Credit Cards Standard Chartered Bank Credit Cards V3, Let's talk about SCB's credit card here

dh13
post Aug 20 2016, 05:09 PM

677 posts

It is a good time to apply SC Credit Cards now, with RM300 worth of Cash Back for "New Customer".

https://www.sc.com/global/av/my-tnc-credit-...-2016-final.pdf

dh13
post Aug 20 2016, 07:18 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Aug 20 2016, 05:27 PM)
that is pretty good but last time luggages more worth + rm50 activation cb
Haha.. Depends. If you don't need a luggages , getting Cash Back is good..

QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 20 2016, 06:40 PM)
The spending of 1000...does not matter what I spend on?
Based on the T&C. Yup. As long as you spend on RM1000 within 60Days, and no allocated amount like other promotion. It means guarantee cash back.
I got this information when I was asking the card from SC Website and they sent this to me.

QUOTE(kawteem @ Aug 20 2016, 07:02 PM)
Very nice indeed. Too bad I've applied earlier.
Yup..

This post has been edited by dh13: Aug 20 2016, 07:19 PM
dh13
post Aug 21 2016, 12:52 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 20 2016, 10:25 PM)
Hmm means spend 1000 get back 300. Not bad. Can apply, spend and then cancel the card XD
Oh Well..
"New Customers whose card accounts are suspended, cancelled, or terminated for any reason during the Campaign Period
or within 3 months after the end of the Campaign Period will not be entitled to receive any rewards under this Campaign "

haha.. Anyway.. I found out this card actually not bad.

https://www.sc.com/my/campaign/cashback-gold.html

Unlike those Cash Back Campaign from most of the banks which are First Come First First basis. Seems it is unlimited Cash Back with cap based on Spending. (Cash Back for everything besides Petrol and Insurance). For Petrol speding , I can can use another Credit Card with entitle me 5% Cash Back (Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan CC on Friday & Sat) or 2% (CIMB Cash Back CC on Weekdays).. hehe..

This post has been edited by dh13: Aug 21 2016, 12:54 AM
dh13
post Aug 21 2016, 10:27 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(ch_leong @ Aug 21 2016, 09:29 PM)
Thanks for the sharing. I was looking for this tnc.
I got it from the Price Solution Sales Agents after I emailed them. Seems like not available online "officially" yet if you check on their website.

dh13
post Aug 22 2016, 09:42 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Aug 22 2016, 01:42 AM)
Does the first year waive for Gold Cash back card? I can't see anywhere mention from its website beside former here, thanks
QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 22 2016, 08:25 AM)
Applying thru RINGGITPLUS u get Smarttag n Rm50-TNG foc.
But is d first year AF waived?
Based on the information I got it from Price Solution Agents, they told me first year is waived and after that just call and ask for waive...
But application thru RinggitPlus is not entitled for the RM150+RM150 Cash Back, only Smart Tag and TNG Card

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 22 2016, 07:04 AM)
Why cannot find this info at sc website?
haha.. actually it was there for a while.. but.. it was removed.. but i got it again from Price Solution Agents.

QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 22 2016, 08:33 AM)
Seems good since we got 300 bucks rebate but sounds too good....any trap lying?

I've read the TnC...doesn't seem to have any other conditions...or did I miss out? hmm.gif
QUOTE(aromachong @ Aug 22 2016, 09:09 AM)
no other hidden T&C apart from hitting certain spending
QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 22 2016, 09:10 AM)
Yea the "Certain" spending worries me. Which category of spending qualifies for the rebates and don't hmm.gif Petrol, Utilities, Retail, Dining or just anything will entitled for it? hmm.gif
QUOTE(aromachong @ Aug 22 2016, 09:11 AM)
well, for safety always go for retail transactions
QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 22 2016, 09:13 AM)
Actually what does retail transactions consist of? From my understanding "Retail" means things bought from shopping mall like Body Glove, Fossil and etc hmm.gif But need to spend 1k for retail...macam a bit hard sweat.gif
QUOTE(aromachong @ Aug 22 2016, 09:14 AM)
exclude gov transactions, petrol, etc..
It sound too good for me too. But what the Price Solution Agents told me earlier during the SCKLM Running Expo and the information from the PDF file are matching. Really too good to believe.. Basically, as long as you swipe that amount, you can get that New Customer Cash Back Rewards. What I have been told even RM1 for the first swipe within 45 days is also entitled for RM150 Rebate, and the RM1k, just anything a long as you reach 1k of spending within 60 Days.

Retail Transaction is included Online Transaction, Dining as well.. Supermarket, Petrol spending also retail transaction. Just some cash like Gold Cash Back Card, the cash rebate is not applicable for Petrol and Insurance, but you can hit the target spending included Petrol and Insurance, just went they calculate the Cash Rebate , those amount will be excluded.. This is what the Price Solution Agents told me..

This post has been edited by dh13: Aug 22 2016, 09:45 AM
dh13
post Aug 22 2016, 11:07 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 22 2016, 09:49 AM)
Eh what's Price Solution Agents?  hmm.gif Hmmm can apply to get the 300 bucks rebate and then cancel it laugh.gif
Price Solutions Sdn Bhd, a wholly owned subsidiary of Standard Chartered Bank UK is also located in Malaysia. The company promotes and markets Standard Chartered’s financial products in Malaysia through a network of direct sales agents.

QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 22 2016, 09:58 AM)
Yep for the sake of 300 cause don't seem I can use much from this card hmm.gif Coincidentally I wanna buy something so it's good for the rebate laugh.gif

The SCB Cash back card needs quite high retail spending to get the 50 max cap. Same to JustOne. Overall the effective cash bate is much lower than 5% sweat.gif So I don't think I am going to keep this card for long time. Just gonna get the rebate and cancel.
Actually this card is good for spending besides Groceries and Petrol. Most of the card entitile for points but thier point still not even worth 2% of rebates.. not matter it is 2x or 5x .. I did calculate and survey on it. Some offer 0.2% rebates only.. so this card is quite worth if not need pay for annual fees...
Anyway. The best spending amount would be RM833 for 3% rebate rather than RM1500 for RM50 of rebate..

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 22 2016, 07:25 PM)
I think this is not valid anymore
what you mean not valid any more.
dh13
post Aug 23 2016, 08:26 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 23 2016, 07:15 AM)
Try to look at this 2004?
I dont think SC IT department will careless until didnt notice the wording.

That is the template.. Well the one i received in email is correct naming.

dh13
post Aug 23 2016, 03:40 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlzy @ Aug 23 2016, 11:03 AM)
Spend RM833 get RM25 rebate = 3%
Spend RM1500 get RM50 rebate = 3.33%

Which is better you tell me?
haha.. that is why I mentioned spending RM833 is better than spending RM1500. Depending on what other CC you have, if you have the CC that entitled better rebates for certain categories, then you that cards lo

I give some examples,
Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Gold Card
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

5% rebate on petrol and groceries on Friday and Saturday, capped at maximum of RM50.00 per customer per month (Principal and Supplementary Cardmember)

CIMB Cash Rebate Platinum MasterCard
http://www.cimbbank.com.my/en/personal/pro...mastercard.html

But those Reward Points-based CC are actually 1 point worth around RM 0.02 -RM 0.025. , or equal to 0.2% Cash Rebate.

For those categories not under the stated above, it is worth to swipe them using the SCB Gold Cash Rebate Card, for example, Dining, purchase from physical shops, bills payment (TM, Celcom, Maxis, TNB) that is not thru Bank's SI , air tickets, movie tickets, gym membership fees or even paying PTPTN loan. Getting 2%-3% is still worth than getting 0.2% right.

This post has been edited by dh13: Aug 23 2016, 03:42 PM
dh13
post Sep 1 2016, 05:22 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Sep 1 2016, 10:53 AM)
not attractive at all by reading their t&c
Agree.. CIMB Cash Rebate Card - 5 % Cash Rebate for eCommerce also cap at RM30 aka RM600 of spending..
dh13
post Sep 3 2016, 01:10 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Sep 1 2016, 05:45 PM)
thats true. better get cashback gold without any hassle haha..
Yup that is better..haha.. it complement with my CIMB Cash Rebate Card, those 0.2% Cash Rebates goes to this Cash Rebate Card. XD

QUOTE(yang90 @ Sep 2 2016, 02:55 AM)
want apply another cc.
any cc recommended? annual fee waived is wanted.
CIMB Cash Rebate Card

This post has been edited by dh13: Sep 3 2016, 01:13 AM
dh13
post Sep 15 2016, 03:26 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Sep 15 2016, 12:00 PM)
Someone mentioned earlier apply through RinggitPlus not entitled for the RM300 cashback promo. I wonder how true it is as no t&c stated so.
It is mentioned here
To participate in this Campaign, Eligible Customers must:
a) (i) apply for the any of the SCB Credit Cards during the Campaign Period through either the Bank’s
offline channels (i.e. the Bank’s branches, Price Solutions Sales Agents, and any other a
uthorized offline sales channels) or the Bank’s online channel (i.e. through our website at
www.sc.com/my) and (ii) have their application successfully
approved, all within the Campaign Period; and
b) activate their approve d SCB Credit Card within 45 days from the credit card approval date (activation criteria),
c) spend at least RM 1,000 on their approved SCB Credit Card within 60 days from the credit card approval date (spend criteria), (“Successful Eligible Customers”

Price Solution staff also mentioned it is not applicable is apply thru RinggitPlus.
dh13
post Sep 27 2016, 11:42 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(michaelho @ Sep 27 2016, 10:30 PM)
I just read the T&C, too late for me to apply already cos card has to be approved WITHIN the campaign period which willl end 30 Sept 2016  sweat.gif

RM300 is indeed very very attractive
You can apply thru Online Channel. https://www.sc.com/my/credit-cards/credit-card-list.html and just prepare those document in upfront.
dh13
post Oct 8 2016, 09:55 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(xin-xin @ Oct 6 2016, 09:46 PM)
QUOTE(dh13 @ Sep 15 2016, 03:26 PM)
It is mentioned here
To participate in this Campaign, Eligible Customers must:
a) (i) apply for the any of the SCB Credit Cards during the Campaign Period through either the Bank’s
offline channels  (i.e. the Bank’s branches, Price Solutions Sales Agents, and any other a
uthorized  offline  sales  channels)  or  the  Bank’s  online channel  (i.e.  through  our  website  at
www.sc.com/my)  and  (ii)  have  their  application  successfully
approved, all within the Campaign Period; and
b) activate their approve d SCB Credit Card within 45 days from the credit card approval date (activation criteria),
c) spend at least RM 1,000 on their approved SCB Credit Card within 60 days from the credit card approval date (spend criteria), (“Successful Eligible Customers”
Price Solution staff also mentioned it is not applicable is apply thru RinggitPlus.
Applied worldmile card during promotion at SCKL marathon campaign.
Swiped few $K & till today (> 60 days),  haven't received any single cent for rebate on my 2nd statement...
Same for the KLIA airport limo ride (swiped > 3X oversea), no rebate as well..... sad.gif
Based on the T&C:
12. The Rewards will  be credited to the principal cardholder within 120 days from card approval date.

When is your card approval date?
17  If  you  do  not  receive  the  Rewards  within  120  days  from  the  month  in  which  the  card  was  approved,  you  must  inform  us within  130  days  from  the  month  in  which  the  card  was  approved. We  will  arrange  for the crediting of there Rewards to you  after the bank confirmed that you had fulfilled the
requirement and the non-crediting of the reward to the Successful Eligible Customer’s Credit Card accoun

This post has been edited by dh13: Oct 8 2016, 09:55 AM
dh13
post Oct 16 2016, 11:34 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(wca @ Oct 15 2016, 10:33 PM)
OT, just want to ask if we can get higher CB using cards that rewards online spending (such as 5% on CIMB CR)?
Based on there : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3988506

JOMPAY is not included for 5% cashback for CIMB Cash Rebate Card. I tried and see how it goes.

This post has been edited by dh13: Oct 16 2016, 10:51 PM
dh13
post Oct 16 2016, 10:52 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(wca @ Oct 16 2016, 06:00 PM)
please do report back here or CIMB thread when you have the results!
thanks in advance for your selfless contribution
sure. no problem.
dh13
post Oct 17 2016, 11:31 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 17 2016, 01:19 AM)
Looks like this SCB Gold cash back card is a good option for general transactions. I can forget about using AEON and PosOnline combo method. Wise move to discard this combo and jump ship to SCB Gold card? unsure.gif

Any hidden catch that I should be aware about? I will most likely use it for normal retails which are not covered by my other cards for e.g. PTPTN, auto-debit insurance, TnG reloads. I think it excludes insurance. sad.gif

Spending RM 833.33 per month should be OK for me but RM 1.5k will be occasionally.

hmm.gif There is AF.
Based on the information I got it from SC Marketing Agent (Price Solution), as long as you swipe 3 times per year, you can get the AF to be waived.

QUOTE(mitodna @ Oct 17 2016, 01:51 AM)
fruitie I am new to SCB, there should be a sign up bonus somewhere still, no promises, you can try online chat with them,

cons that I can think of:
1. need to self redeem cash back via online, just found out it will be processed after statement date
2. annual fees
3. off topic, weird website where you can't use your own SCB bank fund to transfer to other (not ownself) SCB card, I don't know how to get it done, just plain weird online banking

pros:
1. e-mail alert, this is something nice to have, sms alert too
2. delivery card is quite fast, sometimes poslaju just drop the card or sometimes, it just never deliver and sms you the tracking number said failed to deliver
There is a new Sign up Offer now (Swipe any amount within X days to get RM150, but another RM150 is for 5 x AutoPay with the JustOne Platinum Mastercard

Actually, SC Online Bank can transfer fund to other, but the weird thing is all account must be registered in the online bank( aka Favourite Account ) before any online transfer. I think u can just put in the SCB CC No as Account No and see?

QUOTE(chiahau @ Oct 17 2016, 09:56 AM)
I feel like this card is actually very not bad for general transaction.

Gym and utilities all will at least reach 800 per month d. Add another sub-card's spending, easily can reach 1,5k laugh.gif

Just that their banks are a little hard to find booths / reliable agents to apply the card.
I have the same thought. Using to pay anything that normally i get it as 0.2% Cash Back, just like Gym Membership, Bills and Dining.
Actually you can applied online, it is kinda easy.

QUOTE(chiahau @ Oct 17 2016, 10:45 AM)
Their online damn lousy mia.

Last time i tried, nobody even followed up after 2 weeks.

When I called in, nobody knows where the application is.

Terus no mood to follow up since then.
If you applied 2nd time in a same month, the system wont capture it. That is what I heard from Price Solution staff.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 17 2016, 01:56 PM)
I will see how it goes as I just recently fixed my PTPTN issue, I don't think SCB will approve me that fast. tongue.gif
QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 17 2016, 02:28 PM)
No la, earlier my CCRIS is affected by PTPTN because I usually make payment one lump sum rather than on monthly basis. Last week went and adjusted it back, I don't think new banks will approve me. sad.gif
Credit Score. .Check your CCRIS first before you apply. Try untill get it..

QUOTE(aromachong @ Oct 17 2016, 02:33 PM)
I see.. takes few month.. no worries

can't imagine many people here are affected by PTPTN..

Ambank is the only bank that will "overlook" PTPTPN
http://www.themalaysiantimes.com.my/ptptn-...-ccris-records/
"According to Sulaiman, applicants with impaired CCRIS records due to PTPTN loans are welcomed to apply with AmBank for any financing as long as they provide proof that the repayment arrangement has been made between applicant and PTPTN."

dh13
post Oct 19 2016, 10:24 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Oct 19 2016, 05:49 PM)
what is the sign up RM300 about? approach by a sales person at mall.....
Activate your card within 45 days from card approval date to receive RM150 cashback .
Sign up and perform 5 or more auto bill transactions within first 90 days from card approval date to receive RM150 cashback.

https://www.sc.com/my/campaign/justone-platinum/

Terms and Condition is here:
New to bank
https://www.sc.com/global/av/my-tc-creditca...ct-dec16-v1.pdf
Auto Pay
https://www.sc.com/global/av/my-jop-autobill-aug.pdf

This post has been edited by dh13: Oct 19 2016, 10:26 PM

0.0677sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:02 PM