Just a question
What motivates u to save and not spend your money?
Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$
Aug 17 2016, 09:59 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
2,032 posts Joined: Jan 2014 From: Sabah, Malaysia |
Just a question
What motivates u to save and not spend your money? |
Aug 17 2016, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 17 2016, 10:18 AM) Cause no one needs advise? Simple. Rich dad poor dad book, Gen-X blog, early + stress free retirement, the will to show off to friends that you are better than them when retirement age comes around (suffer now - don't party, hang out high class places, kau lui, don't buy branded clothes so that you can see them working while you are not working later on |
Aug 17 2016, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(deadravel @ Aug 17 2016, 01:27 PM) u need to understand n know more financial knowledge and concepts (save early, compound interest, etf, etc), then only u can see the important of saving/investment for yourself. after u see the important of it, u will plan ur financial n future. at least this is how i go thru. and regarding ur signature. you wont get rich just by just savings, and also it depends on how u define rich. Dint have the suffering experience in my past to motivate me.. |
Aug 17 2016, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(deadravel @ Aug 17 2016, 01:45 PM) wow. i wish i learn financial knowledge since young, then i can plan for my future earlier. eating good food doesn't mean you are not saving. maybe you can try to budget portion of money for good food/fine dining and only spend within the budget. some people can be very skim and suffer (eat cheap,spend cheap, etc) to save alot, some people budget their spending according to what is comfortable to them and still save decent. None of my friends are interested in investing / saving.. i think what i need is a accountability partner.. I am 21 now.. And I think I am not really doing much saving still.. |
Aug 17 2016, 08:21 PM
Aug 17 2016, 10:57 PM
Aug 18 2016, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(lowdensity @ Aug 17 2016, 11:43 PM) Yeah, that's the problem i am facing now haha!QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 18 2016, 08:52 AM) Its not about saving. Its about growing your money. Saving was in the olden days where inflation was much lower. In the current economic climate, saving alone will not be sufficient. You have to grow your money thru prudent investments which deliver strong returns. I agree, i fully understand risk and all, i do my research on the diff risk associated with the investment. Be acceptable to taking on more risk in accordance with your financial strength. Never run from risk. Learn to manage risk. There are 4 steps to dealing with risk in anything. 1) Risk Identification 2) Risk Probability analysis 3) Risk Impact analysis 4) Risk Mitigation Most ppl run at Step 1 thus losing an opportunity to turn the risk into a gain by going through Step 2,3 & 4 properly. just, the problem for me is that at a fancy restaurant, I choose better food > saving. then i dun have much to save and invest. |
Aug 18 2016, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 18 2016, 11:07 AM) U are asking for help with something no one can help with. ie U prefer & prioritize FOOD over ASSETS No wrong, no right - it's YOUR CHOICE and reasonings How can others help U ar? Just like my old ex-company's vendor, turned friend She bitches about how to save more, where to invest, blah blah.. then go buy 2 new cars (1 after another) I asked her to just extrapolate what she has now in savings, investments & EPF until she's 90 - enough for her retirement lifestyle? Asked her - U going to work till 60-64? Yup to both Qs- so why beat yourself over it? Spend lar on your priorities - ok ma. Don't spend or cut down spending on lower priorities. Simple, right? For me, it's the reverse. I prioritize growing my assets (spending on investments/assets) and fine food is VERY low on my priorities (one of the lowest, just above new cars I "gamefy" my savings & investing - tracking weekly & monthly, the tweaking plans to optimize/ execute where necessary. Those stats collected, to me, is like a pathway showing how/where i scored, leveled-up and DIGI-EVOLVE! Different strokes for different folks - thank gawd, else making a living or pursuing interests is going to be tough as hell |
Aug 18 2016, 05:28 PM
Thanks so much for all your feedbacks! Appreciate it much!
Mar 30 2017, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 30 2017, 02:42 PM) The simple asset allocation of 1/3 in Fixed Income or Reserves seems sound based on the data of -ve vs +ve yearly returns of the S&P500, where 1/3 of the time it is -ve return The $ in fixed income useful to buy lelong/cheap AND/OR tide one over during the down years. http://www.mymoneyblog.com/sp-500-histogra...al-returns.html We can take more risk when we are young |
Feb 16 2018, 10:49 PM
Hi guys, I'm going to start my working life soon.
Any tips and tricks do I need to know for a healthy financial health from the start? For example, I don't know if I invest more into EPF or use it to put into other investments. General or specific advises are needed. |
Feb 17 2018, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 16 2018, 11:02 PM) 1. Always spend less than what you earn. Thanks bro..2. Save min 50% of your pay and then only start spending. 3. Do not let life style inflation get to your head 4. Do not let peer pressure get to you. 5. Maximise tax relief so you pay less tax -every tax you don't pay is a RM you get to keep. 6. Use proper cash back credit cards. Don't get conned by bank ads. Read this guy blog. He may be writing in terms of Singapore context but it's still applicable to us Malaysian. He have lots of articles for those starting out (you can see his must read articles on your right side) ASSI I read his blogs as I invest in SG. Regarding putting money into EPF, ask yourself 1) can you earn 6% risk free money on your own? - the only risk we have is devaluation of our RM and financial health of our Malaysian govt 2) Do you prefer govt to work for you or you work alone? For me personally, I won't put more than RM6k/year (max amount for income tax). RM6k is including those compulsory deductions. Should the amount does not exceed RM6k, I will topup to make it RM6k To maximise the tax exemption, PRS 3k, and Up to 6k EPF. anymore tips ka, on income tax and savings.. |
Feb 21 2018, 07:11 AM
Any way to save on lunch meals?
Feb 21 2018, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 21 2018, 07:35 AM) Yes. Pack your own lunch. I always pack wholemeal sandwiches to work as it's more filling than rice. I'm here earlier then you, but you have matured faster than me hahaha..- wholemeal massimo bread (yellow plastic) - scramble eggs/tuna/sardine - plenty of lettuce/cucumber - coconut oil + extra virgin olive oil. Check and see if your company provide free food, if yes, eat those instead. Do you prepare it everyday before? |
Feb 21 2018, 10:20 AM
Mar 26 2018, 11:20 PM
Let's say I have 40k loan ptptn for 15 years, so reach month around 230..
And I am able to pay more then 230, but I calculated I could earn way more then 1% .. So I'll pay using auto debit for the 10%? How to count when is the limit, after how many months of payment, 20% will be more financially sound This post has been edited by woonsc: Mar 26 2018, 11:21 PM |
Feb 6 2019, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Feb 6 2019, 05:17 PM) Happy New Year and Gong Xi Fa Cai. Well said, couldn't say anyway better, thanksContinuing from previous post… some may wonder why I don’t suggest a lump sum settlement on a personal loan or a credit card balance transfer when there is extra money to do so but carry on paying the monthly instalment till completion. There are 2 reasons. The first reason is due to the rule of 78 in calculating the outstanding balance. Though there would be some cost savings, the savings is not that significant because the cost of interest is already built into the loan when using rule of 78. The other reason is that it would be better to hold onto the money and increase the amount of cash we have in hand as an emergency fund. The need to have a personal loan or outstanding balance on a credit card is due to insufficient emergency fund to meet unexpected expenditures. If the money is used to do a lump sum settlement on a personal loan or credit card transfer, and if there is inadequate savings, then we would need to resort back to taking another personal loan or using a credit card to meet any unexpected expenditure. This could lead to an endless cycle of being in debt of a personal loan or credit card debt. As in the above scenario of doing a credit card transfer from 1 or 2 cards, it would be better to carry on with the instalment plan, whether it is 24 or 36 months till completion. Whatever extra money there is, it should be used to pay the credit card(s) outstanding balance. 1) Do not just pay the minimal amount but try to pay as much as possible to reduce the cost of credit card interest. 2) Reduce transactions on the card and keep a tight budget on the monthly amount to charge on the card. 3) Continue (1) and (2) till the outstanding balance can be paid in full every month. 4) Slowly built up savings and emergency fund after achieving (3). Hopefully, with adequate savings, there will be no more need to have a personal loan or be in credit card debt to meet any unfortunate and unexpected expenditure. Hopefully, in the New Year, there are only good fortunes and no unwanted events, and our wallets grow fatter, not thinner! Gong Xi Fa Xai. |
Nov 20 2019, 12:19 PM
Feb 4 2020, 10:48 PM
Worked for two years, still don't think I have the financial stability to start owning a house. I think I'll rent and interest in the stock market instead m
Apr 26 2020, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(Zenph @ Apr 26 2020, 06:56 PM) Age: 24 years old Nett Pay: RM40000-RM50000+ Monthly Expenses: Food: RM1000 Petrol: RM400 Phone bills: RM200 Car: Parents paid off for me during university days. Savings per month - I invest roughly RM20k+ every month while keeping the rest ASNB - RM50k Cash - RM123k Stashaway - RM13k FD - RM10k EPF - RM80k Stocks - RM120k Bitcoin - RM80k Recently, my business has been blooming and I hope I can find other sort of income. Is it advisable to be adding property in my portfolio in 1-2 year time? I’ll still be adding more into my stocks portfolio from my business income My financial goal is to have at least a million before 30 😂 |
| Change to: | 0.0999sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:02 AM |