24,333 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Aug 16 2016, 06:27 PM)
HEY!

WHY SO QUIET!
Cause no one needs advise? laugh.gif

QUOTE(woonsc @ Aug 17 2016, 09:59 AM)
Just a question

What motivates u to save and not spend your money?
Simple. Rich dad poor dad book, Gen-X blog, early + stress free retirement, the will to show off to friends that you are better than them when retirement age comes around (suffer now - don't party, hang out high class places, kau lui, don't buy branded clothes so that you can see them working while you are not working later on rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif tongue.gif)
Ramjade
post Aug 18 2016, 11:44 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Aug 18 2016, 10:40 AM)
just, the problem for me is that at a fancy restaurant, I choose better food > saving.
then i dun have much to save and invest.  doh.gif  doh.gif
All food oyster, lobster, salmon, sushi, cavier, italian food, japanese food, korean food turns into SHIT. biggrin.gif Nothing turns into gold. tongue.gif tongue.gif
I second wongmunkeong. My main priority is early retirement in style. Food and cars bleh. puke.gif
One way is learn how to cook those fancy food. That's what my friend do. He love food but rather than splurge on food, he learn to cook those meal. So now he can eat those everyday without breaking the bank. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
He told me if I go out and eat steak, it will cost me about RM100 for small amount. I cook myself only RM20 like that and I can eat to my heart content. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 18 2016, 11:45 AM
Ramjade
post Aug 25 2016, 10:41 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Aug 25 2016, 10:38 AM)
ya, the return around 8.35%, still better than current FD. Although it is a long term investment. If short to mid term investment, should I go for fund or shares, provided I got RM 5k for startup
Not to burst your bubble but those kind of stuff from banks usually give you +- FD rates. There are exception where they really give 7-8%. Those are bonds which aim at people who are loaded.
Ramjade
post Nov 2 2017, 04:28 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Nov 2 2017, 04:00 PM)
Old news updated...

94,400 Declared Bankrupt Since 2013

MORE than 90,000 Malaysians have been declared bankrupt since 2013, with almost 97% of them failing to repay instalments to financial institutions.

From 2013 till August this year, the Malay­sia Department of Insolvency recorded a total of 94,408 people who were declared bankrupt.

“About 91,180 were declared bankrupt as they failed to repay instalments for financial products, including vehicle hire purchase loans, personal financing, housing loans, business loans, credit cards, social guarantors and corporate guarantors.

“People failing to repay hire purchase loans ranked the highest at 27.57% or 25,137 people,” said Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said in a written reply to Datuk Che Mohamad Zulkifly Jusoh (BN-Setiu).

Che Mohamad had asked for the statistics on Malaysians being declared bankrupt.

Azalina said the lowest category of people being declared bankrupt were those who stood as corporate guarantors, which is 3.24% or 2,954 people.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2017...upt-since-2013/

========

Old story... take this loan, take more loans, looking for ways and contacts to get more loans... ends up not able to pay the monthly installments.

Question: Why take the loans?

Answer: Must take lah.... otherwise how to survive!

Take loan buy car, go for vocation, buy birkin whistling.gif

Ramjade
post Nov 3 2017, 01:49 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 3 2017, 12:30 PM)
I think we must help them a bit, the yourger ones today,... start them off with stronger footing, eductaion, some $$$ in the coffers, international exposure,.... don't know-lar,.. all these are just theories, I have just moved my children out of this ctry only,... still don't know how they will fare later,....

I saw many of my friends' children after graduating,... still returned to this 'bad' place and joined the family business, worked in Maybank selling Credit Cards and Housing Loans, some jobless sitting at home,... really don't know-lar,...

I wished to hand down my investment-knowledge and my 'platforms' around the world to my children and they said it's a lot of headache,.... what ?????

mad.gif  mad.gif
Of course la. As I said long time ago, never hand them ready money as they will never appreciate it. Hand them ready money, be prepared to watch them spend it all away. Why? They never learn the value of money.

Make them work for it. Then only they will appreciate it and want it. If they never tasted hard life, they will think ah, for what want to learn so much/manage this and that when I have ready money waiting for me. Make them work for it and you will see the difference.

That's normal human nature. That's why there is a Chinese saying, money never last more than 3 generations.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 3 2017, 01:50 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 16 2018, 11:02 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 16 2018, 10:49 PM)
Hi guys, I'm going to start my working life soon.
Any tips and tricks do I need to know for a healthy financial health from the start?

For  example, I don't know if I invest more into EPF or use it to put into other investments.

General or specific advises are needed.
1. Always spend less than what you earn.
2. Save min 50% of your pay and then only start spending.
3. Do not let life style inflation get to your head
4. Do not let peer pressure get to you.
5. Maximise tax relief so you pay less tax
-every tax you don't pay is a RM you get to keep.
6. Use proper cash back credit cards. Don't get conned by bank ads.

Read this guy blog. He may be writing in terms of Singapore context but it's still applicable to us Malaysian. He have lots of articles for those starting out (you can see his must read articles on your right side)
ASSI
I read his blogs as I invest in SG.

Regarding putting money into EPF, ask yourself
1) can you earn 6% risk free money on your own?
- the only risk we have is devaluation of our RM and financial health of our Malaysian govt
2) Do you prefer govt to work for you or you work alone?

For me personally, I won't put more than RM6k/year (max amount for income tax). RM6k is including those compulsory deductions. Should the amount does not exceed RM6k, I will topup to make it RM6k

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 16 2018, 11:13 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 18 2018, 05:51 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Feb 18 2018, 05:19 PM)
you mention that you won't put more than 6k/year in epf. Can we opt not to contribute epf after the amount reach 6k in a year?
The RM6k is if your compulsory contribution does not reach RM6k. If compulsory contribution > RM6k, you cannot do anything also.
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2018, 07:35 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 21 2018, 07:11 AM)
Any way to save on lunch meals?
Yes. Pack your own lunch. I always pack wholemeal sandwiches to work as it's more filling than rice.
- wholemeal massimo bread (yellow plastic)
- scramble eggs/tuna/sardine
- plenty of lettuce/cucumber
- coconut oil + extra virgin olive oil.
Check and see if your company provide free food, if yes, eat those instead.
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2018, 09:22 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 21 2018, 09:01 AM)
I'm here earlier then you, but you have matured faster than me hahaha..

Do you prepare it everyday before?
The morning G before or else scared cannot tahan.

Know what you want. Set your goal to it. Research and do homework. Always.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 21 2018, 09:23 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2018, 10:22 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 21 2018, 10:20 AM)
What's G?
Yaya I haven't work so dint have much to move around laa
Ignore. Typo. Never let lifestyle/peer pressure inflation gets to you. Know what is the difference between needs and wants.
Learn how to get things for cheap as every dollar save (eg. Bundle clothing/preloved clothes are value for money. RM1, you can buy good condition (looks exactly like new/in store)
branded clothes which easily cost RMXXX) = a dollar available for investing.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 21 2018, 10:25 AM
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2018, 04:06 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(ann41 @ Jul 14 2018, 03:10 PM)
Hi everyone.. need some advice please.

I am 35, single, gov staff..

Income:

Gross income salary rm6500
House rental rm600

Expenses :

- house rental - rm550
- food - rm800 (eat out alot)
- fuel n tng - rm600 (travel 80km daily)
- personal loan - 500
- housing loan - 600
- parents - 500
- misc - 1000

Saving :

Hmm.. not much just around rm10k..
I can save around 2000-3000 per month, but usually doesnt last long coz i love to travel abroad..

I just signed up for investment in ut via ddi, rm300 per month. But kinda regret it, so im planning to terminate it after a year.

I am worried now coz at my age, i dont have enough saving, i only have 1 asset (only a flat), been using same car since 10yrs ago. I really want to buy a decent house, a new car, generate passive income thru investment. And I plan to settle my PL asap. I want to maintain my monthly saving of rm2-3k, then how am i going to buy a house or car?

Please advise.
Love travelling aboard.
That's your first mistake. Try restricting yourself from travelling abroad and see how much extra can you save.

Looks like you don't know what you are buying.
Investment is something which you need to be ready. If you not ready or regret or cannot sleep because of your investment, it means
1) amount you put in is too big
2) you are making losses
Sometimes the best investment is the simplest. Try going for simple and decent returns like amanah saham fixed price fund. Every year more or less get min 6% and your capital is kind of guaranteed. Don't go for the variable price fund.
With all investment, always know what you are investing into. Invest in books and knowledge.

If you don't have enough saving, what's stopping you from saving more rather than travelling abroad? If your car keepnbrraking down, then yes can think of changing. If not, just use the same car. A car is to keep you from point A to B. Nothing more. The moment you drive the car out of the shop, the price decreases.

Settle one a time first. Recommend you settle the PL first. I don't know what you took up for personal loan first. But I hope for your sake it's not for going on holiday, buying the latest tech.

Remember, you can't gave everything. You need to sacrifice something to get something.

I sacrifice overseas holidays and I choose to live frugally so that I can sleep better knowing that my bank account is fat enough to last me through difficult times. The choice is yours. One needs discipline if you want to have more money. Giving in to temptation will just slow you down.

Ramjade
post Jul 15 2018, 04:01 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(ann41 @ Jul 14 2018, 04:56 PM)
Yes, i have to admit i dont know what im buying n investing. The saddest part is my 50k pl was made just to maintain my lifestyle (commit to that damn loan 8yrs ago).

I started this year with ambition to save more n spend less. Still on the right track. I dont have money issue coz i earn quite good for a single person, with the current lifestyle. My car still in good condition, it just that i sometime feel jealous seeing my colleague n friend buy new car.

This is my plan :

- saving for emergency fund of 3 month gross income
- make full settlement for PL by taking another PL so i can save more
- maintain regular saving atleast 2.5k monthly so i can pay full settlement for my 2nd PL
- then start saving for house deposit or new car. This is what bother me much coz my tenure will reduced as i get older.

What say you? I think i have to forget about investing until i achieve all above.
3 months is not enough. Aim for 6 months.
Never ever take a new loan to settle old loan.
This is because if you are already have a loan, is like you are standing in a hole. By taking on new loan to pay off the old loan, you are digging a deeper hole which means sooner or later you can get out of the hole you dug.
Never get a new car as car is a depreciating item. The moment you drive the car out of the shop regardless of brand, the price already drop.

QUOTE(ann41 @ Jul 15 2018, 12:59 AM)
Those days you know.. still young, enjoying life. Spending more than earnings . Nope, i was not into luxurios life, or buying branded n high end stuff. I was into travelling, gadgets, foods. I ended up suffering cc debts n i used rest of my pl balance to pay it off.

I ve read about networth but dont really get it yet. Will do later.
Never get tempted. That's why if you have no discipline when it come to money, you will keep getting yourself into a big hole of shit.
Ramjade
post Oct 16 2018, 08:04 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Oct 16 2018, 06:54 PM)
Can anyone share how you leverage? Ie borrow money to make money. Aside from using it for business, that is. The only other example I know is ASB loan
The most simple answer. Buying properties. No way regular folks can fork out RM500 to buy a property, so you take loan. That's leverage.

Another example you have RM10k
Without borrowing money, you can only buy say 10K of stock if it's price at RM1/shares.
But you can borrow from your broker say another RM10k.
Now you can buy 20k shares. If the share price increase to RM1.10 and you sell, you pocketed RM2000 (RM1k from your own pocket, another RM1k from the broker. Vice versa can happen to. If it drop to RM0.90, you have made RM2k loss.

Next way is call shorting. You borrow 10k of stocks at RM1/share. You agree to pay back the stock BROKER 10k share. You expect price to fall. You sell the stock at RM1/share. Pocketing RM10k. Price drop to RM0.90/share. You can now buy back the share at RM0.90 and sell back to the broker 10k worth of share as promised.
Ramjade
post Dec 28 2018, 04:43 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Dec 28 2018, 02:21 PM)
I want to build my 6 months emergency fund as my first step towards savings. My expense is currently around RM3k per month, which means I have to save around 18-20k emergency fund.

Currently I have rm10k sitting in a 1 year FD (3.35%) and going to mature in mid March next year. I also have a few savings here there and combined with this FD, I will be having rm15k by March.

What should I do with the RM15K? continue with FD? But sifus here like @Ramjade said FD is a waste of time. Putting into ASM is sauitable as emergency fund?
I am not sifu but let me ask you a question.
Why put FD when amanah saham function exactly the same?
Emergency fund means you need access to it on weekends and public holiday.
Both FD and amanah saham can't be access via public holidays or weekends.

FD max 4.5%
Lock up your money depending on your term.
Principal is guaranteed by bank.
You forfeit the interest if you withdraw early.

Amanah saham fixed price fund min 6%.
Money not lock up.
Principal is pseudo guaranteed as you buy and sell at RM1/unit. You can't sell below/above RM1
You don't forfeit returns if with draw early.

Forget FD and dump your money into amanah saham fixed price fund. Don't get conned by banks trying to sell you variable price fund.

I know I did not regret it.

Ramjade
post Dec 28 2018, 05:12 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Dec 28 2018, 02:21 PM)
I want to build my 6 months emergency fund as my first step towards savings. My expense is currently around RM3k per month, which means I have to save around 18-20k emergency fund.

Currently I have rm10k sitting in a 1 year FD (3.35%) and going to mature in mid March next year. I also have a few savings here there and combined with this FD, I will be having rm15k by March.

What should I do with the RM15K? continue with FD? But sifus here like @Ramjade said FD is a waste of time. Putting into ASM is sauitable as emergency fund?
I am not sifu but let me ask you a question.
Why put FD when amanah saham function exactly the same?
Emergency fund means you need access to it on weekends and public holiday.
Both FD and amanah saham can't be access via public holidays or weekends.

FD max 4.5%
Lock up your money depending on your term.
Principal is guaranteed by bank.
You forfeit the interest if you withdraw early.

Amanah saham fixed price fund min 6%.
Money not lock up.
Principal is pseudo guaranteed as you buy and sell at RM1/unit. You can't sell below/above RM1
You don't forfeit returns if with draw early.

Forget FD and dump your money into amanah saham fixed price fund. Don't get conned by banks trying to sell you variable price fund.

I know I did not regret it.

Ramjade
post Dec 28 2018, 05:41 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Dec 28 2018, 05:33 PM)
but if its efixed deposit, can take out anytime i want including weekends/public holidays, no?
Take out and forfeit the interest? No thank you. Ocbc 360. Phillip money market (Phillip only available on weekdays only)
There's this plastic thing call credit card where your limit is high and it can function well. Of course you must have the cash behind it to use it. They give you 21 days to pay up. More than enough if you have money in like amanah saham. Not enough if you are broke.

First rule of credit card is make sure you have cash to pay.

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Dec 28 2018, 05:34 PM)
what would you suggest for 6 months emergency fund?
I keep only 1-2 months expenses with me in real liquid cash in ocbc 360 where I can access anytime I want. Rest just Taruh in amanah saham.

Of course I have move on from amanah saham.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 28 2018, 05:46 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 3 2019, 09:46 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 3 2019, 09:41 PM)
Just a point here : a Credit Card with a large spending limit can also act as an emergency fund source.
Not if the place you need to pay cash doesn't accept CC.
Ramjade
post Jan 7 2019, 07:12 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 7 2019, 04:55 PM)
Then you perform a Cash Advance at any ATM, though the interest rate you will be paying will be high, no doubt. The Cash Advance will provide you the necessary cash to use,...
Not if you pay back on time.
Ramjade
post Jan 8 2019, 07:32 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 8 2019, 04:06 PM)
Bro Ramjade talking bs,....

Yes, that's what I meant, bro Showtime,...
Mana I tahu ada fees. Thought is just normal payment few days later.
Ramjade
post Aug 7 2019, 08:54 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(keanoppy @ Aug 7 2019, 08:28 PM)
Hi sifus, any suggestion where to invest around RM25k fresh funds monthly? Low to medium risk.
Asb and Asb2 already max.
Then go for ASM1,2,3

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0923sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:57 AM