Credit Cards OCBC Titanium MasterCard Cash-Back v4, From 29-Nov, unlimited 1% cashback only

cybpsych
post Nov 12 2013, 07:32 AM

---------------------
65,278 posts

well, OCBC failed their business case study before introducing Ti with 5% cb biggrin.gif

their financial ppl didnt expect worst case scenario? or their mgmt doesnt like where this Ti card is heading? smile.gif

expect mass churn, or very low activity. we spend less, they earn less.

also, they should've issue a new card (with 1% cb unlimited retail spending) and maintain existing Ti card (5% cb, RM50/mo cap). this way, they can secure existing loyal Ti customer and acquire "new waterfish" customers with 1% cb card.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Nov 12 2013, 07:33 AM
cybpsych
post Jan 22 2014, 09:01 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Jan 21 2014, 04:37 PM)
OCBC called me today to upgrade to World MasterCard. I told them I still want to keep my Titanium. World MasterCard high annual fee defeats the purpose of having the 1.2% rebate especially for low spenders.
QUOTE(bennyt @ Jan 21 2014, 04:55 PM)
titanium card now already downgrade minimum requirement.  minimum income 24k/ year can apply titanium. While 60k for world MasterCard.
OCBC is quite "funny".

Expecting higher churn due to reduction of CB % and revised to unlimited 1% CB. So, they reduced eligibility requirements to entice new owners. On the other hand, the high annual fees (no waiver possible, including GST) turning them off. Potong stim la smile.gif

Ohwaiiii.....
cybpsych
post Feb 15 2014, 07:41 AM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(500Kmission @ Feb 14 2014, 11:28 PM)
Sifu ronnie, I think you can delete those unneeded information since now already after 28 Nov 2013. It may confuse those people see cash back 5% and 1% term and condition.
i'd suggest to hide it via spoiler to cleanup the page, and retain the obsolete info for reference purposes. thumbup.gif

where credit's due, it takes considerable effort for ronnie and contributors to update this topic till v4 tongue.gif
cybpsych
post Mar 12 2014, 07:32 AM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Mar 11 2014, 08:06 PM)
I dunno, but this might can be a reference:
For digi,
I was doing auto debit from my cimb debit card to enjoy rm5 monthly rebate. But my saving account on that debit card is kosong (only the minimum balance). So it cannot charge any to my debit card. Then i pay the outstanding weekend when bill come.

I am enjoying the rebate for about 7 months now
the RM5 rebate is from cimb, right? that offer valid for 12 months smile.gif

from digi, only first 6 months get rm5 rebate.

but nice trick too, nonetheless. thumbup.gif

Sources:

CIMB http://www.cimbbank.com.my/debitcard/DiGi_cashrebate/

DiGi https://new.digi.com.my/cs/Satellite/Page/f...sy_payment_plan
cybpsych
post Mar 12 2014, 08:26 AM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Mar 11 2014, 05:04 PM)
yes, pay partially b4 the tm bill is out
and let the auto debit deduct the remaining when the bill is out

this way you'll get the auto debit rebate and M2Amex rebate
good one!

just checked unifi's autopay t&c. minimum payment of rm20 will get the rm2 rebate.

at first i thought going to pay unifi vip5 via m2u/amex at rm149 (amex cashback rm7.45). then let autopay pay the remaining amount (6% govt tax, call usages, etc.), which i thought will get rm2 for subscribing autopay (regardless of amount). total cashback/rebate = rm9.45

after checking the t&C, with min rm20 payment, pay via m2u/amex at rm129 (cashback rm6.45), autopay rebate rm2. effective cashback/rebate would be RM8.45.

crap, only rm1 difference sweat.gif so much hassle just to gain rm1 doh.gif

TM very smart with the min rm20 qualifer. check out this rough comparison for all their Unifi plans (purely on subscription fee, excluding additional charges).

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Mar 12 2014, 08:37 AM
cybpsych
post Mar 12 2014, 08:35 AM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(beyond86 @ Mar 12 2014, 08:34 AM)
for TM Autopay, dun forget

Rebate of RM2 will be given for each billing account, with minimum payment of RM20. The rebate will be reflected in your following month’s bill statement

https://www.tm.com.my/OnlineHelp/Services/D...topay%20BAU.pdf
yeah, just did a comparison smile.gif 1 post above sweat.gif
cybpsych
post Mar 12 2014, 09:20 AM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Mar 12 2014, 09:00 AM)
since when this new T&C from unifi started? my last mths bill still ok with amount less than 20
may i know why your unifi bill have <rm20?

if autopay works for <rm20 outstanding, maybe worth the hassle to gain addditonal rm2/mth sweat.gif
cybpsych
post Mar 12 2014, 10:18 AM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Mar 12 2014, 09:34 AM)
means i pay earlier and leave balance less than 20 for the autopay rebates to be kicked in
i see! thumbup.gif
cybpsych
post Mar 27 2014, 12:58 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

by taking the personal loan, you're basically adding more debt to yourself. even re-invest it in FD to get minor return, is it worth the hassle?

not sure but this will increase your credit score too right? how about CCRIS?
cybpsych
post Mar 28 2014, 06:10 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ Mar 28 2014, 03:07 PM)
RM0.00 OCBC Cards:50% rebate on your first RM200 purchase @ any ZARA outlet in Msia. From 12pm-2pm, 29 March only. T&C apply. Details @ www.ocbc.com.my/cards
in their FB doh.gif

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=720...&type=1&theater
cybpsych
post Mar 30 2014, 08:23 AM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(red_scorpion @ Mar 30 2014, 02:00 AM)
shit..i m late..i have accepted their offer...i thought the rate is low, so just get the cash for backup purpose or invest more into stock market....
Check what are the t&c for early settlement or minimum loan months before full settlement without incurring penalty fee.
cybpsych
post Apr 9 2014, 04:52 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(flyingteeku @ Apr 9 2014, 04:28 PM)
Since i have other CC which is UOB, MBB Amex, RHB, my OCBC transaction getting less..only swipe for below transaction:

OCBC 0% installment Ogawa- RM233.33 ( 21 months to go)
Allianz insurance direct debit - RM200
Yes broadband direct debit - RM63

Now, my questions are below:
1) The total rebate I get (1%) is RM2.33+ RM2 +  RM0.63 = RM4.96 which is less than RM5/month and RM59.52 per year. After deduct Gomen tax, i only gain RM9.52. Should I cancel Allianz and Yes direct debit and sign up with Amex instead?
2) Is Amex accepted for Allianz and Yes?

My concern is if i cancel the direct debit, while waiting for instalment plan to finish, the effective rebate per month only earned about RM2.33. Per year only RM27.96 which is a deficit if I were forced to pay OCBC RM50 gomen tax. the 0% 3 years instalment is killing me..
try to talk to Allianz and YES4G about Amex acceptance (including direct debit). If accepted, then good idea to shift the direct debit over to Amex. At least you gain 5X TP (2% CB-equivalent) if transaction falls on weekdays. If direct debit transacted on weekend, then it's a bonus: 5% CB (provided you havent exceed the CB sweat.gif ) + 5X TP.

a bit difficult to shift the Ogawa installment from OCBC. How about terminating unnecessary card, e.g. RHB? at least the RM50 GST "gained" can be used for OCBC instead.

'bout UOB card, what do you use for? petrol only?
cybpsych
post Apr 9 2014, 05:14 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(flyingteeku @ Apr 9 2014, 05:06 PM)
Yup..will check with Yes4G and Allianz...the reason I apply for RHB is to utilize the 0% instalment plan for transaction of RM5000 hospital fee to 6 months in Amex. After 6 months, i will consider to cancel the card.

The UOB card is only for BHP petrol...UOB 5% rebate + 5% smart cash rebate ( limited to first 900K only) + BHP loyaty card = 1%.

My concern is OCBC, someone said the gomen tax RM50 can be waived, some said cannot be waived. At the moment, this card is just a redundant card for me...if not because of the instalment plan, i will say bye bye to the card already..
assuming UOB doesnt extend the 5% smart cash rebate (tentative to end 30 Apr), then you can try to use AMEX to pump BHP. Test it across few BHP stations that you frequent mostly or accessible to you.

see if you can plan ur petrol pump on weekends (sat or sun), and last till next weekend smile.gif

OCBC actually can be kept as your secondary card, cuz it has unlimited 1% CB without any spending restriction.

well, just a suggestion. need to spend some time to adjust, study, arrange the spending according to each card's benefits. not easy, but just take some patience trying it out biggrin.gif
cybpsych
post Apr 9 2014, 05:24 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(flyingteeku @ Apr 9 2014, 05:23 PM)
I agree...OCBC is good as secondary card. Same cases when OCBC change the benefits from 5% limited to 1% unlimited, this unprecedented scenario also can happen to MBB AMEX if MBB decided to change from 5TP to 1TP or 2TP.. i bet alot of people will cancel Amex if that happens..nothing is impossible...
touch wood first biggrin.gif
cybpsych
post Apr 11 2014, 07:33 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Apr 11 2014, 07:05 PM)
Oh I see, Some more he said you are one of the selected customer... bla bla bla.

Said it is as low as interested offer, I straight away reject and he still want to talk and said good for business what... Just end the call.

But I have cancelled their credit card, but still, they can call me? Meaning that information is still active on their system, has yet to delete ??
Info in any system never get deleted wan. Your account is terminated but all info including usage is technically stored indefinitely.
cybpsych
post Apr 11 2014, 08:27 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(cfc @ Apr 11 2014, 08:05 PM)
u can read the Personal Data Protection Act 2010
if u no longer use ocbc service, maybe u can request for full deletion
dont think that's even possible.

under PDPA, organization discloses how they collect your data, using it, store, retain, etc.

we can ask them NOT to use our information (opt-out), but the information will still be stored.

even if it's possible for the bank to remove, all interlinking systems will still capture your info. e.g. CTOS, BNM, etc.
cybpsych
post Apr 11 2014, 09:14 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(cfc @ Apr 11 2014, 08:50 PM)
what if i already ceased to use ocbc service
anyhow i not lawyer .. , get advice from OCBC or MCMC better tongue.gif

Retention
1.The personal data processed shall not be kept longer than necessary for the fulfilment of the purpose.

1.The data user must take all reasonable steps to ensure that all personal data is destroyed or permanently deleted if it is no longer required for the purpose for which it was processed.
yeah, definitely need a lawyer to decipher the whole mumbo jumbo act sweat.gif
cybpsych
post Apr 12 2014, 06:00 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(Andrew G @ Apr 12 2014, 05:45 PM)
Since everyone knows OCBC's benefits get lesser and lesser, thus why still want to use it? Just terminate it if still holding their cards, or don't even apply for it if hasn't got ones, isn't that difficult to decide?
there are some usage scenarios whereby OCBC's is worth keeping.

examples, are those large sum swipe or not in any popular categories.

1) renovation, like RM30K? see here
2) hospital bills, like RM29K? see here
3) car service/accessories
4) computer system/parts
5) new/2nd-hand car downpayment
5) other cards' cashback quota already maxed out, like HLB Wise' RM100, Maybank2card's RM50, etc.
6) and many more.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Apr 12 2014, 06:13 PM
cybpsych
post Apr 14 2014, 08:35 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Apr 14 2014, 08:30 PM)
Too bad cannot pay through online portal...
Via online portal but charged to CC? Not that I know of.

I only pay it via m2u and deduct from savings account. Mine is RM50 only, no need spend effort n money to drive around smile.gif
cybpsych
post Apr 16 2014, 07:19 AM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(liette` @ Apr 15 2014, 11:47 PM)
Ah, read one of the pinned topics in this forum and saw this:

"For cardholders earning RM36,000 per annum and less, the following would be applicable:
Cardholders can only hold credit cards from a maximum of two issuers."

Guess that's why.
yep, Bank Negara's credit card guideline sweat.gif

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=8&pg=14&ac=2226

0.0523sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:39 PM