Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v8, WARNING - DO NOT UPDATE BMJ3
WiLyi
Oct 15 2013, 09:26 PM
Guys I found out 2 things abt S View. If you reboot the device with flip closed, during the boot animation with Samsung logo, it will skhrinked to fit the S View.
2nd thing, I not sure if this is an isolated case or what. My phone has the sim pin enabled. When i restart the device with flip closed, the moment the phone is fully booted and I open the cover it will bypass the sim pin. And with this method, I will never have my data until I restart the phone with the flip opened and key in the sim pin. And at times the data will turn off by itself after closing the flip. Seems like S View cover hates me.
I'm gonna disable my sim pin and see if the same problem exist. .
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Oct 16 2013, 12:02 AM) let's see how durable the SView is..  I'm same with you bro..sometimes fold it to the backduring ttyping then straight leave it on the table without flipping it back to the front...but mine doesn't half open..just turn it over for few minutes and the cover close fitly.. QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 16 2013, 12:04 AM) For me...until Otter Commuter available here  QUOTE(Superman7 @ Oct 16 2013, 12:06 AM) not sure I would want the Otter since the SView case is so much slimmer  I'm waiting for my UAG to arrive then it will be my main driver..will only change back to S View when the situation needs me to giv more protection to the screen. Gonna order the Brando slim rounded sp in this few days.
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(Reventon @ Oct 15 2013, 11:50 PM) Got myself a S View Wild Orange from Samsung Paradigm , thanks Wilyi for giving info. Very solid and nice to hold in hand. Only problem is when typing a bit hassle. Need to fold the cover to the back. Welcome bro..enjoy your Note 3 with your S View cover..
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 12:21 AM
QUOTE(joytest @ Oct 16 2013, 12:18 AM) So now after successful 0x0 root, what next? If Wanam Xposed matures and improves, IMHO we won't really need custom ROMs. Agree..especially most of our wanted wishlist can be achieved using those framework. Unless there are some new mods which are very interesting to lure us to flash..
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(Positron @ Oct 16 2013, 12:22 AM) Okay,my friend is totally torn between the iphone 5s and the note 3.. I would like an honest opinion, no bias please.. Which is better? Note 3 or iphone 5s?? My friend told me that samsung phones always lag that is why she want to buy iphone 5s. This is Note 3 thread so what do you think the answer you will get? There is too many comparison between iPhone and Android so you may check it out..but one thing for sure..Note 3 doesn't lag at all since day 1 till now and he camera is stunning
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 16 2013, 01:07 AM) I dunno...me myself still thinking wanna take Maxis insurance coverage. That one...phone stolen, drown, smash also covered. Good for all flasher. Knox warranty tripped 0x1 oso no problem. Just let any car roll over the phone then claim warranty...lolz QUOTE(vincentxiang @ Oct 16 2013, 01:10 AM) I also thinking of it  QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 16 2013, 01:11 AM) You need to buy the phone from them first then only eligible to take their insurance. IINM...RM1 per day  Yes, it's RM1 per day but you can only sign up on the first day of purchasing the phone from Maxis. After that you can't opt for that protection plan if you choose to get it after your 1st day of purchase. I'm on that protection plan since day 1 of getting Note 3.
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 01:19 AM
QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Oct 16 2013, 01:16 AM) does it cover exterior physical type damage.... like scratches or dents if we accidentally drop the fon....? It covers lost of phone due to theft cases, damage of screen, damage due to liquid and they can pick up for service at your convenience. I don't think they will cover dents or scratches which I believe this is user own fault
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 01:25 AM
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 16 2013, 01:23 AM) Ehehe..that's why I suggest to let a car roll over the phone once we found any scratch or dent on it. Can get one brand new replacement set...right.? They said they will fix whatever they can and will replace if they can't. I only plan to cover it for abt 6 months then will cancel it off as I also change phone every year
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 07:17 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 16 2013, 01:47 AM) I have been suggesting people to change WiFi channel but I'm not doing it myself.  Will get my sister to do it. I shall report again in my next overnight stays here.  By the way, I really love Next browser. Not only it's fast but the whole browsing experience is really good. Hopefully that solve your wifi issues. My home is using tm router but no issue though. Yes browser is really smooth, can feel the lightness like chrome.. QUOTE(thelightside @ Oct 16 2013, 02:05 AM) so its better than say boat browser, does it support flash? Yes, both Next and Boat browsers support flash and you can set the browser to open page in desktop view permanently where you can't do it with stock browser. Next feel a bit lighter than boat but it doesn't have text reflow like Boat and Boat has the tab view on the title bar which make changing tab much more easier. So it boils down to which you prefer...
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 07:20 AM
QUOTE(Ezra86 @ Oct 16 2013, 05:42 AM) How much and how long roughly would it take to receive? Thanks What's the price and eta?
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Oct 16 2013, 08:29 AM) But need to make a police report also leh....  I think we should stop discussing this as it is something not right
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Oct 16 2013, 08:40 AM) After rooting i get more free ram with TB freezing but the heat is still quite high. It gets up to >60C at times & hovers around 36C when idle.. What about u guys? RAM --> without freezing apps my free RAM already increased upon the 30MB updates Heat --> never goes up more than 41C before. Playing Candy Crush for about 45mins max I got is 42C. Is there any background process going on in your Note 3 that caused it to goes up more than 6oC?
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Oct 16 2013, 08:49 AM) That i also want to find out.  Is there any unusual readings in your BBS?
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Oct 16 2013, 09:01 AM) CPU temperature bro. So 60C is normal? Great to know. Thx.  Oops..sorry then mine is battery as I thought you are referring to battery temperature. I didn't monitor my CPU temperature but for CPU temp at 60c I believe it's still considered acceptable as those are the readings I found when reading on different forums. Btw, which app you use to monitor the cpu temp? This post has been edited by WiLyi: Oct 16 2013, 09:08 AM
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Oct 16 2013, 09:11 AM) System Tuner bro. How did u update the 30mb while rooted? Oh ya, I totally forgotten about this app. Thanks bro. I rooted my phone after the 30mb update.
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Oct 16 2013, 09:15 AM) U talking about the 1.16GB root file from Root De La Vega? Yeap. After the 30mb updates then I rooted my phone using designgear's method on Sunday.
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Oct 16 2013, 09:56 AM) Warranty is by SME for any problem with your phone . Protection plan is offered by Maxis so any problem with the phone and u have the plan , u go back to Maxis not SME . To be more precise, normal warranty issue, go to SME even though you have the protection plan by Maxis. If you lost your phone due to theft case, damage of screen, damage caused by water then send to Maxis (for those who opted the plan). According to what I'm being told, if they can repair then they will fix it, else they will replace one new set for you. This post has been edited by WiLyi: Oct 16 2013, 10:14 AM
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(ywkwy @ Oct 16 2013, 12:38 PM) I got these error when i open multi window manager. Any idea how to fix it? I already rooted my note 3 with vega root Did you install Xposed framework and enable the MW Manager in the Xposed's module?
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 16 2013, 01:08 PM) Use another version. Not this. This won't work as not support. You use the one that is uploaded to the developer's dropbox right?
WiLyi
Oct 16 2013, 04:23 PM
[quote=gin&tonic,Oct 16 2013, 04:06 PM] Rooting using Vega actually including BusyBox. Check the root_files folder. No need to install anymore.  [/quote] Cannot find file. Already deleted during root. [/quote] Busy box is included in the root _ file folder which will be deleted after the last reboot of your rooting process.