Credit Cards Credit Card v18, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

Prodigenous Zee
post Nov 23 2014, 08:32 PM

736 posts

Hey guys, a few noob questions:

1) Do I have to open a bank account with the bank if I'm applying for one of their credit cards?

2) With cash back credit cards, how is the cash actually given to the card holder? Is it transferred into the holder's preferred account or does it become a discount on the amount that has to be paid the following month?

Prodigenous Zee
post Nov 23 2014, 09:10 PM

736 posts

Thanks for the quick reply!
Prodigenous Zee
post Nov 24 2014, 11:44 AM

736 posts

Sorry for double posting, but another question just popped into my mind.

Does cancelling a credit card reflect badly on one's credit rating? Assume that I always pay my bills on time, no late payment charges and no interest fees imposed.
Prodigenous Zee
post Dec 18 2014, 03:45 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 18 2014, 02:23 PM)
Different bank will have diff requirement so it is best for you to check from their respective websites. Usually they will require a photocopy of your NRIC and income documents (salary slips, EPF, etc).
Noob follow up question: for the salary slips, it's not a photostat copy right? They will just take a look, verify you meet the income requirement, and then return the document?
Prodigenous Zee
post Dec 22 2014, 09:21 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(rathian_mhfu @ Dec 22 2014, 08:58 PM)
having many credit card Is good and will increase ur credit score if all of ur credit card being paid in full every month..this will increase ur credit score
This is true because it shows the banks that you are responsible with your money. You have a paper trail that shows you are able to pay your bills in full all the time. Therefore, banks "trust" you more because you are less of a flight risk (so to speak) compared to someone who is just getting their first credit card.
Prodigenous Zee
post Jan 3 2015, 07:00 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(TOts79 @ Jan 3 2015, 06:16 PM)
Hey all sifus, thanks so much for all the info shared, really great.

I've got a quick question, why don't the banks in our country use PINs instead of signature to verify credit card transactions. Or is there an option to do so?

Would be much safer right cos fraudsters can't guess your pin that easily (unless you're an idiot who uses 1111 or 1234). Also seems much more convenient than a signature, at least faster. I've been studying in Australia and it's been mandatory since earlier this year I think.

Do you think it would be helpful? I know so many people who've been defrauded before and cashiers nowadays don't even look at signatures so I think PINs make sense.  hmm.gif
I believe that it's not a decision for the banks to make, instead it is a decision for BNM to make. And BNM has already made the decision, saying that Chip & Pin based payments have to be ready by 2017 (end of page 3). The document is more than a year old though, so I wonder if things have changed..

And yes, signature verification is a joke. No one checks it shakehead.gif
Prodigenous Zee
post Feb 9 2015, 02:40 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(rae0724 @ Feb 9 2015, 02:25 PM)
yea.. thats why i feel i am stupid..
so if i call him to cancel.. he shud be cancel right?
no case like.. he would ignore and just pass my form up?
just worry bout this vry muchhh~~ ><
Easiest way is to call the bank directly and check whether the application has been sent in. Don't bother going through the salesman anymore after this. His job is done.
Prodigenous Zee
post Feb 23 2015, 11:07 AM

736 posts

alvinkhorfire proper way to tag is like this:

CODE
[@alvinkhorfire]

Then the person you tag will be notified of it, guaranteeing that they will see it.

0.0442sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:48 PM