Credit Cards Standard Chartered Bank Credit Cards V3, Let's talk about SCB's credit card here

chiahau
post Jul 12 2015, 10:26 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Am curious about the SC Cashback card.

Why nobody is recommending it? hmm.gif

Seems a good alternative now that M2C is cutting their 5% CB off.
chiahau
post Jul 12 2015, 10:55 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Jul 12 2015, 10:52 PM)
within calendar month,

Spent below RM500, get nothing.

spent  >RM500-799, exclude petrol & insurance, get RM10 cashback.

Spent >RM800-1499, exclude petrol & insurance, get RM25 cashback.

spent >RM1500, exclude petrol & insurance, get RM50 cashback.
Maximum RM50 cap.
I know.

It's seems simple.

1k retail should be easy.

My parent's + relatives groceries already reach 1k per month. Since M2C revoked weekend 5% CB, I am destined to hit the 1k target already.

The balance 500, can use for anything.

And it's 1,5k retail, minimum 1k on retail exclude petrol.... From their website, no?

https://www.sc.com/my/campaign/cashback-gold.html

This post has been edited by chiahau: Jul 12 2015, 10:56 PM
chiahau
post Jul 12 2015, 10:57 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Jul 12 2015, 10:56 PM)
yes, u need to hit RM1500 to triggle 5% cashback. if below RM1500, u only get 3%
Should be easy.

Now I am thinking whether to apply thru SC's website or Ringgitplus to get a 200 bucks voucher laugh.gif

chiahau
post Jul 12 2015, 11:06 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Jul 12 2015, 11:03 PM)
I prefer welcome gift from SC website. have bad experience with Lazada.
Lazada?

I mentioned RinggitPlus wor?

What did you get from SC?

If it's good, I apply through their webbie only la blush.gif
chiahau
post Jul 12 2015, 11:18 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Jul 12 2015, 11:08 PM)
if not mistaken, previously welcome gift from SC website is u can get cash back of RM150.

the RM200 Lazada voucher is good, but the Lazada is not good. I bought item previously from Lazada, sent me wrong item.
Okay nice.

I will apply via SC webbie.

How's the respond rate?

Can find out after 3 working days like Citibank?
chiahau
post Jul 13 2015, 08:12 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Jul 13 2015, 12:55 AM)
erm, apply online and within 3 days SC officer will call u up and ask for more details & documents.

within 1 week can know result and card will send by poslaju.
Sounds nice. Gonna drop my details over and let them sort it out then biggrin.gif

chiahau
post Jul 13 2015, 02:55 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Jul 13 2015, 12:55 AM)
erm, apply online and within 3 days SC officer will call u up and ask for more details & documents.

within 1 week can know result and card will send by poslaju.
Hey, sorry to bother you but I have few last questions.

Already submitted my application via online.

At the end of the application, got an option to submit the documents.

I also received an email from SC (automated) which states that I could send my docs to an email (CCOnline.Documents@sc.com)

I recalled last time I emailed the given email, I did not even receive any news regarding my application.

Should I wait for them to call me before submitting anything? I lazy want to submit everything but later macam no news like that whistling.gif

Thanks again.
chiahau
post Jul 13 2015, 09:14 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Jul 13 2015, 09:08 PM)
You can wait for them to call you or you can call them up and quote the application number when u applied.

Email to the officer directly if he/she wants more document. Don reply to the general line email.

I just realized, behind my office got 1 big big stan chart branch....

Feel like walking in but do they offer the same promo if you walk in? biggrin.gif
chiahau
post Jul 13 2015, 10:33 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Jul 13 2015, 10:32 PM)
walk in apply would be easier. Just bring IC and 3 months salary slip and also EPF 2015.

Check with the branch for latest promo.
Can print EPF on the spot? laugh.gif

If can, tomorrow I walk in and hantar saje lo.
chiahau
post Jul 13 2015, 10:37 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Jul 13 2015, 10:35 PM)
I think nowadays every bank have the epf machine to print on the spot right? maybe you should ready it in hand just in case if the bank don't have the epf machine.
Yeah, i have an online version.

But Aeon for example, does not accept those printed online and must have the printer ID to qualify laugh.gif

Guess I will pop buy lunch time tomorrow.
chiahau
post Jul 19 2015, 08:03 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(karcity @ Jul 19 2015, 05:16 PM)
Applying SC cash back gold master card via ringgit plus...looking forward for this new card.
Apply via SCB better, you get 150 CB back according to a member here.
chiahau
post Jul 20 2015, 08:00 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(karcity @ Jul 20 2015, 12:40 AM)
I have the same query previously. After I read through this thread from the first page till the last page , I think I found the answer. This is because SC alway change its term and condition, a very poor planning cc team. But I decide to give it a try. Hence I apply one via ringgit plus.
And as I mentioned, applying via their online portal gets you 150 cash back laugh.gif

SC seems to be decent for now, if they can keep this up, no reason not to use this card.
chiahau
post Jul 20 2015, 10:51 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(kuai_chai @ Jul 20 2015, 10:04 AM)
i think it's because no cashback for petrol and insurance?
but besides that, it also loses to HLB Wise Card (if someone can spend 50x10 times a month)
Correction : if someone can spend in the selected category 50 x 10 to get maximum CB.
chiahau
post Jul 21 2015, 07:25 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Jul 21 2015, 06:12 PM)
Why u thought annual fee cannot be waived? So far only few banks are strict in waiving annual fee (maybank, cimb, public bank).

Recently, cimb and public bank also can waive for annual fee.
You missed out HLB/Citibank as well laugh.gif
chiahau
post Jul 30 2015, 01:13 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 30 2015, 12:38 PM)
Which card is the best from SB for cash rebate?

I asked for cancellation and they introduced me CashBank MAstercard

which minimum spending must be

500 @ 2% = RM100
800 @ 3% = RM25 max
1500 @ 5% = RM50 max
Spend 1000 on retail, balance can use for anything else.

Better than Aeon watami actually.

I want this card but as usual, SC don't want to give it to me because I don't have a 1 year record with other banks zzz.

chiahau
post Jul 30 2015, 01:51 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 30 2015, 01:47 PM)
if 1000, you can get 1000@3% = RM25  only
If you want to aim 3%, spend 800+ enough.

If you want to aim 5%, go for 1500. 1000 for retail excluding petrol and insurance, 500 for anything else.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Jul 30 2015, 01:51 PM
chiahau
post Jul 30 2015, 01:56 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 30 2015, 01:54 PM)
It seems I mis-read... So in order to get 5%, min 1k wiill do (excluding petrol)  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Total of 1,500 spend.

But 1,000 retail. Balance can be petrol of whatever.
chiahau
post Aug 5 2015, 07:37 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

There's SCB booth offering luggage bag at 1U.
chiahau
post Nov 26 2015, 08:06 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

There's a booth at 1 Utama with freebies.

Did not bother to sign up with this bank so just zoomed past without looking.
chiahau
post May 20 2016, 04:33 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 20 2016, 04:11 PM)
I have a question. Let say assume a friend of mine, noticed something on his statement. That a payment did not appear on the SC statement. He then go check on the SC website also not in there.

But he check on the website where he made the tranx, it went thru successfully and even out the statement confirming the tranx was success and everything.

Confirm the trax date is within this month and expected appear in SC statement. But its not. Should he report to SC or not? Or just shhhh~
Merchant no do settlement, forever no need pay until got settlement lo biggrin.gif

0.0274sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:04 PM