Credit Cards Standard Chartered Bank Credit Cards V3, Let's talk about SCB's credit card here

ytan053
post Mar 18 2016, 09:46 PM

565 posts

Current promo for new sign up is luggage bag and rm50 (if apply online). Any other better sign up promo for sc cc? Didn't see any offer for ringgit plus at the moment
ytan053
post Mar 20 2016, 02:57 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(HenryJay @ Mar 20 2016, 10:08 AM)
SCB website? i dont see got promo for this card https://www.sc.com/my/campaign/cashback-gold.html
only for certain card only?
https://www.sc.com/my/campaign/credit-card-offer/
ytan053
post May 26 2016, 09:36 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 24 2016, 11:08 PM)
My April 2016 cashback rebate was available on 23 May 2016
Let's monitor and see if it's a standard date.

aromachong you can check the history of your Cash Back received for us too
Mine also on 23rd (First cash back using this Gold Card). But my friend still do not see it in his 360 reward as at 25 May.

Ronnie, do you think it is safe to pay our statement balance less the RM50 cash back?
ytan053
post May 26 2016, 09:43 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 26 2016, 09:40 AM)
Yes, you can pay less RM50 as the RM50 cash back, once credited, is consider as payment...said so by aromachong
Thank you!
ytan053
post Sep 8 2016, 02:19 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(joshng @ Sep 8 2016, 12:56 PM)
I see that insurance can be counted for cash back. Isn't this one of the best cash back cards for insurance if I can trigger the cash back?

Eg if insurance RM2000 + utilities RM500, get back 15% (but capped at RM50), it is still equivalent of a 2% cash back (50/2500x100%). What other cards can give 2% back for insurance?

Did i interpret this correctly?
Similar to what I thought, this would emerge as the BEST insurance CC for now. Unless the insurance is charged to Aeon/ Aeon Big cc and paid with high cash back for online payment like PBVS/CIMB.

Let say spending of RM2,000 on insurance and RM500 on either petrol or eCommerce, I would still get RM85 cash back which is 3.4% equivalent. I take it as 3.4% cb for my insurance in this case. Used to have Aeon to give 3.4% cash back equivalent for insurance, but now it seems that this is an excellent card for insurance, provided can hit RM2,500 combination of the eligible cash back spending monthly.

This post has been edited by ytan053: Sep 8 2016, 02:39 PM
ytan053
post Sep 8 2016, 03:36 PM

565 posts

Many users reported that SC annual fee can be waived easily by calling. How bout supplementary card annual fee? Is it easily waived too?

CS gave wrong info and clarified that supp card no AF.

This post has been edited by ytan053: Sep 8 2016, 03:38 PM
ytan053
post Sep 8 2016, 03:59 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 8 2016, 03:51 PM)
depends on which SC cards, some supp cards dont have AF

read https://www.sc.com/my/_documents/cards/prod...-disclosure.pdf
Thank you! I could not find any information on AF on SC card on their website, rupa-rupanya they put it in product disclosure.
ytan053
post Sep 11 2016, 07:18 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Sep 10 2016, 12:57 PM)
The key point to ask for annual fee waiver is to ask it before it actually gets charged. If you only call after it appears in your statement then they have the upper hand and will give all kinds of excuses like it is very hard to retract the charged amount. Always call one month before the annual fee due date and ask for waiver and threaten to cancel the card if they don't do it. Unless it is a very high demand card, most of the time they will just waive for you.

If you have a lot of credit cards, get a credit card manager app for your phone (if you are using Android, see my signature) that will remind you to waive your credit card annual fees before it is due smile.gif
Thanks for this important info. I always thought wait until it chargcd 1st then only request for waiver.

0.0213sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:42 AM