Tripod below RM150, recommend

TSdanielcmugen
post Oct 14 2013, 03:52 PM, updated 13y ago

5,538 posts

I managed to feel and touch some cheap tripods and compare it to those more expensive ones. I dun really see much difference apart from the ball head, build quality and different folding styles. My main priority is that it's stable enough for long exposure shots and most importantly don't collapse. Wonder if my budget is enough.

Pls share your experience.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Oct 14 2013, 03:57 PM
seather
post Oct 14 2013, 04:32 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

for that price, u can settle for China cheapo no name brand, those shops give away as "free" gift...

i have a Benro tripod, Chinese brand but got reputation, even that cost me RM300...

remember.. tripod failure only has to happen once wink.gif i have seen tripod leg snap becoz of a slight accidental kick tongue.gif
creative zn
post Oct 14 2013, 05:52 PM

Dark Souls II - You will die!
1,468 posts

I once purchased cheapo tripod brand beike something at 119. For long exp shot quite stable. Max load 4kg. I put 50D + 24-105f4 L. The donwside is, that tripod is damn heavy (compare to manfrontto or others that using titanium).
-kytz-
post Oct 14 2013, 06:45 PM

12,573 posts

Well, I'm using a Beike RM199 tripod currently. Got it from gstrapinuse.com

http://www.gstrapinuse.com/index.php?main_...products_id=498

It's definitely stable as I have shot quite a long of long exposure pictures with it and since it is your typical aluminium tripod, it's heavy at 2kg IMHO.

The ballhead isn't that great because on my 60D+ Sigma 10-20 f/4-5.6 setup, it sags a little bit so you have to readjust and compensate for the slight "drop". This is probably because of the ballhead. However, this might be a different case for a smaller and lighter camera system.

But despite all that, it's still a pretty good deal for a RM200 tripod actually. Highly recommend it.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
However, I'm thinking of upgrading to a much better tripod. It's not exactly the stability I'm looking for because the Beike is one STABLE tripod, it's more about the ease of use, functionality and weight.

I'm looking at a good Carbon Fibre tripod (Sirui N2204) and a good ballhead (something like a Manfrotto 496RC2)

Why?

User friendly

- A better ballhead enables me to "lock in" the camera to my desired angle without the camera "sagging" due to the weight. I have tried the Sirui N2204's ballhead and it is very stable. Once you tighten the ballhead, it does NOT move at all. However, with my current setup, I would have to always adjust my camera to compensate for the ballhead. This is not fun at all.

- And if I opt for the Manfrotto 496RC2 ballhead instead, I can get the super awesome quick release lock. Just attach the metal plate to your camera mount and "clip" into the tripod. Not tightening is needed!!! This makes it much faster to setup for my shot smile.gif

Functionality

- Removable leg joints. I find this very useful because if you go to the beach to take some shots, you might sand stuck in the joints and for cheap tripods like mine, it stays stuck there for some time. Very hard to remove and when you try to extend the legs, the sand scratches the legs!

I got sand stuck after visiting Pantai Kelanang!!

IMG_0036 by -kytz-, on Flickr

- Also monopod function which MAY come in handy. Centre column is removable means I can get extremely low angles

Weight

- The Sirui N2204 with either stock ballhead or the Manfrotto ballhead would be around 1.7kg. You might think that it's only 300g lighter than my current Beike tripod but in fact it feels A LOT lighter in real life.

- There are several super light travel tripods at around 600g-1000g without ballhead but I do not want to compromise on stability since tripods usually last for a long time. You won't be changing tripods like every year biggrin.gif

--------------------------------------------------------------------
This is a 30 second long exposure shot smile.gif

Marina Bay Sands in Black and White by -kytz-, on Flickr

wwlai87
post Oct 15 2013, 08:52 AM

Public Enemy
1,233 posts

hi bro, i got a budget cheap semi pro tripod from gstrapinuse also.. smile.gif u may search this user ID and PM him...
brand Beike (forget which model, jz remember RM13x)... have all the basic needs for a tripod, can support up to 4kg load
copperwire93
post Oct 15 2013, 09:29 AM

574 posts

I use cheapo Polaroid tripod. The build quality are mostly plastic and aluminium. Cost me RM90, while there is cheaper Nikon one which cost RM70, but I think this is much more preferable for the metal part for the primary legs are much more solid than Nikon one.

The plastic panning head is okay, it doesn't stuck and creates noises as you pan, you can even get much more higher with the rotating lever. Overall I'm satisfied with my investment. It stable enough for long exposure shot.
Rhu Island from the beach by NurAzam, on Flickr

One major flaw is the little hollow for every joint. I normally shoot seascape, when I get to the beach, the small sands might get in and it will be a little stuck. I have to snap it back and forth so that the sands particle get crushed into dust. Hence, it will create scratches, but still usable until now.

DSC_0719[1] by NurAzam, on Flickr
TSdanielcmugen
post Oct 18 2013, 12:54 AM

5,538 posts

Thx everyone. Especially kytz for the super detailed explanation.

seather -kytz- wwlai87 copperwire93 What do u think of this?

Beike BK-308 - RM11X only!!! Supports up to 4kg in weight!!! - Cheapest pro tripod in the market!!!
Features:
- Strongest tripod at this price range
- comfortable foam grip
- strong ballhead
- accessory hook at center column

Full specs:
weight - 1190g
Max Height - 1470mm
Min Height - 450mm
Folded Length - 600mm
Max Load - 4kg
Max Tube Diameter - 24mm

creative zn Is this yours?
creative zn
post Oct 18 2013, 09:37 AM

Dark Souls II - You will die!
1,468 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Oct 18 2013, 12:54 AM)
Yep. Thats mine. I purchased but never used it outside. End up selling at garage sales for 80 buck. Lol
seather
post Oct 18 2013, 12:03 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

i wont buy this because of the height.. max height only 1.5meters?? i prefer something that can reach eye level smile.gif (p.s. i am 1.8meters tall, old uncle always need to bend down back sakit tongue.gif)
wwlai87
post Oct 18 2013, 12:13 PM

Public Enemy
1,233 posts

this is the one i'm using and i'm talking about...
tongue.gif oh didn't know the price is RM11x already..
actually not bad for the price wink.gif

u dun need a super expensive tripod for casual landscape shoot during travel tongue.gif
(sorry i know my horizontal line sux, these were old photos)

This post has been edited by wwlai87: Oct 18 2013, 12:21 PM
copperwire93
post Oct 18 2013, 10:30 PM

574 posts

That looks just fine by me. Just make sure you have proper height for your preferences. Like me, I don't have problems with the height.

Make sure the build quality is solid enough too for your normal use too. Then you're all good to go.

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Oct 18 2013, 10:31 PM
XeMoAsLaM91
post Oct 19 2013, 07:00 AM

I ❤ BooBs
2,155 posts

my fren bought cheapest also rm280

0.0207sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:15 PM