Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V8, Pls read post 1-3 & use Search Topic 1st

rjb123
post Oct 18 2013, 11:37 AM

1,820 posts

I wonder how Maybank's fraud detection works - a few times when I've made small foreign transactions online (5-100 USD) the transaction gets blocked and I get a call to check if the transaction is genuine.

Yesterday put over RM10K of foreign currency transactions through Amex card and not a single one got blocked or security checked!
rjb123
post Oct 18 2013, 04:38 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Oct 18 2013, 02:45 PM)
I also wonder the same thing. None of my foreign transactions get queried but everytime I place pizza order online, I get a call from them!
I've tried to order Dominos twice before using Maybankard but failed both times, not sure why it didn't work rclxub.gif

Maybe Maybank likes large foreign currency transactions, they can earn on the exchange rate biggrin.gif
rjb123
post Oct 19 2013, 12:42 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 18 2013, 11:08 PM)
I'll pay the RM50GST and save my TP for Enrich Miles.
This too, I'm trying to build up my Enrich miles smile.gif

BTW, I remember reading somewhere before (can't find it now) you managed to redeem your normal TPs for Enrich miles at the same rate as VI (ie. 4500 rather than 7000), how?
rjb123
post Oct 19 2013, 12:59 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 19 2013, 12:48 AM)
Wise men think alike  tongue.gif

Yes, got my TP earned with my Maybankard 2 AMEX converted to Enrich Miles at 4500  rclxm9.gif

Click link below read post#72

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2635281/+60
Thanks, good to know. Will see if this works for me.

My VI will take another 10 days or so to arrive apparently, I have some 150000 TP on MB2 so with the bonus 10k TP bonus on VI I should be able to redeem up to 39K Enrich miles hopefully. Will add nicely to the 60k bonus from Citibank once I get around to applying for that rclxms.gif
rjb123
post Oct 19 2013, 01:03 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 19 2013, 01:01 AM)
Bro, you got to wait when MBB has another Enrich Miles Promo at 1U  tongue.gif Looks like you won't be getting the 39K Enrich Miles from MBB so soon.
Oh, cannot redeem anytime? I've only ever done TP redemption online for vouchers (Jusco, as closest by!)
rjb123
post Oct 19 2013, 01:21 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 19 2013, 01:08 AM)
You can redeem anytime. But if you call the well trained CS, no way you going to get the conversion rate of 4500 for the MBB 2.
You see, the guy manning the redemption during the Enrich Promo did not get proper training from MBB management. He was well aware that the MBB 2 and VI have different conversion rate; but yet he performed the redemption at 4500 for my MBB 2. What he should have done was to separate the redemption, i.e. do it twice, one for the MBB 2 and then the VI. And the guy was really young and looked like a part-time worker to me.
Ah I see, maybe I won't be so lucky then - we'll see.

Anyway I calculated already if I use VI to pay some of my foreign invoices I can collect 15-18K Enrich miles per month so even if I can't convert MBB2 @ VI rate I should still be able to get plenty!
rjb123
post Oct 19 2013, 01:40 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 19 2013, 01:32 AM)
15-18K Enrich Miles a month  drool.gif Yeah, for overseas transactions, the MBB VI is really good for Enrich Miles  thumbup.gif But for local transactions, the MBB 2 AMEX better  biggrin.gif
In this case I had to pay, didn't have time for my VI to arrive (they delayed because I didn't pay the RM10 stamping fee ... lol) so I paid using MBB2 Amex sad.gif
rjb123
post Oct 20 2013, 01:27 PM

1,820 posts

I think Maybank have made some kind of mistake with my VI application. I placed an FD against this card and they've also increased my MBB2 card credit limit by the same amount (what it shows online, anyway)

Raul88, I did transaction in GBP on 17th Oct for approx RM6.5K, exchange rate works out to 5.2286 , approximately 2.5% from spot rate.
rjb123
post Oct 21 2013, 10:08 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 21 2013, 08:40 PM)
Mind to share how much is your FD pledged to get the VI ?
rjb123
post Oct 21 2013, 11:49 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 21 2013, 10:46 PM)
Thanks  smile.gif  I think i might just try to get the MBB VI using such method too.

By the way, is the credit limit given to you 100% of the FD pledged ? And i read that you forgot to pay the stamp duty ? I assume you had to pay stamping fee for the collateral agreement ?
Yep, actually offer letter stated higher CL but it looks like they just added the FD from my MBB2 cards into a combined limit.

Stamping fee is RM10, MBB2 I had to pay the same too- this is for the agreement.

QUOTE(fly126 @ Oct 21 2013, 11:14 PM)
If We Use FD pledged to get the VI,
Is it we Still need to Pay the AF(RM 800) for MBB VI for Subsequent years, If We Spend < RM50k per Annum to get the Annual Fee Waived...??? hmm.gif
Doesn't affect the AF as far as I know, still need to pay if less than RM50k per year spent.

rjb123
post Oct 22 2013, 11:01 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Oct 22 2013, 07:38 AM)
thats good, after making pledge FD, do they still look at your income?
I've only ever used FD to apply CC, never provided any proof of income documents.
rjb123
post Oct 26 2013, 01:07 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 25 2013, 01:13 PM)
That's what I thought; but, recently I got a sms from MBB saying that it was used to pay one of my Maxis account. Can't remember the last time I got a similar sms ... odd.
I registered my MBB2 Amex as Autopay for DiGi and never received SMS notification for it until this month.

Maybe they're making it standard for transactions where the card isn't present?
rjb123
post Oct 29 2013, 03:11 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Oct 29 2013, 01:02 PM)
maybank2kad and maybank visa infinite, can they share the treat points?
My understanding is that they're separate and can't be combined.

Otherwise you'd be able to redeem 1000 Enrich for 4500 TP rather than 7000 like the MBB2

rjb123
post Oct 29 2013, 05:49 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(+h0m@s.. @ Oct 29 2013, 05:38 PM)

Can I know why is it so??
Where's the second screenshot from? If I click on "Redeem" it looks totally different?

rjb123
post Oct 29 2013, 06:42 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 29 2013, 06:38 PM)

By the way, i think you have to pay the stamping fee for the agreement (to apply for credit card using such method).
I can confirm this, both for MBB2 + VI I had to pay RM10 stamping fee.

rjb123
post Oct 29 2013, 07:12 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 29 2013, 07:02 PM)
Oh yeah, how about yours ? Can you withdraw your pledged FD after one year even when the your MBB2S + VI are still active ?

I personally had done this once 4 years ago with HSBC. There was an agreement i needed to sign but i did not have to pay for any stamping fee. The down side was that the credit limit assigned to the credit card was only 80% of the amount of FD pledged and i can't withdraw the FD as long as the credit card is still active. So i wondered if it is any different with Maybank and whether or not you can withdraw the FD pledged after certain time.
I enquired about this initially - actually the cards that were issued both have validity of only one year , and they said will make a decision in the year after if my record is good whether to issue CC without FD or not.

But I'm not Malaysian so the rules are most probably stricter than for locals.
rjb123
post Nov 27 2013, 04:15 PM

1,820 posts

My replacement AMEX doesn't have the last few letters for some reason rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by rjb123: Nov 27 2013, 04:16 PM
rjb123
post Nov 27 2013, 05:45 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Nov 27 2013, 05:15 PM)
what last few letters you mean? the photos seems normal at least to me.
QUOTE(alex_cyw1985 @ Nov 27 2013, 05:25 PM)
Maybankard vs Maybank

ard is missing
As below post .. my original AMEX is the top once, replacement is the bottom.

QUOTE(mgb @ Nov 27 2013, 05:26 PM)
My Amex also just says "Maybank", but visa it is "Maybankard"... hmm
Ok, not just me then, just wondering as it looked odd blush.gif
rjb123
post Nov 30 2013, 01:04 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 29 2013, 11:56 PM)
cannot login one  sweat.gif
got problem with the new look, now old look oso cannot, how come  shakehead.gif

just maintain the existing one while adding the new one oso can screw up  shocking.gif
Yeah M2U has been terrible today. Tried to use new interface = too slow, old interface managed to log in once, otherwise keeps timing out / service unavailable

rjb123
post Dec 18 2013, 01:56 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(zulhisyamr @ Dec 18 2013, 12:43 AM)
Maybank told me to put rm10k in fixed deposit in order to approve my mbb2card application...why dont they take a normal process to approve the card?
Same for me - I'm not Malaysian so maybe that makes it more difficult.

No proof of income other than payments into my account which aren't regular - so place FD against the CL. Not such a big deal as it's good to save and if you spend too much at least you won't end up in debt biggrin.gif

0.0589sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:18 PM