Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

kaiserwulf
post Jul 17 2014, 02:07 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jul 16 2014, 11:21 PM)
True enough, but if you don't have kids, it can be your nephew or niece smile.gif
Actually everyone should do everything once. Once you eat in a 5-star restaurant, you realize that every one of them is a glorified mamak stall lol. I swear if you come to my house for CNY you get better service (and better quality food) than them lol smile.gif
I knoe exactly 1 guy like this. Not married and no kids.

But since its like 10x more its save 30k and spend 10k.

So still life is all good. Lucky niece n nephew though.
kaiserwulf
post Jul 17 2014, 02:18 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(yugimudo @ Jul 17 2014, 08:01 AM)
Futhermore I think Guy B is those fama yg support god car and asset downpayment for their children.

Guy A is those fama yg saving cukup cukup utk retirement ajer.

I dunno, effect of compounding extra 1k per month for 30+ years are scary man, even at the rate of 6% annually you will get 1million. Maybe it doesnt worth much but still can afford to cover a lot of things.
1 mill at FV bah. Plus that time you old de. And the fact that your wife gave her '1st time' to the other guy de.

I want to drive home the point are we saving up/chasing wealth to address our social/lifestyle/achievement inadequacy?

TBH set aside monthly saving by percentage. You have done your part and let god decide the rest. Enjoy your life and youth (whatever that's left) while you can. I've seen my average friends suffer when their life all squandered in the name of wealth building.

Ask these questions:
1. What you want to do with the money really? For yourself.

2. And if for others, what can you do that can bring joy and benefit for them right now(and not necessary cost money)? As opposed to building the wealth for them in the future?
kaiserwulf
post Jul 17 2014, 05:24 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(velo @ Jul 17 2014, 05:05 PM)
Interesting discussion. This is my own experience and thought. If say saving from 8k life style to 5k, this is worth it because saving 3k/month is a big deal and will give an impact to retirement. Furthermore, living with 5k lifestyle is really not hard at all. In term of percentage, 8k to 5k is only 37.5% reduction.

However, if say today living already a 3k lifestyle, and die die (borrowing words from Mr. Wong :-) ) want to save more and cut to 2.5k or 2k lifestyle, I think not worth it. That rm500-1k saving at that level means a lot of sacrifices need to be done, and in the end the impact in retirement may not cope up with the damage/loss done in young age. In contrast, I rather work harder or smarter (like taking up part-time job, getting promotion, doing home tuition etc) to make up the additional rm500-1k for saving, while maintain a livable, more comfortable lifestyle at 3k.

Just my 2 cents.
Yup. I have the same 2 cents as yours. rclxms.gif
kaiserwulf
post Aug 19 2014, 11:19 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(kripton888 @ Aug 18 2014, 11:52 PM)
yes this is about pampering my self, i think i can afford it but juz getting another person view before actually committing. i tend to overthink sometimes
Sounds nice. If were me and cashflow limited- I would do it step by step, get the bed first or tv first. Next month get the other etc.

Also if its a student sized room, 40 inch TV is enough. Why? This is because when you are rich enough for a full size house- you will not reuse your 48 inch as the living room TV. At least the 'old' 40 inch can be put in a guest room, 2nd floor living space etc... Also, small room with big TV will be warmer due to electronics generating heat.

Congrats... I just saved you some money.
kaiserwulf
post Aug 20 2014, 10:16 PM

1,110 posts

Some sharing...

http://www.letsmakeaplan.org/financial-pla...cial-strategies

Select your age group and start reading!
kaiserwulf
post Aug 21 2014, 11:01 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Aug 21 2014, 10:32 AM)
48" is HUGE. How far is your viewing distance? If it's too near, U will be moving your head a lot to follow the action. The size of ur TV is actually only depending on ur viewing distance.

For U who have 2.6k a month extra, 7k is not a huge amount, but not small either. BUT, my question is, is it really enough?

I think, simply put, SET your LONG TERM financial goals. (Ur e.g. u save 500/month). After U have ur financial plan already rolling, U can simple SPEND ALL YOUR EXTRA. Dun need to ask anyone or let anyone tell U what to do with YOUR money =)
Italic and bold contradict la...
kaiserwulf
post Aug 23 2014, 02:11 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Aug 21 2014, 04:20 PM)
Italic is about buying the right product for the right usage.
e.g. butcher knife to butcher meat. Imagine using a HUGE butcher knife to cut fruit. Doesn't work very well.

BOLD is just a finance philosophy.
Basically,
Italic answers is this product right for my usage?    while
BOLD answers should I buy this product?
Ic. Yeah you tell him to buy the right product for right usage then later ask him not to listen to anyone when it comes to own money.

I read your post that way... so felt funny laugh.gif

Nevermind, I know you mean well. icon_rolleyes.gif
kaiserwulf
post Mar 10 2015, 12:49 PM

1,110 posts

Can there be too much personal financial management? Spending too much time overthinking/min-maxing our finances? I mean most of us here are takungzai's, so do we need to count so detail?

Should we focus more on earning or making more money?
kaiserwulf
post Mar 10 2015, 02:57 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 10 2015, 01:03 PM)
Is depends how you want it to be.
For me, EPF, ASW and ASM are good for me, since all of them are doing > 5% dividend.
And if we are employee, our income are fixed. Some may trying to venture in to share, fund. But all in common are : they won't always make money all the time.
When you retired, just make sure your EPF account have a total of rm400k with 0 debts. This amount you can use it for another 20 years.
400k is easy. Normal old man takungzai retire at 60 should have this amount compounded (2014 PV).

I feel sometimes we overthink. Some not educated people use the energy to focus to expand their biz and use the money to buy land and keep. Somehow ended up richer than our smart LYNers in this thread.

Make me feel like this PF is a feel good/feel smart exercise. To make us feel better at the small shit we are having. yawn.gif
kaiserwulf
post Mar 10 2015, 03:57 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 10 2015, 03:25 PM)
U got high salary, ok

but we have some ppl who have very low basic salary and relies on commission...EPF is on basic, not on commission

these ppl would need to save/invest on their own
the 400k example is a 60 year old uncle that I know who retired with basic salary RM2.5k.

Compounding back in the old days and lower regression of MYR value.

So its not hard.
kaiserwulf
post Apr 2 2015, 08:24 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 1 2015, 07:04 PM)
simple clarification: bought medical insurance in THAT country tongue.gif
Wong sifu please teach. thank you
kaiserwulf
post Apr 3 2015, 08:39 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 1 2015, 07:04 PM)
simple clarification: bought medical insurance in THAT country tongue.gif
Wong sifu please teach. thank you
kaiserwulf
post Apr 29 2015, 04:20 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(chubbybobo @ Apr 27 2015, 06:04 PM)
the main reason i am thinking of personal loan is because i do not want to spend my husband money on renovation since he already pay for home loan. After summarize his expenses,i dont think i need to do so. I think i can take from him without paying the interest to bank.
Be very careful of this dangerous "意思" thinking. Another famous example is wife-to-be needs to have her name in SnP of boyfriend's property purchase. How many break ups just before wedding happen and now an ex is stuck with the other who refuses to sell etc.

You are husband and wife so team up and look at finances together. Learn to submit to the husband and it will bring you much joy. smile.gif

0.1019sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:28 PM