Credit Cards OCBC Titanium MasterCard Cash-Back v4, From 29-Nov, unlimited 1% cashback only

MeToo
post Dec 10 2013, 10:06 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Dec 10 2013, 11:46 AM)
not forgetting the UOB one card.

But still every single one of those alternatives comes with terms attached, the titanium is still pretty good for large transaction amounts on transactions that don't fall into specific categories ie: insurance premium, big purchases, down payment, booking etc.

1% isn't that all bad.
+1

Currently I'm keeping it for my insurance (~20k/year), and some large one off purchase, or when I maxed out my RM50 from MBB Amex...

Just like I keep my CIMB just for buying alcohol from LCCT/KLIA laugh.gif
MeToo
post Dec 11 2013, 01:13 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Dec 11 2013, 11:09 AM)
alot of them are calling into their hotline now esp in credit card department.

bear in mind guys, the fees charges stated as below.

No annual fee for the first year

Principal card: RM388 per annum

Supplementary card: RM188 per annum
THIS is my main concern.

If u upgrade to the World, its going to be a one year thing, that kinda annual fees is ridiculous. The 0.2% is miniscule when compared to the RM388 annual fee.

QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Dec 11 2013, 11:30 AM)
There is no Annual Fee anymore on the Titanium card, however they've also lifted the spend rm10k and rebate Government tax rm50 portion
This is another concern.

I'm turning this card into a niche card, for specific use only, day to day usage this is pure crap.

Time to cancel my wife's supp.
MeToo
post Dec 11 2013, 02:09 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(shawnk @ Dec 11 2013, 01:21 PM)
Just checked with OCBC call centre myself.

For OCBC Titanium card
- Confirmed that AF will be free for life.
- No waiving of GST or RM50 rebate annually, regardless how much you spend per year

For World Mastercard
- RM 388 AF for second year onwards since first year is waived
- AF and GST can't be waived, regardless how much you spent annually.
- With 0.2%, one has to spend RM194,000 just to get back rebate of RM 388 to cover the AF.

Summary: Better to stick with OCBC Titanium card if you are a die hard OCBC fan. There's plenty of equivalent CC around the market with unlimited 1% rebate, not to mention with evergreen point system no?
OCBC points not evergreen? Gee... then maybe I need to hunt other 1% cards.. any rec?
MeToo
post Dec 13 2013, 12:16 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 13 2013, 11:18 AM)
Logged in to my account today to view my statement dated 12th Dec and saw that I received Rm49.xx CB for the old CB calculation before 29th Nov and Rm6.xx for the new unlimited 1% CB.
Received the same letter of upgrade to World MasterCard for 1.2% CB but only first year annual fee waiver. Do you think it is worth to pay next year annual fee just for 0.2% extra CB ?
Many have calculated you have to spend a ridiculous amount for the extra 0.2% to offset the RM388 annual fee
MeToo
post Dec 18 2013, 11:15 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Dec 18 2013, 09:33 AM)
sign0006.gif combo mbb2cards amex (5% weekends; rm50 rebate monthly capped) with aeon watami (3% everyday; rm150 rebate quarterly capped) would be good.  thumbup.gif
Watami....Quarterly cap 150... RM50/mth.... looking to be more attractive for my annual insurance payment... Thanks! There goes the dumb OCBC!
MeToo
post Dec 18 2013, 11:47 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Dec 18 2013, 09:03 AM)
without petrol transactions, i think maybank card win it.
True, but I cap out on my MBB RM50 too easily... need another card to backup...
MeToo
post Dec 18 2013, 12:36 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 18 2013, 12:31 PM)
Yah Bro, I also check out briefly the AEON Watami only today and YES, I noted it is a hybrid like MBB 2 AMEX where it also earn the cardholder reward points and cash back  thumbup.gif

I am planning as a Christmas present to my readers, I am thinking of analyzing and comparing how to maximize cash back for different spending pattern for those who spend less than RM5K/month.
Separate table for those spending 1k, 3k, 5k, should be sufficient, and would encompass a much larger audience then a 5k/mth category.

Anyway, kudos to your work, I visit your blog regularly to keep up with the best deals (kiasu-ism tongue.gif )
MeToo
post Dec 19 2013, 10:34 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Dec 19 2013, 12:28 AM)
well this will be the 3rd best card after amex & wise card however you would need to spend another 2k to achieve the rm 150 otherwise it's just rm 90 so it's good for the big spenders if you have maximized your other 2 cards
Well as a main the watami might not be best, but i reckon its a niche card... for all those monthly insurance etc... heck I wont even need to take the card out of the drawer... just auto charge my insurance payment to it monthly and get my RM600/yr cash back tongue.gif
MeToo
post Dec 19 2013, 11:58 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Dec 19 2013, 11:16 AM)
Wtf? What kind of insurance you buy ? RM 1,600 per month ?
Yeah like cfa28 mentioned its more investment linked, saving for my soon to be born daughter's future education lor... 1580 per month sweat.gif
MeToo
post Dec 23 2013, 02:07 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 23 2013, 11:48 AM)
Human Nature, cfa28, MeToo,virgoguy and asiatrader98

Guys, I just published my article on Cash Back Credit Cards for spending between RM1K/month and up to RM7K/month spending. And DarReNz, you'll be happy to note that I have fulfilled your Christmas wish too by preparing the comparison table based on RM500 increments.
Click here to receive my Christmas/New Year gift to all my readers, The Best Cash Back Credit Cards - How To Earn Money From The Right Credit Cards.

thumbup.gif Way to go! Now we can be more cheapskates have more savings heading into the holiday seasons!

0.0459sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:19 PM