Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

langstrasse
post Mar 28 2015, 09:10 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

Hello folks,

I understand that the general recommendation is that a person's total monthly repayment for loans (housing, car, etc.) should not exceed 30% of his/her net income.

However I'm just curious, with the current high prices of housing are you actually able to do this in real life ?
langstrasse
post Mar 28 2015, 10:18 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 28 2015, 09:33 PM)
You can no need to follow.
But once you have a family and parents to take care of, you will know the pain sweat.gif
True but I'm just wondering what the actual percentage is like for Malaysians nowadays. I get the impression that it's a lot higher than 30%
langstrasse
post Mar 29 2015, 11:47 AM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Mar 28 2015, 10:41 PM)
For me its 36%.. sad.gif
Seems alright to me.

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 29 2015, 01:04 AM)
85% in average thumbup.gif
Not sure if this is even possible for loan approvals. But if true then there's very little buffer for unplanned expenses.
langstrasse
post Mar 29 2015, 12:31 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 29 2015, 12:01 PM)
hmm.gif at times there is NO buffer or "negative buffer" yet the bank approves it...
a friend of mine
income RM 8000 pm
minus EPF, PCB tax, Socso
net about RM 6000 pm
recently bank loan approves RM 4000 per month loan installment.... doh.gif ....
to add some thought....he is a bread winner with a wife and 2 kids.... doh.gif
just wondering what is the loan approval criteria?
I didn't know it was even possible to get that high a margin, unless the wife is also working.
Otherwise it doesn't make much sense. 2000 net to support a family of four will be a challenge.

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 29 2015, 12:21 PM)
Already came out from newspapers, we are the highest in Asia currently whistling.gif
But that's the household debt in reference to GDP, we're talking about a slightly different statistic here.
langstrasse
post Nov 23 2015, 08:09 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

Hello folks,

I'd like to request for your advice on my personal finance. I'm 30 this year, single (with plans to marry in about 2-3 years) and below is the summary of my current situation. Items are shown as a percentage of my net worth:

Cash, RM, M2U Savers :21.86 %
Cash, USD :29.39%
Bursa (Dividend stocks, REITs) : 7.33%
ASM and AS1M : 41.06%

I don't own a car or property as I currently do not need either of those. I do intend to purchase a house/condo, not necessarily in Malaysia, just before I get married. I'd appreciate some recommendations on possible tweaks I can implement for better growth.

Constructive input please notworthy.gif

langstrasse
post Nov 23 2015, 09:09 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 23 2015, 08:14 PM)
hmm.gif % in net worth?
there must be some big different in scenario/circumstances between a net worth of RM 50k, USD 50k, RM 200K, Rm 30k...or etc,etc...
just thinking.... hmm.gif
Well it's not a big amount, I'm thinking it wouldn't matter much in absolute numbers but more important in percentage, correct me if I'm wrong.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 23 2015, 08:47 PM)
I do not know how much you are worth. However you do not need so much cash in hand (21.86 %). Dump them into asm/as1m. Keep what you need for the month. For myself, I set a future target of RM100k each in asm, asw2020, as1m (haven't even have RM100k yet, still planning tongue.gif) . Why only Rm300k, cause with RM300k, I will be getting approximately RM18k/year free money. I can survive based on that. The rest I will dump into certain unit trust bought via FSM to generate at least min 10% returns/year. If you do not know what to buy, can consult pinky and xuzen. Like mr guy. He buy based on recommendations in the FSM thread and earn min 5%, max 20+%

You should not hold cash. Try openning SG account and buy their reits. Their REITS is able to give a 7% return/year which is equal to ~21% after factoring in the exchange rates.

That's my future plan and hope it helps. smile.gif
Thanks for your input, and also for sharing your goals smile.gif

About the PNB funds, I find that at 41% I'm already pretty exposed, I'd probably stay away from increasing that part for the time being (I'm planning to limit myself to not more than 20% in a given type of investment).

About FSM, I did open an account but never put money into it, it's something to explore right now I suppose.

SG REITs are pretty popular in this forum smile.gif , there must be some merit to it - I need to get an SG account set up then.

And yes I agree with you on the cash part - it's actually the main reason I'm posting here - I realise that holding more than 50% in cash is pretty foolish when considering inflation.
langstrasse
post Nov 23 2015, 09:43 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 23 2015, 09:21 PM)
For me, I never hold more cash than I need. Maybe extra one month cash in hand? My cash in hand will always be in ambank truesavers (2.8%)/ambank islamic efd (3.15% p.a for a month cause is less than RM5k)

ASX FP for me is FD on steroids. Principals are guaranteed in my opinion (buy and sell at RM1/unit). What do you mean by expose? I am a guy who never ventured beyond FD and ASX FP was my first outing. So pardon the rather conservative thinking. Anyway, I will not set a higher target for ASX FP cause in my own opinion, I feel RM300k is just nice.
The cash in hand part is a pretty good guideline, thanks.

About ASX FP, I used "exposed" to mean I consider I'm vested enough in that class of investment, and prefer to diversify more at the moment. Didn't mean anything else really. And yes, it's surely FD on steroids (if you can manage to get units !).
langstrasse
post Nov 23 2015, 09:53 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 23 2015, 09:39 PM)
Q1. Are you happy with your current returns ?

It is all about risk and return. Your current portfolio is very conservative except for your USD.

I would set a target for my desired return first. If I am happy with 4%, then throw everything into FD. If I am only happy with 8%, then I have to take higher risk.

So, all depends on your return expectation
Q2. Are you going to use the above investment as down payment for your house ?

If so, then you have to keep your funds liquid. That would determine which type of investment you need now
Thanks, your questions are helpful. And yes, it's a very conservative portfolio indeed.

For Q1, the ASX part of my portfolio provides a better than average return. The other half risks being near stagnant, which is where I'm looking to make some tweaks. However, the more I read, the more it seems to me that yields are getting tougher and tougher to obtain.

For Q2, yes I do intend to keep a stash ready and liquid for a property downpayment - I suppose short term FDs are the way to go here.
langstrasse
post Feb 13 2016, 05:32 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(Dividend Magic @ Feb 11 2016, 06:32 PM)
Emergency funds I'd say depends on your risk taking habits and age. At 30, you're considered young and not much of a risk taker from what I can tell. So 6 months should be quite enough. However, since you already have about 230K in savings, I'd say use that as your buffer and save up more to invest.

As for you purchasing another property, if you're going to get another one where your mortgage payments will match your rental, I'd say forget it. Wait for better deals to come along, you always want a positive cash flow on your rental property. Instead, purchase high yield stocks, maybe you can consider REITs. You can then compare the returns you get from REITs against actual physical property.
Just a follow-up question on this subject : if one already has a sizeable cash or other liquid reserves, would it be advisable to purchase property as a "hedge against inflation" - is this still a valid strategy ?
langstrasse
post Mar 1 2016, 12:15 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 1 2016, 10:08 AM)
Many thanks for the suggestion. KLSE is like insane mode to me, while I can barely survive playing in beginner mode. laugh.gif But nevertheless, appreciate with all the suggestions given. Nowadays economy is bad and everything is getting price hike. Wonder when the property bubble burst. unsure.gif

Btw, saw in FD thread, currently the highest FD for 12 months entitle me to get 4.5% (glance through only). Is it good or consider moderate compare during good economy days?

OFF TOPIC: I overheard on radio that OSK are having the scheme of buy now pay later, where you can pay after you purchase the house 2 years later. Is this a good deal? OSK do have property near my area and that's what I am looking for also.. tongue.gif
It's not OSK, it's IOI Properties that's offering the buy now pay later scheme.
http://buynowpaylater.ioiproperties.com.my/
langstrasse
post Jun 20 2016, 10:03 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

Folks,

I'm thinking of purchasing my first property. However, I'm wondering about what would be the best combination to obtain the best value for my hard earned money.

My understanding is that :
1. Higher downpayment = lower total interest paid
2. Shorter loan term = lower total interest paid

How do you determine the best combination of downpayment and loan tenure for a given property purchase - can I approach a Financial Planner on this ?

I don't think it would be a good idea to ask bank staff because they have a vested interest to maximize the interest earned on every loan.

This post has been edited by langstrasse: Jun 20 2016, 10:09 PM
langstrasse
post Jun 20 2016, 10:36 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jun 20 2016, 10:23 PM)
10 years ago I also on your boat.
But what I did was, pay 10% of DP, take 20 years of repayment period. Then save money as much as possible and dump in to reduce principle. End up my name being slashed from the bank after 7 years.
Paying off a 20 year home loan in 7 years, that's amazing - many Malaysians don't even manage to pay off their car loans in that time period - congrats.

If I may ask - was your loan a flexi or semi flexi type ?

Thanks for sharing.
langstrasse
post Jun 20 2016, 11:03 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jun 20 2016, 10:43 PM)
To cut the story short, it does not matter much if you pay more deposit or less or take a longer term or shorter term AS LONG AS you invest whatever excess you have into some long term stocks portfolio or pay off loan balance periodically if you wished.
Sorry but I don't think I fully understand.

My guess at what you're saying is (please correct where necessary):
If I take a 30 year loan with minimal 10% downpayment, I should place any excess cash that I have in investments which have higher effective returns than the interest rate I pay for the home loan ?

I especially don't understand the second part "or pay off loan balance periodically if you wished."

How do I decide when it's appropriate to pay the loan balance off ?
langstrasse
post Jun 22 2016, 06:45 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jun 21 2016, 01:05 AM)
I assume that whatever returns you can generate from long term stocks investing should be about 5% to 10% in the long run. Your effective loan interest should be about 5%. However, paying off loan means guaranteed return of 5%. Investing in stocks should get higher return but not guaranteed. That is why I say invest some in stocks and pay off loan with some excess cash. You really should concentrate on your working income. Whether you invest or pay off should not be of much difference. Just my humble opinion.
Makes sense - increase income and pay off loan in parallel. I need to look at worked examples on this to know more.
QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jun 21 2016, 03:08 AM)
You don't really need a financial planner when common sense applies.

Higher downpayment and shorter loan tenure = less interest paid is true.

We take as much loan as we needed to - not more, not less, just adequate; just as we buy something we truly need, we buy enough and not frivolously more than necessary.

First, think what you need to bridge the gap between owning the house and what you have in hand. This gap is the amount you need to borrow from the bank.

Then think how much you can comfortably afford to pay every month back to the bank.

(One may do a bit of projection into the next few years like salary increment or job promotion, and have slightly more added into the installment amount, and this means a tighter monthly budget till the increment or promotion.)

You then approach the bank with the loan amount you need to borrow, and the installment you could afford and like to pay every month. With these 2 figures, the bank can work out the loan tenure; and you won't be distracted by any offers for a bigger loan or longer tenure or what special promotion they have.

=================

If we could only afford to buy with the most minimal downpayment and the longest tenure available, maybe we should think again whether we can really afford the house and whether we should wait till there are more savings and continue looking for the right house at the right price.

So what is the right house at the right price? According to some financial rule of thumb, it is about 2.5 times the annual salary; monthly installment of not more than 36% of your gross monthly income, and at least 20% as downpayment. 

http://money.cnn.com/pf/money-essentials-home-buying/

Can these rules of thumb apply to Malaysia? Maybe, maybe not, or maybe they should be adjusted a bit like 3 to 3.5 times the annual salary, monthly installment about 30-40% of net salary, and 15-25% as downpayment. The adjustments should not be too far off the rules of thumb.

Good luck, and happy house hunting.
Thanks a lot for taking the time to explain and elaborate - it does involve common sense for the most part.
Yes the rules of thumb would be helpful but would need to be adapted to the Malaysian context. Interestingly, I believe that many of my peers living in KL are definitely not within the range shown in those rules of thumb (e.g. 2.5 times annual salary).

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 21 2016, 09:30 AM)
I wouldn't call that a smart move. You are still with the old mindset of paying off home loans fast. But it was valid back then cuz home loan rates were about 7-8% unlike the current 4%+.

What's the point of having a fully paid up house? Your value is stuck on the house and u cant touch it unless you sell/refinance. Its just a feel good feeling that you have a fully paid up home.

If u were a savy investor, u would know how to utilise loans to grow your money and your NAV faster. I would rather have 4 properties on loan (with high capital appreciation) vs 2 fully paid up properties.

We should focus on growing our money not saving. Saving is a very slow process towards financial freedom. Learn to diversify, invest and grow your NAV. You can achieve a much faster growth rate than just saving.

I grew my NAV by RM1.8mil within 9 years using this method.
Interesting point of view, I must admit I'm quite risk averse and have this dying need to be free of mortgage etc. Adding to that is the fact that I work in a very volatile and cyclical industry and cannot afford to take on too many loan commitments at a given time.

Your safety net of 18 months is very wise indeed, I'll keep that in mind. I believe this must be a very rare thing amongst Malaysians.
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jun 21 2016, 05:10 PM)
Bro, use flexi loan and you will have a lot of flexibility. Your above 2 concerns will be solved.

1. Higher downpayment ?
Flexi loan allows you to dump your excess cash into the current account to reduce the amount outstanding, thus reducing your interest expense. While the excess cash can still be withdraw out for your own use later (if you can find some investment with good return for example). That is the beauty of flexi loan.

So, take as much loan as possible (90% LTV) with the bank. Then dump in your extra cash into the current account later to reduce interest expense, while still be able to use it when you need money. If you pay higher downpayment, then your cash will no longer be available to you

2. Shorter loan term ?
Again, flexi loan will take care of your concern. Interest is calculated on daily basis based on your balance outstanding. So if you have extra cash, dump everything into the current account. It has the same effect of paying more instalment as a shorter loan term.

So, take loan term as long as possible in flexi loan. Then deposit as much money as possible into the current account. That will save you interest. And you may pay off your loan sooner
By getting flexi loan with as much LTV + as long loan term as possible, it gives you the flexibility to pay lesser interest and at the same time allows you to withdraw the excess money when you need it. And the extra money you paid into your current account will be available for use for a longer period also.

However, flexi loan is of no extra advantage for people who has no extra cash to dump into the current account. For this category of people, there is no difference for them to take conventional fixed loan
Thanks, I guess I didn't really understand how flexi loans worked.
I found an overview explanation here for others:
https://loanstreet.com.my/learning-centre/f...ty-loan-options

But I still have an ultra newbie question:
Assuming you have 300k cash and your home transaction price is 450k, is it still better to pay 10% downpayment (45k) and take a home loan for 405k for 30 years (and park the remaining cash in the linked current account to reduce the interest payment) ?
langstrasse
post Jun 23 2016, 09:47 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jun 22 2016, 11:10 PM)
Simple way is pay 10%, take the longest tenure and save money in another account. Then reduce principle once every 6-12 months with that money.
Remember, once you own a house, you need to serve loan and other bills.
Now I can live without any income for 5 years as I have no loan at all, following old timer's mindset way of settling loans.
Thanks, this is a strategy I'll look into.
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jun 22 2016, 11:17 PM)
Yes.

With flexi-loan, you take 405k loan at 30 years. When the accounts are in operation, then park your remaining 255k inside the current account. Your interest calculation is effectively on principal of 150k, not 405k.

If you take conventional loan, you have to pay interest on 405k irregardless. The 255k is your separate fund which you have to think how to make good return on it

Another way of viewing the flexi-loan is a "low cost reducing-balance overdraft" (where the overdraft facility is reduced by the monthly instalment amount). The interest rate is housing loan rate (4.xx%) compare to overdraft interest rate of 7.xx-8.xx%. The fund is ready for you to jump on good investment opportunity at anytime. If you cannot find a good opportunity, you are still paying less interest expense as your balance principal is already reduced.

Compare to conventional loan which you take high LTV, you have to pay interest on a full loan, while feel the pressure to look for investment opportunity to cover the interest expense which runs on daily basis
Thanks, I've never really looked at a property purchase this way. This explanation really helps.
langstrasse
post Jun 24 2016, 05:31 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jun 24 2016, 01:18 AM)
Remember, only you will know how much you can make, no point of envy on others and waste above your means. Driving a fake Lancer and driving a real Lancer at the end of day you are still driving a Lancer.
As for a loan that you take either is flexi or non flexi, self discipline are still important. Like you put all of your cash to the loan's account but suddenly you want to go for holiday and take it out, it is a wrong way.
Yes I agree, self discipline is the foundation and trying to keep up with others is a very common trap for many people.
QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jun 24 2016, 11:49 AM)
My current objective is working towards having at least RM20K/month from my investment portfolio. Combination of property(rental income), ASNB (combination of loan and cash), Tabung Haji.

I'm saving more than 50% of my salary. Planning to pay off housing loans as soon as possible. Targeting to achieve this in 8-9 years so that I can spend more time with family, and giving back to community.

Besides rental income, need to ensure the market price for the houses are giving same or more income (dividend) if I sold it off later and put it in the ASNB or Tabung Haji.

EPF just the bonus for me as my last contribution was on 2013. Also plus company saving scheme and company shares.
Your goals are inspiring (especially the giving back to community part), and the savings rate of 50% is very good.

Could you elaborate on how you're planning to pay off the housing loan in 8-9 years? For example, do you consistently pay off more than the required monthly payment, or do you make multiple payments in a month etc? Also, what is your loan type (term/semi flexi/flexi) ?
langstrasse
post Jun 24 2016, 06:57 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jun 24 2016, 06:47 PM)
If the monthly commitment rm1700;
And the rental rm1700/month ---will pay the loan
I will also pay at least the same amount on that month.

The rest of my income/saving will go to asnb/tabung haji.

Any cash incentive or shares that lapsed will also dump to pay off the housing loans..

Consistency and discipline. Hopefully I'm strong enough.

P/s: The timeline is based on current employment which My expenses are mostly covered by company.
Thanks for sharing !
langstrasse
post Jul 25 2021, 04:10 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

Hello folks,
I'm looking for advice on asset allocation in the current market environment.

For someone in mid30s - 70% of my net worth is in ASNB holdings which provide about 4-5% returns (this year will probably be 4% at best). After inflation, this is almost negligible returns.

My question - how are you splitting your liquid assets in current environment?
I have read about this rule of thumb below, but does anyone here actually implement this?
The old rule of thumb used to be that you should subtract your age from 100 - and that's the percentage of your portfolio that you should keep in stocks. For example, if you're 30, you should keep 70% of your portfolio in stocks. If you're 70, you should keep 30% of your portfolio in stocks.

https://money.cnn.com/retirement/guide/inve...ymag/index7.htm

langstrasse
post Aug 1 2021, 03:25 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 25 2021, 04:35 PM)
if you had been "Happily" and contented with 70% of your net worth is in ASNB holdings which provide about 4-5% returns and known that after inflation, this is almost negligible returns. ....just stay with it....
it has alot to do with your risk appetite, risk capacity, past experience or environment exposure to investing.
Nothing wrong with that...for any change away from that may subject your money to added risk of losing some of it

previously what did you do with your rest of your 30% net worth?
Thanks for your response, understood that it depends a lot on risk appetite and other factors you've cited.
The remaining 30% for me was in Stashaway, international ETFs, bursa and foreign currencies.

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jul 25 2021, 04:40 PM)
the rule just a guide line for general purpose use only...

assume u r 35 years old , mean 65% (100 - 35) is equity.....
if u r conservative person, try to reduce it below 55% ........
if u r adventurous person , try up it until at least 70%.....

nothing is wrong/ correct bcoz individual person r different risk appetite ..........

i oso ever saw ppl recommend use rule 80 - age (mean 80 - 35 = 45 % in equity ).... brows.gif

i do follow the rule at the starting, but seen like i'm adventurous ppl.....always beyong the limit ..... sweat.gif 

if u not sure ur limit, try increased stage by stage (not sure u want try 6 month each stage or not  whistling.gif )
invest in dividend stock or fund with low volatility .... cool2.gif
Thanks, yeah I've spoken to others my age who are usually more open to risk laugh.gif

0.1165sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:14 AM