wongmunkeong
post Jun 21 2014, 01:02 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Jun 21 2014, 01:00 PM)
U r nit consisten. Your children no generate income did not ask he/she to  be born
ur motorcar also not generate income. also your car cant / did not ask u to buy wo.
bwhaha - that's my reality, dont give ar? tongue.gif
anyhow - U do know U just compared living humans VS vehicles right?
gosh.. U serious?
wongmunkeong
post Jun 21 2014, 01:12 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Jun 21 2014, 01:09 PM)
this is personal financial mgmt right?

U got to take into consideration if u wanted to be good parents.

once the child born. You have future commiment/liability. N it is confirm one.

if you ignore recognised this commiment.  U can have 10 childs. Not give them cloth. Food. Education etc etc. Ler them beg on the street.
sigh.. yes sir.. very good sir.. how high sir?
Pls lar - U telling me to be responsible and committed?
U understand the English i wrote earlier about taking care of children and they aren't liabilities?
Jeez.. when U have a million put aside for your children then come talk to me lar. what a twit

more and more illogical, single track minded, can't write nor understand English mental midgets writing kaka these days.
from arguing (not discussing) about definition inflation,
to some other's personal choice of having say.. $10B first before retiring and managing a charity (who says cant donate while still heading towards that $10B ar?).
If don't want to retire cannot ar?

jeez.. twits... doh.gif

by the way, it's "following the herd" not "following the herb"
only twits can't tell the difference between a herd and a herb.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 21 2014, 01:16 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 21 2014, 01:24 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Jun 21 2014, 01:22 PM)
we r discuss in adult way right? I am just learning.

Why do the attack ?. how u dont know i dont have something put aside for my child? You are very narrow minded.
Which book said it must be a milliom?

u said it is responsible. Respobsible no need money meah.

need money them it is not fibancial mgmt meah?

Oh. Now i understand. U think all thise ppl put aside 2k per month for thier children education is not financial mgmt!
learn to type and spell first.

Are U dead above the neck?
I quote U:
QUOTE(tikaram @ Jun 21 2014, 10:58 AM)
Brother u forgot to add. House that u r living is not an asset and the forsee children cost to bring them up until graduate is liabilities.

My response:
hehe - my home, i rent out the rooms, thus does generate income tongue.gif
Children? what to do - our responsibility as parents mar. they didnt ask to be born laugh.gif
at the very least we can do is to grow them as well as we can.
<what, son? U want that Evo for yr 18th birthday? where's my whip...>

Your response:
QUOTE(tikaram @ Jun 21 2014, 01:00 PM)
U r nit consisten. Your children no generate income did not ask he/she to be born
ur motorcar also not generate income. also your car cant / did not ask u to buy wo.

My response:
bwhaha - that's my reality, dont give ar? tongue.gif
anyhow - U do know U just compared living humans VS vehicles right?
gosh.. U serious?

Your response:
this is personal financial mgmt right?

U got to take into consideration if u wanted to be good parents.

once the child born. You have future commiment/liability. N it is confirm one.

if you ignore recognised this commiment. U can have 10 childs. Not give them cloth. Food. Education etc etc. Ler them beg on the street.

Read your own lousy English and tell me U didn't start slinging.
Twit with bad English AND bad financials.
IF one isn't responsible to provide enough, then why bother with financials?
U mean U got into all these JUST TO BE RICH?

This is an English language forum and if U cant communicate clear enough in English without dissing people off, that is MY problem? Twit

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 21 2014, 01:34 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 21 2014, 01:38 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Jun 21 2014, 01:34 PM)
Thanks. I am retiring ma. My spelling not good and i dont know how to do spell check with lowyat ma.

i have  3 suggestion to you.

Try to learn interpersonal skill. Avoid attacking ppl. It is very bad example to your children  if u did that infront of them.

your financial mgmt good. But you still have areas need improvement.  I am still learning this despite retiring at 42yo

Learning is continue process. U look like thinking you yourself too smart already. No need to learn.
Go look in the mirror first lar.
Bikin tak seperti cakap.
Interpersonal skills? sheesh.. pot calling the kettle black.
42 years old and STILL LIKE THAT? gawd.. i'm so ashamed of my generation.
wongmunkeong
post Jun 21 2014, 01:40 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Jun 21 2014, 01:37 PM)
Where did i said. I am rich?

Wah! You not just like to attacking ppl. Also like to win over by saying ppl rich blar blar blar. cry.gif

Let u win lo.
U can't even comprehend simple English.. sigh..
no wonder U misunderstood what i wrote about children.
sigh..
wongmunkeong
post Jun 21 2014, 01:47 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Jun 21 2014, 01:43 PM)
At least i dont go and attacking ppl like you do
Did U read yr response which i copied & pasted all together?
U were PREACHING to me about being a responsible parent blah blah
WTFish gave U the right and what the fish do U know about me?
U didn't attack or U just too stupid when swinging fists to understand what the heck U were doing?
wongmunkeong
post Jun 21 2014, 01:48 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jun 21 2014, 01:46 PM)
Wong seafood  tongue.gif

Just in case you still don't know our bro tikaram, everywhere he goes he sure quarrel with people. He normally post in Property Talk. Just go there and you will find his post. When moderators like b00n and cherroy warned and banned him, he will pick on them every time he got the chance. If I am the moderator I also  doh.gif  So, I always have fun "discussing" stuff with him. Just happy happy talking to him with some kaka because his comment is also like kaka. No need serious with him one  tongue.gif
ah.. so he's also a "special needs" baka.. oops.. sorry bakas, insulted bakas.
ok - it's on my ignore list, same with the other twit on retirement.

Thanks for the heads-up Showtime notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jun 21 2014, 01:54 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jun 21 2014, 01:51 PM)
Don't ignore him. He is fun when you need to pass your time. He is one of my favourite forummer in LYN. Especially his mood no good (like today) he will spend time entertaining us  tongue.gif
i've better things to do with my time - for my kids, family, friends and fellow forumers asking about Excel and stuff, of which i still owe a few here heheh sweat.gif.

heck, even cleaning drain scum with my bare hands is preferable than letting garbage writing that it wrote into my brain, searing my eyeballs and dislocating logic.
wongmunkeong
post Jun 24 2014, 03:35 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Jun 24 2014, 12:31 PM)
Hi all, I need opinion for family financial standing. (This is quite close to current scenario)

Fixed Income
Salary RM3450 net + Salary RM4220 net + Rental RM4000 (4 units) = Total RM11670.00

Fixed Expenditure
Home Loan (5 units) RM4223 + No Car loan except Expenditure RM300 + Family Expenditure RM3000 = Total RM7523.00

Balance after fixed expenditure RM4147.00

CC o/s RM35k - paying RM2.5k to finish in paying around <2yrs time

Balance fixed disposable income – around RM1.647K

We do work part time that generates around RM1-2k+ monthly and we try to save around 2K monthly for cash

Currently we do have Cash in Hand around RM40K (this is for contingency)

I am looking to buy another Apt around RM160K for rental purposes – RM800-1300

Which I will fork out D/P RM48k, Legal RM8K

Loan RM112K, RM630P/m no issues of getting loan

I have to look for cash RM16K i.e drawing from CC to top up from the contingency monies

By buying the house I will have CC debt increase nearly RM50K in short term and w/o contingency cash.

(I ended having 35K CC debt is due to I purchases apt early of the year for d/p purposes)

After I purchased the unit I would still be able to keep >RM2k a month, but I will need time <2 yrs to built 50k contingency cash again. What is your take on this kind of situation? Will you buy or forgo the purchase…Many thanks

No emergency funds for 2 years
+$50K of credit card debts (at what, 18%pa to 20%+pa effective rate charges?)

VS

how much cash flow is that investment going to bring in again?
cash flow positive investment (after minusing mortgage. monthly fees, yearly fees, insurances, etc)?
for sure?
rental worse case scenario = ?

from the above VS - imho, if the rental isn't going to beat 18%pa by DOUBLE, i won't risk it.
reason: capital appreciation is HOPE, rental is more real for cash flow
AND i've no emergency fund if kaka happens to me, family or investments + interest on credit card still running
+ if kaka happens and i tap credit cards.. LAGI big hole
Just me lar - chicken little heheh
wongmunkeong
post Jun 24 2014, 06:23 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jun 24 2014, 04:31 PM)
Wong Sifu,
Cannot be chicken in life leh... to win we must take risk... more risk more enterprising... more enterprising more successful... more successful more rich la.

I invest in gold... gold price go up or down, I make money... the secret is I pusing pusing the gold, I pajak and buy more, gold price go down, cheaper price and I get more grams, pajak again, and buy more. I started with only a few grams, now have many, many grams.

I invest in mutual funds... price go or down, I make money... the secret is I buy one fund and sell after distribution, buy another fund with cheaper NAV and sell after distribution to get more units. I started with several thousands units, now the units more than double and triple.

I invest in condo... I only put 20k as down-payment last year, now I have a condo valued at 800k. And that 20k down-payment, I only have 3k cash at that time. Yet I turned 3k into 800k.

What you talking.... you must be smart to take more risk when young lah. Then more successful and rich...

tongue.gif
IMHO - taking risk is ok if it's statistically smart.
Think insurances / actuarial science and casinos - the probabilities should be tilted to my side before i take the opportunity smile.gif.
Not about age - age doesn't make one invincible VS devastation even if young enough.

Anyhow, me small fish only lar - no $ to go after condos, gold in kgs and stuff.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 24 2014, 06:32 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 25 2014, 01:58 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jun 25 2014, 12:12 PM)

"Fools rush in where angels fear to tread."

Let's tell some truths before someone take everything in - hook, line and sinker.  smile.gif

Me and you know you can afford the gold and condos if you want to. And that the ways of creating excellent returns in my previous post was a joke.

What really puzzles me is this thread, version 4 and more than 200 replies... is there any replies with substance or are they mostly empty chit chat?

I meant how much is there to "Personal Financial Management" that one thinks his or her situation is so unique that he/she cannot find a answer from all the previous posts. Afterall, the situations are generally described... which beg general replies.
heheh - a lot of folks in MY has less than average comprehension of sarcasm & even simple English (read a few post back until i discovered it's a kukaracha persona non-grata to be ignored for easy example).
thus, what more logic & maths on something emotional - one's financials & future brows.gif
like most people, like fruits heheh, some mature faster than others, some "gets it" faster than others.
of course, there are always "special" folks thinking they are the only one with those problems and options - wouldn't it be great if these "specials" find other ways than:
1. spend less than one earns
2. save some for emergency, invest some to grow
3. keep learning
4. rinse & repeat

eh, but i'm serious leh.
i tried greedy when ppl greedy
i tried greedy when ppl fear - dang cow hard to stay calm (until i found the beauty of emergency funds - told U i'm average / slow)
thus now no give a flying fish when others greedy or fear - as long as it's statistically logical to me, "banzai!" tongue.gif
and i write down the "why i did it" nowadays for each investment or trade, forcing each transaction to be clear on why it's logical & acceptable enough to myself.

and ar.. really lar - kgs of gold & condos no $ lar, can't "afford" to re-allocate now when i'm getting into the balance of investing vs trading tongue.gif

aiyo.. rambling after lunch & gaming with my little one - sorry yar, joinging the ranks of the old folks sweat.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 25 2014, 02:00 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jul 11 2014, 10:58 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Jul 11 2014, 04:54 PM)
i think it is better that you guys seeking for personal loan or promoting personal loan to go to the personal loan thread. This thread is more to discussing personal financial/money management and ways to improve it.
U know a country's going to hell when most of their population thinks more loans = solution to $ problems doh.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jul 12 2014, 08:54 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Jul 12 2014, 01:43 AM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Wong <see food tongue.gif >, any comments on the recent opr hike?
OPR hike? good for savers & investors
why?
Savers:
FD, savings, mortgages (especially those chunking $ into flexi mortgages)

Investors:
bad for Equities & REITs?
er.. not really coz in this day & age,
IF bad (just a low hike in OPR mar) in MY,
we can always go buy SG, US, AU, EU, CH equities online AND maybe with "stronger RM conversion" (ie. better exchange rate)

no crystal balls yar heheh - just continue executing one's plans & monitoring / adjusting course a bit a bit where needed. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 12 2014, 08:55 AM
wongmunkeong
post Jul 15 2014, 03:01 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(re_freako @ Jul 15 2014, 02:41 PM)
My passive income not enough. Might sell my 3 storey landed and break it into 3 self funded condo, rig it to the point of breakeven from rental enuff already. Increase monthly income in Malaysia means increase personal tax. As for my wife she interested in business but I got no confident in her business skill yet. Just take care kids okie already. Also help me to offset my tax. Malaysia tax is super scary, earn little pay a lot of percent. Now my tax hit around RM 26K per annum in sg. If in Malaysia I do not know how much it will cost.
Tax: anything above RM100K = 26% taxed
Next year: 25% tax BUT GST implemented newly, thus may be kaka hinting the fan

Sell 3 storey what not 3 self funded condo - U better have buffer $ for several months in case rental goes awry

Cars are nearly a necessity in Bolehland thanks to the great planning & minds of our leaders & cable Gov.
LRT, MRT only reaches certain places
Buses - good luck with their schedule

cost of baby: approximately RM1K or lower, to RM3K pm - depending of LIFEstyle or lifeSTYLE.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 15 2014, 03:02 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jul 15 2014, 06:02 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jul 15 2014, 05:05 PM)
Next year >100k got 3 categories. 100k - 250k is 24% tax

http://www.malaysiandigest.com/opinion/484...cy-changes.html
no feel bro.
SG tax - max tax 20% and only for income >=SGD360K /yr (pls correct me re_freako if i'm mistaken).
That's like..MYR936K /yr shocking.gif
20%!
wongmunkeong
post Jul 15 2014, 06:25 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jul 15 2014, 06:15 PM)
Patient bro. By 2020, potentially you pay only 20% like sg. But gst increase to 10%  tongue.gif

http://m.thesundaily.my/node/229981
hehe IF i make RM900K+/year, 20% no probs and 10% GST - no issue.. (if SG AU TH also 10%GST).
but if 20% on my miserable current pay +inflation pa... bugger me cry.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jul 16 2014, 09:26 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(re_freako @ Jul 15 2014, 08:43 PM)
Last time I saw some where the percentage ladder SGD 100k around 6k tax. More than 1st 120k around 8k. Subsequent at 15%. More than that will be higher. Last time see website Malaysia at rm100k need to pay rm14.7k.
If i may suggest:
Before "moving" to anywhere (AU, MY, TH, etc.), best to find out the below first and thus to see worthwhile or not + have a "battle plan" if worthwhile to move:
------
1. taxation, tax's relief &rebates and loopholes if any

2. investment options, costs and taxes + loopholes if any

3. "forced" savings - matching, costs to yr real cash flow, loopholes if any (like EPF - have 2 to 3 "purposefully created loopholes" for investors)

4. cost of living for the lifestyle U want (then add 20% to it just in case, yes yes i'm pessimistically optimistic tongue.gif)

5. earning capacity (less 20% just in case - as per above)

6. infrastructure of the specific area U want to live - "time planning" when sometimes monetarily it makes sense BUT when U see how long U going to commute daily... fergetit.

7. If with child / moving with parents - cost of education & (child/elderly) care.

------

IMHO - with the above, one can actually do a A (current) vs B (new place) vs C (another new place) VS etc - ignoring political shenanigans and stuff)
dollar vs dollar kind of thing since even time (manhours for daily commute, setting up, etc.) can be reduced to $/hr or $/pm and get U A's cost / payout VS B's cost / payout

Just a thought notworthy.gif

wongmunkeong
post Jul 16 2014, 02:03 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jul 16 2014, 11:40 AM)
Wong <see food>,
Life would be real easy if we can put a value to all things and rationally summarised the whole situation.  biggrin.gif

We can also ignore the politics of the country which is above our daily lives, but there are some politics which will greatly influence our actions - home politics and office politics.  tongue.gif

Compromises have to be done, and some would even say that life is a compromise.
aiya - the things than can't be rationalized into value of $, cannot compare logically mar
the thoughts shared are to break down a big prob into chewable chunks - eg. cost benefit analysis on $, then after that all the non$ can do lar.
IF the obvious already cannot "settle", no point analysing further ma smile.gif

i'm a simple creature, simple/direct attacks on the options only ar.
all the qualitative thinggies only attacked when the logical at least makes sense (to me anyway) sweat.gif
NOT the only way to make decisions of course notworthy.gif

BTW, life is definitely a compromise - especially when i was created (mum & pop was in a compromising position tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 16 2014, 02:04 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jul 16 2014, 04:54 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Jul 16 2014, 04:13 PM)
I feel you man.  After my wife moved to Germany to stay with me, she had to forgo her income in Malaysia.  Although I pay less tax than before due to joint-filing and main income earner, the growth in net worth is slower.  However, I love my wife, so there's that.
Singapore has one of the lowest tax rates in the region if not the world.

I'm paying 16% income tax in Germany on top of social insurance, 19% VAT, 25% on investment income and 1.8% solidarity tax.  That's when I'm married.  When I was single, I was in the 22% bracket.  Plus compulsory health insurance etc.  Highest tax bracket is 45% rclxub.gif for EUR250k and above.
Yar bro and also Germany charges (generally lowest for tertiary education, even for pendatangs tongue.gif
There was an article last month i read - cost of tertiary education + student expenses in Germany is THE LOWEST. 2nd was Taiwan, 3rd China, etc etc SG was like equivalent to AU or higher sweat.gif

Been talking with my partner to educate my youngest in German (Gutten targ Herr Lym smile.gif ) since my eldest already doing Mandarin. Hedging mar heheh.
If any forumers' interested - i'll post the overview snapshot in this thread. Just let me know - lazy to search for it (from my filed archives) without interested parties - yes, i'm a lazy fler laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 16 2014, 04:55 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jul 16 2014, 10:48 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Jul 16 2014, 05:16 PM)
Good planning mr Wong.

@the rest: TBH I think we should save a portion but please do spend the rest. I feel no point living life if you save save save and you retire richer but sadder.

Hypothetical scenario:
A normal guy in KL making 4k a mth. He spend 3k and save 1k.
B saver guy in KL making 4k a mth. He spend 2k and save 2k. Drastic change to lifestyle compared to A. Saves 12k more a year.

Saver guy B
20-30 yrs old stay at home, weekend no go watch movie and date
30-40 yrs old small/no wedding, everyday homecook to send kids to SRK
40-50 yrs old change new local car (e.g. protong to protong), everyday homecook to send kids to SK
50-60 yrs old spend on TAR college for kids, wear cheap shirt cos uncle age de
Retirement = kids start to earn RM 2.5k/mth PV, EPF and extra income from UT (from 12k more/year money) not significantly better than normal guy A.

Normal guy A *Rmbr 1k extra spend makes a lot of difference at 4k/mth income level
20-30 yrs old weekend out watch movie and date, sex with nice young girl in love with him
30-40 yrs old small wedding, bring kids out once in a while, wife happy got wedding- heard wife B complain cos no wedding
40-50 yrs old change new CKD car (safe and comfortable), kids turning out normal and happy cos got holiday when young
50-60 yrs old spend on kids go to local govt uni, wear clean shirt
Retirement = kids start to earn RM 2.5k/mth PV, same EPF and some saving.

I dunno la. Please dont kill your life (which is worth more) by oversaving.

My 2 cnts.
Would U be surprised if i tell U the saver may actually have:
better health due to eating simple & keeping healthy (thus lower cost of medication & insurance),
a better woman (attracts the right type of woman through similar activities & focus),
thus better sex (meeting of minds, values, healthy & fit bodies.. ooo) tongue.gif
AND their kids learn the value of effort * time + money, thus responsibility in budgeting their spending even in kindie or early primary school?
U'd be surprised how kids learn by observing their parents.
Parents say = no use.
Parents do daily/monthly + explain = absorb like sponges
Parents play games like Monopoly with kids & explain how Hello Kitty toys make McD rich = LAGI absorb like mad

anyhow, yeah - balance but just want to show the "other side's probability" as yr example doesn't make sense to me too (Guy B). Creating a mountain must be for a burning reason - not for the sake of creating a mountain notworthy.gif.
Crazy ar - got millions BUT send kids to TAR? If can study AND have burning desire, shoot kid to choice country for experience & opportunities papa/mama never had lar
wear cheap clothes yes lar but must be comfortable heheh

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 16 2014, 10:52 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.3350sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:18 PM