Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

T231H
post Jun 21 2016, 10:24 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jun 21 2016, 10:18 AM)
Well, I can make rm10M also by taking more loans. But why would I? After all, I only need 18sqft when my time reaches.
hmm.gif same analogy.....
why need the 18sqft? when one can just have this done? biggrin.gif

just that, different people have different wants, needs and expectations......

T231H
post Jun 21 2016, 10:25 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jun 21 2016, 10:18 AM)
That's why more people will go bankrupt as time goes by.
hmm.gif on the other side, more rich people are getting richer as time goes by biggrin.gif
T231H
post Jun 23 2016, 09:21 AM

5,143 posts

" Any sort of instrument that boasted to can make more than bank's interest are actually gamblinginvestment, you put money in and wait for a chance. "
hmm.gif interesting perception...
Ramjade are the ASX FP funds Halal? or know of any syariah compliance UT funds that can make > bank's interest?
T231H
post Jun 23 2016, 10:06 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 23 2016, 09:54 AM)
AFAIK, they are not halal. But if I am not mistaken 70% of it is already syariah compliant. Why suddenly tagged me? laugh.gif
Why tag you? Bcos you know alot abt ASX Than many people n most importantly you are in lyn most of the time. Is syariah uts funds halal? They got tis gambling element as posted earler? And do they hv better returns than bank"s interest?
T231H
post Jun 24 2016, 07:17 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 24 2016, 02:09 AM)
all income should goes to pay/acquire asset (FD, business) such that the assets can generate passive income to pay for all expenses/debt.

This cycle should be automated until passive income exceed all expenses, where you achieve financial freedom on paper.

That's all is needed for the so called Personal Financial Management.
hmm.gif googled and found this...which implies.....
What is 'Personal Finance'
Personal finance defines all financial decisions and activities of an individual or household, including budgeting, insurance, mortgage planning, savings and retirement planning.
Among the most important aspects of personal finance are:
Assessing your current financial position - looking at expected cash flow, current savings, etc.
Buying insurance to protect yourself from risk and making sure your material standing is secure
Calculating and filing taxes
Savings and investment
Retirement planning
http://www.investopedia.com/terms/p/person...p#ixzz4CRm8G6Db

Personal finance is the financial management which an individual or a family unit performs to budget, save, and spend monetary resources over time, taking into account various financial risks and future life events.[1] When planning personal finances, the individual would consider the suitability to his or her needs of a range of banking products (checking, savings accounts, credit cards and consumer loans) or investment private equity, (stock market, bonds, mutual funds) and insurance (life insurance, health insurance, disability insurance) products or participation and monitoring of individual- or employer-sponsored retirement plans, social security benefits, and income tax management.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personal_finance

......Use of the principles and techniques of corporate finance in an individual's money affairs, especially the methods of allocation of financial resources. Its objective is financial security and independence so that an individual or a family can meet expected expenses and withstand monetary emergencies. It involves making prudent financial decisions, budgeting, saving, investing, insurance, tax planning, retirement planning, and estate planning.

http://www.businessdictionary.com/definiti...l#ixzz4CRnI7iSw

hmm.gif never mentioned "passive income" stuffs like that....

This post has been edited by T231H: Jun 24 2016, 07:17 AM
T231H
post Aug 4 2016, 11:34 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Aug 4 2016, 11:21 AM)
Sifus, if an account is opened in singapore , let's say under CIMB or OCBC in Singapore, are there ways for our money to work harder there? What are the benefits of having accounts (be it premier or other accounts) as what many well wealth planned people do?
i will try to breakdown your question....
1) if an account is opened in singapore , let's say under CIMB or OCBC in Singapore, are there ways for our money to work harder there?
2) What are the benefits of having accounts (be it premier or other accounts) as what many well wealth planned people do?

no idea about (2)...
as for (1) to have your money work harder...you may try to learn about it in here.....(while you wait for more value added responses)

http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/
Understanding Saving and Investing
http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/Understanding...-Investing.aspx
Things to Watch Out for
http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/Understanding...ch-Out-for.aspx
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/school/school.svdo
T231H
post Aug 4 2016, 11:51 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Aug 4 2016, 11:46 AM)
For (1): Lol, I'll wait for more sifus to respond.  thumbsup.gif
For (2): What are the ways that one can earn more than 5% interest by having accounts in Singapore?
You can use that a/c to invest into other things that needs SG bank's a/c....

Is there an added advantage if one travels there to open accounts compared to opening a foreign currency account from CIMB/OCBC here?
You can use that a/c to invest into other things that needs SG bank's a/c....
T231H
post Jan 13 2017, 09:30 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jan 13 2017, 07:48 PM)
Anyone calculate before how much need to save to retire?
while waiting for responses, you may try read this...
Retirement Planning: Calculate How Much You Need in 5 Simple Steps
https://www.imoney.my/articles/retirement-planning

or more in google
https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=how+mu...ire+in+malaysia
T231H
post Mar 31 2017, 09:46 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(chrishaiden66 @ Mar 31 2017, 09:42 PM)
how much per month for a 3 yr loan ?? can anyone help me
unknown to what loan....
I googled and found this...hope can it helps...
https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=loan+c...aysia&*&spf=729
T231H
post Jul 16 2018, 02:18 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(mephyll @ Jul 16 2018, 02:13 PM)
i just read this page 80, and found most of you advise to settle the PL asap, but  not to take another loan to repay the 1st loan.
how about if this apply to housing loan? is it practical to settle the housing loan asap may be cut the saving per month and pay more on loan?

also, what does it means by balance transfer?
read before....they said housing loan is the "cheapest" loan....
they advises use the available money to try to generate higher ROI than the housing loan rate.
T231H
post Jul 16 2018, 02:46 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(mephyll @ Jul 16 2018, 02:25 PM)
read some where else too.. and not 1st time this questioned been asked.. but i am still not knowledgeable to catch the point.
Perhaps some one can enlighten me with an example / simple excel comparison?
Eg: housing loan 4.2% vs ASx 6%  lyn forumer told me by putting in ASx i can even earn 1.8% interest (6%-4.2%). just simple calculation.
Always saw ppl mentioned about simple interest rate, effective interest rate, complicated formula, etc. i am not in finance field, i got confused.
from this statement...
"ASB loans are basic term loans, and interest charged on (ASB loans is calculated using the reducing balance method similar to those used by Housing Loans and Fixed Deposits)"
https://loanstreet.com.my/learning-centre/a...loans-explained

thus if the type of loan is that same.....thus the maths is clear?
T231H
post Aug 31 2020, 03:16 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(AnAngel65 @ Aug 31 2020, 02:47 PM)
Who is Sui Jao?? This quote is rather inspirational for me, mind to share me the blog??
too bad, his blog is not accessible from FSM SG since 2~3 yrs ago.
he was the TOP mgmt of FSM SG then,....now retired already

0.0911sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:54 AM