I will likely to get it during sales instead at full price =P The price drops too fast and it is not really much of a change from FM2013 in my opinion.
Sports Football Manager 2014
Oct 14 2013, 11:28 PM
545 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Where kiasu/kiasi lives |
I will likely to get it during sales instead at full price =P The price drops too fast and it is not really much of a change from FM2013 in my opinion.
Dec 18 2013, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(thefallengrace @ Dec 18 2013, 07:40 AM) hi guys, im one of the guys who still played fm 13, anyway may i know steam or gmg xmas sales usually happen on 25th or on the eve of xmas? and for the last Q, what is the usual discount? Steam Winter starting this 20th 2AM (Malaysia time) if I am not wrong - usual discount depends. FM2014 is still very new and while I hope for a 50% and more, I think it is most likely a 33% or 40% off sales only. Nevertheless I am likely to just get it, this thread is damn poisonous - lurking also can cause my hands to get itchy.thank u |
Dec 19 2013, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(sinoffire @ Dec 18 2013, 09:04 PM) Yea... Was about to post tht steam sales thingie. Rumors said tht it might start on 19th dec til 02jan. So..... Get ur hands ready lads. Buy new one Meanwhile, my mobo wented rma riao. No fm til new year. T_T |
Dec 19 2013, 11:06 AM
Dec 25 2013, 05:56 PM
Woot - starting up my FM now. Gonna go unemployed and start from scratch in England, haha, think this will be a very long game.
Jan 2 2014, 01:31 PM
Anyone playing M'sia league? I started unemployed and Selangor hired me. Looking to hire Brendan Gan and this Gary Steven for the front but not much ideas for the back four, especially with this Bikana (gotten him from Terengganu) wanna leave for bigger clubs.
*For info, I got Doe in the front as well, adding him and Griffith, I can take in one more foreigner after I get rid of the b****ing Bikana. |
Jan 3 2014, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(GilaLaksa @ Jan 3 2014, 11:51 AM) Hey guys, is it worth buying FM 2014? The last one i've played was 2010, and i heard alot were not happy with the current one? Gotten the game barely a week ago and I gotten 50 hours in with no regrets. Judging from the number of people posting here, I think there are a healthy number of people who is enjoying the game as well. |
Jan 13 2014, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(skystrike @ Jan 13 2014, 05:09 PM) Would more physio improve the rate? I only have one good one and two crappy physio, and injuries take forever to heal...average 4-5 weeks time. Already set training level during season to low/light, and I don't even set special moves training for the main players as I can't afford to have them injured/tired etc. Additionally, anyone manage to send their coaches out for courses? I only managed to do it once and the rest keep rejected by the board despite that it is just a few thousand for crying out loud. |
Jan 13 2014, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(skystrike @ Jan 13 2014, 05:28 PM) maybe will improve the rate...who know...u should try too n then tell the result I tried hiring more but seldom able to find the right combination of stats (discipline, motivation and physio). In the end, I just get the highest physio followed by highest discipline and then by motivation. Not sure if the important stats are still the same as previously in FM2013 but so far, my current physio (13 for physio) not much difference from the previous physio (9 for physio) that I sacked. Still average 4-5 weeks out.btw i got 1 coach who always failed in their coaching course...he manage to complete it at the end but it take longer time....wtf..... I do see failing coaches from courses but most of them are using their own money so I don't care much lol. It is those buggers who used my potential-transfer money for their course and failed that pisses me off. Especially when it takes so long for them to pass the overall exam |
Jan 14 2014, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jan 13 2014, 08:14 PM) it'll help. i dun care about other stats. i onli look at those with highest rating ie. 20. even moreso if they're available for free. Hiring a few new regen from M'sia now, foreign staff not even looking at me and man, I need to keep praising and scolding after each match else my players will tend to dislike me. A few of my local stars are always talking to me assertively nowadays, pep talk leads to these buggers "not listening". Is this the same with you all? |
Jan 15 2014, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(limjenson @ Jan 14 2014, 10:44 PM) Not willing to leave yet, haha, gonna try two more seasons with Selangor before I go off, getting interviews from African + Australian league |
Jan 15 2014, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jan 15 2014, 10:38 AM) I started unemployed with England, South Korea, Australia, China, HK, M'sia, Singapore, and a few more Asia leagues. When S'gor hired me, I unloaded all leagues except for M'sia and Englad leagues. Around mid of third season with S'gor, I added Australia and Africa as well cause I was thinking of moving to another smaller league and English clubs never offered me a role. Now at fourth season and a few African clubs + 1-2 small OZ clubs offered interviews, I decided to just stick till end of fifth season to get achievement first. DB size, I think I chose small when I first started though.QUOTE(limjenson @ Jan 15 2014, 11:02 AM) I made it to English League already. After quitting Chengdu, Brentford offered me an interview at English Division 1. Won promotion and now in Sky Championship. Going to try to get promotion to increase reputation then try other minor European League. Sigh, despite that my second nationality is English, no English club even offer me an interview at all. The Sunday league experience settings are really not doing me any favors. Will just win whatever I can in Asia a bit more before I go another continent to see. Still trying to unlock the achievement where I get offered by a bigger club. |
Jan 15 2014, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jan 15 2014, 11:45 AM) interesting. Yup, you don't have to restart every single game for a different league already (though most of the good players that you might know would probably be retiring or crappy by the time you moved to his specific league to play). You can add/remove the leagues from the FM drop-down menu, but I did read that you must have tick/untick the league restriction option before you start your FMC career though (I can't remember about my own settings lol).There's a problem with adding though cause once you add, you are stuck with it until that league's season end - so for example, in my first season, my game was still processing all the extra leagues that I had removed once I joined S'gor. It takes longer time for it to complete each turn but overall, still acceptable speed for me. Journeyman game is much more easier to play now |
Jan 15 2014, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(limjenson @ Jan 15 2014, 12:42 PM) Yub. Now I removed most of the minor leagues in Asia besides Korea cause I still want to have a go there but they don't even want to interview me. Korea would be fun, their league rules are a bit different than the other leagues I tried so far. I hope that I can clear off season 5 by this weekend and then start up with my S'gor parent club in Australia, Perth Glory FC, haha. That way, I can opt to bring over some of my current M'sian players too Also added minor European Leagues like Turkey, Belgium, Holland, Norway so I can try out those league as well. Currently my manager is proficient with English, Chinese and Cantonese cause I managed in China and Hong Kong. QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Jan 15 2014, 02:07 PM) I've tried ultra defensive fullbacks, get stuck in, more disciplined, hassle opponents and even stand off still they're letting any half decent winger (even a 34 y/o winger with 10 pace and 8 dribbling out foxing them to cut in or dribble pass them to score / cross in. Hmm, my fullbacks are usually crappy players with low concentration and often that will cause them to let opponents breezing through. I ended up setting my one of centreback to cover/stopper and also hiring a foreign fullback with better defensive stats (positioning, concentration, and of of course, marking too); his name is Trent something from Australia. He does very well for my S'gor team so far, and he is cheap for his quality too.most of the time they'll just sort of hang around the opposing player with the ball, then out of a sudden just stands completely still while the other winger dances past them. so much so that I'd given up on them defending and preferring them to attack and provide width instead since they're gonna be useless defending anyway. most of the time my Krul and Umtiti keeps bailing them out else I'll be losing a few goals for sure every game lol. ps: current first choice LB/RB = Luke Shaw, Sam Byram with John Stones and Haidara providing cover. *Just realized that you might be managing Newcastle, if that's the case ignore my Trent guy, he's below EPL standard for sure. This post has been edited by ik3da: Jan 15 2014, 02:25 PM |
Jan 15 2014, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Jan 15 2014, 02:41 PM) The thing is, both Shaw and Byram have pretty decent stats, >13 for marking and concentration and >15 for positioning Hahaha, I think your scout will vomit blood if you sign my Trent over Luke Shaw. Not sure why your fullbacks are not marking or failing to follow, my usual instructions are mark tightly, harass opponents (usually works horribly against technically superior opponents), get into tackles, and settings of hard tackles to most of the lower fitness enemies. I would also set always close down on pacey wingers (AML/AMR) with no tight marking on them unless they are proven shooters (checking if they tend to score goals or not).If this Trent guy works I don't mind signing him as well lol. I've tried tall strong centre backs in full back positions and they seem to be doing better. My current solution is that Umtiti covers a hell lot of crap on the left side left by Shaw and Mbiwa covers a whole lot on the right, that said, both of my CB aren't particularly beasts in the air as both are barely 6 ft tall lol, but on the ground they are great. |
Jan 16 2014, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Jan 16 2014, 10:21 AM) Yah I've tried those instructions, they just down right refuse to defend properly and yup harassing opponents who are slick and fast wingers will destroy my defensive shape lol Have you tried warning them via private chat to tell them off for not defending better? If they get pissed off, maybe they are doing their best already, and if they apologize, you can try to hope that they do better next match. Otherwise, hahaha, really no idea why your stats-capable defenders not defending already. My stats-poorer fullbacks; Mahali (Selangor), Putra (Selangor), and Trent (Aussie), are all defending decently though not consistently. Even when I set Trent's duty as an attacking fullback, he was still harassing/marking wingers from time to time when I watched a few of my matches last night. |
Jan 17 2014, 09:34 AM
Hmm, do you guys think using FMScout is considered as cheating? I am using it for my S'gor team and I feel bad that my team is full with talents whereas the other M'sian clubs are with mostly crappy players only
Jan 17 2014, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jan 17 2014, 09:52 AM) tell me wats the purpose of you playing a game? Haha, for fun and I meant the tool - it seems a bit evil where I don't really rely on my crappy scouts and hahaha, bought all the rising stars or still-awesome veterans via the tool's filtering.and by FMScout, u mean the kids list or the "tool" for scouting? QUOTE(limjenson @ Jan 17 2014, 10:08 AM) Nope not cheating. Sometimes you just need some help. Clubs like in Malaysia having scouting restriction so it's harder to scout players. I am getting only M'sian players most of the time so the scouting restriction is not really affecting me much, but most of the M'sia scouts for hire are generally bad. I only manage to get a few good ones when some of the old players retired and their management regen stats turned out to be quite good. But personally I prefer to hire a good scout who finds me a wonderkid and then I bring up this wonderkid. Brings me more pride and joy. *Hmm, I will stop using the tool in my next league, I overused it for this one. |
Jan 20 2014, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(limjenson @ Jan 20 2014, 09:38 AM) Started Clubless then slowly applied for job. Local malaysia rejected me. Haha, at least you managed to land a job in England in the end. I am finishing season 4 and all my budding talents wanna leave for bigger club. I realized that by adding the extra leagues, the clubs in it tend to come steal your good players also. Almost all my foreign talents are taken by Argentina and Australia leagues (3 left last season, now another 2 new guys are being enticed away)... It seems to be better to use M'sians in local league, they less interested to play overseas - except for Brendan Gan and Gary Steven, those two keep bugging me to let them leave.Finally got a job at HK. ik3da is managing Selangor. |
Jan 20 2014, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(limjenson @ Jan 20 2014, 11:14 AM) Another thing I noticed, the players in these smaller leagues tend to have short contracts. Most of them only extend their contract for a year. At most 2 years. Only for the foreign players, they can only sign for 1-2 years contract and not more. Local players are good to go, I usually set the talents with 5 years contract to make sure they can't terrorize me with contract increments. For selling, I tend to only sell off the talents (mostly foreign) to overseas clubs. It is too dangerous to lose good players to local clubs and for some reason, all these returning ex-players ALWAYS play like a superstar against my team even when they have crappy stats.So it's much harder to sell a player for what he's worth. Usually can offer 0 to purchase a player from a rival club if can afford the wages. Same with malaysia league? |
| Change to: | 0.0470sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:45 PM |