Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

cybermaster98
post Jun 24 2016, 11:24 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jun 24 2016, 11:20 PM)
I agree that it is a very delicate balance. If a person maximise savings, it means he is completely depriving himself of pleasures now so that he can achieve financial freedom latest by 55. However, if he enjoys a bit now, you might think it is OK, but often, this enjoyment will cut his savings by half, and it means he will never reach financial freedom before 55 or even 65 or forever. You see, the power of compounding gets its power from maximum firepower early on in life. If those precious firepower are used up for fun, then the power of compounding is very much reduced. To enjoy now or delay gratification? It is up to you and it is often either or. You can say, you enjoy a bit, save a bit, sounds nice but unless your earning power shoot through the roof from 35 onwards, it is unlikely for u to retire comfortably by 55.
Yes and that's why saving alone isn't enuf. Especially with sky high inflation. You need to grow you money faster than inflation eats it.
cybermaster98
post Jun 25 2016, 10:25 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jun 25 2016, 01:15 AM)
Follow what suits you, not you suit others. Simple as that.
To pay off a housing loan fast, the simple and direct way is reduce principle as fast as possible. That's why having savings on top of loan serving are important.
Keeping DSR < 40% are the best way.
And have u worked out your NAV now? Is it still RM20mil like you claimed before? biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Jun 26 2016, 09:21 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 26 2016, 06:44 PM)
Spot on
Can share here or pm how u accumulate RM20m NAV?
Share here la. We also waiting for his info.

But must ask him whether he knows what is NAV in the first place. Earlier post he got it completely wrong.
cybermaster98
post Jun 26 2016, 11:52 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jun 26 2016, 10:58 PM)
Haiyo, both you two old birds know he lacks the knowledge, but still want to push on  biggrin.gif

Lacking knowledge is no issue. But his arrogance is quite surprising.
cybermaster98
post Jun 27 2016, 03:21 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jun 27 2016, 01:23 AM)
I have an own stay corner lot and father's big piece of land in prime area. Since NAV is just table numbers, I can put any price I want.
That's why I keep saying that you don't know how to calculate NAV and ure too arrogant to even ask the sifu's here how to go about doing this the right way. In fact, before this discussion started you didn't even know what is NAV in the first place. doh.gif

Its not based on you imagining and blindly quoting a stupid number of RM20mil.

The correct way of calculating NAV is not based on 'I can put any price I want'. It's based on actual transacted prices / evaluations which are then reduced to provide a buffer to account for future price fluctuations. In short this is fact based and can be backed up when required.

NAV is only 'table numbers' to a person who doesn't know what is NAV and hence does not know how to calculate NAV.
cybermaster98
post Jun 27 2016, 03:22 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jun 27 2016, 06:50 AM)
LYN is not short of such people over the years. He is not the first one, and won't be the last  biggrin.gif

A simple NAV calculation also can argue until his father come out. I won't be surprised the grandfather and grandmother will appear later  doh.gif

Readers will know who is trolling lah  biggrin.gif
Well said bro.
cybermaster98
post Jun 28 2016, 12:25 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jun 27 2016, 07:41 PM)
Well, only a person that don't know how to count will insult others that don't know how to count.
Nope. Sorry. Never heard of that logic before. Made that up to add some weight to your argument? biggrin.gif

If u do know how to count the NAV, why don't you share with us here? That's the best way to prove that you do know what ure talking about rite?
cybermaster98
post Jun 28 2016, 03:17 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jun 28 2016, 02:22 AM)
Sure you won't know, as even you know, you will deny this.
I think I made it very clear already, NAV is just a shouting numbers, nothing more than that.
The way u calculate NAV yes, it's just rubbish numbers. That's how u calcuated your NAV to be RM20mil. biggrin.gif

But if you do it the 'correct' way with sufficient buffer and backed up by sufficient financial data, it can be relatively accurate.

Sadly, your arrogance and stubbornness denies you the opportunity to learn how to leverage off loans to increase your NAV and grow your wealth. Even as you know that your net worth is actually low for a person of your age.
cybermaster98
post Jul 24 2016, 09:28 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jul 23 2016, 11:10 PM)
Well, if you feel happy to insult me, then you are right. My manager still says his NAV is rm30M.
Ure a complete fool and a liar too. First u said it was YOU with the RM30 mil NAV and now became 'your manager? biggrin.gif

And till today you still cannot understand the meaning of NAV. Why don't u educate yourself instead of just talking crap here? If u cant learn from us sifu's then why even bother to come to LYN? Just to talk nonsense?
cybermaster98
post Jul 24 2016, 09:31 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 24 2016, 12:08 AM)
I dont understand why you feel insulted.

I cant believe it. If he is worth only RM600k, how to say his NAV is RM30Million?

?bought RM30M properties on "98%" loans and go around boasting has RM30 Million?
Lupa duit pinjam...
Read both my previous posts and also his. Then ull understand who is this 'manager' guy. biggrin.gif

Btw, ppl still think that having a Manager title means ure somebody great and earning top bucks. Typical Malaysian mentality. Ppl still fail to realise that u can be a Manager and earn only 3K a month or up to even 30K a month. It all depends on the organisation you work for, how many direct reports and the levels of your direct reports.
cybermaster98
post Jul 24 2016, 09:43 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jul 24 2016, 10:13 AM)
Well said, any loan in this world is liability. I still remember my mother boasting on my brother are much more capable than me as he can buy a new car at the age of 25(I still driving an Iswara at that age), I tell that, as long as he is still serving the loan, he own nothing.
Most people will just take their sale price - buy price = money make.
Because of this stupid mentality, some jokers even suggest others to keep on refinance their properties.
Like my manager, his table/paper asset do "worth" very high, but true cash value are quite low. He even bought some trust funds at the price of rm1 which now only worth rm0.1.
I am a walking and living example of a person who has leveraged off bank loans and been 100% successful to date. And that's how i've grown my NAV (which you still cannot understand the meaning or how to calculate accurately) by RM1.8mil in just 9 yrs.

And when it comes to property investment, my rule of thumb is, in a worse case scenario, I must have sufficient finances to pay off the monthly loan for at least 18 continuous months without the need to rent, sell or unlock other investments. If not, that property is not for me.

When I evaluate the net worth of my properties, I always base it on average (not highest) actual historical transacted property sales. On top of that I maintain a secondary buffer of 10-15% (lower) when I evaluate my property value based on transacted prices. So the net worth of my properties have actually been significantly reduced to account for fluctuations in pricing due to economic conditions.

Many ppl run from risk as if its an out of control cancer. Many ppl don't realise that risk is only bad when its not evaluated and mitigated. There are 4 steps to dealing with risk in anything.

1) Risk Identification
2) Risk probability analysis
3) Risk impact analysis
4) Risk mitigation

Most ppl run at Step 1 thus losing an opportunity to turn the risk into a gain by going through Step 2,3 & 4 properly.

Those who go bankrupt are those who weren't prudent in their short & long term financial planning or took on more risk than their finances could withstand.

Not investing sufficiently to avoid going bankrupt is a poor investment strategy. Learning how to be a smart investor is the best strategy.
cybermaster98
post Jul 25 2016, 12:29 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jul 24 2016, 10:47 PM)
Well, the fool are back, also, you are that jerk that telling lies, bullshits. Mine are lower than my manager.
Mine only stand at rm20M, did I said mine was rm30M? Want to lie also do some research first.
As said, only fool will call others as fool just to hide his cowardliness, you are that typical fool.
Both you and your manager do NOT have NAV of RM20mil or RM30mil. RM20mil in NAV and yet ure here on Lowyat forum? So who is lying here? rclxms.gif

And no, fools don't call others fools. Are u creating your own facts? biggrin.gif

Only a fool would claim to have a NAV of Rm20mil and say that when he sells everything he only has RM600K. doh.gif

But do educate us why a person with a NAV of RM20mil can't even secure a loan for a double storey house? If u really had a NAV of RM20mil, all banks would be rushing to do business with you right?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jul 25 2016, 12:43 AM
cybermaster98
post Jul 25 2016, 11:54 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 25 2016, 10:21 AM)
Earlier, you claimed that RM30m is the NAV.
Now you change  the phrase to....table/paper asset  "worth" very high and true cash value worth very low. The word NAV was deliberately omitted as you're unsure of which is NAV and which is not.
It's very simple, if you say RM30M is the NAV then the "true cash value" ( I'm quoting your lingo) is RM30M.
Exactly bro. This fellow is your typical 'pusing cerita' case. He fights with anybody who dares to stand up to him and his nonsense. Even forumers on other threads have fought with him because of his nonsense. Except for his comments on electrical drills, he doesn't know anything about financial management and he just boasts about stuff he doesnt have. Who in the right mind would claim having a NAV of RM20mil and yet not be able to secure a loan for a simple double storey house?? Even the banks know he doesnt have good finances and yet he talks as if he is somebody. Typical tin kosong la tis fellow.

cybermaster98
post Jul 27 2016, 02:47 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 27 2016, 02:15 PM)
kengyan

i think you have to be more brave and admit what you have said.pusing pusing will only get yourself entangled.
say what you mean and mean what you say.

your post clearly showed that u felt insulted, you can only cheat yourself but not others

as for your fren, if his stocks is worth only RM600k today, only a fool will accept your fren's NAV is still RM30million.
You cant say NAV is a cheat (just becos he paid 30M and got only RM600k now), your fren is if he insist his NAV is 30M

Similarly if u got cheated by one UT agent, u cant say all UT agents cheat.
Kengyan himself claimed he has got NAV of RM20mil. biggrin.gif

But weirdly, such a high net worth individual could NOT secure a housing loan for a cheap double storey house. whistling.gif

Just check out his historical posts on LYN. He fights with many ppl on other threads too. Same old crap. biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Jul 29 2016, 08:58 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(VincentCS @ Jul 28 2016, 06:09 PM)
Possibly mistaken between Portfolio and NAV?  hmm.gif
Nope. Don't think so. Neither his portfolio or NAV has anything in the region of >RM1mil. If u read his historical posts you might understand.
cybermaster98
post Jul 29 2016, 09:13 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 29 2016, 09:11 AM)
er.. why bother arguing logic/maths with the illogical + hunting down historical illogical posts ar?
Do like Frozen - let it go... let it go..  laugh.gif

Eh, ru going for the RHB Private Equity Opportunity Fund 1?
cybermaster98
post Jul 29 2016, 10:07 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jul 29 2016, 09:29 AM)
Minimum investment RM100,000
Big shark spotted  notworthy.gif
Only u can afford la. Me small fry. biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Jul 29 2016, 10:18 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 29 2016, 10:17 AM)
nah, i'm now consolidating my paper equities to my US TOS a/c for doing covered calls - to reduce costs basis / increase yield. must bite the bullet liao - bleeding 1.5%pa to 2%pa for management fees banyak sakit  cry.gif
Your level nothing to worry ma. Ure same level as Kengyan rite? NAV RM20-30mil. Just dump RM100K of your pocket money in RHB PEO Fund 1. biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Jul 29 2016, 11:05 AM

4,440 posts

We need to move away from the conventional way of 'saving'. During our parents time, we were always told 'save a portion of our salary'.

But now, u cant just save anymore. Saving just like that doesn't work when ure dealing with high inflation. Your savings are being eaten by inflation daily. Most ppl think that inflation in Malaysia is just 3% so FD rates can easily offset that. But that inflation figure is taken by comparing the most expensive place in KL with the cheapest place in Sarawak. Very misleading I must say.

Realistic inflation in KL is about 10% per annum on average I would say. So if your savings / investments are not getting you at least that, then your overall NAV is being 'eaten up' slowly but surely. So what most ppl do is they start cutting back on expenditure. But what everybody should be doing is enhancing their savings. Make your money work for you. Don't leave it idling around.

cybermaster98
post Aug 5 2016, 11:20 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Aug 4 2016, 11:03 AM)
Is there any investment have more than 4% profit? Otherwise just put fd hehe
Got. FX United and JJ. biggrin.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0809sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:37 AM