Q and A Virtual Memory, Any risks changing from default

TSHavoc Knightmare
post Jun 10 2006, 10:30 AM, updated 20y ago

Invictus
1,205 posts

I read on howstuffworks.com that you can improve the computers performance if you make the minimum and maximum sizes of the virtual memory file identical. However does this carry any risks?
alextan99
post Jun 10 2006, 10:32 AM

Wassup
2,660 posts

I recall reading from a site as long as your virtual memory is not more than the ratio of 2:3 to the amount of RAM you have then its fine. Correct me if I'm wrong
samurai1337
post Jun 10 2006, 10:40 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Hi havoc, it is advisable to read this page
http://aumha.org/win5/a/xpvm.php
for a clearer understanding in XP Virtual Memory settings. Pay attention to the subtitle "How big should the page file be?"
malutapimau
post Jun 10 2006, 11:12 AM

751 posts

im using 2gb of rams & im disabling my pagefile virtual memory
recommended by a fren - so far no prob
but i got the feeling that winxp is actually still usign virtual memory in teh background automatically
just my feeling

anyone here has tried disable teh vir mem? whats your result?
eejey
post Jun 11 2006, 04:13 AM

111 posts

I got 1.5gig Ram in my pc...
and been using 3gig setting on the virtual memory
(min & max) for 3 years now...

havent counter any problem whatsoever....

been doing that since using windows ME.....

shady
post Jun 11 2006, 08:07 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

I think Win XP will automatically use Virtual Memory once RAM is full even you disable it.
natakaasd
post Jun 11 2006, 07:47 PM

2,188 posts

it should, or else the computer will really crash.
scripted
post Jun 11 2006, 07:52 PM

608 posts

My lecturer teaching me my MCP certification tells me it should be 1.5 times of the ram, didn't really read up on it
2uk3y
post Jun 11 2006, 08:15 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

take from TweakXP.com.......

Virtual Paging File

This tweak can increase the amount of RAM significantly used on your computer. What this tweak actually does is it uses your hard-drive disk-space to emulate RAM. This is called caching, or in Microsoft terms - The Virtual Paging File Size.

1.) Go into Control Panel and into Performance and Maintenance
2.) Get into System
3.) Click the Advanced Tab
4.) In the Performance Frame, click on Settings
5.) Once in Settings click on the Advanced Tab
6.) Now under Virutal Memory click on Change
7.) Here you can set your RAM value. The recommended increase you should make should be achieved by multiplying your RAM by 1.5. This is already done if you have a System Managed file size. I like to increase it by 1/5 of my actual hard-drive space. This will drastically increase performance, because the system will now have a pool of cache to retrieve memory from.

Happy Tweaking! 
chum84
post Jun 12 2006, 02:17 PM

on my part, i always update my virtual memory whenever i increase my rams.. my os is winxp..

total memory x 1.5 = "A" - for the minimum
follow by
"A" x 2 - for the maximum...

do it at your own risk though... so far no problem for me... very fast hehe... can "fly" my pc...

do take note you need to have sufficient hdd space before you increase the virtual memory....
GameSky
post Jun 12 2006, 02:21 PM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

Virtual Memory is a temporary memory created by Windows, if the physical memory is not enough for processing the current processes...it'll swap from memory to hard disk, thus making it slow coz of the swapping process
expertester
post Jun 13 2006, 12:41 PM

321 posts

the best way to upgreade your pc performance, minimize the usage of virtual memory..buy installing a lot of RAMs... 2 GB should be sufficiant for today apps.

For convinient purpose, let it at auto mode. Unless you really wanna mess your hand to squeze minimal performance boost by set it manually, which as the side effect will make your hard disk fragmented slower.

Another trick is to set fix amount of your pagefile in other partition (the most outer plate of your fastest hard disk) and max cluster size for the partition...
kokfun
post Jun 13 2006, 09:35 PM

222 posts

i use 1GB ram with Virtual memory disable.
nth wrong.
i highly recommend turn the virtual memory off. for better performance.
expertester
post Jun 14 2006, 02:19 AM

321 posts

But if you are heavy or power user, 1 GB of RAM sometime not sufficient, espcially for serious game (oblivion is a good example), high resolution photo edition, video edit and coding, hosting private server for online game, multi tasking user....and when you disable page file, and your PC already use up all the 1 GB RAM..what will happen? Crash boom bang.

2 GB is the best bet for current trend (2006)
one_guy
post Jun 14 2006, 12:13 PM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

For me,if ur RAM is very small, DON'T try to disable virtual memory...
kenneth87
post Jun 15 2006, 12:53 PM

~~"\(0.0)/"~~
956 posts

Sifus here, may i ask a question? Im using 512 Kingston 400 Mhz RAM. Shud i do some tweak on it? Like what u guys says,

RAMS I HAVE X 1.5

Thats all?? As i noe thats the min rite? Need to push till max? Afters times 1.5 need to times another 2? Thx for u guy's opinions. thumbup.gif
char
post Jun 22 2006, 06:58 PM

20 posts

The 3rd post basically explained everything.

Havoc, the reason why performance improved when you set min and max the same number is that you actually prevented the page file from fragmented. A fragmented file will cause your harddisk's head to seek more. This will reduce your harddisk lifespan (theoritically) and slow down your system at same time.

One way to prevent the virtual memory from fragmented is to set min and max identical, preferably at a different harddisk other than your OS. For those with single harddisk, then put it in a different partition. This should speed up your OS performance overall.

Do remember to set a small amount of page file (32 mb or equiv) on C: if your page file is on different harddisk.

No matter how big is your RAM, windows still require a fair bit amount of virtual memory. Don't ask why, that is how Windows work.

For advance user, you can track your page file usage by using perfmon.exe. Click on "Add Counter". Under the Select Performance, select object as "Paging File". Only two counters available, "%Usage" is the current usage and "%Usage Peak" is the highest point it touches. You can save the settings in .msc for future usage. This should give you a approximate idea how much paging file should you allocate to prevent harddisk space wastage. (The recent file I attached does not work as it track my page file in E drive. Sorry.)

This post has been edited by char: Jun 23 2006, 09:38 AM

0.0202sec    1.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:16 AM