I heard top Starcraft player joining LoL/Dota.. isn't that downgrade? With RTS you micro multiple units.. with LoL/Dota.. you micro 1 unit? But of course it's still a team game.
MOBA Heroes of the Storm, Blizzard's own Dota
Oct 19 2013, 08:28 PM
1,201 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ampang |
I heard top Starcraft player joining LoL/Dota.. isn't that downgrade? With RTS you micro multiple units.. with LoL/Dota.. you micro 1 unit? But of course it's still a team game.
Oct 19 2013, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(Renekton @ Oct 19 2013, 09:53 PM) maybe mechanical downgrade, but financial upgrade I have much more respect in RTS pro than any single pro MOBA player it's hard to make money in SC2 unless you are at the top tier |
Nov 9 2013, 06:01 PM
Cinematic trailers look awesome. Only thing the in-game graphics look meh. Is it me or it's worst that Dota
Nov 11 2013, 05:40 PM
Heard no RPG elements (no leveling, no items, all skills unlock, no last hit and shared experience).. i'm not sure this is any good. Will wait and see how is it goes.
Edit Watched the videos. Look interesting. Gonna keep an eye. Only problem is i find the animation abit awkwards and the heroes with the mounts are alittle big? This post has been edited by Archaven: Nov 11 2013, 05:57 PM |
Nov 11 2013, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 11 2013, 07:28 PM) it is a fairly different game from most MOBAs, it felt more like DoW2 with one hero than Dota. Considering that they hired Johnny Ebbert who was the lead for DoW2. Well considering it's Activ/Bliz not sure how they going to monetise it. But i read somewhere they'll probably charge on cosmetics and probably heroes too. I hate it if they charge it for unlocking heroes. Don't mind on cosmetics though. Those heroes looks bulky.. damn DOTA2 looks much more beautiful. Wondering why is Bliz artist that bad? Why don't they make the graphics look like Diablo 3? Duh.The ragdolls are quite annoying where it felt like pillows being tossed around. Hopefully they will go the Dota 2 route where they monetise via cosmetic items than asking people to pay for heroes and shit. |
Nov 11 2013, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(ChcGamer @ Nov 11 2013, 07:38 PM) The reason DOTA 2 is earning is because they have community support to create items and also tournament tickets. I doubt their official products are earning much. Now if HotS were to follow this, then they will be copycat Kind of a brilliant idea on monetisation by tournament tickets. No wonder US has declared it as an e-sport. It was really interesting during the start of DOTA2 could watch all the pro matches. Now need to pay to watch it? Aww.. anyway didnt follow on DOTA2 for more than a year. Got more than 20 invites sitting on my Steam account.Next is LoL, it is actually not earning a lot of money but they keep pumping in money to do tournaments because they're owned by Tencent in China. LoL monetization is too old already depending on cosmetics and exp boosts I believe HotS will have another approach to earn money. Earning from hero = sure gg. Earning from cosmetics = low profit because it is only a 1 time thing, once you purchased that cosmetic you will have it permanent(well except they do duration cosmetic but doubt Blizzard will go this path) The next MOBA titles have more monetization methods, just have to wait for the news |
Nov 11 2013, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 11 2013, 07:52 PM) I think Valve is just brilliant despite they are not perfect. They know they can never have as much man power as the fans so they let them create content then, pay them quite a bit for their effort while making a profit for doing barely anything. At the same time, the tournament tickets are done in a way that its a win-win for everyone. Organizers get some funds for price pool or used to organize the tournament while Valve make a profit from it and fans get to watch the game live through their client. Well.. if you didn't notice recent big backlash on Valve is on Halloween's Diretide event. Valve failed to communicate to their fans by keeping quite and the fans uproar and brought it even onto Volvo's twitter and Obama facebook. Damn such a bad portray of PC users.Tournament Tickets is probably the best thing Valve brought to esports along with every game client can be used to spectate esports. It is just disappointing that Blizzard havent implement this into SC2 or HS yet. But in all honesty i'm not sure why all PC community hails Gaben. I'm really not sure. Honestly where does DOTA 2 originated from? IF you asked me Gaben is a thief XD. It's originated from Warcraft 3 mod. In all seriousness, i think Activ/Bliz didnt see it coming from Gaben copyrighting the DOTA2. This post has been edited by Archaven: Nov 11 2013, 07:59 PM |
Nov 11 2013, 09:23 PM
Yeap i agree if anything Activ/Bliz were really slacking. I'd said both in technology and timeline. Also recently there were forced to remove the RMAH for Diablo 3 due to they are slow in knowing they actually gave a middle finger to their fanbase.
PC gamers need to use the RMAH and console users what? They can play offline too. If anything it's great stupidity if you asked me. They announced 14M Diablo 3 were sold including consoles. One can imagine you do the maths how many copies were sold on PC. I hate to say it but Activ/Bliz is stupid. They are giving a middle finger to the PC fanbase. They thought the grass is greener on the other side. They have no idea how huge is the MOBA fanbase. Edit Agreed with Cheese. I'm NOT a big fan of F2P. In all seriousness, nothing is free. Is just a scam. Micro-transactions and monetization is the worst thing in my principle. But anyhow i welcome what Valve did with Dota2. No heroes unlocks for paying and only paying for tournament tickets. That's the way i think. But i'm not sure how much are the tickets for the tournament though. When it first launched i actually watched it for free. This post has been edited by Archaven: Nov 11 2013, 09:26 PM |
Nov 11 2013, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 11 2013, 09:25 PM) Blizzard is just way too big to be managed efficiently where i think Valve will run into sometime in the future. To be honest, RMAH should not even be in the game to begin with as it adds nothing to the experience other than forcing players to use it to get reasonable progression. That is what i hate. Why were gamers forced to get a console for the game they want? *facepalm*. If anything, Valve DID the right thing by focusing on PC fanbase hence we saw a 30% growth in Steam active users in 2013 i think.I like what im seeing with Reapers of Souls and i'll get the PS4 version instead of the PC version. Recently Microsoft reckoned the success and now moving back in supporting the PC. They had thought they made profits in XBox. But guess nobody knows they lose USD 2B annually on XBox? Edit However on recent Steambox and Steam controller announcement.. i'm not sure what to comment on. It's clearly not targeting PC fanbase. It's luring the console crowd and the same time separating Steam from Windows. This post has been edited by Archaven: Nov 11 2013, 09:31 PM |
Nov 15 2013, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(ChcGamer @ Nov 14 2013, 10:21 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Sharing some live images from Korea » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Here are the current playable heroes for those who do not know IF anything, Blizzard put effort on was on the CGI trailer |
Nov 15 2013, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(ChcGamer @ Nov 15 2013, 12:48 PM) It is in Gstar Korea now. We are not supposed to believe all these visuals because it might change during actual release. I think we learnt from Diablo 3 that the alpha footage is so different from actual release Well i hope so. Since they'll be removing RMAH next year.. i see myself to get myself Diablo 3 and RoS too Bought myself a D3 RoS lanyard and the T-Shirts are overpriced compared to Bliz Store |
| Change to: | 0.0350sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:20 PM |