SPM 2013 Thread v2, Nearly there !

mingisms
post Nov 3 2013, 11:14 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(TheShip @ Nov 3 2013, 11:04 AM)
blink.gif
Can you share that karangan with us? I want to know how does it look like and try to prevent the same mistake in my karangan.
I've read so many karangans today, not sure if I can find it. Maybe later when I have more time! blush.gif

I don't think it's a very hard mistake to prevent, we just need to keep a clear and calm mind and remember that fitting ungkapan menarik into the karangan is not our main concern.
thumbup.gif

mingisms
post Nov 3 2013, 07:47 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Shangar96 @ Nov 3 2013, 06:02 PM)
Any tips on scoring for Chemistry and Bio? Or is it just exercise..
Reading and doing exercises. I highly recommend that you look at the essays for trial papers/past years/SBP. Even if you don't have time to do them, read the answer scheme. That way you'll know what they're looking for! smile.gif

Good luck. Chemistry is actually quite easy because balik-balik they ask the same things - oxidation/reduction, electron arrangement, electrolysis, rate of reaction, thermochemistry.

Unfortunately the biology scope is quite wide. Pls read up and read trial papers!

Read up on paper 3. Easiest to score. Do lots of objective questions too, that will also be easy to score. The only worry is paper 2.
mingisms
post Nov 3 2013, 08:54 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Shangar96 @ Nov 3 2013, 07:49 PM)
Thank you! Chem and Bio are my worries. And what are the formula's that I have to remember for Chem? (electrochemical series etc)
Remembering the ECS is a must. Also remember the positions of hydrogen and carbon. (Chapter 3, F5).

Know the charges of the common ions. Learn how to balance the reduction of chromate ion and manganese ion (chapter 3, F5).

They like to ask reaction between zinc/zinc oxide/zinc carbonate and hydrochloric/sulphuric/nitric acid.

IONIC HALF EQUATIONS! For OH-, H+, Cl- and Cu2+.

Ionic equation for formation of sulphur from the sodium thiosulphate experiment. As a rule, make sure you know all the equations from the experiments in the syllabus.

Identifying anions (4 chemical tests) and identifying alkanes and alkenes. Colours of common cations.

That's all I can think of that comes out very often. Will let you know if I can think of more.

Do you mind sharing a list of Moral kata kunci? Thanks! smile.gif
mingisms
post Nov 3 2013, 08:56 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(reenoo @ Nov 3 2013, 08:04 PM)
for Bio's paper 3 right, the scope for the experiments is so huge, usually what do you spot?
I don't spot but I have some tips that people sent me:

1. Vitamin C
2. Growth curve
3. Variation
4. Osmosis

Always good to have transpiration and enzymes in hand.
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 09:08 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(iimcrystal @ Nov 4 2013, 01:41 AM)
Can you change the language to english?
I don't understand what did you write in bm
Cause I suck in bm doh.gif
Whoa what? Go get a dictionary HAHAHAHA.

EDIT: ok that was mean sorry! Will translate for you. Sorry for stepping on your toes RED-HAIR-SHANKS, I felt bad.

PENDAHULUAN(SHTKP)
-Situasi - Situation
-Huraian - Explaination/Elaboration
-Tema - Theme
-Kehendak soalan - What the question wants
-Penegas - emphasis

ISI(AMKCP)
-Ayat isi/Apa - your point/what
-Mengapa - why
-Kesan - effect
-Contoh - example
-Penegas - emphasis/reiteration/small conclusion

PENUTUP(KCHP)
-Kesimpulan - conclusion.
-Cadangan - suggestion.
-Harapan - hope
-Penegas - emphasis/reiteration

This post has been edited by mingisms: Nov 4 2013, 10:45 AM
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 12:32 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Shangar96 @ Nov 4 2013, 12:31 PM)
Thank you so much! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by mingisms: Nov 4 2013, 12:34 PM
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 12:47 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Shangar96 @ Nov 4 2013, 12:36 PM)
You're welcome. Also, how do you remember the light chapter for Physics? I find it very confusing :S
Which parts are you having trouble with? In the light chapter:

1. Ray diagrams
2. Snell's Law (apparent depth questions are quite popular), critical angle, total internal reflection
3. Lenses and Mirrors (concave mirror = convex lens, convex mirror = concave lens. they have the same image characteristics. all of the images formed by convex mirror/concave lens are virtual, upright and diminished. Remember the characteristics of the images for convex lens.)
4. Application in optical instruments: slide projector, magnifying glass, astronomical telescope, prism periscope.
5. Law of Reflection came out in MRSM this year. No big deal but just memorise the 2 laws.

I've bolded the more important ones. Let me know which parts you're having trouble with and I'll see if I can provide more specific help.

mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 12:48 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(cuzuamazing @ Nov 4 2013, 12:47 PM)
so many here in kwang hua, surprised...

but i think we all should keep our identity as a secret, at least befor spm tongue.gif
Pro, pro. notworthy.gif
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 12:52 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(cuzuamazing @ Nov 4 2013, 12:49 PM)
what do u mean? i dun understand blink.gif
独中 mah.
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 12:53 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Shangar96 @ Nov 4 2013, 12:48 PM)
I can remember the formulas and definitions. My problem is the drawing part. Very frustrating :/
Oh yeah. Those are shit. Always be clear if it's a mirror or a lens so you know where your focal point is, haha. Practice makes perfect, unfortunately. Good luck! smile.gif

EDIT: like the person below me said, take some time to relearn and remaster it. it may seem a bit tedious but it really is good practice.

This post has been edited by mingisms: Nov 4 2013, 12:55 PM
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 12:55 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(cuzuamazing @ Nov 4 2013, 12:54 PM)
actually i am from 国中 tongue.gif
and i think i know who giapgiap10 is, too obvious lah tongue.gif
Oh, I thought you're from Kwang Hua. blush.gif
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 12:56 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Shangar96 @ Nov 4 2013, 12:55 PM)
Does anyone here planning to do motion along the straight line for add maths?
I am! It's so easy and so much less tedious than solution of triangles. Hahah.
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 12:59 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(cuzuamazing @ Nov 4 2013, 12:57 PM)
...ya, kwang hua has both 国中and独中,on the same site. we share the same grass field for pjk tongue.gif
Haha wow okay so complicated. Sorry boss. sweat.gif
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 01:07 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Nov 4 2013, 01:04 PM)
This thread has picked up steam !

While I'm still here , thinking of ways to write a good 1M1S / Menabung / Hilangkan  Tekanan / Permainan Tradisional / Pelancongan karangan . :|
Yep, these are the ones I've heard from so many different sources, one of them HAS to be right.

Welcome back MaximR.
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 01:08 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(cuzuamazing @ Nov 4 2013, 01:01 PM)
where are u from? at some point i tot u r from klang too, now i know u r not tongue.gif
Mentioned way back in V1 but SMKDU. Good school la, cannot complain!
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 01:09 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Shangar96 @ Nov 4 2013, 01:01 PM)
Oh. I'm planning to do that as well. But my teacher didn't teach so, i have to learn myself. :|
Good luck! It's quite simple because there are no new concepts, just integration, differentiation and factorising, mostly.
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 01:11 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(cuzuamazing @ Nov 4 2013, 01:06 PM)
for bm p1 karangan, how do u start a karangan? i saw a video yesterday about a tuition teacher saying that phrases like "marcapada ini" and "pada era globalisasi ini" is complete bullshit.the examiner will simply get bored. he encouraged to use a creative pendahuluan.

for example, if it is about keamanan, he used some phrase from negaraku, and wrote "malaysia begitu aman, rakyat tidak mampu mengenali perbezaan tentang bunyi mercum dan bunyi bom!" something like that.

what do u all think? should use creative pendahuluan or stick to the era globalisasi thing?
Era globalisasi is safe, and yes they might "get bored" but it's mantap and it's considered an ungkapan menarik so they won't take points off.

If you can, try to start with slogan or peribahasa or something, but there's always the chance of the slogan being tidak berkenaan, or you writing the slogan wrongly etc etc.

I personally start off with a slogan, then use the pada era globalisasi thing.

This post has been edited by mingisms: Nov 4 2013, 01:11 PM
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 01:20 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Nov 4 2013, 01:12 PM)
So , have you prepared for them , like writing them out , or just have a rough idea and will use your 11 years worth of experience to come up with your best karangan ?

Because I've read like too many karangan's these past few days , and to be honest , I'm kinda sick of them --- reading BM karangan's isn't a pleasant experience ( unlike reading creative works ) , it gets monotonous , and all those apple polishing about you-know-what makes me tired ...

So I'm left with these tajuk's in my mind , not sure to continue coming up with perenggan's for now , or just abandon BM completely and start thinking about my English and Moral .
Yeah, I get your feelings. I'm super sick of karangans and komsas now and I feel like I may be overprepared and my mind won't be open enough to think out of the box on Wednesday. I'm going to calm down the BM for now, finish up whatever exercises I have left over and just chill.

I've been doing a karangan a day since Friday but I've done like four and now I think it's time to stop. It's good practice for me because I needed to change my handwriting into something bigger and easier to read, and also stop using correction tape. Now that that's settled, I think I'm going to take today off and chill.

I've prepped very rough (as in one word, two word) isi for every spotted karangan that I have gotten, and I've stocked up on some slogans and peribahasa, but otherwise I'm going to chill. I mean, this whole year without preparation for karangan I've been pulling solid 85 just by having an open mind and thinking clearly, and I don't want to be terkongkong by preplanned isi, y'know what I mean?

I think to be safe, I would just come up with some perenggans and leave it, move on to Sejarah or something. I find sejarah really helps me in BM because I can relate isu semasa and other stuff from sejarah into my karangan. For example, for peranan ibu bapa, I brought in Wawasan 2020 and its cabaran etc etc.

Good luck! x
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 01:21 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Nov 4 2013, 01:15 PM)
For the last question ( normally finding the total distance traveled by a particle ) , do you :

1 . Use integration ( method which I am comfortable with )
2 . Use that substitution and subtraction method which SBP uses ( no idea on how it works though )
Integration all the way.

What is that substitution and subtraction method? I've never heard of it, hahaha.
mingisms
post Nov 4 2013, 01:28 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(cuzuamazing @ Nov 4 2013, 01:25 PM)
mind sharing out the slogans and peribahasa that u have prepared? thanks biggrin.gif
I have them in a document so. not really updated, I probably have more somewhere but here are some common ones that everyone should already know.

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:55 PM