Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

AnAngel65
post Aug 31 2020, 09:58 AM

354 posts

Hi all,

Been reading the sharing here, felt like I could humbly get some advice from the sifus here~

Nett Pay: 4700

Monthly Expenses:
Rent: 750
Food: 600
Phone bill: 50
Petrol: 200
Online shopping: 200
Parents: 500
Medical Insurance: 200
Medical supplement: 100
Others: 100 (Ochipalang)
-----------

Monthly savings: 2,000

Savings/Assets:
1. FD 10k
2. Rakuten 13k
3. PRS 5k (Topping up 2k yearly for income tax relief)
4. ASM 26k
5. OCBC 360 70k
6. EPF 49k

Total Assets: 173k

No outstanding loans. My parents bought me my first Axia and have been a great companion since.

OCBC 360 was great as i manage to hit the high interest rate monthly, but now its only 2.6% pa so i've been looking at other high yield interest saving account option.
Also, I'm interested in investing in robo-adviser (Wahed or stashaway) for perhaps 10% of my savings and with aggresive portfolio since ive been doing rather low-risk investment.

Ive actually achieved my financial goal already (for this age), just trying to diversify more on the investments and learn more as there's so many diff type of investments now.

Kindly give me any advice, thanks all in advance~

This post has been edited by AnAngel65: Aug 31 2020, 10:01 AM
AnAngel65
post Aug 31 2020, 02:47 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Aug 31 2020, 10:30 AM)
Given the low interest rate environment that we are in now, does OCBC 360 still earn you a lot of interest? Else park more money into ASM or you can try out StashAway too.
Well depends on the definition of "a lot" hahahah. Yeah ive been parking money into ASM but been getting lazy these days to keep fishing for units (my bad). Yeah ive begin reading on Wahed and Stashaway, felt like i shouldnt jump in the robo-adviser immediately without some research too.

QUOTE(vanitas @ Aug 31 2020, 10:43 AM)
Rakuten is all stocks? By Rakuten itself you can diversify your investment into stock, reit, etf such as bond / gold / China etc as well.

PRS itself is a diversification as well, as you can choose which fund to invest.

If you opt for exposure in US etf, then can choose wahed or stashaway. Just make sure if you choose aggressive portfolio then it is for long term.

Then I don't think there is significantly better high yield saving account, you can rather try top up ASM. You can also look for property, in terms of interest rate, put money in loan account there is better than FD or high yield saving account.
Yes its all stocks, my boyfriend is handling the stocks for me, I tried my hands on Rakuten before on stocks+reits, but not really much gain as im only sort of gambling there instead of real research. Thus finally handover for someone who at least do research, and since im not the actual person to do research, its a bit hard for me to diversity my portfolio and extend to reits or gold of my interest.

PRS yes im trying to diverse the investment, 2k per year and ratio of fund risk 2:5 (5 being the most risky fund) is 3:1 ( still on the conservative side, i know dry.gif )

Regarding property!! Ive actually did some research on property, maybe buy and rent or air bnb sort of thingy, but then in Johor it seems like condominium is abundant and lost its value, and adding on with the covid hitting economy, property price is bound to go even lower at the end of the year. Too much uncertainty and at last I gave up the idea...

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 31 2020, 10:51 AM)
i kay poh abit here...
i am very impressed with your high saving ratio
with a very high % of your saving is in OCBC, and you already liked the high saving rate, (4.x%pa before the abt 1.5% opr rate cuts)
seems to me you are a very conservative investor, no right or wrong here, just your individual choice and preference and most important is that those investment vehicle selected suits your choices and you are happy with it.

now you wanted to try 10% of your saving into a higher risk investment
at 10% of your asset into it,...if this new found investment were to loss 10% of the invested money, it will affect 1% of value of your asset

with that and coupled with your young age and current strong buffer of cash reserves, i think you can go ahead with your plan

from sui jau's blog...
"...use a small amount. Something you are comfortable with even if you suffer losses.
It can be as little as one thousand dollars because that is usually all you need to start investing into a higher risk investment.

Then, as you invest, you will see how markets and such affect your returns and you will be able to learn from your experiences without suffering too much heartache compared to if you placed your entire life savings into the market and lose half of it in a market crash.

The key thing is you have to accumulate investing experience.
No amount of prior reading up and accumulating of knowledge can compare with actual investing experience which can only be built up by using your own money to invest.
You have to experience the emotional pull that comes from market ups and downs and learn how to handle your emotions during those times.

And learning from mistakes made is the greatest teacher."
Haha Hi there!
Yeah very conservative, or in chinese sayings very "kiasi" hahahahha. But yeah im happy with my overall financial portfolio. Its just perhaps the process of learning more new things, and exploring more investment vehicle.

now you wanted to try 10% of your saving into a higher risk investment
at 10% of your asset into it,...if this new found investment were to loss 10% of the invested money, it will affect 1% of value of your asset

Oh I do like the sound of this hahahahhaha. I wouldnt mind paying some "tuition fees" in order to learn regarding these investments. Like you said, hands on experience are crucial.

Who is Sui Jao?? This quote is rather inspirational for me, mind to share me the blog??

Anyway, thanks all 3 sifus for the comments!!! I'll be sure to learn more!!!

AnAngel65
post Aug 31 2020, 08:38 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Aug 31 2020, 03:16 PM)
too bad, his blog is not accessible from FSM SG since 2~3 yrs ago.
he was the TOP mgmt of FSM SG then,....now retired already
Ahhhhhh thats too baddddd, I enjoy reading from all these experienced people in forum, so much to learn from them.
Its okay, you can master his teaching and continue to share with all newbies like me~~~

QUOTE(CSW1990 @ Aug 31 2020, 07:49 PM)
Your assets/saving is much higher than your epf ... I think either you are getting high profit rate from stock or having other second/ passive income to archive this good result
2k per month saving already beats 95% Malaysian and it need high self discipline and determination especially for young people
I’m not a sifu and just my suggestion is to use the 70k saving to invest in property or go more aggressive in stock, ETF or unit trust equity
Hmm not really, my stock investment only started like this year?
My passive income as for now are just interest from FD, interest account or so. I guess its just my promotion or discount voucher that here and there saved some (like an aunty, hahahahha)
Yes without knowingly im leading a lifestyle thats diff from my similar age, im not sure why too hahaha but at least im comfortable with it.

Yes, besides 6 months emergency cash reserve, ive been planning to invest more in robo-adviser and unit trust. All need to carry out research and hard work, sometimes just lazy to do it....
AnAngel65
post Sep 1 2020, 09:44 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(CSW1990 @ Aug 31 2020, 10:50 PM)
No offense, yeah can see that you are doing well in the journey of financial freedom but I just curious on the amount as you said they are based on the salary you saved.
120k saving while 49k epf ...
How many years you worked?
I assume you worked 5 years and each month you saved 2k and bonus of 6k saved , 4% pa, you will have 160k now.
But Net salary of 4700 for 5 years you will have at least 80k  in your epf
Haha no lah im not going financial freedom, i just do what i like while not taking much risk.
Hmm, i never calculated like that but I used to part time work even during uni, if consider that yeah ive been working for 5 years hahahaha. I used to save more, when i live in a tiny tiny rented room.

And my salary had a raise i think 8 months back, so it used to be lesser, maybe thats whats reflected in my epf? my expenses are calculated in a max, I usually save more monthly~

Anyway I dont think thats the focus here la~ Ive seen others sifu here achieved much more at young age, mostly that venture into business world. I am not that ambitious, if i could continue to save and getting interest yearly to counter inflation then mostly im satisfied dy haha.
AnAngel65
post Sep 1 2020, 12:20 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(victorsoo @ Sep 1 2020, 10:20 AM)
For someone at 26 with a savings portfolio and discipline like yours, I take my hat off to you. Super impressive. notworthy.gif

Perhaps you might want to switch your FD funds elsewhere. Interest rates (even with promo) are well below 3% now and BNM is potentially going to lower the OPR further in the coming months.

You could park that into Rakuten and look into REITs as a relatively safe investment. Here are some info that you can look into:
- http://reitpulse.com/category/blog/reit-an...malaysia-reits/
- https://mreit.fifthperson.com/

Alternatively, if you feel Rakuten isn't doing much for you, you could park the FD + Rakuten funds into unit trusts or equity funds. You can talk to a fund manager at your bank to see what funds suit your risk preference.

I can understand the pain of fishing for units in ASM. It's like nobody ever lets go of any units for you to pick up. laugh.gif
Yeah exactly, hence forcing me to go out of my comfort zone hahahaha. Well figured its about time to reach out for more investment vehicle anyway~

Thanks for the websites! I'll definitely look into it!!

Hmm unit trust or fund, thats the alternative if im too lazy/ busy to research properly on REITS i guess, its the plan B. Up till now didnt really invest in unit trust or fund i guess mostly because of the unwliingness to pay some maintenance fee for interests that arent confirmed to be high. Its like rather getting low interest than MIGHT getting medium high interest with a fee.

Ah well, sometimes its fun, the excitement to get some ASM units after a long time, on and off i keep trying, no harm doing it during free time i guess.
AnAngel65
post Sep 1 2020, 08:56 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Sep 1 2020, 06:12 PM)
Hi all,

saw the great post by AnAngel65 and thought i would like to post mine.

Nett Pay: 5k

Monthly Expenses:
Car: 773
Parents: 500
Life insurance: 250
Petrol: 150
PTPTN: 180
Internet: RM105
Electricity: RM150

Food: RM 600
Parking: RM 180
Groceries: 150
Medical treatment: 650
medical supplement: 180
mobile: 30
misc: 200

Issue:
3. I want to live out in few years time instead of living with fam for personal freedom, but its not cost effective..

thanks for great community here.
If you wish to increase your saving per month, living with parents is definitely the easiest way hahahah.

But since you already are paying 250 for the internet and electricity, you can try to rent a room outside perhaps 500-600 rental, so an excess 250 from your normal expenses.

Life insurance whether is necessary depends on your own need, if your parents depend on your earning for their retirement, or they constantly need your financial support, then better to have, since you also mention you have some medical issue. Life insurance is for the people you love, theres no right or wrong in getin or not getin it.

And no matter or not you r moving out, definitely talk to your gf hahahha. I know its like this community mindset that man pays the bill, but if it concerns you and you yourself wants to improve saving, its always good to talk it out and plan properly, or else in future marriage life ur gonna be surprised by how financial issue can cause such big fuss.

AnAngel65
post Sep 2 2020, 09:49 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 2 2020, 06:24 PM)
Wow... I have to echo the sentiments of what some of the others have shared: I'm super impressed! Your savings percentage is very impressive, made more so by your relative young age! Keep it up, and you might achieve the much vaunted financial freedom earlier than most! Well done!
WOW SIFU ive been reading your posts and you are one of the very reason I posted!! And i've also started to study bond because of the experience you shared, but still not able to learn in thorough just surfing on the basic.

Thank you so much for your encouragement, but I do feel i'm basically empty on this financial planning world. Would very like to learn more from you!! I admire your planning and even self realization on what you want and achieving it~

If theres any advice or website etc you can share to me, I would be very thankful!! Regardless of that, im still very glad to get inspire by you~

P.s. I LOVE doraemon too, so... but no thats not the reason i express my admiration hahahahha.
AnAngel65
post Sep 3 2020, 04:30 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Sep 2 2020, 10:16 PM)
Given your assuming young age, bonds isn't a great idea. You should be more invested into the equities market and play on your longer runway.

Bonds, FDs are geared more towards those reaching retirement.
QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 3 2020, 07:15 AM)
Thank you for the kind words. However, fuzzy may have a point there. I’m almost twice your age (48 vs 26) and thus my risk appetite would naturally be different from yours, simply because I wouldn’t neither have the stamina nor enough time to recoup my losses if a “bet” goes badly wrong.

Since I don’t have a blog, please allow me to share my personal financial journey here with you - so you can learn from my mistakes and perhaps see a better way for yourself.

When I was your age, I didn’t have the means to invest - junior doctors made a pittance (even in Singapore) and whatever money I had as I progressed in seniority was spent on specialist exams and studies and courses (this is the part about self improvement that every one talks about and - at least in my case - it has proven extremely useful in increasing self-value and earning capacity). In fact, I will have to say I entered investing relatively late, when I was in my early 30’s.

We started off in properties - it was just our conservative natures - and built up a respectable portfolio. Then, we spent the next 10 years paying off all the properties - and that shows up as a big hole in our investment portfolio, as we didn’t add any stocks or derivatives or unit trusts or anything for that time period. All we did was to pare down the multiple mortgages and I was obsessed with paying as little interest as possible. My thinking, rightly or wrongly, back then was that I wasn’t confident of making more in actual quantum of returns (because of my limited capital) than what the banks were charging me in interests. So, the money I saved would be money I earned.

We became totally debt free by our 40‘s, and that’s probably when our personal investment journey (excluding real estate) started. I will admit, I got my fingers badly burned on stocks - to the tune of $50,000, and initially, we lost about another AUD100,000 in an ill-advised joint venture with an acquaintance in Adelaide.

From those experiences, my wife and I decided that we’d rather make do with lower returns in exchange for security and safety and peaceful sleep at night. So, it was initially fixed deposits for a few years, until bonds came into the picture. Before COVID-19, we also invested in Equity Linked Notes, and we have about $3,000,000 tied up presently. Thankfully, most of the prices have recovered and it looks like we will be able to ride out to their maturity, collecting our interest payment in full and recouping our capital - but, when the markets plunged in the initial days of COVID-19, I will confess I was ready to write off that $3,000,000 from our holdings and delay my retirement! This was also a lesson learned for me - it really showed up my risk adverse nature. Even a capital protected (subject to successful maturity and in the absence of knock-in events) product like the ELNs gave me sleepless nights. Once the ELNs mature, I’ll probably stick with bonds and bonds alone.

We are able to do what we do because - respectfully - my wife and I earn what can only be termed exceedingly generous remuneration packages. Bonds (at least the way we purchase them) require a large capital outlay. In the past, in other threads, I’ve shared a few photos of the values in my bond portfolio held by different banks and brokerage houses. As you might know, each bond is at least $250,000 (though some Australian ones used to start from $200,000 - not anymore). We also buy to hold till old - it’s not something we would actively trade. We’re happy to collect the coupons and let other braver, cleverer people do more exciting things with their money.

Thanks for reading. It’s rather fun reminiscing on my amateur steps as a basic investor.
Hmmm both of you have your point, though I myself is more of a conservative and careful mindset, hence is not much into aggresive investment. But I DO know if theres a time to be aggresive it is now, as I have the long years to cover up my losses.

Property is a hard way to venture now as Covid-19 hits, one of the major impact and I would see the effect gonna last for at least a few years before it can recover and boom again. Hence though risky, its still a better option to explore on the equities and stocks. And still, given my weak heart I will only invest 10-20% into high risk investment, so I would still need diversified medium to low risk investment vehicle. Since bond require large capital, perhaps i'll have to look into funds.

Anyway thanks for sharing~ I like to read others stories, we all have our journey, and its nice to have some motivation and inspiration now and then.
AnAngel65
post Sep 6 2020, 06:21 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Sep 3 2020, 04:33 PM)
Don't pick stocks, just invest into a index fund that tracks the market, such as SPY or QQQ, or some of the ETFs.
Oops sorry for late reply, dug my head into ETF and REITS after reading all these suggestions, first steps in reading all those websites and get to know more on these. Thanks very much for the advices all~
Will update if theres any exciting news hehe.

0.0828sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:03 AM