drumstix
Apr 12 2016, 09:12 AM

Background:
I just graduated. Waiting for my turn to be a government servant in 2-3 months' time (or longer than that, who knows?). Currently working in a commission based company. First month of working raked a healthy 10k+ salary. (no bs) Second month around 3k+ and it's only mid of April.
Problem:
I don't have my own transport to work. My mum would need to get up early to send me to work which I feel it's a bit tiring for her. And sometimes she will have things to settle and in the end I'll be late for work. She doesn't allow my to drive her car. I was thinking to get a 40k+ car for the time being. Previously I tried to apply for loan with my mum as my guarantor but it wouldn't go through as her business is kinda bad these few years.
Question:
1. What should I do? Unless I earn another 20-30k (factoring in car price, maintenance, emergency etc) to buy the car in cash, I will need to take loan.
2. Can I take personal loan for used car?
3. I can try applying a car loan under my own name but I was told that I need 6 months payslip since my job currently is commission based.
I'm planning to get the car before I start working with the government cos by then I'll be too busy to even view the car I'm about to buy!
Please advise.
drumstix
Apr 10 2019, 03:04 PM

28 year old Take home pay: 5500 Side income: 1500 (stable income, sometimes up to 2000) TOTAL net income: 7000 Car 850 Rent 350 Credit card 300 Insurance 200 Fuel 200 Toll 120 Food 600 Leisure 800 Gym 70 Phone 80 Misc 200 TOTAL expenditure 3700 The rest goes to savings, about 3k+ monthly Hello, this is my ins and out every month. Starting May 2019, I'll need to help out my dad to pay for the house. Monthly installment would be RM3000, shared among me and my other 2 siblings, so RM1000 each. Also, I'm planning to buy a continental ride at the end of the year. Monthly installment would be about 1500 every month. However, the total expenditure would sum up to 6200. Certainly doesn't seem like I will be getting my new ride this year  On a side note, say I have 100k in cash, is placing 80k in FD a good choice since I don't know anywhere better to park my money? That's an average passive income of RM287 every month. Please advise.
drumstix
Apr 10 2019, 03:40 PM

QUOTE(55665566 @ Apr 10 2019, 03:10 PM) may ask why are you serving c/c when you have 100k cash? actually your lifestyle seems quite happy already. considering the "wants" (leisure,gym,car,phone) quite a lot while the "needs" (rent, insurance, food) quite little. did your try to review your budgeting previously to come up with this list? 300 for credit card and 800 for leisure are mostly allocated for drinking, weekend outings, shopping, dates. Yeah I can certainly pay using cash/debit card. But paying by card (with a good track record) would be good for loan applications in the future? Do correct me if I'm wrong. I'm working in a small town in Pahang, so food and accommodation is pretty cheap here. Certainly not compromising on needs. Still targeting to achieve a take home pay of 10k a month before I turn 30. With 100k cash, I'm weighing my options to either invest it or save it.
drumstix
Apr 10 2019, 09:00 PM

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Apr 10 2019, 04:20 PM) Credit card is a payment mode... Once you put in "Credit Card" in expenditure, people assume you are paying back credit card overdue or something To add on, why do you just use 300 on credit card only? Fuel, insurance, gym, food, phone, leisure all can be paid by CC and get cashback.. Typically I can get 1k+ on cashback per year Oh sorry my bad. I’m using HSBC credit card. Wow okay I think mine is the one they give points for every ringgit you spend it something similar. Looks like I need to find out how to revert it to cashback instead. Thank you
drumstix
Apr 10 2019, 09:06 PM

QUOTE(ytan053 @ Apr 10 2019, 05:27 PM) Any other debts other than the assets you mentioned here? 100k cash at this age sounds good but putting in FD is definitely not gonna work for you in the long run because you will get eaten up by inflation. looking at the amount of insurance, as we dont have the coverage details, but the feeling is that you may be under insured. any plans to buy house? just wondering because it will affect the planning. No other debts other than my current ride. 4 more years of servicing to go. Not married either. The insurance plan that I’ve bought includes a coverage of 1mil of medical fees per annum. Am I still under insured? I do plan to buy a house, but they’ll take up 2-3k of my monthly salary. Renting out will be a hassle. A supposed asset which doesn’t generate income becomes a liability, no? But what do I know, I’m just a newbie here