Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

wongmunkeong
post Jul 29 2016, 10:21 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 29 2016, 10:18 AM)
Your level nothing to worry ma. Ure same level as Kengyan rite? NAV RM20-30mil. Just dump RM100K of your pocket money in RHB PEO Fund 1.  biggrin.gif
>=RM10M is my lalaland target leh... if RM20-RM30M.. that waaaaaaay exceeds my lalaland liao heheh
i wish.. sigh.. rolleyes.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jul 31 2016, 05:35 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Excel worksheets & visualization for Standard Mortgage VS Flexi Mortgage - if all else being equal

Since an old friend of mine poked me on this and she couldn't visualize it until we went DAY BY DAY interest accumulation in the mortgage account - i created these worksheets, thus thought it would also be useful for fellow forumers to use.

Note - the worksheet protection is for newbies only
If U are an Excel wielder & want to change the Flexi or Normal rate higher/lower and other stuff, just unprotect the relevant worksheet - NO PASSWORD tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 31 2016, 05:35 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Standard_Mortgage_Vs_Flexi_mortgage.zip ( 3.96mb ) Number of downloads: 48
wongmunkeong
post Jul 31 2016, 06:44 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 31 2016, 06:23 PM)
Just say which is better la dry.gif
No such 1 or 0 leh
It DEPENDS on the user tongue.gif

As Mr Lee (Bruce) said - there is no best martial art, only best martial art for a specific practitioner tongue.gif

U try asking a person who doesn't know "why leverage on the % spread between their savings and investments" to use a flexi mortgage & see the kaka happening lar
wongmunkeong
post Jul 31 2016, 09:11 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 31 2016, 08:10 PM)
Let me add on:
Knowing is not enuf, we must Apply
Willing is not enuf, we must Do  tongue.gif
"I fear the fighter that has practiced 1 kick for 10000 times,
NOT the fighter that has practiced 10000 kicks, 1 time." - Master Bruce (not Wayne, Lee lah tongue.gif )
wongmunkeong
post Aug 4 2016, 09:56 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Aug 4 2016, 08:45 AM)
Hi mr Wong , I dont understand your excel sheet. Do you mean we should put our savings in mortgage loan for best return?

Currently I am able to save rm1k per month and I'm putting in fd. My target is to clear my house loan in 10 yrs with the extra savings. Do you have any advice where I should park the money? I am looking for stable return instead of high risk high gain as my purpose is for loan clearance. I'm not sure if my loan is flexi or standard as it did not state in the loan agreement. I think is standard. But according to your excel it doesn't matter?
A. The Excel
er.. boss, the Excel sheet i shared is for people:
1. who knows about traditional VS flexi mortgage
2. wants to have concrete numbers to know pros/cons in quantifiable terms

thus, for your case - i don't think that Excel is for U

B. Clearing your housing loan with extra savings/parking $.
1. If U are totally risk adverse - stick with FD
Perhaps have at least 6 months to 12 months of emergency funds stashed in FD
Then the rest just knockdown your mortgage's capital (ie make sure your financier knows those extra payment are for capital repayment).
NOTE - best to check your contract / with your financier if there are any specific processes / extra costs involved - some can be really convoluted.

2. If U are an investor, after building your emergency funds, do your asset allocations & plan out your investments & execute, track, adjust - simple, not easy
wongmunkeong
post Aug 4 2016, 10:32 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Aug 4 2016, 10:01 AM)
Ok thanks. I'm not investor. The most I have is UT and some gold account. Any low risk investment to recommend?
heheh - serious ka?
U are totally risk adverse AND U have a GIA (gold investment account)? sweat.gif
to me, that is risky - straight away lose 4% and HOPE gold prices go up + gold a/c doesn't generate any dividends/rental + can't be used like a house/land

different stroke for different folks i guess - even categorizing "risky"
wongmunkeong
post Aug 4 2016, 11:23 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Aug 4 2016, 11:03 AM)
No the gold I have is very little only. I invest few yes back and have cash out some remaining the min balance. It is not very good investment I know. Also is in uob so spread not that wide.

Is there any investment have more than 4% profit? Otherwise just put fd hehe
if i was totally risk adverse (vs current risk managed), yup FD lor
AND
max FD in 1 bank <=$250K due to PIDM insurance coverage
http://www.pidm.gov.my/For-Public/About-De...urance/Coverage
eg
if i have $550K & no morgage, i'd put:
a. 200K in MBB FD
b. 200K in PB FD
c. 150K in OCBC FD

even if multiple accounts in same bank entity, coverage is only up to $250K
wongmunkeong
post Aug 4 2016, 11:25 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(lowdensity @ Aug 4 2016, 11:05 AM)
mass products are being pitched by experienced salesperson to convince the consumer the risk is merely not exist at all which actually does exist all the time on the consumers themselves.
ya - even FD is "risky in the longer term" to me coz:
1. PIDM is only up to $250K AND 99% coverage
2. Inflation destroying real returns
wongmunkeong
post Aug 4 2016, 12:46 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 4 2016, 12:11 PM)
Better return against what?
Dependings on what UTs you bought, when you bought it......the returns "may" be higher/lesser.
There are many other "investment" that can gives better..can you stomach it?
heheh yup yup thumbsup.gif thumbup.gif

problem with humans are - unclear of what they really want

want to be "static & safe" ie no movement, then don't get into a vehicle (investment)
VS
want to "go somewhere & willing to suffer bounces/bumps on the way there", then find the vehicle (investment) that meets one's "need for speed", "comfort" and "budget" -pick only 2 of 3, can't have all 3 tongue.gif

lots of people i meet says:
want to get wealthy / fit
BUT
don't want to risk (learning, facing & managing risk) / excercise
AND
keeps on spending on doodads / eating & drinking unhealthily

how lar... illogical
clarity.. then focus.. then do, adjust & reach there
blur.. then how to focus.. then what to do, adjust & how to reach there?

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 4 2016, 12:47 PM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 4 2016, 12:49 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 4 2016, 12:25 PM)
There is no free lunch... meaning to 'make your money work harder' = getting higher returns on your money => taking higher risk => putting money into riskier financial tools such as unit trusts.

You can't expect much from fixed deposit. Rates in FD are dependent on the country's currency which is linked to its inflation and its political/economy environment.

Take a look into this list of rates from across the world... http://www.deposits.org/world-deposit-rates.html  (Check the fd rate for Singapore... )

People opens accounts in Singapore for various reasons, it does not mean they are "well planned". Some put there as emergency funds and safety reasons - not for gains, as in the recent news of Indonesia exhorting its high networth citizens to repatriate their money back to Indonesia.

Financial management has no one size fits all formula. There is no formula such as putting x% in gold, y% in foreign accounts that will fit everyone. Having 500k is different from having 50 million.
eh - got leh bro
1 financial management that fits ALL
1 formula to rule them ALL

Formula:
1. Spend way less than U earn,
2. Save some, Invest some
3. Repeat step 1 ^ time
wongmunkeong
post Aug 4 2016, 03:28 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Aug 4 2016, 01:48 PM)
biggrin.gif  LOL-ed at the last sentence
You would be surprised my other half is the one not saving enough and shopping too much

It really depends la, and upbringing is very very important
... but but.. women & their shoes..
(vs
boys & their toys) tongue.gif

nah.. don't blame their parents, it's them, their choice / priorities in "life" innocent.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 18 2016, 11:07 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Aug 18 2016, 10:40 AM)
Yeah, that's the problem i am facing now haha!
I agree, i fully understand risk and all, i do my research on the diff risk associated with the investment.
just, the problem for me is that at a fancy restaurant, I choose better food > saving.
then i dun have much to save and invest.  doh.gif  doh.gif
U are asking for help with something no one can help with.
ie
U prefer & prioritize FOOD over ASSETS
No wrong, no right - it's YOUR CHOICE and reasonings
How can others help U ar?

Just like my old ex-company's vendor, turned friend
She bitches about how to save more, where to invest, blah blah.. then go buy 2 new cars (1 after another)

I asked her to just extrapolate what she has now in savings, investments & EPF until she's 90 - enough for her retirement lifestyle?
Asked her - U going to work till 60-64?
Yup to both Qs- so why beat yourself over it? Spend lar on your priorities - ok ma. Don't spend or cut down spending on lower priorities.

Simple, right?

For me, it's the reverse.
I prioritize growing my assets (spending on investments/assets) and fine food is VERY low on my priorities (one of the lowest, just above new cars tongue.gif ).
I "gamefy" my savings & investing - tracking weekly & monthly, the tweaking plans to optimize/ execute where necessary.
Those stats collected, to me, is like a pathway showing how/where i scored, leveled-up and DIGI-EVOLVE! laugh.gif

Different strokes for different folks - thank gawd, else making a living or pursuing interests is going to be tough as hell sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 18 2016, 11:08 AM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2016, 04:33 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 24 2016, 04:28 PM)
No short cut, u have to do some homework on your own.

My path:
FD > mutual funds/unit trusts > stocks/shares
when U extending to >SG/US bourses > Derivatives smile.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2016, 04:36 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 24 2016, 04:34 PM)
might as well go to online gambling dry.gif
heheh - it depends on how one approaches it.
as a statistical hedge or sai lang / luck tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Mar 30 2017, 02:42 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

The simple asset allocation of 1/3 in Fixed Income or Reserves seems sound based on the data of -ve vs +ve yearly returns of the S&P500, where 1/3 of the time it is -ve return

The $ in fixed income useful to buy lelong/cheap AND/OR tide one over during the down years.

http://www.mymoneyblog.com/sp-500-histogra...al-returns.html
wongmunkeong
post Apr 30 2017, 01:21 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Just cleaned up / formatted an EXCEL Monte Carlo simulation for a friend who's worried about "enough or not ar" and thought it'd be useful for some others as well.

Edutainment only - i'm no licensed fler ya
Note:
1. This simulation does 2,000 iterations from the current year till end of expected life - it may kill/be extremely slow on some "notebook-wanna-be" tablets ya.

2. Simulates 6 asset classes yearly returns/losses
+ additional yearly savings for investing in those 6
- yearly expenses (goals' cost & retirement expenses)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6Oc0k5dqW...iew?usp=sharing

Screenshot of Data Entry & Results

Screenshot of Monte Carlo Simulation
wongmunkeong
post Jul 25 2017, 04:52 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Just a share on EPF and how much a "typical" employee may accumulate.
Assumptions used:
Starts working: 23
Retires: 60
Starting Gross Salary: $2,500 pm

Increment pa: 5%
Increment month: Jan
Bonus pa: 2 months' gross salary
Bonus month: Dec

End result: $2M+

Imagine if spouse +self, if managed properly...
Goal of this share:
a. Even if so-so earnings, not bad leh IF manage expenses well
b. Tool for own projections / visualization

Just a thought - no absolute right/wrong.
Note - U can copy/download the google sheet and play with the variables in YELLOW CELLS to project / visualize your own data at your own privacy.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1XN5...dit?usp=sharing

wongmunkeong
post Jul 26 2017, 03:31 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 26 2017, 01:51 PM)
Bro,... how to get 5% increment CONSISTENTLY YEAR AFTER YEAR FOR SO MANY YEARS ??
AssUme-d ma, for projections.

usual folks jump here there, get more than 5% pay increase pa.
usual folks that stays around get 3% to 10%+ (no new post vs new post)
thus, since it's a projection, take near inflation rate lor

IF my gross salary's long term increment < general inflation (don't lar pick atas punye inflation) for several years, i'd look for better offerings right?
OR do i just sit there and accept "fate"?

Also, one can take the spreadsheet and monkey around with the variables to fit one's specific situation to "see see", right?

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 26 2017, 03:32 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jul 26 2017, 05:17 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 26 2017, 05:10 PM)
OK,... tq bro,... hmm,... what I keep hearing nowadays is hard to find jobs, hard to land good jobs,...... everything just gives me the idea of thinking that being able to get a consistent 5% increment job out there is next to impossible,....
ya - nowadays...
nowadays = past 2-3 years?
vs
30+ years of slogging/work ma - thus, averaging out, still pessimistically optimistic lor that 5%pa increment.

again, it's just an assumption by me, pessimistically optimistic
if one is dreaming (heheh jibe at dreamer) pessimistically only, then can adjust the % and see the downside smile.gif
OR do like what dreamer did, went to where it pays more and not wait for fate notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 26 2017, 05:20 PM
wongmunkeong
post Nov 2 2017, 07:03 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Nov 2 2017, 04:00 PM)
Old news updated...

94,400 Declared Bankrupt Since 2013

MORE than 90,000 Malaysians have been declared bankrupt since 2013, with almost 97% of them failing to repay instalments to financial institutions.

From 2013 till August this year, the Malay­sia Department of Insolvency recorded a total of 94,408 people who were declared bankrupt.

“About 91,180 were declared bankrupt as they failed to repay instalments for financial products, including vehicle hire purchase loans, personal financing, housing loans, business loans, credit cards, social guarantors and corporate guarantors.

“People failing to repay hire purchase loans ranked the highest at 27.57% or 25,137 people,” said Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said in a written reply to Datuk Che Mohamad Zulkifly Jusoh (BN-Setiu).

Che Mohamad had asked for the statistics on Malaysians being declared bankrupt.

Azalina said the lowest category of people being declared bankrupt were those who stood as corporate guarantors, which is 3.24% or 2,954 people.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2017...upt-since-2013/

========

Old story... take this loan, take more loans, looking for ways and contacts to get more loans... ends up not able to pay the monthly installments.

Question: Why take the loans?

Answer: Must take lah.... otherwise how to survive!

IF FREE munnee take lar - eg. HSBC $12K 0% for 12 months, MBB Balance Transfer 0% & $0 Fees for 12 months, PBB for 6 months, etc (assuming one already have the cash to payback the credit card).
Then,
turn around & fund flexi-mortgage OR money market fund 3.5%pa+/- and slowly payback the above laugh.gif
eg for HSBC's $12K 0% for 12 months - can get $196+/- pa
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1row...dit?usp=sharing

Someone wrote: borrow first if i dont need it (and roll it) BUT dont borrow if i need (coz banks wont give) - tu budak dengan dua bapak, 1 "rich" & 1 "poor". One of the very few actionable stuff he wrote heheh tongue.gif

No absolute right / wrong ya notworthy.gif - it heavily depends on individual's capability to manage finances. Like fire, leverage can be great tool OR destructive.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.1052sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:11 PM