** Google Nexus 4 Official Thread V12 **, The Heritage of Nexus.

FatalExe
post Nov 10 2013, 06:02 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Nov 10 2013, 04:45 PM)
really? wow good for you. i've been surveying some budget smartphones and this one came out top. how was it so far? hehe

and also, is the nexus 4 custom roms in xda are stable? like miui or cm 10?
most custom roms are made for nexus phones and ported to others so the custom Roms for nexus 4 should be super stable. its the official Google development phone..
FatalExe
post Nov 10 2013, 07:05 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Nov 10 2013, 07:02 PM)
ohh i see. thanks for the feedback guys! smile.gif will try to find it in lowyat plaza this tuesday, hopefully. hehe, do u guys have any intentions to change to nexus 5? before i forgot, how long it takes for u guys to get used to the on screen soft keys? i'm used to samsung, so this one kinda bugging me a lil bit lah
Coming from Galaxy S1 I had trouble adjusting for like 2 or 3 days.. now I used to it already. Only thing I don't like is that every time I accidentally slide up the home button it opens Google Now.
FatalExe
post Nov 13 2013, 08:46 PM

695 posts

Google really is disappointing now. How can they keep things exclusive to the Nexus 5? going to android.com and seeing the features, some of them is purely nexus 5 features.. android.com should be showcasing AOSP features, and not for their own device..

Google is going down the Apple route, locking things to their latest gadget just like what apple is doing every time a new iOS is released. Gone are the days when Nexus=no bullshit developer phone series and a big f*** you to selfish companies like Apple and Samsung. Hell, now even Samsung is better, with Galaxy Note 1 getting Premium Suite upgrade to be on par with the Note 2 when it came out.

The very fact we had to wait so long for 4.4 when AOSP has been released for a week or more is already showing Google's "Apple" behavior.

I feel cheated by Google buying this phone. Of course I can flash custom ROM.. but Google already betrayed all of us. GEL launcher and 4.4 should be included with Galaxy Nexus and Nexus 4. How can Google stop supporting GN when custom ROMS can run 4.4 WITH GEL perfectly? TI updated their binaries according to XDA.

/rant over
FatalExe
post Nov 15 2013, 01:38 PM

695 posts

anyone having lag when pressing the home button on stock 4.4? using the back button instantly returns me to launcher but home button takes about 1 second of lag.. zz?
FatalExe
post Nov 15 2013, 02:17 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(Ashhh @ Nov 15 2013, 02:08 PM)
Does anyone have a step-by-step video on how to manually flash Kit Kat to Nexus 4? Been trying since the morning, don't know how sad.gif
check out the android police article.. its just plugging in the USB cable and running a program and it automatically updates your Android to 4.4. but it wipes your data if you do not edit the file (its described clearly in the article.

http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/11/14/an...3-and-nexus-10/
FatalExe
post Nov 16 2013, 04:24 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 16 2013, 04:20 PM)
Try Nova Launcher BETA, see which works better.
Direct link here: Download the latest Beta APK
nova launcher dont have the swipe to left Google Now integration.
FatalExe
post Nov 16 2013, 10:59 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 16 2013, 04:44 PM)
I should say that, what the hell of Google Designer doing, swipe from left Google Now, swipe from bottom also Google Now. What The? blink.gif 

Something wrong over here. If I'm Larry Page, I'm gonna screw the Head Designer of this new KitKat feature. vmad.gif
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 16 2013, 05:01 PM)
As I said, that swiping left to launch Google Now gesture is useless in devices which have OTK but it kinda make sense for other devices.
If you have used other OEM's skinned version you'll know almost each of them has their own way of launching Google Now which can be very confusing.
With the GPE launcher (apparently Google never gave it an official name) potentially available for all users in Google Play Google can make the launcher experience consistent and "encourage" users to to use Google Now.
nah.. some people prefer swipe to left. I hate swiping up my home button. I find it very unintuitive. coming from galaxy s I never imagined to swipe the home button. sometimes when I scroll my browser page or twitter my fingers reach too far down and accidentally opened Google Now. wish I could disable the swipe up.

its just Google providing users with more choice.
FatalExe
post Nov 16 2013, 11:01 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 16 2013, 09:55 PM)
Kitkat rom for n4 doesnt have thay feature?
QUOTE(Jayi @ Nov 16 2013, 10:16 PM)
Custom rom will have those feature  brows.gif 
the N4 stock rom is so much difference compare to N5 stock rom. damn Google  mad.gif
QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 16 2013, 10:27 PM)
Really? I thought exactly same, even final version?
that function is from Google Experience Launcher. Nexus 5 have it preinstalled but other devices you must manually install the apk file.
FatalExe
post Nov 18 2013, 02:17 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(mousqy @ Nov 18 2013, 11:28 AM)
anyone using Kitkat u enabled ART already?
im not sure bout enabling it coz scare some apps wont work
QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 18 2013, 11:28 AM)
For now, better not using ART. ART still under development.
I'm using ART and damn my phone is flying. opening apps are almost instant. Only thing is whatsapp need to use old version from xda and wake lock detector cannot work.. others all fine.
FatalExe
post Nov 18 2013, 02:34 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Nov 18 2013, 02:20 PM)
wow. all can work. have u tried TiBa? if it works im flashing 4.4
I don't use TB so I can't comment but according to this website it doesn't.
http://www.androidruntime.com/list
FatalExe
post Nov 19 2013, 06:36 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Nov 19 2013, 06:11 PM)
Hey, guys, I found the 4.4 Launcher is quite pixelated or a bit weird(like blurred)....
You guys encountering such problem?

The Old Launcher doesn't support the new transparent Navbar and Statusbar...  doh.gif
GEL doesn't have this problem. The icons are pretty big though. I think the blur you're referring to is the display colour calibration.. if you used custom Roms and kernel they come with Franco's display modification which enhances the blacks and saturations. stock Google calibration is really bad.
FatalExe
post Nov 19 2013, 10:13 PM

695 posts

WhatsApp for ART fix
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2527879
FatalExe
post Dec 4 2013, 11:35 PM

695 posts

reverted to dalvik and tried out the bionix +dalvik patch... ART is still smoother. gonna go back to ART.
FatalExe
post Dec 5 2013, 10:59 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(s30ckf @ Dec 5 2013, 12:40 AM)
using stock or custom rom ?
stock ROM with Franco kernel
FatalExe
post Dec 5 2013, 02:39 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(s30ckf @ Dec 5 2013, 12:08 PM)
after you flash to franco kernel, when got new android OS update, you can update via OTA smoothly?
as long as you modified your OS, be it root or custom kernel, you can't update via OTA. flash using the factory image.

0.0311sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:14 PM