Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$
MGM
Nov 20 2014, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 20 2014, 12:17 PM) IMHO, 1 more situation i think of - if having current value of money of RM300K emergency funds AND having >RM3.3M (ie USD1M) of easily liquidated investment assets, medical insurance may be moot too - ie if cannot save my life with RM300K+, forgetit lor - better to leave for my family's future usage. Of course, each individual should self-value lar up to what cost is worthwhile or not to save their own life. my life's cheap gua  Bro, nobody's life is cheap (esp. you who selflessly give sound advices without expecting returns), except of course my enemies.  My medical insurance only cover me to 60yo and is too costly to upgrade. Apart from self-insured, I hope I have the discipline to live healthily, mentally and spiritually, once I am retired  . And hopefully still can get quality public healthcare in the future.
MGM
Nov 23 2014, 08:04 AM
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Nov 22 2014, 03:54 PM) Yes, and no. Gross salary as based on their EF form. Most of them are salary earners and I prefer it that way. I like to keep things simple, for the time being at least, I do not factor in their investment income. Also Malaysians really do not like to pay directly for a financial planner, they prefer to deal with commission earners (hah!!!), so any complications would just drive them away. My current share of clients are mainly working in the O&G industry and other middle-to-higher management, and with salaries ranging from 80k to 200k a year, even they find it worth it because: You meant if somebody (with a annual gross income of 100k but with investment of a few millions generating low% passive income), come to u for advice and your fees is 1% of 100k, but your advice would cover all his networth. Most CFP actually charges based on networth right?
MGM
Apr 22 2020, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(tehoice @ Apr 22 2020, 12:59 PM) precisely speaking, my exboss was on RM100k a month basis. our salary is just a small fraction of his salary. so to achieve like what this forumer achieved, how many of us can achieve? his argument being, "who say salary earner cannot be a millionaire"? Can, but definitely not multimillionaire like him only lo. He also has a privileged tool that allows him to accumulate wealth without much effort, ASB. This post has been edited by MGM: Apr 22 2020, 02:53 PM
MGM
Apr 28 2020, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(farizmalek @ Apr 28 2020, 11:07 AM) I agreed with you. Different people have different lifestyle and enjoyment. As for me, I know my capability (Tak pandai belajat, kerja seaman) and the opportunity to earn and save money only come once. Some people they spend on what they like because they know how to make money, they know their capabilities well. Many youngsters now jutawan senyap. Online business. youtubers, gamings income, etc. As for me, I am a 44y old borned well before the I.T era. Only know word star program, c prompt and disket was big during my time as a child. My enjoyment is when i wake up in the morning, I don't have any debts and I can work at any place that i like. And hopefully later can retired comfortably. Congrats on your achievement. Were u guided/mentored or self learned on your career n financial planning since young?
MGM
May 2 2020, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(farizmalek @ May 2 2020, 04:07 PM) 1. Phone bill kurangkan 2. Rental ambil flet atau sewa master bedroom with attached bathroom/toilet. Dalam RM500 sebulan. 3. Sportify terminate 4. Wahed & samy tu apa yea? 4. Robo advisors. https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.imoney.my/...-comparison/amp
MGM
May 10 2020, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(MalaysianFire @ May 10 2020, 12:56 PM) thinking of venturing into the stock market. But still reading about it, have a full-time job so not much time to actually go and research the companies. So taking it slowly, its money anyways would not want to regret losing it. I'm putting my money now into Standard Chartered PSA. Gives 3.6% provided you put in 3000 fresh funds every month and spend RM1000 in credit card spend every month and you get the 3.6%. I have this as my salary account, so automatically, 2.1%, if spend RM1000 which is possible, then another 1.5%. Some requirements but hey no free lunch in this world. Easy to spend rm1000 for SCB credit card, especially LIVERPOOL fc card.
MGM
Jun 18 2020, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Jun 18 2020, 09:09 AM) Agree. It is all high risk high reward at the end of the day. Stock market can earn you a windfall but you can also lose till you drop. Do you invest on unit trust funds too? Or do you find that too high of a risk as well? I think he is worth >100 million (guessing), living on 3%/year with ave 4% ROI, to many is more than enough without higher risk/stress.