6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

2ndhand 308Turbo or New Preve, which is worth it?

wayfeel
post Oct 24 2013, 02:18 AM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 23 2013, 11:44 PM)
Updates : It's the Jazz Hybrid (CBU). It clocked 9.9s. He can't remember the exact time for City iVTEC but definitely not that fast. So, I guess it is about 11-12s.
It's not the jazz hybrid that does this...it's the 05 vtec jazz and also not the i-vtec city but the 05 city vtec....they r both very capable of hitting sub 10s. I'm sure, as when i accelerated from standstill, the car kinda squated. the hybrid i don't know . so is the current city....they r not as powerful as the 05 city vtec....my friends of current city admit themselves because it no longer uses the CVT of 05 city which contributed to the quick n responsive engine...somehow. you own the 05 vtec city, you should know what your car is capable of ...unless you didn't know the best launch mode or u less spirited driving with it? Apology if offended smile.gif but I do like to stress again that the 05 city vtec is a very capable car for it's segment
dstl1128
post Oct 24 2013, 08:51 AM

4,464 posts

I would rather try my luck on Preve or SuprimaS than Pug.

Yukieliow
post Oct 24 2013, 09:25 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(Yapmy @ Oct 22 2013, 07:12 PM)
Hey. Mind to elaborate more on the problematic part? Just curious to know.
to these jap car fanboys all Peugeot is problematic.. u buy h&t it will never go wrong..godsends car!
jasperpkh
post Oct 24 2013, 10:46 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Yapmy @ Oct 22 2013, 06:12 PM)
Hey. Mind to elaborate more on the problematic part? Just curious to know.
Well,i'm not exactly know the problems but there a lot owners of 308T complaining about their car..
Check it out here,http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showforum=41
But every cars got their own problems but for peugeot it's entirely different story,its service center incapable to solve the electronic problems.Try to imagine when your car get problems and no Sc can fix it then sell it to second hand dealer at low price ..
joefbi
post Oct 24 2013, 10:55 AM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

QUOTE(eric_ocy @ Oct 22 2013, 07:21 PM)
preve was lousy, same as suprima s, I mean the build quality, the plastic came off when my pants cling on the panel below the seat... and the door panel can move when I try to feel the material, although it's not hard plastic,  but I felt unreliable. More of is the car was too high tech,  you need to put your remote into the car before pressing the push start button??? WTF?? Then what's the point of the push start button? Why not make conventional key instead... The push start button is for our convenient to not look for our keys in our bag or pocket, but proton use old BMW tech which is put the key only press the push start button which is totally time waster... and one more important thing is the whole car is on electronic lock, which means there's no manual lock on each side of the door, and it can be opened by pulling two times at the door... worst part is, if the battery died, will the lock works??? The sales man even told me this car has higher hp than altis, and I thought doesn't our law in this country max speed is only 110km/h is allowed?  More is this car comes with timing belt!! Although it's proven quieter than timing chain,  but if you were the customer you want a timing belt or timing chain? Even 2005 myvi is with timing chain, have they complain that it's loud than a saga?? For that kind of money, I rather spend on low spec honda city plus the discount given just few Ks more than cfe preve... or cheaper than the SS. Just my point of view after looking at the car, don't pump me kao kao ya... XP
watch to much top gear UK

thedoc73
post Oct 24 2013, 11:07 AM

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Oct 23 2013, 09:25 PM)
How about the performance , is it comparable to 05 City vtec too?

At first , of course, I would immediately thought that the 308T can out accelerate the city vtec but after I came across 308T official  0-100 is 9.1s ....that reminded me of the city vtec launch by WKN was around 9.1s too...however, unofficial 0-60 time but it's close...

so I'm asking u since u own both cars
In reply to your question, no the VTEC cannot out-accelerate the 308T. At high speeds the City feels floaty and wobbly. I know cos I have driven the City at up to 150 kn/h but don't dare go higher. The 308T, manage to drive near to 200+ km/h but don't really dare to look properly at the speedometer at that speed cos its freaking scary. Anyway, those speeds were done on a deserted highway at night.
theanswer
post Oct 24 2013, 11:26 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Oct 23 2013, 12:17 PM)
Keep living in your ideal world. Why is it everytime you open your mouth rubbish just flows right out of it?
he failed to mention that suprima/preve use low inertia turbo. peak torque at 2000rpm still can be considered as low and good enough. of course u cant compare with twin scroll or vgt. rclxms.gif
theanswer
post Oct 24 2013, 11:30 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(thedoc73 @ Oct 24 2013, 11:07 AM)
In reply to your question, no the VTEC cannot out-accelerate the 308T. At high speeds the City feels floaty and wobbly. I know cos I have driven the City at up to 150 kn/h but don't dare go higher. The 308T, manage to drive near to 200+ km/h but don't really dare to look properly at the speedometer at that speed cos its freaking scary. Anyway, those speeds were done on a deserted highway at night.
0-100kmh possible to out run. but in real world 240nm at 1600rpm is very handy compared to na toque curve. especially in highest gear acceleration. in fact i never drive 1.6thp 0-100 in 9.1 sec everytime i drive 308t or 508.
gile ke ape. sweat.gif
thedoc73
post Oct 24 2013, 12:36 PM

QUOTE(theanswer @ Oct 24 2013, 11:30 AM)
0-100kmh possible to out run. but in real world 240nm at 1600rpm is very handy compared to na toque curve. especially in highest gear acceleration. in fact i never drive 1.6thp 0-100 in 9.1 sec everytime i drive 308t or 508.
gile ke ape.  sweat.gif
Well I never officially timed the 2 cars. But like you said, the higher torque at lower rpm makes driving a lot easier. biggrin.gif
SUSedmunz
post Oct 24 2013, 12:55 PM

dupe buster..since 2010
900 posts

QUOTE(eric_ocy @ Oct 22 2013, 07:21 PM)
preve was lousy, same as suprima s, I mean the build quality, the plastic came off when my pants cling on the panel below the seat... and the door panel can move when I try to feel the material, although it's not hard plastic,  but I felt unreliable. More of is the car was too high tech,  you need to put your remote into the car before pressing the push start button??? WTF?? Then what's the point of the push start button? Why not make conventional key instead... The push start button is for our convenient to not look for our keys in our bag or pocket, but proton use old BMW tech which is put the key only press the push start button which is totally time waster... and one more important thing is the whole car is on electronic lock, which means there's no manual lock on each side of the door, and it can be opened by pulling two times at the door... worst part is, if the battery died, will the lock works??? The sales man even told me this car has higher hp than altis, and I thought doesn't our law in this country max speed is only 110km/h is allowed?  More is this car comes with timing belt!! Although it's proven quieter than timing chain,  but if you were the customer you want a timing belt or timing chain? Even 2005 myvi is with timing chain, have they complain that it's loud than a saga?? For that kind of money, I rather spend on low spec honda city plus the discount given just few Ks more than cfe preve... or cheaper than the SS. Just my point of view after looking at the car, don't pump me kao kao ya... XP
you may opt for executive variant which equipped with normal key ignition. by the by i do prefer soft plastic rather than hard plastic in toyota or honda. it do makes some different when comes to scratch resistant. not to mention lesser chances for the noise generated from plastic vibration.
htkaki
post Oct 24 2013, 11:12 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Oct 24 2013, 02:18 AM)
It's not the jazz hybrid that does this...it's the 05 vtec jazz and also not the i-vtec city but the 05 city vtec....they r both very capable of hitting sub 10s. I'm sure, as when i accelerated from standstill, the car kinda squated. the hybrid i don't know . so is the current city....they r not as powerful as the 05 city vtec....my friends of current city admit themselves because it no longer uses the CVT of 05 city which contributed to the quick n responsive engine...somehow. you own the 05 vtec city, you should know what your car is capable of ...unless you didn't know the best launch mode or u less spirited driving with it? Apology if offended smile.gif but I do like to stress again that the 05 city vtec is a very capable car for it's segment
No need to apologize. I don't own any Honda. I was surprised that the City can accelerate that fast. To me, even the Civic is sluggish.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Oct 24 2013, 11:13 PM
jayraptor
post Oct 25 2013, 10:49 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Oct 23 2013, 12:00 PM)
So many techinal terms ya... haha
Anythg to do with the weather?
Our climate is hot and humid. Carmakers should make sure the model they wanted to sell in that particular country could withstand the local weather & temperature there. In Europe nice winter weather, everything tend to last longer there compared to here. So cars that are sold here required stronger material to withstand the heat expansion and also must come with more cooling items such as larger radiator, cooler and the cooling tubes to gearbox.

Those grey imports especially, if they imported cars directly from Japan without much modification done to adapt to our weather, more likely they will breakdown faster. Happen in 90's often, those imported Mercs & Japan only models like Inspire tend to overheat that led to breakdown.

Since the Pug is now assembled locally, the French should know that the cars sold here must be able to withstand our local climate and condition for long term. French deals a lot with Arabs since 70's in many things so they should know what they are doing.
jayraptor
post Oct 25 2013, 10:58 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Oct 24 2013, 11:26 AM)
he failed to mention that suprima/preve use low inertia turbo. peak torque at 2000rpm still can be considered as low and good enough. of course u cant compare with twin scroll or vgt.  rclxms.gif
As tested, the S4 engine without turbo could hardly pull the Preve/Suprima around. Its torque below 2000rpm (no turbo assist), especially around 1500-1800rpm (as per K3's comment) is way less than 100Nm that is way weaker than other 1.6L engine strength, does it mean you have to floor the pedal to over 2000rpm just to keep the car moving (over 1300kg kerb weight) in bumper to bumper crawl and city driving?

Don't be fooled by the specs, you don't always get the peak torque at 2000rpm with that obsolete turbocharger. Preve/Suprima engine sounds weak when you floor it, like Mr K3xxx modified cars with poor torque, it sounds hollow yet noisy require lots of revving just to keep it moving. Braarrrr Braaarrrr.... This is directed to Mr K3xxxx, not you. Don't be offended. It's using timing belt that could not operate VVT at optimum level.
K3nnYkl82
post Oct 25 2013, 11:04 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Oct 25 2013, 10:58 AM)
As tested, the S4 engine without turbo could hardly pull the Preve/Suprima around. Its torque below 2000rpm (no turbo assist), especially around 1500-1800rpm (as per K3's comment) is way less than 100Nm that is way weaker than other 1.6L engine strength, does it mean you have to floor the pedal to over 2000rpm just to keep the car moving (over 1300kg kerb weight) in bumper to bumper crawl and city driving? 

Don't be fooled by the specs, you don't always get the peak torque at 2000rpm with that obsolete turbocharger. Preve/Suprima engine sounds weak when you floor it, like Mr K3xxx modified cars with poor torque, it sounds hollow yet noisy require lots of revving just to keep it moving. Braarrrr Braaarrrr.... This is directed to Mr K3xxxx, not you. Don't be offended. It's using timing belt that could not operate VVT at optimum level.
LoLz ... see i told you u are good in Hallucinating ..
You never sit on my ride pun .. lolzzz
most ppl know my ride damn silent one .. not a single exhaust noise .. lolz

THat give us more assurance u pull everything out of ur tiny little unlogic mind .. lolz
jayraptor
post Oct 25 2013, 11:07 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(Volkswagen2 @ Oct 23 2013, 12:46 PM)
Try not to go for uncertained vehicles which will bring you problems later on. Why not buy new? Nasim's after-sales are notoriously known to be poor, and in the even of a breakdown and parts need to be replaced, it's not only you are paying more for these replacement parts but the possibility that you may need to wait for several weeks for the parts to be available. Few friends who owned Peugeot don't have much good words for it when it comes to reliability and maintenance. When it comes to driving, it can be good. But when problem crops up after warranty period, then you will feel it. Especially if warranty period is over.

The Preve is quite a solid car with decent handling. Only the Turbo engine is not very refined and loud but guess that is what to expect for a vehicle that's below RM70k. Brand new you have peace of mind.

And I believe Proton's after-sales service is anytime better than Peugeot Nasim's too.
Do you own Volkswagen in the first place? Or you just took that as your username to bash conti with false problems, etc in which you are personally with crappy N-brand.

Based on your comment, it shows that you are the type that stick to Japanese make and won't go conti at all. If that is the case, aren't you supposed to avoid P1 as well when they no longer get MMC engines especially Preve/Suprima? It's not even Japanese made.

Warranty or not, you still fork out own money for the service. Your N-brand Teana/Sylphy, the fragile CVT gearbox maintenance, you still have to pay with own money while under warranty. So what crap are you talking about here? As for the few unlucky but lucky cases for some Sylphy owners that had the CVT gearbox steel belt dislocated a bit, lucky for them it happened while under 3 years warranty, any guarantee for them after the 3 years? How do you explained the X-Trail, Sentra N16 and Cefiro engine blown cases due to excessive overheating when no more warranty? Aren't they paying with own money too?
theanswer
post Oct 25 2013, 11:15 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Oct 25 2013, 11:04 AM)
LoLz ... see i told you u are good in Hallucinating ..
You never sit on my ride pun .. lolzzz
most ppl know my ride damn silent one .. not a single exhaust noise .. lolz

THat give us more assurance u pull everything out of ur tiny little unlogic mind .. lolz
chill bro. haters will hate.
i'm not a big fan of proton but i dont think u need big torque to crawl in traffic jam under 2000rpm. lol.

jayraptor
post Oct 25 2013, 11:15 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Oct 24 2013, 01:03 AM)
No. Cars like Vios/City reach the century sprint in 11s-12s. If its less than 10 seconds, lots of cars no need to sell liao.

We would see so many ah bengs on the road with Vios / City intimidating others to race everyday. LOL

Some people are so imaginative that they think there is a VTEC "kick" in a City 1.5. Gosh, fanboyism has reached new level~
To be exact, Vios/City 1.5L 0-100km/h in 11.8s to 12s. The City new one is more sluggish than Vios. By the way, both the Vios/City aren't really performance cars, take them for racing would risk getting into understeer and hit something for thinking they have conti handling.

News for those who praised Insight, Jazz, CRZ hybrid like they have great FC:

http://www.worldcarfans.com/113101664547/h...europe---report

Diesel owned the weaker hybrids in 100% city driving actual FC. People are dumping these cars out of Europe and America. Those people here still want to go for these cars, there'll be lots of surplus stocks when the official phase out begin. So peoples junk is treated as precious gems here. For Japanese makes, only Toyota hybrid still left standing.
K3nnYkl82
post Oct 25 2013, 11:19 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Oct 25 2013, 11:15 AM)
i'm not a big fan of proton but i dont think u need big torque to crawl in traffic jam under 2000rpm. lol.
nah its okay ..

Just trying to clear stuff for other forumers .. but this Genius keep stuffing in his own Logic ... rclxms.gif
k!nex
post Oct 25 2013, 11:46 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Oct 24 2013, 02:18 AM)
Your old city vtec CVT is indeed feels more powerful than the 09 City. However if higher speed, the new one feels more stable. New one is heavy, thts y Vios can out accelerate it and FC goes up. Not only because of the 5AT vs CVT. Weight penalty sux man.. doh.gif

I owned the previous version City with D15B Vtec engine Type-Z. When I test drove the current facelifted City, I was like doh.gif WTH...0-100km/h its so slow...LOL. Gearbox not as jerky like my old 4AT though.
wayfeel
post Oct 25 2013, 12:14 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Oct 25 2013, 11:15 AM)
yea , dont need big torque to crawl...but if not enough tork to crawl, very annoying tuuu... smile.gif

QUOTE(k!nex @ Oct 25 2013, 11:46 AM)
Your old city vtec CVT is indeed feels more powerful than the 09 City. However if higher speed, the new one feels more stable. New one is heavy, thts y Vios can out accelerate it and FC goes up. Not only because of the 5AT vs CVT. Weight penalty sux man.. doh.gif

I owned the previous version City with D15B Vtec engine Type-Z. When I test drove the current facelifted City, I was like  doh.gif  WTH...0-100km/h  its so slow...LOL.  Gearbox not as jerky like my old 4AT though.
I wonder if putting a deck lip spoiler will improve stability slightly...if at mid speed 120-160. Feels more stable is seem just a gut feeling & instinct when your floor the pedal hee...I've heard ppl say before if the car hardly driven over 160 before (ESPECIALLY prior runned-in) then the car will feel floaty around at higher speed...otherwise...they quite grounded. I'm not sure if there's any truth in that or not...Myb difference of tires grade, road condition and even tire air pressure all that might influence that floatiness of a car at 160 or so

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:07 PM