Credit Cards Credit Card v18, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

DarReNz
post Dec 6 2013, 10:55 AM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Dec 4 2013, 04:25 PM)
Does anyone know a good airmiles credit card that is foreigner-friendly? I'm nearing my limit of giving up altogether since all of the banks I know put ridiculous (IMO) terms for foreigners. FYI, my annual income (depending on the exchange rate) is approximately MYR 120,000. I have posted in the Recommendation thread, but alas, no one gives reply. unsure.gif
try CIMB bank but i don't think they have air miles cards
DarReNz
post Dec 6 2013, 03:54 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Dec 6 2013, 03:43 PM)
Thanks for replying. CIMB actually got CIMB Enrich card, which I think is pretty cool. It's just they need a fixed deposit starting from RM50,000 for foreigner to apply this card. I've only been working for like 4 months right now, so still don't have that kind of money. sad.gif

Just got in contact with HSBC yesterday. I figured that their rewards program isn't that bad for their Visa Platinum or Signature card. Let's see how this goes. smile.gif
ok the one i was saying which requires pledging FD for CL is for CIMB Platinum Cashback which I'm not sure if you are interested
DarReNz
post Jan 5 2014, 10:23 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Jan 5 2014, 09:51 PM)
Hi Gen X
thanks for sharing. Have tried to pay assessment bills using Amex previously but somehow transaction rejected. Thought of applying Hong Leong Wise which offers 10% rebate but not applicable for assessment bills and quit rent. Looks like not much alternative to OCBC titanium card.
go ahead with aeon watami for your assessment bills and quit rent nod.gif
DarReNz
post Feb 6 2014, 10:48 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Feb 4 2014, 10:33 AM)
actually someone suggested that we should request more than rm50, for example rm100 or rm150, because a mere rm50 does not benefit us as it goes straight to the gst.  laugh.gif
and that person actually did receive rm100 or rm150 from the bank (standchart if not mistaken).
guess most banks can be done except maybank
DarReNz
post Feb 22 2014, 11:51 PM

7,496 posts

just wondering if banks reject you when applying for new cards if all your existing cards total limits has reached your annual income ?

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Feb 22 2014, 11:52 PM
DarReNz
post Feb 25 2014, 09:36 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 25 2014, 12:26 PM)
I just published my article MORE A Little Bit Of This And A Little Bit Of That. It's more like a series of mini articles where I touched on many subjects which may or may not interest you.

Some of the matters I touched on relating to credit cards are:

Expedia 10% Discount with UOB Debit Card and Citibank Credit Cards.

Maybank 2 Cards AMEX versus Maybank Visa Infinite Overseas Conversion Rates.

Maybank 2 Cards Premier - First Look

FREE Movie Tickets at TGV with Maybank Credit Cards

Citibank waived my Platinum credit card annual fee on the spot and I harldy even use it last year.

And in the article there are more subjects relating to: Tips On How To Earn More Money with Australia Savings Account, AirAsia Online Booking versus Big Shots Points Redemption, My black Mazda CX9 regular service period extended to 12 months, Owning a car is "cheap" in Malaysia, Chef Uncle GenX proudly presents his first recipe for a quick brunch meal with the Philips Air Fryer, Tempur Mattress - space technology for your bedroom, and etc etc.

So as usual, if you really have nothing better to do AND promise me that you will not be offended from my sick imagination, then you may proceed to waste your time reading another of my signature freaking long winded article titled MORE A Little Bit of This and A Little Bit of That by clicking on the link below:

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2014/02...little-bit.html
CIMB Platinum cash back has 10% too for expedia

DarReNz
post Mar 12 2014, 10:52 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 12 2014, 08:58 PM)
Which would be the best card (other than MBB2Amex on weekend) to use in terms of CashBack for Groupon.my ?
u mean online transactions ? U could consider CIMB Platinum Cash Back & UOB Vox

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Mar 12 2014, 10:52 PM
DarReNz
post Mar 21 2014, 03:19 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(iamloco @ Mar 21 2014, 11:08 AM)
hello all sifus. i want to book a hotel room which is under promotion. but the hotel ask to fill up a form where i have to tell my card no with the security code, and the photocopy of the card (font & back)

is it safe to do so? tq
i got filled up a form with the details you mentioned for pre-booking hi-tea from a hotel before but they didn't photocopy front & back. At the end of it, i used another card instead nod.gif
DarReNz
post Apr 7 2014, 09:52 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 7 2014, 05:10 PM)
Can ask for discount if pay with cash?

Okay, if you want to max your benefit from credit card - this is what you should do if you have like 3 weeks to pay the bill:

1. Go apply for RHB credit card now. I am assuming that since your Credit Limit for OCBC TMC is more than RM30K, you should have no problems getting the same CL for the RHB card.

2. Pay your bill and earn RM300 cash back with OCBC TMC.

3. Then go apply for Balance Transfer with your new RHB credit card and get 0% 6 months installment (click here to my facebook page to see the promo) and earn maybe more than RM100 by depositing the money that is to be used for paying your OCBC TMC into FD.
he could swipe rm5k for aeon watami and the rest 25k to ocbc titanium to get rm 150 + rm 250 ?
DarReNz
post Apr 11 2014, 09:52 AM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(Ezra86 @ Apr 10 2014, 01:45 PM)
Hi guys, today I was contacted by a CIMB telemarketer regarding the  CIMB Cash Rebate Platinum MasterCard. I am totally new to credit cards but it seems nice with RM150 welcome bonus? How do I even start with credit card comparison and benefits? I am not one to spend money I don't have. Any of you have received the same call? Thx guys
you should check out the CIMB thread https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3165524
DarReNz
post Apr 18 2014, 11:13 AM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 18 2014, 08:24 AM)
hmm.gif  what's so special about this card you failed to apply?

better yet, what's so special about this guy???  sweat.gif  he's interested in you? this kind of persistence is ineresting biggrin.gif
i think she can apply for other bank's card if she has none or 1 credit card at the moment
DarReNz
post Apr 18 2014, 09:45 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(angelnkj87 @ Apr 18 2014, 09:27 PM)
I can't remember what I applied for. Too long ago...I applied during February. N same here when I go thru da forum...I dun see much benefits in citibank cards
well u should apply a card that most benefits you nod.gif
DarReNz
post Apr 18 2014, 09:50 PM

7,496 posts

wonder when can we pay our taxes using credit cards ?
DarReNz
post Apr 18 2014, 10:56 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Apr 18 2014, 10:52 PM)
what tax? your employees taxes?
yeah when you have to pay extra to lhdn yawn.gif
DarReNz
post Apr 19 2014, 09:08 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(angelnkj87 @ Apr 19 2014, 03:24 PM)
True... been thinking of uob one card but afraid of being rejected so stopped considering for a card...maybe end of this year could try for the uob card
many ppl mentioned uob most lenient
DarReNz
post Apr 22 2014, 10:57 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(angelnkj87 @ Apr 22 2014, 07:20 PM)
Yea...heard so too but afraid of being rejected so I just stopped considering on getting a card. Now I will just wait and see what's citibank's decision on their offer for me to appeal the 3rd time.
if I kena rejected sure I will go to other banks unless I really want that card due to rebates or points etc
DarReNz
post May 11 2014, 04:36 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ May 10 2014, 08:14 PM)
Yea UOB has the waiver... but i don't want to have both cards and not use either one...

If I get both ill have 3 cards ... I don't really want 3 extra cards in my wallet and only using one...

Also, the UOB annual fee is only waived upon a certain number of transactions.

unless I use the UOB for weekday and the maybank amex for weekends.  blush.gif
u can still use the amex card on weekdays to get 5x points
DarReNz
post May 15 2014, 03:28 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(candysiew @ May 15 2014, 12:44 PM)
hi there,

i've been  reading the threads and i've some basic info on the CC but i am can't figure(pricing comparison idiot) if which combination is better against my current CC.
please recommend if you will smile.gif

Currently i'm holding CIMB direct access mastercard with RM16000 limit(no cashback only accumulate points, no AF), and normal alliance visa card(blue color, cashback and bonus point, got this because it comes with application of my housing loan, RM7000 limiit only, 12x swipes waiver for AF).

for CIMB CC, i used it as auto payment for my insurance and other installments...usually only RM200-500 per month), if there is some bigger amount purchase i will also use this because it has a higher purchase limit.

for alliance CC, i use it for petrol and online shopping plus other this and that because it has cashback...

i'm not a big CC user, usually my cards combined about RM1k-2k per month, with occasionally over RM3k(if any big purchase or traveling).

so currently with RM45k per annum income: should i consider:

1. maybankard -  that comes with amex and master/visa
2. hongleong - that one with 10% rebate with selected categories

or any other better valued CC as per my usage pattern?

i'll cancel my existing cards if the above are better valued.

please recommend. thanks.
it would be best if you could get both but if you just need one perhaps you can check which suits your lifestyle more, another you could consider is aeon watami
DarReNz
post May 15 2014, 04:52 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(candysiew @ May 15 2014, 04:05 PM)
you mean getting both hong leong + maybankard(2 cards) are better than the two that i currently having, correct?

i'm more swiping more on groceries, petrol, insurance and some online buying/intallment....

if getting both mean i wil have 3 government fee to pay right per year unless it can be waived = RM150.
yes it's just 2 service tax you need to pay but with 5x points for amex you just need to spend RM2000 a year to redeem back the RM50. As for hong leong the first year will be waived
DarReNz
post May 29 2014, 11:38 AM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 28 2014, 05:46 PM)

so far, personally, Maybank 2 Cards combo is my only card in the wallet. I got no other cards. Happy with it for 1yr+, only heart-attack when I had to spend >RM1k per month (which effectively blew past my cashback).
most ppl does that when they have to spent on the card after obtaining full cashback but hey u still get 5x points nod.gif

0.0369sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:07 PM