Google Nexus 7 (2013) FHD Official Thread v2, Android 5.0.2 has released for deb.

domo_kun
post Feb 3 2014, 09:15 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

being an iPhone user for n-years, i can't wait to get my hands on my first Android, soon! few noob questions, though... why would i want to root the device or flash the rom, and stuff like that? i can read, but if someone could point me to the right direction for reading? thanks a bunch! smile.gif
domo_kun
post Feb 4 2014, 06:35 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Feb 3 2014, 01:36 PM)
I'm not that pro as well. But I root my Nexus 7 for few reasons. To overclock my CPU and GPU speed, to use Titanium backup, to get rid of Multi Ghost Tapping issues for 1st gen Nexus 7 2012, to use apps that can show in-games frame rate per second FPS, boost battery life....

But even without root, Android is quite user friendly....
i see... thanks! i was informed that there is a new model in white, same specs with the 2013, though
domo_kun
post Feb 4 2014, 07:54 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

same here, i've always prefer a black one, low profile a bit. after all, once you cover it up with a casing, apa pun tak nampak la... biggrin.gif i'm gonna get one next week once i'm back from my trip
domo_kun
post Feb 14 2014, 07:18 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

Collected my Nexus today fro, LYN office. Its a great device. I think. Still learning to use it, though. Feels kinda weird since I've been an iPhone user all this while. Anyway. Few enquiries.
1) Is there any way to use WhatsApp on tablet? 2) Where do I get a casing and screen protector other than from the members here? 3) Any must have apps for newbie Android user?
Thanks!
domo_kun
post Feb 14 2014, 07:19 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

Second post via Nexus, by the way! Hehe.
domo_kun
post Feb 14 2014, 10:48 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

Great help there, thanks a lot. But another quick question, though. I've got WhatsApp on my iPhone already, can I register and use it again on Nexus, then?
domo_kun
post Feb 14 2014, 11:28 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

Yup. Tested. Only one number on one device. Thankfully it doesn't wipe the chat history on my iPhone. Phew.
domo_kun
post Feb 18 2014, 12:09 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

I was in OA Hypermarket in Low Yatt Plaza the other day and got a screen protector, instead. The case they got for Nexus 7 looks kinda cheap. Well. Just my preference, though. Getting one instead from another LYN forum member.

Anyway. A few enquiries.

1) FB messenger. Its not on Play Store? Not compatible? The messenger in FB doesn't has any alert sound other than the notification only. Able to configure this?
2) How to set the battery alert to 20% instead of alerting me only at 15% when its already red?
3) As the phone goes to sleep, the only way wake it up is to press on the Power Button only? Any other way that can be configure? Silly me. I kept pressing on the top right of the tab like iPhone and iPad.

Other than these, I'm not seeing any faults with Android. Considering of jumping ship and go with Android entirely. Haha. Let's see how it goes in 3 months.

Oh. And I notice that the charging of the tablet is kinda slow? Or its just me?

Many, many thanks.

domo_kun
post Feb 18 2014, 12:27 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

Oh. I also notice that lots of time that the apps I wanted to download aren't available for Malaysia. Any way to bypass other than downloading the apk files and installing them manually? Thanks!
domo_kun
post Feb 18 2014, 02:06 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Feb 18 2014, 12:39 AM)
First, you need to know sometimes the search function in Google Play Store is really dump, it cannot return the results that I wanted, so you better google the apps name and you will get the link in the first few results linking you to Google Play Store web page if you are on desktop and click Install, your tablet will start downloading it in no time, or if you are on tablet's browser, it will bring you to Google Play Store app.

1. FB Messenger is compatible, can be found here
2. You need Xposed framework which requires root access or alternatively use custom ROM, some of them have this settings for you to adjust, disable it or alert at certain percentage.
3. Install custom kernel which allows you to use Double-tap-to-wake and Double-tap-to-sleep/Sweep-to-sleep so you don't have to worry the power button's lifetime. 

Charging rate is ok for me, it took around 150 minutes to fully charge from <10% for my unit.
Setup an US based Google account and you are good to go, you get full access to Google Play Store services like Magazine, Movies&TV, Music which are currently not available in Malaysia.
Good one there. Thanks! I've gotten the FB Messenger apk and installed manually. As for the Xposed framework, I think I'll put it aside, first. Its not that important, anyway. But. The third one on the custom kernel sounds interesting... What do I Google for on that? Would like to find out on that function. Thanks.
Anyone of you using any casing for Nexus? Do share. Thanks.
domo_kun
post Feb 19 2014, 07:41 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Feb 18 2014, 04:18 PM)
Custom kernel replaces stock ROM kernel which provides many tweaks to your device such as individual control of all cores activity, clock speed, screen color intensity control, d2w/s2s feature.

Here is a popular custom kernel which can be found on xda forum for your reference.

Bought a TPU case when I got my Nexus 7 but still prefer using it naked with only screen protector applied, I love the back cover of this tablet, not glossy at all  thumbup.gif
Thanks for the tip. I'll see into that.

QUOTE(azrash @ Feb 18 2014, 10:19 PM)
I use a Nilkin case, bought from lelong http://www.lelong.com.my/google-nexus-7-ii...4-11-Sale-P.htm

the fit is nice and so far it is has been holding up fine. tbh,  i prefer using the N7 without any fixed case, perhaps i'll get a decent sleeve case to cover the n7.

if you are not rushing, you might be able to get these cases at cheaper price from taobao, qoo10 etc, but the price that i paid at lelong is pretty fair in my opinion
I've got a Nillkin. With a matte screen protector. I think its quite reasonable. I'm not too comfortable using it naked, if you know what I mean. Hehe.

But thanks, guys.

domo_kun
post Feb 19 2014, 01:42 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

this is gonna sound stupid, but i've created a gmail account based in US. now, how do i switch the account in N7 when i'm in using Play Store? do i add user profile in the settings?

the installation of the customized kernel is basically like jailbreak in iphone, yes? also, it means the swipe to sleep, or double tap to wake are only available through the customized kernel?

This post has been edited by domo_kun: Feb 19 2014, 01:50 PM
domo_kun
post Feb 21 2014, 02:19 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

This is gonna make sounds even dumber than usual. But I tried creating a US account for Google Play, but still it doesn't seems to work. How it knows that I'm not from US? biggrin.gif

And I think I'm gonna get a supplementary card for data usage on this tablet. Any advice? Its so not convenient to share the 3G from my iPhone to the Nexus.

Which remind me... The Google Map doesn't work accurately with just WiFi alone? Really. I just found out about this after getting my hands on this tablet. And experimenting it with iPhone Google Map. Haha. Silly me.

This post has been edited by domo_kun: Feb 21 2014, 02:22 PM
domo_kun
post Mar 7 2014, 12:51 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

Hmmm. I still don't quite get it. How do I create a US based Google account? I did select US as my country, but it still show me as MY and I can't even download Plants vs Zombies 2 from the Play Store. Haha. Talk about being nooooob... Any help, guys? sweat.gif
domo_kun
post Mar 7 2014, 01:18 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(faisal_smks03 @ Mar 7 2014, 12:56 PM)
How do I know whether my Google acc is US based or MY based? I do not have prob installing PvZ2 in my Nexus 7
in Play Store, it'll display "this item isn't available in your country" doh.gif
domo_kun
post Mar 7 2014, 02:09 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(xxdesire @ Mar 7 2014, 01:42 PM)
Google see which IP address you're currently viewing from. If you want to view US items, you need be on US IP
seriously? or you're pulling my leg?
if that's the case, any where else to install the .apk? any reliable website for it? ohmy.gif
domo_kun
post Mar 7 2014, 02:26 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Mar 7 2014, 02:21 PM)
Nope. Just need a US based created Google account on the phone.
err, how?
domo_kun
post Mar 7 2014, 06:51 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

Ohhh. So the VPN thing is real. I thought you guys were teasing me for being a noob. Haha. Thanks. I'll try it out. But if I wanna download .apk files outside of Play Store, where to go? Any reliable ones?
domo_kun
post Mar 8 2014, 10:32 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 7 2014, 08:43 PM)
Actually PvZ2 publisher EA is having 2 different accounts in Play Store, one is Electronic Arts which is only available for US based account to access and download content, other region or we call it RoW(rest of the world) will have to download EA games from EA Swiss Sarl.
Good pointer, thanks. I'll check it out right away.

By the way, anyone using Go Launcher?
domo_kun
post Mar 9 2014, 08:50 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 7 2014, 08:43 PM)
Actually PvZ2 publisher EA is having 2 different accounts in Play Store, one is Electronic Arts which is only available for US based account to access and download content, other region or we call it RoW(rest of the world) will have to download EA games from EA Swiss Sarl.
nope, tried a few times, but it doesn't work at all. i've completely no idea how to work around this now...

QUOTE(phelix @ Mar 9 2014, 07:49 PM)
New nexus 7 owner reporting in... Mine was pre-loaded with latest KitKat as it was manufacturing in Jan 2014... Looking for nice casing.. Anyone selling original Google caring in forum?
let me know if you found any, i'm looking for one, too sweat.gif

0.0455sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:54 AM