ May 28 2020, 03:53 PM)
Hey guys, Just to update and share that when there's a will, there's a way!

I'm happy to report that I've managed to settle one card already based on my above enquiry. Next month will start paying the second card.

I even almost didn't celebrate Hari Raya laugh.gif Was deciding either to finish paying next month and enjoy raya or pay everything this month for that card and have a simple raya with family (I mean really simple, just cook some rendang, photoshoot and that's it. No visiting relatives and new baju raya etc.). End of the day I chose the latter and and after a week, I felt it's the better choice!
Congrats! Keep the momentum going!

0.0243sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:21 PM