Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

coolguy99
post Nov 19 2019, 02:59 PM

7,350 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 19 2019, 02:04 AM)
You are young,... try to do a business, don't dive into investments yet. Make more to be used as bullets for future. After building your warchest, then you learn investments.

My background was like yours.
I think safe investment like ASNB can work with dividends of 5% every year.
Hansel
post Nov 19 2019, 03:29 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Jakku2187 @ Nov 19 2019, 02:46 PM)
Thank you for your feedback! If our background are similar, you would understand our struggle to find ways to improve our financial situation. I think you found your way through building your business  thumbup.gif . Hope this motivate me to try my best as well to think of something that can help generate some side income.
QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Nov 19 2019, 02:59 PM)
I think safe investment like ASNB can work with dividends of 5% every year.
You are welcome, young bro,... smile.gif

Emm,... some businesses needed cashfow to start and to develop, if the young man gets involved in such a business for which he feels he is capable of doing, then it would be best put to use in the business to earn more money. LIke leveraging,....

Earning 5% per year shld be the last way for him to earn money with,... at his age. JMHO,.... I did not play safe when I was younger,...but that's my way though,..
coolguy99
post Nov 19 2019, 11:54 PM

7,350 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 19 2019, 03:29 PM)
You are welcome, young bro,...  smile.gif

Emm,... some businesses needed cashfow to start and to develop, if the young man gets involved in such a business for which he feels he is capable of doing, then it would be best put to use in the business to earn more money. LIke leveraging,....

Earning 5% per year shld be the last way for him to earn money with,... at his age. JMHO,.... I did not play safe when I was younger,...but that's my way though,..
I guess everyone's risk appetite is different. I used to be a super risk taker until I got burnt hard last year, now I switched to be conservative, only investing in safe stuff.
Hansel
post Nov 20 2019, 11:16 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Nov 19 2019, 11:54 PM)
I guess everyone's risk appetite is different. I used to be a super risk taker until I got burnt hard last year, now I switched to be conservative, only investing in safe stuff.
Okay,... it doesn't chg the fact that one needs money or warchest to invest.
woonsc
post Nov 20 2019, 12:19 PM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 20 2019, 11:16 AM)
Okay,... it doesn't chg the fact that one needs money or warchest to invest.
The art of balancing Money for investing, emergency saving and downturn money, is the secret we all need to find.
cynthusc
post Nov 20 2019, 02:08 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(Jakku2187 @ Nov 18 2019, 07:00 PM)
Hi All. I have been following this thread for sometime now.
Would appreciate greatly if I can get some advise on achieving my financial goals (get a car, married and own house to stay).

28 years old
Nett Pay: RM6,400
Other Income from Rental: RM 1,500
(Own 2 properties - low cost flat renting for RM 500, condo renting for RM 1,000)

Monthly Expense -
Property Loan: RM 3,500
Parents: RM 500
Food: RM 850
Petrol: RM 150
Insurance: RM 500
Misc. (Travelling, Yumcha/Alcohol etc.): RM 1,000

Savings: RM1,400 a month roughly

Investment Portfolio: 20k in stocks, 20k Cash as backup, Fully paid off low cost flat worth 120k, EPF 100k

Strategy should be to increase income and lower costs.

A brief summary of myself. Working in MNCs for the past 6 years and still living with parents.
I am currently in a relationship which explains why there is some travelling and higher than usual food cost.
Owned an old car for more than 10 years fully paid for, breakdown occasionally and planning to get a new car soon.

Had ventured into multiple "investments" that you can think of: stocks, FX trading, FD, MLM, properties, unit trusts and even some gambling activities, as I was willing to take huge risks since I was young at that time.
Only get burnt from these so called "investments" and the only 1 out of those that help generate some money is properties due to rental collection and even then I regret in purchasing a condo that is really far away and only get little rental yield from that.
Still losing money from stocks but planning to diversify my portfolio.

Planning to get married soon and I am worried that I will fall further into debt after getting a new car. Might even delay few years in getting a new place to stay even.
Having high salary increment/promotion could be difficult, as my company struggling in this current economic climate. Might even considered to move on to increase my pay.

Would really appreciate your thoughts/advise on how I can improve my own financial management.

Thank you.
Strategy is two fold. Increase your income (which may not be possible immediately) and reduce your cost.

Your income is RM7900 so 44% goes to your property loan. I would sell the condo and free up at least 3.5K per month. 3.5K is for a property more than 800K?

I don't think you should buy a new car until you earn more or sell the condo. If you can free up the 3.5K and reduce your insurance and monthly expenses by another RM400 you will have RM4300 left over. You can share the cost of buying a new marital home with the wifey (if she is working) and invest more.

This post has been edited by cynthusc: Nov 20 2019, 02:09 PM
sixtydee123
post Nov 22 2019, 03:02 PM

157 posts

Hi guys,

Would appreciate greatly if I can get some advise on how and where to grow my money. Dont have a big risk appetite

Nett Pay: RM4,600 - RM5,000

Monthly Expenses:
Property Loan: RM350 (after deducted rental returns)
Food: RM 300
Petrol: RM 300
Insurance: RM 250
Phone bills: RM240
Misc. (Dating, yumcha/Alcohol etc.): RM700

Car: Paid off (looking to upgrade but i think it will still be problem free for the next 1 year or so)

Savings per month - RM2300-2500

ASNB - RM25k
Cash - RM35k
EPF - Did not check

j.passing.by
post Nov 22 2019, 03:56 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Nov 20 2019, 12:19 PM)
The art of balancing Money for investing, emergency saving and downturn money, is the secret we all need to find.
There is no secret formula... only plain common sense.

And a bit of critical thinking when reading and be selective in filtering what is suitable and appropriate to listen.

One needs to be independent in thoughts and not follow blindly what is popular among peers.

If you are employed and contributing to epf, the contributions are for long term and retirement. So, if you are starting out and in your 20s, just save for the near future for the next 5 years... holidays, marriage, car, house down payment.

Don't over think too much on investments in trying to get fantastic high returns on you small savings. Be more concerned with your job and career, the higher earnings are normally made in the 30s and 40s.

Emergency savings is for the unfortunate event of being lay off. This savings should cover your expenses and loan instalments till you are gainfully employed again. Thus make a quick calculation on how much you should set aside. It depends on how fast you think you're able to land another job.

Make full use of epf in the longer-term financial plan. If possible, don't touch or withdraw only the minimal amount out of account 2.

Also, make arrangement such that your employer makes a higher contribution above the usual percentage. It can be up to 18 or 19%. (Can't recall the actual figure.)

Employer's contribution is non-taxable income.

coolguy99
post Nov 22 2019, 07:19 PM

7,350 posts

QUOTE(sixtydee123 @ Nov 22 2019, 03:02 PM)
Hi guys,

Would appreciate greatly if I can get some advise on how and where to grow my money. Dont have a big risk appetite

Monthly Expenses:

Car: Paid off (looking to upgrade but i think it will still be problem free for the next 1 year or so)

ASNB - RM25k
Cash - RM35k
EPF - Did not check
I suggest you try Stashaway too.
MUM
post Nov 22 2019, 10:13 PM

14,867 posts

Hi guys,

ASNB - RM25k
Cash - RM35k
EPF - Did not check
the methods of growing money varies and numerous too.
so is the definition of risk appetite in simple and quantifiable non subjective noun.

hmm.gif what is the true quantifiable description of "Don't have big risk appetite"?

your current allocation
ASNB - RM25k
Cash - RM35k
EPF -
are NO Risk except for inflation risk

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 22 2019, 10:32 PM
cloudstrife07
post Dec 23 2019, 07:35 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

WTA guys,

If lets say I have 2 credit card debts (both are 18% p.a. if I’m not mistaken):

Card A : RM5,000
Card B : RM5,000

And now I have RM2,000 to pay off some of the debts. How should I allocate? Should I do:

A: Put RM1,000 to card A and RM1,000 to card B. Next months pay equally also

Or

B: Pay card A minimum and the rest pay to card B. Then continue paying more to card B while A Pay minimum (making it something like snowball effect)

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Dec 23 2019, 07:36 PM
neverfap
post Dec 23 2019, 08:12 PM

1,147 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Dec 23 2019, 07:35 PM)
WTA guys,

And now I have RM2,000 to pay off some of the debts. How should I allocate? Should I do:

Or

B: Pay card A minimum and the rest pay to card B. Then continue paying more to card B while A Pay minimum (making it something like snowball effect)
Possible to do balance transfer to one card?
Hope u can clear it asap.

Jamespcr19
post Dec 23 2019, 08:19 PM

38 posts

Hi guys,

Monthly Expenses:

ASNB - RM25k
Cash - RM35k
EPF - Did not check
You have a property as well? That's nice!
j.passing.by
post Dec 23 2019, 09:41 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Dec 23 2019, 07:35 PM)
WTA guys,

Or

C. Pay the minimal (which is 5%) on the card with the lower interest and the remaining amount on the card with the higher interest charge.

Fully clear the card with the higher interest charge first.

If both cards have the same interest charge, select either one and clear it first; one at a time.

ixaRA
post Dec 24 2019, 12:18 AM

91 posts

Hi guys,

Would appreciate greatly if I can get some advise on how and where to grow my money.

Salary : RM 2300

Monthly Expenses
Petrol: RM 50 (using motocycle to work)
Phone bills: RM45
House internet: RM30
Car loan: RM 800 (already pay more than 5 years)

Asset : got house market value RM800k

ASNB - RM200k
EPF - around RM50k

I might getting married and settle down next coming year.. if everything goes well..

This post has been edited by ixaRA: Dec 24 2019, 12:19 AM
MUM
post Dec 24 2019, 12:40 AM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(ixaRA @ Dec 24 2019, 12:18 AM)
Hi guys,

Would appreciate greatly if I can get some advise on how and where to grow my money.

Monthly Expenses

ASNB - RM200k
EPF - around RM50k

I might getting married and settle down next coming year.. if everything goes well..
looking at your provided data you have abt RM1k surplus per month
you planned to get married next year.
how much do you plan to spend on marriage....
try to save for that first?

btw, how much cash & fd saving do you have now?

ixaRA
post Dec 24 2019, 08:06 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 24 2019, 12:40 AM)
looking at your provided data you have abt RM1k surplus per month
you planned to get married next year.
how much do you plan to spend on marriage....
try to save for that first?

btw, how much cash & fd saving do you have now?
" looking at your provided data you have abt RM1k surplus per month " - yes correct

" how much do you plan to spend on marriage.
" - for hantaran and kenduri kahwin all RM 20k. Yes i also thinking need to try save for hantaran first

" how much cash & fd saving do you have now?
"
Currently my cash in ANSB.. RM 200k
I no fd saving.
And i no and never ever took any personal loan

MUM
post Dec 24 2019, 08:12 AM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(ixaRA @ Dec 24 2019, 08:06 AM)
" looking at your provided data you have abt RM1k surplus per month " - yes correct

" how much do you plan to spend on marriage.
" - for hantaran and kenduri kahwin all RM 20k. Yes i also thinking need to try save for hantaran first

" how much cash & fd saving do you have now?
"
Currently my cash in ANSB.. RM 200k
I no fd saving.
And i no and never ever took any personal loan
Yes... Try save for the hantaran first... Then the expenses needed for the ceremony... Then discuss with Yr wife what are needed to buy for the inside of the house.
Try not to touch the ASNB if possible
ixaRA
post Dec 24 2019, 08:38 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 24 2019, 08:12 AM)
Yes... Try save for the hantaran first... Then the expenses needed for the ceremony... Then discuss with Yr wife what are needed to buy for the inside of the house.
Try not to touch the ASNB if possible
Yup im agreed with u. thank you sir for replied
aspartame
post Dec 24 2019, 09:20 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(ixaRA @ Dec 24 2019, 12:18 AM)
Hi guys,

Monthly Expenses

ASNB - RM200k
EPF - around RM50k

May I know your house got loan? ASNB got loan? Very impressed with your financial standing considering your income is not high...šŸ‘šŸ»

117 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:09 AM